Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/06/2025 & 06/01/2026 were filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 09/10/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 10-15, & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim & Kim (US 20180309917 A1, hereinafter, "Kim").
Regarding Claim 1, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising: a first camera (Kim, Fig. 5, 521); a second camera (Kim, Fig. 5, 522); memory configured to store at least one instruction (Kim, Fig. 5, 570); and at least one processor (Kim, Fig. 5, 580), wherein the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the electronic device to: obtain, by using the first camera, a first image captured at intervals of a first period (Kim, Fig. 6, Cam 1), obtain, by using the second camera, a second image captured at intervals of a second period (Kim, Fig. 6, Cam 2), select the first image, based on a light intensity value of the first image being less than or equal to a first threshold and greater than or equal to a second threshold (Kim, Fig. 19, S1908, [0248], ln. 2-5, "The controller may determine the frame insertion by determining whether there is an illuminance change [frequency change] from sensing data of the illuminance sensor or the illuminance change is a threshold value or more that may affect quality of acquired image."), select the second image captured prior to the first image being captured, based on the light intensity value being greater than the first threshold or less than the second threshold (Kim, Fig. 19, S1908, [0248], ln. 2-5, "The controller may determine the frame insertion by determining whether there is an illuminance change [frequency change] from sensing data of the illuminance sensor or the illuminance change is a threshold value or more that may affect quality of acquired image."), and generate a video based on the selected first image or the selected second image (Kim, Fig. 15, Result Video).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Kim teaches the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the electronic device to: obtain a third temporary image by using the first camera, obtain a fourth temporary image by using the second camera (Kim, [0212], ln. 1-3, "…the narrow angle camera sensor may shoot a main subject at high resolution [using an optical image stabilizer {OIS}, etc.], whereas the wide angle camera sensor may obtain a wide background image which is not seen by the narrow angle camera sensor."), identify a reference camera among the first camera and the second camera, based on light intensity distributions of the third temporary image and the fourth temporary image, and synchronize settings of the first camera or the second camera based on settings of the reference camera (Kim, Fig. 9, [0213], ln. 1-3, "The aforementioned image registration and local patch based super-resolution method are used for an area of the main subject, whereby resolution of image of the wide angle camera may be improved to a level of the narrow angle camera as shown in FIG. 9.").
Regarding Claim 4, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 3 as noted above. Kim teaches the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the electronic device to: identify an overlapping region between the third temporary image and the fourth temporary image, and identify the reference camera among the first camera and the second camera, based on a light intensity distribution of the overlapping region between the third temporary image and the fourth temporary image (Kim, Fig. 9, [0213], ln. 1-3, "The aforementioned image registration and local patch based super-resolution method are used for an area of the main subject, whereby resolution of image of the wide angle camera may be improved to a level of the narrow angle camera as shown in FIG. 9.").
Regarding Claim 10, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Kim teaches the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the electronic device to: predict a time period when the light intensity value of the first image is greater than the first threshold or less than the second threshold (Kim, Fig. 12, S1210), obtain the second image during the predicted time period, and obtain the first image at a time other than the predicted time period (Kim, Fig. 6, Frame 1 & Frame 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Kim teaches a video generation method comprising: obtaining, by using a first camera, a first image captured at intervals of a first period (Kim, Fig. 6, Cam 1); obtaining, by using a second camera, a second image captured at intervals of a second period (Kim, Fig. 6, Cam 2); selecting the first image, based on a light intensity value of the first image being less than or equal to a first threshold and greater than or equal to a second threshold (Kim, Fig. 19, S1908, [0248], ln. 2-5, "The controller may determine the frame insertion by determining whether there is an illuminance change [frequency change] from sensing data of the illuminance sensor or the illuminance change is a threshold value or more that may affect quality of acquired image."); selecting the second image captured prior to the first image being captured, based on the light intensity value being greater than the first threshold or less than the second threshold (Kim, Fig. 19, S1908, [0248], ln. 2-5, "The controller may determine the frame insertion by determining whether there is an illuminance change [frequency change] from sensing data of the illuminance sensor or the illuminance change is a threshold value or more that may affect quality of acquired image."); and generating a video based on the selected first image or the selected second image (Kim, Fig. 15, Result Video).
Regarding Claim 12, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 11 as noted above. Kim teaches obtaining a first temporary image captured at intervals of a third period (Kim, Fig. 6, Frame 2); obtaining a second temporary image captured at intervals of a fourth period (Kim, Fig. 6, Frame 3); obtaining a difference image corresponding to a difference between the first temporary image and the second temporary image (2444, Fig. 10, [0103], ln. 9-10, "…the electronic device 101 may obtain difference images between the stabilized images…"); and obtaining the second image at the intervals of the second period based on a light intensity change of the difference image being greater than or equal to a threshold (Kim, Fig. 19, S1908, [0248], ln. 2-5, "The controller may determine the frame insertion by determining whether there is an illuminance change [frequency change] from sensing data of the illuminance sensor or the illuminance change is a threshold value or more that may affect quality of acquired image.").
Regarding Claim 13, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 11 as noted above. Kim teaches obtaining a third temporary image by using the first camera (Kim, Fig. 6, Frame 2); obtaining a fourth temporary image by using the second camera (Kim, Fig. 6, Frame 3); identifying a reference camera among the first camera and the second camera, based on light intensity distributions of the third temporary image and the fourth temporary image (Kim, [0212], ln. 1-3, "…the narrow angle camera sensor may shoot a main subject at high resolution [using an optical image stabilizer {OIS}, etc.], whereas the wide angle camera sensor may obtain a wide background image which is not seen by the narrow angle camera sensor."); and synchronizing a setting of the first camera or a setting of the second camera based on a setting of the reference camera (Kim, Fig. 9, [0213], ln. 1-3, "The aforementioned image registration and local patch based super-resolution method are used for an area of the main subject, whereby resolution of image of the wide angle camera may be improved to a level of the narrow angle camera as shown in FIG. 9.").
Regarding Claim 14, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 13 as noted above. Kim teaches identifying an overlapping region between the third temporary image and the fourth temporary image (Kim, [0212], ln. 1-3, "…the narrow angle camera sensor may shoot a main subject at high resolution [using an optical image stabilizer {OIS}, etc.], whereas the wide angle camera sensor may obtain a wide background image which is not seen by the narrow angle camera sensor."); and identifying the reference camera among the first camera and the second camera, based on a light intensity distribution of the overlapping region between the third temporary image and the fourth temporary image (Kim, Fig. 9, [0213], ln. 1-3, "The aforementioned image registration and local patch based super-resolution method are used for an area of the main subject, whereby resolution of image of the wide angle camera may be improved to a level of the narrow angle camera as shown in FIG. 9.").
Regarding Claim 15, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having stored thereon a program that is executable by at least one processor of computer to perform a video generation method, the video generation method comprising: obtaining, by using a first camera, a first image captured at intervals of a first period (Kim, Fig. 6, Cam 1); obtaining, by using a second camera, a second image captured at intervals of a second period (Kim, Fig. 6, Cam 2); selecting the first image, based on a light intensity value of the first image being less than or equal to a first threshold and greater than or equal to a second threshold (Kim, Fig. 19, S1908, [0248], ln. 2-5, "The controller may determine the frame insertion by determining whether there is an illuminance change [frequency change] from sensing data of the illuminance sensor or the illuminance change is a threshold value or more that may affect quality of acquired image."); selecting the second image captured prior to the first image being captured, based on the light intensity value being greater than the first threshold or less than the second threshold; and generating a video based on the selected first image or the selected second image (Kim, Fig. 19, S1908, [0248], ln. 2-5, "The controller may determine the frame insertion by determining whether there is an illuminance change [frequency change] from sensing data of the illuminance sensor or the illuminance change is a threshold value or more that may affect quality of acquired image.").
Regarding Claim 17, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 15 as noted above. Kim teaches the video generation method further comprises: obtaining a third temporary image by using the first camera (Kim, Fig. 6, Frame 2); obtaining a fourth temporary image by using the second camera (Kim, Fig. 6, Frame 3); identifying a reference camera among the first camera and the second camera based on light intensity distributions of the third temporary image and the fourth temporary image (Kim, [0212], ln. 1-3, "…the narrow angle camera sensor may shoot a main subject at high resolution [using an optical image stabilizer {OIS}, etc.], whereas the wide angle camera sensor may obtain a wide background image which is not seen by the narrow angle camera sensor."); and synchronizing a setting of the first camera or a setting of the second camera based on a setting of the reference camera (Kim, Fig. 9, [0213], ln. 1-3, "The aforementioned image registration and local patch based super-resolution method are used for an area of the main subject, whereby resolution of image of the wide angle camera may be improved to a level of the narrow angle camera as shown in FIG. 9.").
Regarding Claim 18, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 17 as noted above. Kim teaches the video generation method further comprises: identifying an overlapping region between the third temporary image and the fourth temporary image (Kim, [0212], ln. 1-3, "…the narrow angle camera sensor may shoot a main subject at high resolution [using an optical image stabilizer {OIS}, etc.], whereas the wide angle camera sensor may obtain a wide background image which is not seen by the narrow angle camera sensor."); and identifying the reference camera among the first camera and the second camera based on a light intensity distribution of the overlapping region between the third temporary image and the fourth temporary image (Kim, Fig. 9, [0213], ln. 1-3, "The aforementioned image registration and local patch based super-resolution method are used for an area of the main subject, whereby resolution of image of the wide angle camera may be improved to a level of the narrow angle camera as shown in FIG. 9.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Lee et al (US 20230022444 A1, hereinafter, "2444").
Regarding Claim 2, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. 2444 teaches the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the electronic device to: obtain a first temporary image captured at intervals of a third period, obtain a second temporary image captured at intervals of a fourth period, obtain a difference image corresponding to a difference between the first temporary image and the second temporary image (2444, Fig. 10, [0103], ln. 9-10, "…the electronic device 101 may obtain difference images between the stabilized images…"). 2444 does not teach obtain the second image at the intervals of the second period, based on a light intensity change of the difference image being greater than or equal to a threshold. However, Kim teaches obtain the second image at the intervals of the second period, based on a light intensity change of the difference image being greater than or equal to a threshold (Kim, Fig. 19, S1908, [0248], ln. 2-5, "The controller may determine the frame insertion by determining whether there is an illuminance change [frequency change] from sensing data of the illuminance sensor or the illuminance change is a threshold value or more that may affect quality of acquired image."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of 2444 and Kim with those of Kim because it is widely known in the art to use difference imaging.
Regarding Claim 16, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 15 as noted above. Kim teaches obtaining a first temporary image captured at intervals of a third period (Kim, Fig. 6, Frame 2); obtaining a second temporary image captured at intervals of a fourth period (Kim, Fig. 6, Frame 3); and obtaining the second image at the intervals of the second period based on a light intensity change of the difference image being greater than or equal to a threshold (Kim, Fig. 19, S1908, [0248], ln. 2-5, "The controller may determine the frame insertion by determining whether there is an illuminance change [frequency change] from sensing data of the illuminance sensor or the illuminance change is a threshold value or more that may affect quality of acquired image."). Kim does not teach obtaining a difference image corresponding to a difference between the first temporary image and the second temporary image. However, 2444 teaches obtaining a difference image corresponding to a difference between the first temporary image and the second temporary image (2444, Fig. 10, [0103], ln. 9-10, "…the electronic device 101 may obtain difference images between the stabilized images…").
Claims 5, 9, & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee (US 20190096357 A1, hereinafter, "6357").
Regarding Claim 5, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Kim teaches the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the electronic device to: obtain a plurality of images based on the first camera (Kim, Fig. 1A, [0044], ln. 1, "The input unit 120 includes a camera 121 for obtaining images or video…"). Kim does not teach determine an average of light intensity values of the plurality of images, and determine the first threshold and the second threshold based on the average of the light intensity values of the plurality of images. However, 6357 teaches determine an average of light intensity values of the plurality of images, and determine the first threshold and the second threshold based on the average of the light intensity values of the plurality of images (6357, [0011], ln. 1-7, "The first threshold may be a minimum value from among an average of illumination values sensed while a peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is bright and an average of illumination values sensed while the peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is dark and the display of the electronic apparatus is on, the second threshold may be an average of illumination values sensed while the peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is dark and the display of the electronic apparatus is off, and each of the first threshold and the second threshold may be modifiable according to a use environment of the electronic apparatus."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Kim and 6357 with those of Kim because it is widely known in the art to set two thresholds based on an average of illumination values.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Kim teaches the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the electronic device to: obtain a light intensity value of an ambient light based on the light sensor (Kim, Abstract, ln. 2-3, "…an illuminance sensor sensing an illuminance change on the periphery of the mobile terminal…"). Kim does not teach determine the first threshold and the second threshold based on the light intensity value of the ambient light. However, 6357 teaches determine the first threshold and the second threshold based on the light intensity value of the ambient light (6357, [0011], ln. 1-7, "The first threshold may be a minimum value from among an average of illumination values sensed while a peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is bright and an average of illumination values sensed while the peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is dark and the display of the electronic apparatus is on, the second threshold may be an average of illumination values sensed while the peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is dark and the display of the electronic apparatus is off, and each of the first threshold and the second threshold may be modifiable according to a use environment of the electronic apparatus.").
Regarding Claim 19, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 15 as noted above. Kim teaches the video generation method further comprises: obtaining a plurality of images by using the first camera (Kim, Fig. 6, Frame 0 & Frame 2). Kim does not teach determining an average of light intensity values of the plurality of images; and determining the first threshold and the second threshold based on the average of the light intensity values of the plurality of images. However, 6357 teaches determining an average of light intensity values of the plurality of images (6357, [0011], ln. 1-7, "The first threshold may be a minimum value from among an average of illumination values sensed while a peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is bright and an average of illumination values sensed while the peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is dark and the display of the electronic apparatus is on, the second threshold may be an average of illumination values sensed while the peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is dark and the display of the electronic apparatus is off, and each of the first threshold and the second threshold may be modifiable according to a use environment of the electronic apparatus."); and determining the first threshold and the second threshold based on the average of the light intensity values of the plurality of images (6357, [0011], ln. 1-7, "The first threshold may be a minimum value from among an average of illumination values sensed while a peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is bright and an average of illumination values sensed while the peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is dark and the display of the electronic apparatus is on, the second threshold may be an average of illumination values sensed while the peripheral illumination of the electronic apparatus is dark and the display of the electronic apparatus is off, and each of the first threshold and the second threshold may be modifiable according to a use environment of the electronic apparatus.").
Claims 6 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Cooper & Liu (US 9288374 B1, hereinafter, "Cooper").
Regarding Claim 6, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 1 as noted above. Cooper teaches the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the electronic device to: identify a frequency of an ambient light (Cooper, [0085], ln. 7-9, "For instance, the flicker module 824 may identify the light frequency oscillations from a 50 Hz or 60 Hz light source and a 200 Hz light source."); and determine the second period based on the frequency of the ambient light (Cooper, [0085], ln. 9-10, "The flicker module 824 may adjust the exposure time or shutter speed to account for the disparate light frequency oscillations."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Cooper with those of Kim because it is widely known in the art to identify light frequency oscillations and adjust exposure time or shutter speed to account for them.
Regarding Claim 20, Kim teaches the limitations of dependent Claim 15 as noted above. Cooper teaches the video generation method further comprises: identifying a frequency of an ambient light (Cooper, [0085], ln. 7-9, "For instance, the flicker module 824 may identify the light frequency oscillations from a 50 Hz or 60 Hz light source and a 200 Hz light source."); and determining the second period based on the frequency of the ambient light (Cooper, [0085], ln. 9-10, "The flicker module 824 may adjust the exposure time or shutter speed to account for the disparate light frequency oscillations.").
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Cooper and Onodera (WO 2016139847 A1, hereinafter, "Onodera").
Regarding Claim 7, Kim and Cooper teach the limitations of dependent Claim 6 as noted above. Onadera teaches a second period T2 is determined as T2 = N / flight, where N is a natural number and flight is a frequency of a light source (Onodera, pg. 19, para. 1, ln. 7-9, "A flicker detection unit for detecting the presence or absence of a second flicker of a frequency light source, wherein the first frame rate is obtained by dividing the second frequency by a natural number."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Onadera with those of Kim and Cooper because it is widely known in the art that a frame rate can be determined by dividing a natural number by the frequency of the light source.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of 6357 and Yamaguchi (EP 3761629 A1, hereinafter, "Yamaguchi").
Regarding Claim 8, Kim and 6357 teach the limitations of dependent Claim 5 as noted above. Yamaguchi teaches the at least one instruction, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the electronic device to: obtain a plurality of fifth temporary images by using the second camera, determine, from among the plurality of fifth temporary images, a temporary image having a light intensity value closest to the average of light intensity values of the plurality of images, and determine an image capture start time of the second camera, based on an image capture time period of the determined temporary image (Yamaguchi, pg. 12, para. 2, item 2, ln. 4-6, "…the control section calculates a weighted average brightness of a plurality of the area images, and sets the exposure control value in accordance with the weighted average brightness."). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Yamaguchi with those of Kim and 6357 because it is widely known in the art to calculate an average brightness using a plurality of images and then set an exposure control value based on that average brightness.
Conclusion
/STEVEN DANIEL BARRY/Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638