DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 1a and 1b should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 18, the phrase “including one or more rotary engagement elements” in line 27 (line numbers referenced as numbered by Applicant on the 08-06-2025 claim set) is interpreted to modify “the coupling mechanism” as recited in line 25-26.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 10-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 4 (line numbers referenced as numbered by Applicant on the 08-06-2025 claim set), recites “at least one centrifugation wheel”. Each of the following lines recites “the centrifugation wheel”, all of which should be changed to –the at least one centrifugation wheel--:
Claim 1, line 6
Claim 6, line 9-10
Claim 11, line 28
Claim 16, line 12
Claim 1, line 5, recites “at least one transmission shaft”. Each of the following lines recites “the transmission shaft”, all of which should be changed to –the at least one transmission shaft--:
Claim 1, lines 10, 12, 15, 16, 19, 20, 23, 25
Claim 2, line 29
Claim 5, line 5
Claim 10, line 23-24
Claim 15, line 9
Claim 1, line 8, recites “at least one intermediary transmission box”. Each of the following lines recites “the intermediary transmission box”, all of which should be changed to --the at least one intermediary transmission box--:
Claim 1, line 11
Claim 2, lines 27, 28
Claim 11, line 27
Claim 12, line 31
Claim 13, line 1
Claim 14, line 4
Claim 17, line 14
Claim 1, line 9, recites “at least one output”. Claim 6, line 9 recites “the output”, which should be changed to –the at least one output--.
In claim 3, “opinions” should be --pinions--.
Claim 18, line 18, recites “at least one centrifugation wheel”. Each of the following lines recites “the centrifugation wheel”, all of which should be changed to --the at least one centrifugation wheel--.
Claim 18, line 20
Claim 20, line 13
Claim 18, line 22, --by-- should be inserted after “connected”.
In claim 19 at line 29, --the-- should be inserted before “coupling mechanism”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “a first pinion”, “a second pinion”, and “a transmission” shaft”. It is unclear if these are referring back to the elements recited in claim 1, “a first pinion” at line 18, “a second pinion” at line 19, and “at least one transmission shaft” at line 5, or if claim 7 is reciting new separate elements. Claims 8 and 9 also recite “the first and second pinions”, which are likewise unclear.
Claim 9 recites “one or more intermediate pinions”. It is unclear if this is referring back the element recited in claim 1, “one or more intermediate pinions” at line 21, or if claim 9 is reciting a new separate element.
Claim 13, line 2, recites “coupling mechanisms”. It is unclear if this includes the “coupling mechanism” recited in claim 1 at line 12, or if these are separate coupling mechanisms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawthorne ‘707 (US 2,398,707) in view of Lipski ‘452 (US 3,191,452).
Regarding claim 1, Hawthorne ‘707 teaches a machine for fiberizing mineral wool by free centrifugation (p. 1, left column, lines 1-21) comprising:
a frame (arms 26/28 with ears 32/34, and “fixed member such as an element of th (sic) supporting frame”, p. 1, right column, lines 25-31; Figs. 1-2) on which is mounted at least one centrifugation wheel (rotors 14, 16, Figs. 1-3)
a drive unit (motor(s) 22, Fig. 1; p. 1, right column, lines 13-19) including an output rod (shaft 18/20, Figs. 1-3; p. 1, right column, lines 9-19)
said at least one centrifugation wheel being operatively connected to the output rod of the drive unit for rotating the at least one centrifugation wheel (p. 1, right column, lines 9-19; p. 2, left column, lines 8-11).
Hawthorne ’707 is silent regarding at least one transmission shaft operatively connected to said at least one centrifugation wheel for rotating the at least one centrifugation wheel, and regarding at least one intermediary transmission body having at least one input operatively connected to the output rod of the drive unit and at least one output operatively connected to the at least one transmission shaft, and the at least one intermediary transmission box being configured to transmit rotation of the output rod to the at least one transmission shaft via a coupling mechanism as claimed. In analogous art of rotational power transmission apparatus, Lipski ‘452 suggests:
a drive unit (motor 54, Figs. 2, 4; column 2, line 65-column 3, line 2) including an output rod (shaft of motor 54, Figs. 1, 2, 4; column 2, lines 3-7)
a frame on which is mounted at least one device (device 54, Figs. 2, 4)
at least one transmission shaft operatively connected to the at least one device for transmitting rotation to the device (shaft 58, Figs. 1, 2, 4; column 2, lines 65-72; column 1, lines 8-11)
at least one intermediary transmission box (Fig. 1) having at least one input operatively connected to the output rod of the drive unit (drive shaft 24, Fig. 1) and at least one output operatively connected to the at least one transmission shaft (driven shaft 48, Fig. 1)
the intermediary transmission box is configured to transmit rotation of the output rod to the at least one transmission shaft via a coupling mechanism (Fig. 1; column 2, lines 65-72; column 1, lines 8-11, 31-39)
the coupling mechanism includes a gearing system comprising a first pinion mounted on one of the output rod or the at least one transmission shaft (gear 18, Figs. 1, 2, 4; column 2, lines 3-7) and a second pinion mounted on the other of the output rod or the at least one transmission shaft (gear 46, Figs. 1, 2, 4; column 2, lines 14-17), the first and second pinions being meshed with one another via one or more intermediate pinions (gears 26, 44, Fig. 1; column 2, lines 18-25).
Lipski ‘452 suggests that this drive arrangement is advantageous because it provides power transmission to a transmission shaft whether it is in axial alignment with the output rod or whether their axes are spaced apart, and it allows convenient changing of ratios of rotation between the output shaft and the transmission shaft (column 1, lines 8-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hawthorne ‘707 with a drive arrangement as suggested by Lipski ‘452 for the benefit of allowing changes in axial alignment of the output rod and the transmission shaft, and allowing convenient changing of ratios of rotation between the output shaft and the transmission shaft, as suggested by Lipski ‘452. The remaining limitations are recited as being optional (“at least one of…or”).
Regarding claim 2, Lipski ‘452 further suggests the at least one intermediary transmission box includes an intermediary rod extending in the at least one intermediary transmission box and coupled to the output rod and the at least one transmission shaft (shaft 42, Figs. 1, 2, 4; column 2, lines 18-25).
Regarding claim 3, Lipski ‘452 is silent regarding the first and second pinions having different diameters. However, the first and second pinions can only have either the same diameter or different diameters – two finite options – and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try either option with a reasonable expectation of success of transmitting rotation from the drive to the at least one centrifugation wheel. Further, Lipski ‘452 suggests that the gears may be changed for changing the ratio of rotation between the output rod and the transmission shaft (column 1, lines 40-44; column 2, lines 30-41), and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would understand that such a change is achieved by changing the size of the gears (gear ratio), as a basic mechanical concept. Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hawthorne ‘707 and Lipski ‘452 by making the first and second pinions have different diameters in order to modify a ratio of rotation between the output rod and the transmission shaft.
Regarding claim 4, Hawthorne ‘707 further teaches a plurality of centrifugation wheels (rotors 14, 16; p. 1, right column, lines 9-19).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 11, these limitations are considered optional because they modify optional limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Lipski ‘452 further suggests the gearing system comprises a first pinion (gear 44) fixed to a rod in the intermediary transmission box (shaft 42; column 2, lines 18-25) and a second pinion (gear 46) fixed to a transmission shaft (column 2, lines 14-17), wherein the first and second pinions are in direct meshed engagement (Fig. 1; column 1, line 72-column 2, line 3).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Lipski ‘452 further suggests a first pinion fixed to a rod in the intermediary transmission box (gear 18; column 2, lines 3-8) and a second pinion fixed to a transmission shaft (gear 46; column 2, lines 14-17), and one or more intermediate pinions meshed between the first and second pinions (Fig. 1; column 2, lines 18-25).
Regarding claim 10, Lipski ‘452 further suggests the gearing system is arranged to permit a speed reduction or increase between the output rod of the drive unit and the at least one transmission shaft (column 1, lines 40-44; column 2, lines 30-41).
Regarding claim 12, Lipski ‘452 further suggests the coupling mechanism is detachably mounted to enable maintenance or replacement of the at least one intermediary transmission box (column 1, lines 40-44; column 2, lines 30-41).
Regarding claim 13, Lipski ‘452 further suggests the at least one intermediary transmission box comprises a chassis housing a single rod having coupling mechanisms at each end (housings 20, 22, 30, 32 with shaft 42 having gears 26, 44 and/or nuts 40 at each end).
Regarding claim 16, Lipski ‘452 further teaches the coupling mechanism is configured to allow the at least one device to be positioned off axis from the drive unit output rod (Figs. 1, 2, 4; column 1, lines 18-30).
Regarding claim 17, Hawthorne ‘707 and Lipski ‘452 suggest the at least one intermediary transmission box and the drive unit as described above. Lipski ‘452 further suggests that the at least one intermediary transmission box is coupled to a transmission shaft and to an output rod such that a movement of rotation of the output rod by a drive is transmitted to a device via the transmission shaft, as described for claim 1 above. Hawthorne ‘707 further teaches the at least one centrifugation wheel comprises a first and a second centrifugation wheel (rotors 14, 16, Figs. 1-3). Hawthorne ‘707 additionally teaches that the centrifugation wheels may have separate drive arrangements, or may share a single drive (right column, lines 13-19). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in the combination of Hawthorne ‘707 and Lipski ‘452 for the intermediary transmission box to be positioned between multiple transmission shafts and a shared drive unit in order to power the centrifugation wheels with a single drive, as suggested by Hawthorne ‘707.
Regarding claim 18, Hawthorne ‘707 teaches a machine for fiberizing mineral wool by free centrifugation (p. 1, left column, lines 1-21) comprising:
a frame (arms 26/28 with ears 32/34, and “fixed member such as an element of th (sic) supporting frame”, p. 1, right column, lines 25-31; Figs. 1-2) on which is mounted at least one centrifugation wheel (rotors 14, 16, Figs. 1-3)
a drive unit (motor(s) 22, Fig. 1; p. 1, right column, lines 13-19) comprising an output rod (shaft 18/20, Figs. 1-3; p. 1, right column, lines 9-19)
the at least one centrifugation wheel being operatively connected to the output rod of the drive unit for rotating the at least one centrifugation wheel (p. 1, right column, lines 9-19; p. 2, left column, lines 8-11).
Hawthorne ’707 is silent regarding a transmission shaft connected to the at least one centrifugation wheel and configured to rotate the at least one centrifugation wheel, and regarding an intermediary transmission body connected by at least one input to the output rod of the drive unit and by at least one output to the transmission shaft, and the intermediary transmission box comprising a coupling mechanism operatively arranged between the output rod and the at least one transmission shaft, the coupling mechanism including one or more rotary engagement elements and being configured to transmit rotational movement from the drive unit to the transmission shaft. In analogous art of rotational power transmission apparatus, Lipski ‘452 suggests:
a drive unit (motor 54, Figs. 2, 4; column 2, line 65-column 3, line 2) comprising an output rod (shaft of motor 54, Figs. 1, 2, 4; column 2, lines 3-7)
a frame on which is mounted at least one device (device 54, Figs. 2, 4)
a transmission shaft connected to the at least one device and configured for transmitting rotation to the device (shaft 58, Figs. 1, 2, 4; column 2, lines 65-72; column 1, lines 8-11)
an intermediary transmission box (Fig. 1) connected by at least one input to the output rod of the drive unit (drive shaft 24, Fig. 1) and by at least one output to the transmission shaft (driven shaft 48, Fig. 1)
the intermediary transmission box comprises a coupling mechanism operatively arranged between the output rod and the at least one transmission shaft, the coupling mechanism including one or more rotary engagement elements and being configured to transmit rotational movement from the drive unit to the transmission shaft (Fig. 1; column 2, lines 65-72; column 1, lines 8-11, 31-39).
Lipski ‘452 suggests that this drive arrangement is advantageous because it provides power transmission to a transmission shaft whether it is in axial alignment with the output rod or whether their axes are spaced apart, and it allows convenient changing of ratios of rotation between the output shaft and the transmission shaft (column 1, lines 8-44). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Hawthorne ‘707 with a drive arrangement as suggested by Lipski ‘452 for the benefit of allowing changes in axial alignment of the output rod and the transmission shaft, and allowing convenient changing of ratios of rotation between the output shaft and the transmission shaft, as suggested by Lipski ‘452. The remaining limitations are recited as being optional (“at least one of…or”).
Regarding claim 19, Lipski ‘452 further suggests the coupling mechanism includes a gearing system comprising a first pinion mounted on one of the output rod or the transmission shaft (gear 18, Figs. 1, 2, 4; column 2, lines 3-7) and a second pinion mounted on the other of the output rod or the transmission shaft (gear 46, Figs. 1, 2, 4; column 2, lines 14-17), the first and second pinions being meshed with one another via one or more intermediate pinions (gears 26, 44, Fig. 1; column 2, lines 18-25). The remaining limitations are recited as being optional (“at least one of…or”).
Regarding claim 20, Lipski ‘452 further suggests the coupling mechanism is configured to allow the at least one device to be positioned off axis from the drive unit output rod (Figs. 1, 2, 4; column 1, lines 18-30).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawthorne ‘707 (US 2,398,707) and Lipski ‘452 (US 3,191,452) in view of Umeda ‘352 (US 2020/0238352 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Lipski ‘452 further suggests a chassis housing a first rod mechanically connected to the coupling mechanism (housings 20, 22, 30, 32 with shaft 42 connected to gears 26, 44). Hawthorne ‘707 and Lipski ‘452 are silent regarding the at least one intermediary transmission box comprising a chassis housing at least a first rod and a second rod arranged in parallel and mechanically connected by the coupling mechanism. In analogous art of rotational power transmission apparatus, Umeda ‘352 suggests a transmission box comprising a chassis (casing 13) housing at least a first rod and a second rod arranged in parallel and mechanically connected by a coupling mechanism (driving shaft 18A and driving shaft 18B connected to gears, Figs. 1, 2) for the benefit of transmitting rotational movement from an output rod (output shaft 15) of a drive unit (motor 14) to plural transmission shafts (driven shafts 2A, 2B; ¶ [0056], [0061], [0063]-[0066]). Hawthorne ‘707 further teaches the at least one centrifugation wheel comprises a first and a second centrifugation wheel, each rotated by their own transmission shaft (rotors 14, 16 on shafts 18, 20, Figs. 1-3). Hawthorne ‘707 additionally teaches that the centrifugation wheels may share a single drive (right column, lines 13-19). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Lipski ‘452 and Hawthorne ’707 by making the at least one intermediary transmission box comprise a chassis housing at least a first rod and a second rod arranged in parallel and mechanically connected by the coupling mechanism for the benefit of transmitting rotational movement from the output rod of the drive unit to plural transmission shafts of plural centrifugation wheels, as suggested by Umeda ‘352 and desired by Hawthorne ‘707.
Regarding claim 15, in the combination of Hawthorne ‘707, Lipski ‘452, and Umeda ‘352 as described above, the first rod would be coupled to the drive unit (as driving shaft 18A is coupled to motor 14 in Umeda ‘352), and the second rod would be coupled to the at least one transmission shaft (as driving shaft 18B is coupled to driven shaft 2B in Umeda ‘352).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art includes teachings for various types of coupling mechanisms, some specifically for fiberizing machines, and some generally.
/ERIN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741