DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 7-8 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,413,766 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Consider application claim 1, claim 1 of reference patent discloses a method for picture prediction, implemented in a decoder and comprising: obtaining an initial predicted value of a colour component to-be-predicted of a current block in a picture through a prediction model; and filtering the initial predicted value and obtaining a target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block; wherein filtering the initial predicted value and obtaining the target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block comprises: filtering the initial predicted value by using a preset processing mode, wherein the preset processing mode comprises value modification; and obtaining the target predicted value according to a result of the filtering; wherein before filtering the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode, the method further comprises: performing characteristic statistics on at least one colour component of the current block; wherein filtering the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode, comprises: filtering the initial predicted value according to the result of the characteristic statistics by using the preset processing mode.
Claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 2, claim 1 of reference patent discloses a method for picture prediction, implemented in a decoder and comprising: obtaining an initial predicted value of a colour component to-be-predicted of a current block in a picture through a prediction model; and filtering the initial predicted value and obtaining a target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block; wherein filtering the initial predicted value and obtaining the target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block comprises: filtering the initial predicted value by using a preset processing mode, wherein the preset processing mode comprises value modification; and obtaining the target predicted value according to a result of the filtering; wherein before filtering the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode, the method further comprises: performing characteristic statistics on at least one colour component of the current block; wherein filtering the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode, comprises: filtering the initial predicted value according to the result of the characteristic statistics by using the preset processing mode.
Claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 3, claim 2 of reference patent discloses determining, according to a colour component to-be-referenced of the current block, a reference value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block..
Claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 4, claim 3 of reference patent discloses a method for picture prediction, implemented in an encoder and comprising: obtaining an initial predicted value of a colour component to-be-predicted of a current block in a picture through a prediction model; and filtering the initial predicted value and obtaining a target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block, wherein filtering the initial predicted value and obtaining the target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block comprises: filtering the initial predicted value by using a preset processing mode, wherein the preset processing mode comprises value modification; and obtaining the target predicted value according to a result of the filtering; wherein before filtering the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode, the method further comprises: performing characteristic statistics on at least one colour component of the current block; wherein filtering the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode, comprises: filtering the initial predicted value according to the result of the characteristic statistics by using the preset processing mode.
Claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 5, claim 3 of reference patent discloses a method for picture prediction, implemented in an encoder and comprising: obtaining an initial predicted value of a colour component to-be-predicted of a current block in a picture through a prediction model; and filtering the initial predicted value and obtaining a target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block, wherein filtering the initial predicted value and obtaining the target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block comprises: filtering the initial predicted value by using a preset processing mode, wherein the preset processing mode comprises value modification; and obtaining the target predicted value according to a result of the filtering; wherein before filtering the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode, the method further comprises: performing characteristic statistics on at least one colour component of the current block; wherein filtering the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode, comprises: filtering the initial predicted value according to the result of the characteristic statistics by using the preset processing mode.
Claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 6, claim 4 of reference patent discloses determining, according to a colour component to-be-referenced of the current block, a reference value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block.
Claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 7, application claim 7 recites a non-statutory computer readable storage medium storing thereon a computer program and a bitstream, wherein when processed by one or more processors, the computer program causes the one or more processors to implement the method recited in application claim 4 (see rejection for application claim 4). Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider application claim 8, claim 7 of reference patent discloses a decoder comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs than can be run on the processor; and the processor when running the computer programs is configured to: obtain an initial predicted value of a colour component to-be-predicted of a current block in a picture through a prediction model; and filter the initial predicted value and obtain a target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block, wherein the processor configured to filter the initial predicted value and obtaining the target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block is configured to: filter the initial predicted value by using a preset processing mode, wherein the preset processing mode comprises value modification; and obtain the target predicted value according to a result of the filtering; wherein before filter the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode, the processor is further configured to perform characteristic statistics on at least one colour component of the current block; wherein the processor configured to filter the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode is further configured to: filter the initial predicted value according to the result of the characteristic statistics by using the preset processing mode.
Claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 9, claim 7 of reference patent discloses a decoder comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs than can be run on the processor; and the processor when running the computer programs is configured to: obtain an initial predicted value of a colour component to-be-predicted of a current block in a picture through a prediction model; and filter the initial predicted value and obtain a target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block, wherein the processor configured to filter the initial predicted value and obtaining the target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block is configured to: filter the initial predicted value by using a preset processing mode, wherein the preset processing mode comprises value modification; and obtain the target predicted value according to a result of the filtering; wherein before filter the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode, the processor is further configured to perform characteristic statistics on at least one colour component of the current block; wherein the processor configured to filter the initial predicted value by using the preset processing mode is further configured to: filter the initial predicted value according to the result of the characteristic statistics by using the preset processing mode.
Claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Consider application claim 10, claim 8 of reference patent discloses determine, according to a colour component to-be-referenced of the current block, a reference value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block.
Claims of reference patent disclose all the limitations in the application. Thus, non-statutory double patenting applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2016/0219283 A1).
Consider claim 1, Chen teaches a method for picture prediction, implemented in a decoder and comprising: obtaining an initial predicted value of a colour component to-be-predicted of a current block in a picture through a prediction model ([0092] – [0094]); and performing value modification on the initial predicted value to obtain a target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block ([0092] – [0094]).
Consider claim 2, Chen teaches performing value modification on the initial predicted value to obtain the target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block comprises: performing characteristic statistics on at least one colour component of the current block ([0092] – [0094]); performing value modification on the initial predicted value to obtain the target predicted value according to a result of the characteristic statistics ([0092] – [0094]).
Consider claim 3, Chen teaches determining, according to the colour component to-be-referenced of the current block, a reference value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block ([0095] – [0111]).
Consider claim 4, Chen teaches a method for picture prediction, implemented in an encoder and comprising: obtaining an initial predicted value of a colour component to-be-predicted of a current block in a picture through a prediction model ([0092] – [0094]); and performing value modification on the initial predicted value to obtain a target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block ([0092] – [0094]).
Consider claim 5, Chen teaches performing value modification on the initial predicted value to obtain the target predicted value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block comprises: performing characteristic statistics on at least one colour component of the current block ([0092] – [0094]); performing value modification on the initial predicted value to obtaining the target predicted value according to a result of the characteristic statistics ([0092] – [0094]).
Consider claim 6, Chen teaches determining, according to the colour component to-be-referenced of the current block, a reference value of the colour component to-be-predicted of the current block ([0095] – [0111]).
Consider claim 7, claim 7 recites a non-statutory computer readable storage medium storing thereon a computer program and a bitstream ([0041]), wherein when processed by one or more processors, the computer program causes the one or more processors to implement the method recited in application claim 4 (see rejection for claim 4). Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 8, claim 8 recites a decoder, comprising: a memory and a processor ([0041]); wherein the memory is configured to store computer programs ([0041]), which when executed by the processor, configures the processor to perform the method recited in claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1). Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 9, claim 9 recites the decoder that implements the method recited in claim 2. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 10, claim 10 recites the decoder that implements the method recited in claim 3. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/TAT C CHIO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486