DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: In ll. 3, the phrase “can be” should be re-written as --is--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3-13, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, ll. 2, the phrase “a window of the fixation plate” is unclear whether applicant is introducing a new window or referring to the previously stated window described in claim 1. Amendment and clarification are required.
Regarding claim 16, ll. 3, the phrase “may be” and ll. 4-5 and the phrase “may not be” renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the at least one band" in ll. 2 and ll. 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4-13 are rejected on being dependent to a rejected base claim.
Examiner’s Note
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 12, 13, 17, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corsi et al. (US 5,190,545), herein referred to as Corsi.
Regarding claim 1, Corsi discloses a plate assembly (10) (figure 1) comprising a fixation plate (12) having rails (see figure 1 below) that form a window (13) (see figure 1 below), a band (18+20) having a first portion (considered as a tail e.g. portion of element 20, see figure 1 below) and a second portion (considered as a head e.g. portion of element 18, see figure 1 below) defining an opening (28) configured to (i.e. capable of) receive at least part of the first portion (considered as a tail e.g. portion of element 20, see figure 1 below), and wherein the fixation plate (12) is configured to (i.e. capable of) be positioned proximate to a bone (figure 1), wherein the second portion (considered as a head e.g. portion of element 18, see figure 1 below) is configured to (i.e. capable of) be at least partially received at the fixation plate (12) between the rails (see figure 1 below) within the window (13) (see figure 1 below), wherein the band (18+20) is configured to (i.e. capable of) be wrapped around the fixation plate (12) and the bone (figure 1), wherein the opening (28) of the second portion (considered as a head e.g. portion of element 18, see figure 1 below) is configured to (i.e. capable of) receive an end of the first portion (considered as a tail e.g. portion of element 20, see figure 1 below) to form a loop (figure 1), and wherein the band (18+20) is configured to (i.e. capable of) receive a force to tighten the loop (claim 1) formed by the band (18+20).
Regarding claim 2, Corsi discloses wherein the second portion (considered as a head e.g. portion of element 18, see figure 1 above) includes a bottom section (30), wherein the bottom section (30) does not include radially extending tabs (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Corsi discloses wherein the bottom section (30) is configured to (i.e. capable of) be passively received within a window (13) of the fixation plate (12) (figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 4, Corsi discloses wherein the second portion (considered as a head e.g. portion of element 18, see figure 1 above) is configured to (i.e. capable of) be selectively removable from the window (13) when no loop has been formed by the band (18+20) (figure 2), wherein the band (18+20) is configured to (i.e. capable of) urge the second portion (considered as a head e.g. portion of element 18, see figure 1 above) towards the fixation plate (12) upon tightening of the loop formed by the band (18+20) (figure 1).
Regarding claim 5, Corsi discloses wherein the window (13) possesses an elongate shape (figure 2) that is configured to (i.e. capable of) permit the second portion (considered as a head e.g. portion of element 18, see figure 1 above) to slide along the window (13) (considered as up/down movement, see figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Corsi discloses wherein translatory movement of the band (18+20) is at least partially restricted upon tightening of the loop (figure 1) formed by the band (18+20).
Regarding claim 9, Corsi discloses wherein a shape of the bottom section (30) and a shape of the window (13) (figures 1 and 2) are both configured to (i.e. capable of) prevent the band from rotating relative to the window when no tension is being applied to the band.
Regarding claim 12, Corsi discloses wherein a shape of the bottom section (30) matches the shape of the window (13) (figures 1 and 2), wherein receipt of the bottom section (30) in the window (13) is configured to (i.e. capable of) prevent translatory movement of the bottom section (30) relative to the window (13) (figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Corsi discloses wherein receipt of the bottom section (30) in the window (13) is configured to (i.e. capable of) prevent rotational movement of the bottom section (30) relative to the window (13) (figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Corsi discloses wherein the fixation plate (12) includes one or more holes (another element 13), wherein the one or more holes (another element 13) are configured to (i.e. capable of) receive one or more additional fasteners (e.g. bone screw, col. 3, ll. 64-65).
Regarding claim 18, Corsi discloses wherein the one or more additional fasteners include at least one of a screw (e.g. bone screw, col. 3, ll. 64-65), a wire, and a suture.
Regarding claim 20, Corsi discloses a plate assembly (10) (figure 1) comprising a fixation plate (!2) having rails (see figure 1 above) that form a window (13) (see figure 1 above), a band (18+20) having a first portion (considered as a tail e.g. portion of element 20, see figure 1 above), and a second portion (considered as a head e.g. portion of element 18, see figure 1 above) defining an opening (28) configured to (i.e. capable of) receive at least part of the first portion (considered as a tail e.g. portion of element 20, see figure 1 above), and wherein the fixation plate (12) is configured to (i.e. capable of) be positioned proximate to an object (figure 1), wherein the second portion (considered as a head e.g. portion of element 18, see figure 1 above) is configured to (i.e. capable of) be at least partially received at the fixation plate (12) between the rails (see figure 1 above) within the window (13) (see figure 1 above), wherein the band (18+20) is configured to (i.e. capable of) be wrapped around the fixation plate (12) and the object (figure 1), wherein the opening (28) of the second portion (considered as a head e.g. portion of element 18, see figure 1 above) is configured to (i.e. capable of) receive an end of the first portion (considered as a tail e.g. portion of element 20, see figure 1 above) to form a loop (figure 1), and wherein the band (18+20) is configured to (i.e. capable of) receive a force to tighten the loop (claim 1) formed by the band (18+20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corsi (US 5,190,545).
Regarding claim 10, Corsi’s plate assembly discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks wherein the bottom portion has a square shape, a triangular shape, a rectangular shape, a pentagonal shape, a hexagonal shape, an octagonal shape, or a star shape.
However, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Corsi’s bottom portion with wherein the bottom portion has a square shape, a triangular shape, a rectangular shape, a pentagonal shape, a hexagonal shape, an octagonal shape, or a star shape, since a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Corsi’s plate assembly discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks wherein the bottom portion has a square shape.
However, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Corsi’s bottom portion with wherein the bottom portion has a square shape, since a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Corsi (US 5,190,545) in view of Koch et al. (US 9,585,705), herein referred to as Koch.
Regarding claim 19, Corsi’s plate assembly discloses all the features/elements as claimed but lacks wherein a tensioning tool is used to apply a tension force to the at least one band, wherein the tensioning tool has a tension limit that is the maximum tension that can be applied to a given band, wherein the tensioning tool is configured to apply tension to the at least one band until the tension limit has been reached.
However, Koch teaches a tensioning tool (110, 114) is used to apply a tension force to the at least one band (22), wherein the tensioning tool (110, 114) has a tension limit (172) that is the maximum tension that can be applied to a given band (22) (col. 9, ll. 58-67 and col. 10, ll. 1-3), wherein the tensioning tool (110, 114) is configured to (i.e. capable of) apply tension to the at least one band (22) until the tension limit has been reached (col. 9, ll. 58-67 and col. 10, ll. 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Corsi’s plate assembly with a tensioning tool is used to apply a tension force to the at least one band, wherein the tensioning tool has a tension limit that is the maximum tension that can be applied to a given band, wherein the tensioning tool is configured to apply tension to the at least one band until the tension limit has been reached as taught by Koch, since such a tool would tension the strap to compress the bone segments together (col. 8, ll. 64-67 and col. 9, ll. 1-4).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,402,924. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus much specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,290,295. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claims include more elements and are thus much specific. Thus the invention of the patent claims are in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”.
Conclusion
/SI MING KU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775