DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 12-13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williams (US 4142550).
Regarding claim 1, Williams (FIG) discloses “A chemical injection optimization and control valve device, comprising:
a first housing (18) in which a piston (76/48) travels, said piston having a seal (72) disposed around an outer surface of said piston and said seal being disposed around a portion of an inner circumference of said first housing (see FIG);
a resilient member (52) holding said piston under tension (downward force, like applicant);
a pressure adjustment member (82, adjustable as described ) disposed at the opposite end of said housing from said piston (upper portion); and
a seat body housing (10, 34, 32), comprising a seating surface (inner wall of 32 at 56), wherein said seat body housing receives said first housing (at 15/16) and wherein said seating surface receives said piston, said seat body housing further comprising an inlet port (28) and a discharge port (22).”
Regarding claim 2, Williams (FIG) discloses “further comprising:
a pressure adjustment stop member (bottom end of threaded wall that receives 82, termination via inner annular shoulder seen to stop downward movement of 82) formed on an internal wall of said tubular housing (see FIG); and
a projection (male threaded bottom of 82) formed on said pressure adjustment member, wherein said projection is arranged and configured to prevent said pressure adjustment member from traveling past said pressure adjustment stop member of said tubular housing (via termination of threaded coupling).”
Regarding claim 5, Williams (FIG) discloses “wherein said first housing (18) is configured as a tubular-shaped housing (called tubular), and wherein said piston is configured as a conical-shaped piston (has conical sections via tapered surfaces of 76).”
Regarding claim 6, Williams (FIG) discloses “further comprising an external protrusion section (15) on an external wall of said tubular housing, said external protrusion section being configured for cooperative engagement with a fastening tool (female threads of 16 seen as a “fastening tool”, as it is a screw fastener).”
Regarding claim 7, Williams (FIG) discloses “wherein said seat body housing comprises a horizontal inlet channel (36, seen to be horizontal as a matter of perspective) passing through the interior of said seat body housing.”
Regarding claim 12, Williams (FIG) discloses “A chemical injection optimization and control valve device, comprising:
a first tubular housing (18, called tubular) in which a conical piston (76/48 has conical sections via tapered surfaces of 76) travels, said piston having a seal (72) disposed around an outer circumference of said piston and said seal being disposed around an inner circumference of said first tubular housing (see FIG);
a pressure adjustment member (82, adjustable as described) disposed at the opposite end of said tubular housing from said piston (upper portion); and
a seat body housing (10, 34, 32), comprising a seating surface (inner wall of 32 at 56), wherein said seat body housing receives said first housing (at 15/16) and wherein said seating surface receives said piston, said seat body housing further comprising an inlet port (28) and a discharge port (22).”
Regarding claim 13, Williams (FIG) discloses “a resilient member (52) holding said piston under tension (downward force, like applicant).”
Regarding claim 19, Williams (FIG) discloses “A chemical injection optimization and control valve device, comprising:
a first housing (18) in which a piston travels (76/48), said piston having a seal (72) disposed around an outer circumference of said piston and said seal being disposed around an inner circumference of said first tubular housing (see FIG);
a seat body housing (10, 34, 32), comprising a seating surface (inner wall of 32 at 56), wherein said seat body housing receives said first housing (at 15/16) and wherein said seating surface receives said piston, said seat body housing further comprising an inlet port (28) and a discharge port (22);
an inlet channel (36) passing through the interior of said seat body housing;
a discharge channel (20) passing through the interior of said seat body housing;
a channel (are where 48/68/76 reside) extending from the seat body housing through the seating surface and intersecting the inlet channel and the discharge channel, providing for fluid communication between the inlet port and the discharge port (see FIG); and
wherein when the first housing, which contains the conical piston (76/48 has conical sections via tapered surfaces of 76), is fastened to the seat body housing (at 15), the piston is seated against the seating surface (when 76/48 move downward from FIG) such that in a rest position the piston prevents fluid communication between the inlet channel and the discharge channel (via 48 closing 88).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-9, 11, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Liesenhoff et al (US 5054517).
Regarding claims 7-8, Williams is silent regarding the entirety of “[intervening claim 7] wherein said seat body housing comprises a horizontal inlet channel passing through the interior of said seat body housing”,
“[claim 8] wherein said seat body housing comprises a horizontal discharge channel passing through the interior of said seat body housing.” Instead the inlet and outlet are perpendicular.
However, Liesenhoff (FIG 1) teaches a reciprocating valve analogous to Williams (where the inlet enters below the outlet), with a “seat body housing” 14 having a horizontal inlet passage 20, horizontal outlet passage 12, and a vertical valve passage 9/11 inbetween the inlet/outlet.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the seat body housing of Williams to have the inlet and outlet orientation of Liesenhoff such that “[intervening claim 7] wherein said seat body housing comprises a horizontal inlet channel passing through the interior of said seat body housing”, “[claim 8] wherein said seat body housing comprises a horizontal discharge channel passing through the interior of said seat body housing”, as Williams already discloses the result of a valve controlling flow from a lower inlet to an upper outlet, and choosing a different orientation for the inlet to achieve that result would be within routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Liesenhoff (FIG 1) as applied to claim 8 further teaches “wherein a vertical channel (9/11) extends from the seat body housing through the seating surface (at 21) and intersects the horizontal inlet channel and the horizontal discharge channel (see FIG 1), allowing fluid communication between the inlet and discharge ports (around 19).”
Regarding claim 11, Liesenhoff (FIG 1) as applied to claim 8 further teaches “wherein when said first housing is connected to the seat body housing and the piston sits in physical contact with the seating surface such that in a rest position the piston prevents fluid communication between the inlet and discharge channels.”
Regarding claim 16, Williams is silent regarding the entirety of “wherein said seat body housing comprises a horizontal inlet channel passing through the interior of said seat body housing, wherein a horizontal discharge channel passes through the interior of said seat body housing, and wherein a single vertical channel extends from the seat body housing through the seating surface and intersects the inlet channel and the discharge channel, allowing fluid communication between the inlet and discharge ports when said piston is not seated in said seating surface.” Instead the inlet and outlet are perpendicular with the inlet and valve passage being coaxial.
However, Liesenhoff (FIG 1) teaches a reciprocating valve analogous to Williams (where the inlet enters below the outlet), with a “seat body housing” 14 having a horizontal inlet passage 20, horizontal outlet passage 12, and a vertical valve passage 9/11 inbetween the inlet/outlet.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the seat body housing of Williams to have the inlet and outlet orientation of Liesenhoff such that “wherein said seat body housing comprises a horizontal inlet channel passing through the interior of said seat body housing, wherein a horizontal discharge channel passes through the interior of said seat body housing, and wherein a single vertical channel extends from the seat body housing through the seating surface and intersects the inlet channel and the discharge channel, allowing fluid communication between the inlet and discharge ports when said piston is not seated in said seating surface”, as Williams already discloses the result of a valve controlling flow from a lower inlet to an upper outlet, and choosing a different orientation for the inlet to achieve that result would be within routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, Williams (FIG) discloses “wherein said piston prevents fluid communication between said inlet port and said discharge port when said piston is seated in said seating surface (when piston moves down from FIG it closes communication).”
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams in view of Kelly (US 2874718).
Williams further discloses “wherein when the tubular housing, which contains the conical piston, is fastened to the seat body housing (at 15), the piston is disposed in physical contact with the … seating surface such that in a rest position (when 76/48 move downward from FIG) the piston prevents fluid communication between the inlet channel and the discharge channel (via 48 closing 88).”
Williams is silent regarding “the conical seating surface”. In Williams the seating surface is flat.
However, Kelly (FIG 1) teaches a spring-loaded reciprocating valve analogous to Williams with a conical piston 12 and conical seating 12.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the shape of the seating surface/valving surface of Williams such that it includes a “conical seating surface”, as taught by Kelly, to provide a shape that provides a degree of nesting between to piston and seat for better alignment.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-15, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12398816. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent claim includes at least the substance of the application claims. In other words, Patent claim 1 anticipates all of the claims above and the application claims can be found within claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14-15 are rejected over nonstatutory Double Patenting but would otherwise be allowable over prior art.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, closest art of records Williams is silent regarding “further comprising an inlet port check valve assembly detachably coupled to said inlet port of said seat body housing” in the context of the claim.
While this feature is shown in Tseng (US 20150020898), it would not be obvious to modify Williams with Tseng without undue hindsight reasoning.
Claim 4 is allowable by virtue of its dependency on claim 3.
Regarding claim 10, closest art of record Williams/Liesenhoff are silent regarding “wherein the vertical channel intersects the horizontal inlet channel at a position above its intersection with the horizontal discharge channel.” Instead in Liesenhoff the outlet is above the inlet. This is critical to Liesenhoff, such that it teaches against the inlet being above the outlet.
In light of the above, modifying Williams/Liesenhoff to teach this feature is nonobvious.
Regarding claim 14, closest art of records Williams is silent regarding “further comprising an inlet port check valve assembly” in the context of the claim.
While this feature is shown in Tseng (US 20150020898), it would not be obvious to modify Williams with Tseng without undue hindsight reasoning.
Claim 15 is allowable by virtue of its dependency on claim 14.
Regarding claim 20, closest art of records Williams is silent regarding “wherein said inlet channel is in fluid communication with said seal, and said fluid communication between said inlet channel and said seal forces said piston upwards out of engagement with said seating surface to allow fluid to flow to said discharge channel” in the context of the claim.
It would not be obvious to modify Williams to teach this feature, as the modification would dramatically alter how Williams operates.
Conclusion
/PATRICK C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753