DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species PG-E (claims 80-82, 94, 103-109, 111, 113-115) in the reply filed on 11 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 90-93, 95-102, 110, and 112 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 November 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 80-82 and 105 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branda et al. (WO 2013/152425), as cited on the IDS.
Regarding claim 80; Branda et al. teaches switching materials and compositions for making the same comprising a photohardenable compound such as polymers or prepolymers with reactive groups that may crosslink intramolecularly or intermolecularly [0054], switchable compound, such as a diarylethene having a polycyclic fused ring with a carbonyl group (see structure below):
wherein Z is S [0067] and R3 is (exhibits photoinitiating properties) [0071].
The Examiner makes note that “wherein the photoswitchable photoinitiator is activatable by exposure to light having a first wavelength and light having a second wavelength to induce a crosslinking or polymerization reaction in the photohardenable resin component at an intersection of the lights of the two wavelengths…” is merely requires the photoswitchable compound to be capable of said function.
Branda et al. teaches all of the above required components, however fails to explicitly disclose each in a preferred embodiment. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); MPEP §2123. Branda et al. does not specifically disclose an embodiment containing the photoswitchable photoinitiator having a diarylethene molecule and a polycyclic group including at least two fused rings of atoms, having a double bonded oxygen attached to a carbon atom ring member. However, at the time of invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a photoswitchable composition containing photoswitchable photoinitiator having a diarylethene molecule and a polycyclic group including at least two fused rings of atoms, having a double bonded oxygen attached to a carbon atom ring member based on the invention of Branda et al., and would have been motivated to do so since Branda et al. suggests that the photoswitchable composition can contain a switching component comprising both a diarylethene molecule and a polycyclic group including at least two fused rings of atoms, having a double bonded oxygen attached to a carbon atom ring [0067-0071].
Regarding claim 81; Branda et al. teaches the composition further comprises Irgagure® 819 (co-initiator) [Exs; 0130-0134].
Regarding claim 82; Branda et al. fails to explicitly teach composition exhibits non-Newtonian rheological behavior. However, Branda et al. teaches employing other polymers in the composition, such as poly(methyl methacrylate) [0061], which exhibits non-Newtonian rheological behavior. Thus, it is the Examiner’s position, that the incorporation of poly(methyl methacrylate) to the composition as taught by Branda et al., will necessarily possess non-Newtonian rheological behavior.
Regarding claim 105; Branda et al. teaches the composition further comprises Irgagure® 819 (co-initiator) [Exs; 0130-0134].
Claim(s) 106-109 and 115 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Branda et al. (WO 2013/152425), as cited on the IDS.
Regarding claim 106, 107, and 109; Branda et al. teaches switching materials and compositions for making the same comprising a photohardenable compound such as polymers or prepolymers with reactive groups that may crosslink intramolecularly or intermolecularly [0054], switchable compound, such as a diarylethene having a polycyclic fused ring with a carbonyl group (see structure below):
wherein Z is S [0067], each R1 and R2 is F [0068-0070], and R3 is (exhibits photoinitiating properties) [0071].
The Examiner makes note that “wherein the photoswitchable photoinitiator is activatable by exposure to light having a first wavelength and light having a second wavelength to induce a crosslinking or polymerization reaction in the photohardenable resin component at an intersection of the lights of the two wavelengths…” is merely requires the photoswitchable compound to be capable of said function.
Branda et al. teaches all of the above required components, however fails to explicitly disclose each in a preferred embodiment. A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including the non-preferred embodiments. See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.); MPEP §2123. Branda et al. does not specifically disclose an embodiment containing the photoswitchable photoinitiator having a diarylethene molecule and a polycyclic group including at least two fused rings of atoms, having a double bonded oxygen attached to a carbon atom ring member. However, at the time of invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare a photoswitchable composition containing photoswitchable photoinitiator having a diarylethene molecule and a polycyclic group including at least two fused rings of atoms, having a double bonded oxygen attached to a carbon atom ring member based on the invention of Branda et al., and would have been motivated to do so since Branda et al. suggests that the photoswitchable composition can contain a switching component comprising both a diarylethene molecule and a polycyclic group including at least two fused rings of atoms, having a double bonded oxygen attached to a carbon atom ring [0067-0071].
Regarding claim 107; the claim requires wherein R groups on any two adjacent ring members of X and/or Y may comprise atoms for completing a ring structure, thus an optional limitation.
Regarding claim 115; Branda et al. teaches the composition further comprises Irgagure® 819 (co-initiator) [Exs; 0130-0134].
Double Patenting
Claims 80, 94, 103, 104, 106-109, 111, and 113-114 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7, 22, 24, 27-28, 90, 92-94, 98-100 of copending Application No. 18/945127 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to the same art specific subject matter, namely photohardenable compositions comprising P-type photochromic photoswitchable photoinitiators. The essential difference between the instant application and the copending application is that the copending application is directed to a method of forming an object using the photohardenable composition, while the instant application is directed to the photohardenable composition. Although the copending application teaches additional method steps, it requires all of the claimed components of the photohardenable composition, thus reading on the instantly claimed application. A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990); MPEP 2131.02(II).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 80-82, 94, 105-106, and 115 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 77, 79, 81-84, 96, 97, 101 of copending Application No. 18/944951 in view of Punpongsanon et al. (“ColorMod: Recoloring 3D Printed Objects using Photochromic Inks” In Proceedings of CHI’18, Conference on human factors in computing systems, April 21-26, 2018; Montreal, QC, Canada). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to the same art specific subject matter, namely photohardenable compositions comprising photochromic photoswitchable photoinitiators. The essential difference between the instant application and the copending application is that the instant application requires a diarylethene molecule, while the instant application requires a generic photochromic molecule comprising one or more rings of atoms wherein one or more of the rings of atoms includes one or more substituents. The copending application does explicitly require a diarylethene molecule. Punpongsanon et al. teaches 3D photochromic inks for use in three dimensional printing, comprising a photohardenable composition comprising a base ink, a photoinitiator, and a photochromic diarylethene dye (DAE-0001, -0004, 0068) [p6, col2, para4]. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to add the diarylethene ink molecule, as taught by Punpongsanon et al., as the photochromic molecule of the copending application, and would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve recoloration by selective tuning, as suggested by Punpongsanon et al. [p11, col2, para3].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Irie et al. (“Diarylethenes for Memories and Switches” Chem. Rev. 2000, 100, 1685-1716) teaches diarylethenes for memories and photoswitches, however fails to teach a photoswitchable photoinitiator comprising a polycyclic group having a double bonded oxygen atom attached to a carbon atom ring member.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767