DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 21-28 and 30 are pending. Claims 21, 23, 24, 28 and 30 have been amended. Claims 29, 31 and 32 have been canceled.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/13/2026, with respect to claim objection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 29 and 31 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-28 and 30 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The art rejections are modified as necessitated by the amendment. See response to arguments below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The newly added limitation “non-porous cathodic material” does not have support in the specification; thus it constitutes new matter. The instant invention explicitly requires a porous cathodic material (see specification, at least summary in paragraphs [0005]-[0015]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over O'Connor et al. (US 20180318843 A1).
Considering claims 21, 22, 26 and 28, O'Connor discloses a method for electrochemically depositing a metal, the method comprising: applying a first voltage charge to a cathodic material and anode at least partially disposed within a cavity [0011]; contacting a solution comprising a metal with the cathodic material having the applied first voltage charge ([0017] and [0116]), also, the solution flows through multiple cells, therefore the solution from one cell enters the next cell with applied potential; applying a second voltage charge to select the metal, wherein the first voltage charge is different than the second voltage charge ([0017] and [0099]); changing an oxidation state of the metal ([0120] and [0146]); and selectively depositing at least a portion of the metal onto the cathodic material [0069].
O'Connor discloses the cathodic material is a carbon nanotube filter.
O'Connor teaches the prior art uses cathode is generally made out of large stainless steel or aluminum sheets and the anode is an inert metal, such as titanium or lead, which suffers high space requirements due to the large surface area of smooth cathodic material needed [0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a non-porous cathodic material in the method of O'Connor in form of metal sheets, because O'Connor teaches such cathodic material as known in the art, with drawbacks of large space requirements due to surface area limitations. Even-though does the substitution makes the method of O'Connor inferior to the unmodified one, such substitution results in predictable result, and such non-porous cathodic material is known and has been practiced in the art.
Considering claim 23, O'Connor discloses contacting the cathodic material with an acid [0012].
Considering claim 24, O'Connor discloses contacting the cathodic material with a buffer [0095].
Considering claim 25, O'Connor discloses generating a gas [0092].
Considering claim 27, O'Connor discloses changing the oxidation state of the metal comprises increasing the oxidation state of the metal [0120].
Considering claim 30, O'Connor discloses removing the selectively deposited metal from the cathodic material [0176].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 21-28 and 30 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that nowhere does O'Connor teach a non-porous cathode, but only carbon nanotube filter as a cathode. This argument is not persuasive, because O'Connor teaches the prior art uses cathode is generally made out of large stainless steel or aluminum sheets and the anode is an inert metal, such as titanium or lead, which suffers high space requirements due to the large surface area of smooth cathodic material needed, thus making such substitution obvious. See modified rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WOJCIECH HASKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794