DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the opening providing access to at least one hydrogen tank. However, claim 1 recites the fuselage containing or configured to contain at least one tank. The phrase “configured to contain” does not provide a positive recitation of a tank, and the tank may not be present. Accordingly, it is unclear how the opening can provide access to a component not present.
Similarly for the distribution system of claim 12.
Claim 8 recites the antenna at least partially attached to, partially embedded in, or both, a panel, and included in said panel. The disclosure notes the antenna may be attached to the surface of the panel ([0025]), which would not render the antenna in the panel, as claimed. It is thus unclear how attaching would provide the antenna within the panel. See MPEP 2173.03.
Claim 12 recites the antenna arranged between two channels and containing at least a part of a transport pipe, however it is unclear as to what component contains the pipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (CN 108 001 685; provided translation used).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Wang discloses an aircraft comprising:
a fuselage (1) with an unpressurized aft section (aft of the nose cone) containing a hydrogen tank (“tubular container filled with hydrogen”),
wherein an antenna (5) is integrated with a roof portion of the fuselage at least partially covering the aft portion (Fig 1).
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nazario-Romero (US 2016/0301130).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Nazario-Romero discloses an aircraft comprising:
a fuselage (as seen in Fig 1) with an unpressurized aft section (aft of cockpit) configured to contain a hydrogen tank,
wherein an antenna (25) is integrated with a roof portion of the fuselage at least partially covering the aft portion (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 2:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Nazario-Romero discloses the antenna at least partially countersunk (as seen in Fig 1).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Düde et al. (US 2022/0384937).
Regarding independent claim 1:
Düde discloses an aircraft comprising:
a fuselage (4) with an unpressurized aft section (Fig 1) configured to contain a hydrogen tank,
wherein an antenna (13) is integrated with a roof portion of the fuselage at least partially covering the aft portion (Fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (‘685).
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Wang discloses an antenna with a fairing/skin thereover (4), and a body made of “carbon fibre cloth composite structure of the glass fiber cloth with middle coating material” (i.e. a glass and carbon fiber plastic composite), with “high tensile strength, good heat resistance, and corrosion resistance,” but does not specifically disclose the fairing/skin made of glass fiber composite.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Wang to use a glass fiber composite fairing/skin for the predictable advantage of providing high tensile strength, good heat resistance, and corrosion resistance.
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Düde et al. (US 2022/0384937) in view of Ballestero Méndez (EP 4 124 568).
Regarding independent claim 1, in the alternative:
Düde discloses a rear section configured to contain at least one hydrogen tank, but does not disclose at least one hydrogen tank.
Ballestero Méndez teaches an aircraft having hydrogen tanks (3) in the rear unpressurized section (Fig 2; [0042]) to improve efficiency when positioning and controlling the center of gravity when the aircraft is hydrogen powered ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Düde to use rear hydrogen tanks as taught by Ballestero Méndez for the predictable advantage of reducing carbon emissions (by using hydrogen as opposed to carbon jet fuel) and improving the control about the center of gravity of the aircraft.
Regarding claims 3 and 10:
The discussion above regarding claim 1 is relied upon.
Düde discloses a skin/fairing over the antenna, but does not disclose a glass fiber reinforced plastic.
The examiner takes Official Notice that glass fiber composites are well-known in the art.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Düde to use a glass fiber composite as the examiner takes Official Notice that glass fiber composites are well-known in the art, to provide high tensile strength, good heat resistance, and corrosion resistance.
Claim(s) 4-9, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Düde et al. (US 2022/0384937) in view of Ballestero Méndez (EP 4 124 568) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Puschmann (2023/0415907).
Regarding claim 4:
Düde discloses an antenna in a roof of an aircraft, but does not disclose the antenna integrated with a panel releasably closing an opening in the fuselage.
Puschmann teaches roof panels that open ([0054]) when there is a risk of hydrogen accumulation on the ground ([0034]-[0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Düde to use roof doors as taught by Puschmann for the predictable advantage of venting accumulated hydrogen within the aft section.
Regarding claim 5:
The discussion above regarding claim 4 is relied upon.
Düde as modified renders the opening providing access to the hydrogen tank and a fuel distribution system (e.g. Puschmann, Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6:
The discussion above regarding claim 4 is relied upon.
Düde as modified renders the opening configured as a tank port for selectively extracting or removing the tank (the opening permits egress of components e.g. during manufacturing).
Regarding claim 7:
The discussion above regarding claim 4 is relied upon.
Düde as modified renders two tanks with an interspace in-between at least partially covered by the panel (Ballestero Méndez provides for two longitudinally arranged tanks, and the panels of Puschmann would cover them as they are also longitudinally arranged).
Regarding claim 8:
The discussion above regarding claim 4 is relied upon.
Düde discloses the antenna attached to sub-panels (e.g. 17, 27, etc.), and it would be obvious to render glass fiber composites in the same manner as noted above.
Regarding claim 9:
The discussion above regarding claim 4 is relied upon.
Düde discloses an outer surface of the rood portion at least partially formed by a portion of a shell (5) fastened to a reinforcement structure (31, 35) of the fuselage.
Regarding claims 11 and 12:
The discussion above regarding claim 10 is relied upon.
Düde discloses a hydrogen system, but does not disclose a distribution system in the roof or the antenna arranged between two channels formed in the roof and containing at least a hydrogen transport pipe.
Puschmann teaches a hydrogen distribution system in the roof with two lateral channels and transport pipes (30; Figs 2 and 3) for transporting hydrogen in the aircraft to engines or fuel cells ([0027]; [0047]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified Düde to use pipes in lateral channels as taught by Puschmann for the predictable advantage of providing hydrogen within the aircraft to the engines or fuel cells.
The modification would render the antenna between the two channels, as the channels are laterally arranged on the aircraft, and even if not, would further be obvious since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W SANDERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619