DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the original filing of 08/05/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
19291130 filed 08/05/2025 is a Continuation of 18540980, filed 12/15/2023, now U.S. Patent # 12380222; 18540980 is a continuation of 17209050, filed 03/22/2021, now U.S. Patent # 11861015; 17209050 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 62992790, filed 03/20/2020.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 08/05/2025 are accepted.
Specification
The specification filed on 08/05/2025 is accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/09/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4 and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims use the acronym “ CVSS ”, without first defining the acronym. For examination purpose only the acronym will be interpret as Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the total vision” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the index corresponding to the predetermined percentile” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the computing asset” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the computing asset” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1, 19 and 20: claims 1, 19 and 20: teaches “whether bucket scores belong to the asset or to each vulnerability. The claims first assign ”a plurality of bucket scores to the computing asset.” Then they “sum … the bucket scores to obtain a total score for each vulnerability associated with the computing asset.” If the bucket scores are assigned to the asset, it is unclear how summing them could produce a separate total for each vulnerability. The specification populates bucket per vulnerability(“populating a number of buckets related to a specific vulnerability,” see [0303]). It also calls the per vulnerability result a “vision score” (“the vision score value is set to 100” for a crowned vulnerability, [0303]). Therefore, an ordinary skill in the art cannot tell whether one set of bucket scores exists per asset or one set per vulnerability.
Dependent claims 1-18 inherit the defect.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 14: the claim teaches the limitations of “the vision score is recalculated dynamically in response to changes in any of the bucket scores”. The specification has no disclosure of recalculating the vision score, dynamically or otherwise, triggered by a change in a bucket score, the only related passage says that not requiring real-time access to hosts improves performance by letting cached results be used ([0028]). That passage teaches away from the claimed trigger rather than supporting it.
Claim 15: the claim teaches the limitations of “transmitting the vision score over a network to a remote management console”. The specification never mentions a “management console” or transmitting a vision score to one. General statements that software “can be … remotely accessed through a suitable communication means” do not describe this specific claimed step.
Claim 16: the claim teaches the limitations of a GUI element “comprising a color-coded indicator, a dial, or a bar graph representing the risk level of the computing asset”). The specification discloses a dial for an “overall system risk indicator or ‘host score’” ([0342], FIG. 24). It also discloses “a color shaded indicator of the overall system [risk] score” ([0006]). It does not disclose a bar graph, and it does not tie any of these displays to the claimed vision score. Each alternative in a claim must be supported.
Claim 17: the claim teaches the limitations of “generating … an alert or notification if the vision score exceeds a predetermined threshold”). The specification contains no disclosure of alerts, notifications, or thresholds for the vision score.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20: the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite the following limitations
Step 1: Statutory category
Claims 1-18 recite a process, claim 19 recites a manufacture (a CRM), and claim 20 recites a machine. Each fall within a statutory category.
Step 2A, Prong One: Recitation of a judicial exception
Independent claims 1, 19, and 20 recite the following limitations, each of which is a mathematical concept (mathematical calculations and relationships):“summing … the bucket scores to obtain a total score for each vulnerability” (addition); “calculating … an average of the total scores” (arithmetic mean); “identifying … a subset of the total scores at or above a predetermined percentile” (order statistic); “calculating … a vision score … as an average of the average … and the subset” (arithmetic mean); “assigning … a plurality of bucket scores … each bucket score corresponding to a different risk-related attribute” is a mental process (evaluation and judgment; Examples include giving 10 points if an exploit exists, or 10 points if a vulnerability is on a list. A person can practically do this with pen and paper, and the specification does it by hand in a worked example (‘0327]), and the paragraph following it). The spec’s own example involves only ten numbers. Taken together, the claims recite a scheme for rating risk with points and computing a statistic from the points.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Integration into a practical application
The additional elements are “one or more processors” (claim 1), “a non-transitory computer-readable medium” and “a processor” (claim 19), and “a processor. And a memory” (claim 20). These are recited at a high level of generality, as generic computer components that carry out the abstract idea. The claims do not improve the functioning of a computer or of any other technology (MPEP 2106.05(a)). Computing a more “holistic” number ([0302]) improves the information that results, not the computer or the network. The claims apply no particular treatment and effect no transformation (MPEP 2106.05(c), (e)). In particular, claims 1, 19, and 20 contain no step of mitigating a vulnerability or changing the state of any computing object, even though Applicant’s parent patents recited such a step (see U.S. 12,380,222 B2 claim 1: “mitigating, based on the risk score, a vulnerability in one or more of the object or the computing environment by changing a state of the object within the computing environment”).The judicial exception is therefore not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B: Significantly more
As discussed above, the additional elements amount to no more than instructions to apply the exception with generic computer components. That cannot supply an inventive concept.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidagni U.S. 10,754,958 B1 in view of CVSS First, Common Vulnerability Scoring System v3.0: Specification Document June 2015 in further view of Hogg et al U.S. 10,592,938 B2.
Claims 1, 19-20: Sidagni teaches a computer-implemented method for determining a vision score for a computing asset (Sidagni : col.19, ll.49, asset definition, Fig.1 step 105; col.24, ll. 35-39“overall vulnerability risk score 601”), the method comprising:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor(Claims 1 and 17) to:
A system comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to(Claims 1 and 17):
assigning, by one or more processors, a plurality of bucket scores to the computing asset, each bucket score corresponding to a different risk-related attribute (Sidagni : col.19, ll.31-39, CVEs of the selected asset retrieved from a database for each CVE on the selected asset, Sidagni computes several separate factor scores, each for a different risk attribute: “base VRS, public exploits availability score, malware correlation score, social media mentions risk score, asset risk score.” Col.20, ll.3-20fromula 1 ; col1, ll.59-60(memory and processor). It does this with “at least one processor configured to execute instructions.” ), the plurality of bucket scores including at least a CVSS score bucket (Sidagni: col.19, ll.58-66, “ a Common Vulnerability Scoring System (CVSS) score may be used as the base vulnerability risk score. For example, the National Vulnerability Database (NVD) CVSS v3 Calculator “), an exploit availability bucket (Sidagni: col.20, ll.21-37, “the base VRS for the CVE may be augmented based on public exploits availability… a public exploits availability score may be calculated as the number of available public exploits.”), an exploit source bucket (Sidagni: col.20, ll.525-35, scores exploits by “ease of use of available public exploits,” and retrieves them from a queried exploit database)), a risk bucket (Sidagni: col.21, ll.3-19, col.23, ll.16-30”,” social media mentions risk score” computed per CVE on point scale (0= low….3=urgent. This is a per-vulnerability risk score distinct from the factors.), and a patch priority index bucket (Sidagni: col.21, ll.39-43, “priority associated with patching each CVE” and displyas binary indications of, for example, “f whether there is a patch available for the corresponding vulnerability” ,);
summing, by the one or more processors, the bucket scores to obtain a total score for each vulnerability associated with the computing asset (Sidagni: col.21, ll.13-20, various factors (e.g., base VRS, public exploits availability score, malware correlation score, social media mentions risk score, asset risk score) may be weighted and evaluated using a specified function (e.g., sum of weighted factors) to determine the augmented VRS for the CVE.” Weights of 1 give a plain sum.);
calculating, by the one or more processors, Sidagni: col 21, ll.27-29, col.24, ll.21-39 an “ overall vulnerability risk score 601” and compares an entity’s vulnerability risk scores “ with industry average risk scores” to combine asset risk score”) ;
Sidagni fails to teach the source or maturity of the exploit, however CVSS3 in the same field of endeavor teaches
(page 12-13, table 9 rating a vulnerability by ”the current state of the exploit techniques, exploit code availability” with classes that progress from proof ”proof-of-of-concept” to “functional exploit code” to :reliable, widely-available, easy-to-used automated tools.” Each class is mapped to a numerical value (High 1, Functional 0.97, Proof-of-concept 0.94, Unproven 0.91)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Sidagni with the additional features of CVSS in order to provide standardized vulnerability scores. When an organization uses a common algorithm for scoring vulnerabilities across all IT platforms, it can leverage a single vulnerability management policy defining the maximum allowable time to validate and remediate a given vulnerability, as suggested by CVSS Introduction page 5.
The combined teaching of Sidagni fails to specifically state that the peer asset score is the arithmetic mean of per CVE scores, Hogg et al teaches
(Hogg et al: col.46, ll.3-16, combining a set of cybersecurity “vulnerability scores” by averaging: “ The scores … are averaged for each domain to obtain average scores. In other embodiments, a median score … may be derived … the score combining module 1116 may apply a weighted average”);
identifying, by the one or more processors, a subset of the total scores at or above a predetermined percentile of the total scores (Hogg et al: col.56, ll. 41-49, col. 57, ll.3-22, arranging a population of vulnerability scores and determining “a vulnerability score corresponding to a threshold percentile,” for example “a threshold of 90th percentile.” It identifies the scores above and below that threshold:” 90% of the claimants had a security score lower than a 3.3”); and
calculating, by the one or more processors, a vision score for the computing asset as an average of the average of the total scores and the subset of total scores at or above the predetermined percentile (Hogg et al: col.46, ll.3-16, col.56, ll.41-57,ol.22” The scores, in some embodiments, are averaged for each domain to obtain average scores. In other embodiments, a median score per domain may be derived by the score combining module 1116. In further embodiments, the score combining module 1116 may apply a weighted average to obtain a representative peer score in each domain” and “The incident analysis module 1516, for example, may arrange the vulnerability scores 1514 so that for the particular peer group and a particular security domain of the security domains 1508, a vulnerability score corresponding to a threshold percentile of claim incidents may be determined.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Sidagni with the additional features of Hogg et al in order to provide or cyber vulnerability assessment include obtaining assessment data including information pertaining to domains of cyber security vulnerability of an enterprise and, for each security domain, a respective domain-level vulnerability score, identifying risk(s) relevant to the enterprise based on domain-level vulnerability score(s), identifying recommended products or services for mitigating each of the risks, as suggested by Hogg et al Abstract.
Claim 2: the combination teaches:
wherein the assigning of each bucket score comprises retrieving, by the one or more processors and from a database, risk-related attributes for each vulnerability associated with the computing asset (Sidagni: col.19, ll.25-29, col.21, ll.7-9, col. 19, ll.35-39, “a database may be queried to retrieve a set of public exploits associated with the CVE ID of the CVE. For example, a SQL database may be queried using SQL commands to retrieve a set of public exploits associated with the CVE ID of the CVE”; “a database may be queried … to retrieve a set of correlated malware associated with the CVE ID of the CVE”; “a database may be queried to retrieve a social media mentions risk score for the CVE”; CVEs for the asset are retrieved “from database”) .
Claim 4: the combination teaches:
wherein the CVSS score bucket is determined by mapping, by the one or more processors, a CVSS score for a vulnerability to a fixed range of points ( Sidagni: col.19, ll.58-66, CVSS3: section 1.2/Fig.2 “the base equation compute a score ranging from 0.0 to 10”; the CVSS bucket v3 base score used as the base VRS is by definition on a fixed 0-10 scale)”.
Claim 5: the combination teaches:
wherein the exploit availability bucket is assigned a fixed value if an exploit is available for the vulnerability and a different value if an exploit is not available (Sidagni: col.24, ll.55-57, col. 20, ll.35-37, sidagni display” an indication 704 of whether there is an exploit available, “ a binary attribute, and scores public exploit availability (zero when no exploit). Using fixed binary point value in place of a count is an obvious simplification.).
Claim 6: the combination teaches:
wherein the exploit source bucket is assigned a value based on a classification of the exploit source, the classification including at least one of: minimal technical details, minimal proof of concept, full technical details, functional proof of concept, working exploit code, documented on exploit database, included in an exploit kit or exploit framework, or included in multiple exploit kits or exploit frameworks (CVSS3: pages 12-13, Table 9, Table16; Sidagni: col. 20, II. 25-29; CVSS3 classifies exploit maturity as “Proof-of-Concept,” “Functional,” and “High,” each mapped to a numeric value, and states that “the presence of a simple-to-use exploit kit would increase the CVSS score”; Sidagni retrieves exploits from an exploit database).
Claim 7: the combination teaches:
wherein the risk bucket is based on a risk component score determined for the vulnerability (Sidagni: col. 23, II. 16-30; The social media mentions risk score is determined “for the media mentions risk score is determined “for the selected CVE”).
Claim 9: the combination teaches:
wherein the vision score is further weighted by a component weighting scheme, wherein each component is assigned a percentage of the total vision score. (Sidagni col. 20, II. 3-20; Hogg et al. col. 46, II. 10-12; Sidagni weights each factor (“weight1*(base VRS); weight2*(public exploits availability score); weight3*(malware correlation score); weight4*(social media mentions risk score); weight5” and says the weights “may be redetermined.” Hogg et al. applies a “weighted average.” Normalizing weights to percentages of a total is conventional.)
Claim 10: the combination teaches:
displaying, by the one or more processors, the vision score for the computing asset on a graphical user interface. (Sidagni col. 24, II. 15-39; The vulnerability risk information may be provided via a GUI … overall vulnerability risk score 601”).
Claim 11: the combination teaches:
wherein the vision score is used to prioritize mitigation actions for the computing asset (Sidagni: col.21, ll.39-43, col. 24, ll.43-44, col. 24, II.62-65; “priority associated with patching each CVE”; “links 604 and 605 provide a way for the user to take corrective measures”; “open a ticket, apply a patch”).
Claim 12: the combination teaches:
wherein the vision score is calculated for a plurality of computing assets, and an overall system vision score is determined by averaging the vision scores of the plurality of computing assets (Sidagni col. 24, II. 21-39; Hogg et al. col. 46, II. 3-8; Sadagni presents an entity-wide “overall vulnerability risk score 601” and “industry average risk scores.” Hogg and al. averages scares across a population “to obtain average scores.”).
Claim 13: the combination teaches: wherein identifying the subset of total scores at or above the predetermined percentile comprises:
sorting, by the one or more processors, the total scores in increasing order (Hogg et al. col. 56, II. 44-47; Hogg et al. col. “arrange[s] the vulnerability scores” to find the threshold percentile.); and
selecting, by the one or more processors, the total scores at or above the index corresponding to the predetermined percentile (Hogg et al. col. 56, II. 44-47; Hogg et al. col. “arrange[s] the vulnerability scores” to find the threshold percentile.)
Claim 14: the combination teaches:
wherein the vision score is recalculated dynamically in response to changes in any of the bucket scores (Sidagni: col.21, ll.49-60, col. 22, ll.53-62, col. 20, II.56-60; Malware correlation analysis runs “when new threat intelligence feed data is provided,” and social media analysis runs periodically to “determine social media mentions risk scores for CVEs.” These updated factor scores feed formula (1).)
Claim 15: the combination teaches:
transmitting the vision score over a network to a remote management console for display or further processing (Sidagni: col.21, ll.46-48; “vulnerability risk information may be provided to the user via a website, application, and /or the like”).
Claim 16: the combination teaches:
using, by the one or more processors, the vision score to generate a graphical user interface element comprising a color-coded indicator, a dial, or a bar graph representing the risk level of the computing asset (Sidagni: col.21, ll.39-42; col.24, ll.15-39; “an indicator of risk associated with each CVE (e.g., red for high, yellow for medium, and green for low).”” The claim is written in the alternative.).
Claim 18: the combination teaches:
wherein the method is implemented in a distributed computing environment in which the bucket scores are calculated on a plurality of networked computing devices and aggregated by a central server (Sidagni: col.16, ll.42-60; col.23, ll.46-52; “Distributed VRMPs …program components … may be instantiated on a single node, and/or across numerous node to improve performance through load-balancing.” Sidagni also describes a network scanner and a central VRMP. Distributing known computations across networked nodes is an obvious design choice.).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidagni U.S. 10,754,958 B1 in view of CVSS in further view of Hogg et al U.S. 10,592,938 B2 20200322371 A and Chesla U.S. 2018/0041533 A1.
Claim 3: the combination fails to teach, however Chesla in the same field of endeavor teaches
wherein the plurality of bucket scores further comprises at least one of: a scoring modifiers bucket, a critical vendors bucket, or a vulnerability age bucket ([0127]-[0131]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Sidagni with the additional features of Chesla in order to provide the ability for scoring performance of a security product as suggested by Chesla abstract.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidagni U.S. 10,754,958 B1 in view of CVSS in further view of Hogg et al U.S. 10,592,938 B2 and Murano et al U.S. 2020/0125733 A1.
Claim 8: the combination teaches:
wherein the patch priority index bucket is assigned a fixed value if the vulnerability is included in a patch priority index and a different value if it is not. (¶[0010], ¶[0034]-¶[0042].” generating an application control prioritization index score for each computer application based on the potential application vulnerability and the impact severity for the application vulnerability; and (7) generating an application portfolio view for the computer application portfolio based on the application control prioritization index”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Sidagni with the additional features of Murano et al in order to provide the ability for generating an application control prioritization index score for each computer application based on the potential application vulnerability and the impact severity for the application vulnerability; and (7) generating an application portfolio view for the computer application portfolio based on the application control prioritization index as suggested by Murano et al abstract.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidagni U.S. 10,754,958 B1 in view of CVSS in further view of Hogg et al U.S. 10,592,938 B2 in and Toback et al U.S. 2014/0173737 A1.
Claim 17: the combination fails to teach, however Toback et al in the same field of endeavor teaches:
generating, by the one or more processors, an alert or notification if the vision score exceeds a predetermined threshold (Toback et al: ¶[0040], claims 8 and 17, “generating a notification if the vulnerability score for the software product exceeds a threshold value.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosure of Sidagni with the additional features of Toback et al in order to provide the ability for detecting, tracking, and remediating software vulnerabilities within components used by software products as the software products are developed or maintained, as suggested by Toback et al ¶[0001].
Conclusion
Saturday, September 26, 2026
/FATOUMATA TRAORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436