DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-21, 23, 25, 27 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter (U.S. 2003178509) over Herrmann et al. (U.S. 6170757).
In re claim 16, Porter teaches a dry-running solenoid valve (fig. 2-4; fuel injector 110; [011]) for injecting a note: for injecting a gaseous fuel is an intended use recitation within the pre-amble, and thus is given limited weight) into
a combustion chamber (fig. 2; …injected into a cylinder of an engine; [011]; note: the engine cylinder, piston, and cylinder head comprise the combustion chamber, as is commonly known in the art) or
a prechamber of an internal combustion engine,
with a valve housing (fig. 2; see annotated fig. 1 below; assembly as shown including elements inlet tube 130, outer casing 112, valve body 114 and tip portion 115; [0011-0012]), in which
an electric coil (fig. 2; coil 138; [0014]) and
a magnet armature (fig. 2; armature 132; [0014]) are arranged, and
with a valve element (fig. 2; valve 124; [0012]) that can be actuated by the magnet armature in an axial actuation direction for opening and closing the solenoid valve (as indicated via. [0014]),
wherein the coil generates a magnetic flux (path 142 of the magnetic flux; when the coil 138 of the solenoid is energized, a magnetic flux is generated; [0014-0015]),
when the solenoid valve is actuated,
which flux flows via a magnetically conductive valve housing outer wall (fig. 2; see annotated fig. 1 below; outer casing 112; [0013]) of the valve housing to the magnet armature,
wherein the magnet armature has an armature shaft (as shown in fig. 2; note: the armature shaft of the armature is fixed around the outside of the valve shaft of valve 124), and
the valve element (fig. 2; valve 124) has a valve shaft (shown but not numbered) which is separate from the armature shaft,
wherein the magnet armature actuates the valve shaft via the armature shaft when the solenoid valve is actuated (as shown in fig. 2, and explained in [0012], an internal shaft portion of armature 132 is fixedly mounted to a shaft portion of the valve 124, this arrangement allows the magnet armature actuates the valve shaft via the armature shaft when the solenoid valve is actuated).
wherein a buffer element made of plastic is arranged between the armature shaft and the valve shaft.
Porter lacks
wherein a buffer element made of plastic is arranged between the armature shaft and the valve shaft
Herrmann teaches a fuel injection valve for internal combustion engines (abstract) and further teaches
wherein a buffer element made of plastic (fig. 2; there is an elastomer element 80, which fills a void formed between the piston element 61, valve member 20 and retaining element 63; [Col. 4, ln 18-21]; note: elastomers are a type of polymer (i.e. plastic) that has the ability to stretch and deform under stress and return to its original shape when that stress is removed (think rubber band, o-ring, etc.)) is arranged between the equivalent armature shaft (retaining element 63 as shown in fig. 2; very high resistance to abrasion is obtained by embodying the piston element 61 and the retaining element 63 as metal parts; [Col. 2, ln 33-35]; note: while the armature shaft of Porter is different from the retaining element 63 of Hermann, they are in a substantially similar location and serve a similar function, and thus considered to be equivalent in the context of this claim limitation) and the valve shaft (shaft portion of valve member 20, as shown in fig. 1-2; [Col. 4, ln 23-47]).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Porter, to incorporate a buffer element made of plastic is arranged between the armature shaft and the valve shaft, as clearly suggested and taught by Herrmann, in order to fill a void between injection valve components ([Col. 4, ln 18-21]) which complements the teaching of Porter, in which an internal shaft portion of armature 132 is fixedly mounted to a shaft portion of the valve 124 (as shown in fig. 2, and explained above and in [0012]), and would result in the different portions being fixed mounted without having to high levels of precision machining, thus resulting in lower production costs.
Fig. 1 Annotated Fig. 3 of Portner
In re claim 17, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve according to claim 16, and Porter further teaches wherein
a magnetically conductive flux element (fig. 2-3; see annotated fig. 1 above; flux washer 135; [0013]) is provided in the valve housing,
which flux element introduces at least 80%, of the magnetic flux flowing over the magnetically conductive valve housing outer wall into an armature end face, facing the coil, of the magnet armature (fig. 3; A path 142 of the magnetic flux travels around the coil 138 through the outer casing 112, radially across the flux washer 135, axially downward into the armature 132, radially inward across the armature 132, and axially upward into the inlet tube 130; [0015]; as shown in fig. 3, it appears that at least 80% (via. path 142) of the magnetic flux flowing through the armature flows from the flux washer 135, as indicated via. dotted line 142; note: all of path 142 passes through the flux washer 135)
wherein the flux element (fig. 2-3; flux washer 135) has a higher magnetic conductivity (inherent; note: [0013] states that 135 is made from a ferrous/magnetically conductive material) than the magnetically conductive valve housing outer wall (fig. 2-3; outer casing 112).
In re claim 18, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve according to claim 17, and Porter further teaches wherein
the flux element (fig. 2-3; 135)
is arranged, transversely to the actuation direction (as indicated in fig. 3), in a region adjoining the magnetically conductive valve housing outer wall (fig. 2-3; outer casing 112) of the valve housing and
is arranged, in the actuation direction, between the coil (fig. 2; coil 138) and the magnet armature (fig. 3; 132).
In re claim 19, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve according to claim 17, and Porter further teaches wherein
the flux element (fig. 2-3; flux washer 135) is designed as a closed flux ring (flux washer 135; [0015]; note: washers are typically closed rings, as is commonly known in the art).
In re claim 20, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve according to claim 17, but lack wherein
the flux element has a cross-section in the form of a trapezoid.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the different portions of the flux element of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient (including having a cross-section in the form of a trapezoid or a right trapezoid), since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ 47.
In re claim 21, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve according to claim 16, and Porter further teaches wherein
the coil (fig. 3; 138) is arranged on a coil carrier (fig. 3; coil 138 mounted onto a bobbin 140; [0014]), wherein an end section (bottom portion of 140), axially facing the magnet armature (as shown in fig. 3; 132), of the coil carrier is designed as an end stop (as indicated in fig. 2-4; note: how bottom portion of 140 (139, 135 and 137) vertically limits the movement of armature 132 from moving in an upwards direction) for the magnet armature in order to limit the axial movement of the magnet armature in the actuating position in order to limit a valve lift of the valve element (as indicated in fig. 2-4).
In re claim 23, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve according to one of claim 16, and Porter further teaches wherein
the valve housing forms a cylinder (fig. 3; fuel flow passage 122; [0011-0012]) in the region of the magnet armature (as shown in fig. 3; note: the enlarged area for fuel, near armature 132), and the magnet armature forms a piston which is axially movable in the cylinder (as shown in fig. 3),
wherein a compression space is formed between a first armature end face (as shown in fig. 3, bottom face of 132), facing away from the coil, of the magnet armature and an opposite valve housing wall in the actuation direction (as shown in fig. 3, portion of 114 open to 122 proximal to 132),
wherein at least one throttle opening (fig. 3; through holes 146; [0020]) is arranged in the magnet armature and connects the first armature end face (as shown in fig. 3, bottom face of 132) to an opposite, second armature end face (as shown in fig. 3; other (top) side of 132).
In re claim 25, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve according to claim 16, and Porter further teaches wherein
a valve opening (outlet orifice in 120, near 126, not numbered, but shown in fig. 5) is provided in an axial end (fig. 5; bottom end of 115, which is part of the valve housing) of the valve housing, and at least one feed opening (top portion of 130 as shown in fig. 2; opening is via. inlet tube 130; [0012]) for a gaseous medium is provided in the valve housing, which feed opening is connected to the valve opening within the valve housing.
In re claim 27, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve according to claim 16, and Porter further teaches wherein
a spring element (fig. 2-3; spring 128; [0012]) is arranged in the valve housing and exerts a restoring force on the valve element in order to hold the valve element in the closed position (as shown in fig. 2-3; valve 124 is biased to a closed position by a spring 128; [0012]) when the solenoid valve is in the non- actuated state (as indicated via. fig. 2 and [0012, 0019]).
In re claims 29-30, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve of claim 17, and Porter further teaches wherein
the flux element introduces 100% of the magnetic flux flowing over the magnetically conductive valve housing outer wall into an armature end face, facing the coil, of the magnetic armature (fig. 3; a path 142 of the magnetic flux travels around the coil 138 through the outer casing 112, radially across the flux washer 135, axially downward into the armature 132, radially inward across the armature 132, and axially upward into the inlet tube 130; [0015]; as shown in fig. 3, it appears that all of the magnetic flux (via. path 142) flowing through the armature flows from the flux washer 135, as indicated via. dotted line 142).
In re claim 31, see claim 20 above, mutatis mutandis.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter (U.S. 2003178509) in view of Herrmann et al. (U.S. 6170757) and in further view of Shimizu et al. (U.S. 20050067512).
In re claim 22, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve according to claim 21, but lack wherein
the coil carrier is formed from a plastic, and the coil is completely integrated into the coil carrier.
Shimizu teaches an analogous fuel injector and further teaches
wherein the coil carrier (fig. 1; bobbin 10; [0033]) is formed from a plastic (as indicated in [0033]), and the coil (fig. 1; electromagnetic coil 2; [0033]) is completely integrated into the coil carrier (fig. 1; electromagnetic coil 2 wound on the bobbin 10 is covered with an external plastic mold 12; [0033]).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Porter, to incorporate the coil carrier being formed from a plastic, and the coil is completely integrated into the coil carrier, as clearly suggested and taught by Shimizu, in order to prevent the magnetic characteristics of the magnetic circuit from being deteriorated ([0074]).
Claims 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter (U.S. 2003178509) in view of Herrmann et al. (U.S. 6170757) and in further view of Ranegger et al. (U.S. 20110266474)
In re claim 24, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve according to claim 23 but lack wherein
a sealing element for sealing the compression space is arranged on the peripheral surface of the magnet armature.
Ranegger teaches an analogous fuel injection valve (fig. 1) and further teaches
wherein a sealing element (fig. 1; o-ring 21; [0026]; note: it is common and routine to use o-rings for sealing purposes in the art) for sealing the compression space (fig. 1; larger venting volume 28; [0037]; note: as shown in fig. 1, magnet armature 22 sits below electromagnet 5 and forms a cavity (larger venting volume 28), as indicated in [0037], when the valve is opened via. actuation of the armature, gas from volume 26 is compressed and expelled through 27, and into 28, which would result in the pressure in 28 increasing) is arranged on the peripheral surface of the magnet armature (fig. 1; magnet armature 22; [0037]).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Porter, to incorporate a sealing element for sealing the compression space is arranged on the peripheral surface of the magnet armature, as clearly suggested and taught by Ranegger, in order to be able to open the gas valve more rapidly ([0037]).
In re claim 26, Porter and Hermann teach the solenoid valve according to claim 16, but lack wherein
the buffer element is formed from a tribologically-optimized plastic.
Ranegger teaches an analogous fuel injection valve (fig. 1) and further teaches
the buffer element (fig. 1; slide rings 20; [0026]) is formed from a tribologically-optimized plastic (slide rings 20 made of triblogically advantageous material such as, e.g. PTFE; [0026]; note: PTFE is also commonly known as Teflon and is a type of plastic, more specifically, PTFE is a type fluorinated polymer and is commonly known as polytetrafluoroethylene).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Porter, to incorporate a buffer element made of plastic arranged between the armature shaft and the valve shaft, as clearly suggested and taught by Ranegger, in order to reduce the friction between valve element and guide pin ([0026]).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter (U.S. 2003178509) in view of Herrmann et al. (U.S. 6170757) and in further view of Czimmek et al. (U.S. 20180171888).
In re claim 28, Porter teaches an internal combustion engine (fig. 2; injected into a cylinder of an engine; [0012]; note: the engine cylinder, piston, and cylinder head comprise the combustion chamber, as is commonly known in the art) having a cylinder head and at least one combustion chamber (necessarily present), but lacks
wherein, on the cylinder head, at least one solenoid valve according to claim 16 is arranged in order to supply
a gaseous fuel to the combustion chamber or
a prechamber upstream of the combustion chamber.
Czimmek teaches an analogous fuel injector and further teaches
wherein, on the cylinder head (fig. 1, 5; isolation valve body 47 has geometry to accept a combustion seal (not shown) in a combustion seal groove 16 (FIGS. 1 and 5) to provide the seal between the injector 10 and the cylinder head of the internal combustion engine [0038];), at least one solenoid valve (fig. 1; injector 10; [0038])
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Porter, to incorporate on the cylinder head, at least one solenoid valve arranged in order to supply a gaseous fuel to the combustion chamber or a prechamber upstream of the combustion chamber, as clearly suggested and taught by Czimmek, in order to accept a combustion seal that seals the injector to the combustion chamber and prevents combustion gas leak between the injector and the cylinder head of the internal combustion engine ([0009]).
Conclusion
The prior art of Brooks et al. (U.S. 20050006492) discloses a modular fuel injector for an internal combustion engine, including a valve group subassembly and a power group subassembly. The valve group subassembly includes a first stator member, a second stator member, a non-magnetic shell disposed between the first and second stator members, a valve body, and an armature member. The armature member defines a first working air gap with the first stator member and a second working air gap with the second stator member. The armature member includes a closure member proximate an outlet end and contiguous to a seat in a first configuration. The power group subassembly includes an electromagnetic coil surrounding the passage, a housing encasing the coil, and an over-mold encapsulating the coil and the housing. The coil is energizable to provide magnetic flux that flows through the first and second working air gaps in the direction of the longitudinal axis.
/JOHN D BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747