DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/06/26 and 06/01/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “The light source as recited in claim 10 and the first recess in the first layer as recited in claim 16” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 5-6, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities.
Claim 1, 5, and 11 recites the limitation “a user’s” which renders the claim unclear since the term lack exact antecedent basis. Claim 1 recites “a user’s head” which is then later refereed as “the user’s head” which implies it is the same user. However, terms like “a user’s eyes/left ear/right ear/left eye/right eye” seem to imply that these are the body parts of a different user rather than the original user. Based on the specifications and drawings it seems like there are not two users but only one and as such these body parts belong to the same user and should be referred to as such. For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret the claims to mean “the user’s” so it is clear that the eyes/left ear/right ear/left eye/right eye belong to the head of the user as taught in the specifications and drawings.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “through the conduction of the first connector” which renders the claim indefinite. The term “the conduction” lacks exact antecedent basis since “a conduction” is never recited in claim 6 or 1. Furthermore it is possible for connections to have multiple conductions and as such in the case of “the conduction” it would be unclear if this is the first conduction or another one. For the purposes of examination, the examiner, as best understood, will interpret claim 6 to mean “a conduction”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olgun et al. (US 20240063530 A1) in view of Villalpando et al. (WO 2021044219 A2).
Regarding Claim 1, Olgun et al. discloses a electronic device (Electronic device eyewear 100 as seen in figures 1 and 4-10 of Olgun et al.) comprising:
a frame mounted on a user's head (Front piece frame 106 and temples 109 form a frame that is mounted on the head of a user; Paragraph 27-51 and 64-72 as well as figures 1 and 4-10 of Olgun et al.);
a transparent display disposed on the frame so as to face a user's eyes when the frame has been mounted on the user's head (Optical lens 112 can be a display assembly for an augmented reality display wherein said transparent display would face the users eyes; Paragraph 27-45 and 64-72 as well as figures 1 and 4-10 of Olgun et al.);
a first conductive pattern disposed at least partially on the frame or the transparent display (First antenna 202/402 serves as a first conductive pattern that can be disposed on a portion of the frame 106; Paragraph 27-45 and 64-72 as well as figures 1 and 4-10 of Olgun et al.); and
a circuit assembly (Electrical components 124 can be housed and located in one of the temple arms 109 specifically in lateral end piece 121 to house them thus serving as a circuit assembly structure; Paragraph 27-45 and 64-72 as well as figures 1 and 4-10 of Olgun et al.)
wherein, in a case where the circuit assembly is attached to the frame, the first conductive pattern is electrically connected to a wireless communication circuit included in the circuit assembly (Circuit assembly 124 can comprise multiple electrical components including wireless communication circuitry in the form of the antenna systems transceiver like 406/606 which may be connected to the first conductive pattern 202/402; Paragraph 21-45 and 61-72 as well as figures 1 and 4-10 of Olgun et al.).
Olgun et al. fails to explicitly disclose a circuit assembly attachable to and detachable from the frame.
However, Villalpando et al. does disclose a circuit assembly attachable to and detachable from the frame (Electronic device in the form of eyewear 400 comprises a frame formed by frame chassis 402 and temples 404/414 wherein a circuit assembly in the form of temple insert modules (TIM) 406/210 can be attached or detached from frame portion 404/414 wherein circuit assembly’s 406/210 comprise wireless’s communication circuitry that can be utilized with an antenna of device 400; Paragraph 34-65 as well as figures 1-6 of Villalpando et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. to have a circuit assembly attachable to and detachable from the frame as taught by Villalpando et al. to allow the circuit assembly and its electrical components to be connected or disconnected from the electronic device to provide a modularized reconfigurable set of components for the electronic device as well as swapping out circuits for another such that multiple different wireless communication systems can be used (Paragraph 56-57 and 64 of Villalpando et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Olgun et al. further discloses wherein the circuit assembly comprises a housing, and a board assembly accommodated in the housing and having the wireless communication circuit disposed therein, and wherein, in a case where the circuit assembly is attached to the frame, the first conductive pattern is electrically connected to a ground included in the board assembly (Circuit assembly comprising electronics 124 may be disposed in a housing 608 or 610 and may comprise a second antenna 604 that can be disposed on its own PCB this serving as a board assembly or can 124 can comprise the main PCB serving as a board assembly wherein the circuit assembly being attached to the frame allows the first antenna 202/402 to be connected to the wireless transceiver circuitry like 606 as well as ground elements disposed on the PCB which serve as the board assembly; Paragraph 22-25 and 64-70 as well as figures 9-11 of Olgun et al.).
Regarding Claim 3, Olgun et al. further discloses wherein the circuit assembly further comprises a processor, memory, or a battery electrically connected to the wireless communication circuit (Circuit assembly comprising electronics 124 also include components like processors, memory, and power sources that can be connected to the wireless communications circuitry; Paragraph 32-33 of Olgun et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, Olgun et al. further discloses wherein the circuit assembly further comprises a second conductive pattern, and wherein the wireless communication circuit is configured to transmit and/or receive a signal in a selected or designated frequency band through the first conductive pattern, the second conductive pattern, or a combination of the first conductive pattern and the second conductive pattern (Second antenna 404 can serve as a second conductive pattern disposed with the electrical components 124 thus serving as part of the circuit assembly wherein the wireless communication circuit 406/606 is configured to transmit a signal in specified frequency bands like 3G, 4G, 5G, etc. to either or both antennas serving as conductive patterns; Paragraph 23-45 and 64-72 as well as figures 1 and 4-10 of Olgun et al.).
Regarding Claim 5, Olgun et al. further discloses wherein the frame comprises a first frame in which the transparent display is disposed, a second frame connected to the first frame via a first hinge and adapted to rest on a user's left ear, and a third frame connected to the first frame via a second hinge and adapted to rest on a user's right ear (Electronic device 100 comprises a first frame 106 in which transparent display formed by lens 112 is disposed as well as left and right temples 109 serving as a second and third frame which are adapted to rest on a user’s ear wherein respective hinges are used to connect the second and third temple frames to the first frame 106; Paragraph 27-45 and 64-72 as well as figures 1 and 4-10 of Olgun et al.)
Olgun et al. fails to disclose wherein the circuit assembly is attachable to and detachable from the first frame, the second frame, or the third frame.
However, Villalpando et al. does disclose wherein the circuit assembly is attachable to and detachable from the first frame, the second frame, or the third frame (Electronic device in the form of eyewear 400 comprises a frame formed by frame chassis 402 and temples 404/414 wherein a circuit assembly in the form of temple insert modules (TIM) 406/210 can be attached or detached from frame portion 404/414 wherein circuit assembly’s 406/210 comprise wireless’s communication circuitry that can be utilized with an antenna of device 400; Paragraph 34-65 as well as figures 1-6 of Villalpando et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. to have the circuit assembly be attachable to and detachable from the first frame, the second frame, or the third frame as taught by Villalpando et al. to allow the circuit assembly and its electrical components to be connected or disconnected from the electronic device to provide a modularized reconfigurable set of components for the electronic device as well as swapping out circuits for another such that multiple different wireless communication systems can be used (Paragraph 56-57 and 64 of Villalpando et al.).
Regarding Claim 7, Olgun et al. fails to disclose wherein the circuit assembly is attachable to and detachable from the frame through snap fitting.
However, Villalpando et al. does disclose wherein the circuit assembly is attachable to and detachable from the frame through snap fitting (Electronic device in the form of eyewear 400 comprises a frame formed by frame chassis 402 and temples 404/414 wherein a circuit assembly in the form of temple insert modules (TIM) 406/210 can be attached or detached from frame portion 404/414 wherein said attachment/detachment can be accomplished by a snap fitting process like a press fit or a clip; Paragraph 34-65 as well as figures 1-6 of Villalpando et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. to have wherein the circuit assembly is attachable to and detachable from the frame through snap fitting as taught by Villalpando et al. to allow the circuit assembly and its electrical components to be connected or disconnected from the electronic device to provide a modularized reconfigurable set of components for the electronic device as well as swapping out circuits for another such that multiple different wireless communication systems can be used (Paragraph 56-57 and 64 of Villalpando et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Olgun et al. fails to disclose wherein the circuit assembly is inserted into a recess of the frame.
However, Villalpando et al. does disclose wherein the circuit assembly is inserted into a recess of the frame (Electronic device in the form of eyewear 400 comprises a frame formed by frame chassis 402 and temples 404/414 wherein a circuit assembly in the form of temple insert modules (TIM) 406/210 can be attached or detached from frame portion 404/414 wherein TIM 406/210 can be inserted into a recess 408/204 of the temple portions of the frame; Paragraph 34-65 as well as figures 1-6 of Villalpando et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. to have wherein the circuit assembly is inserted into a recess of the frame as taught by Villalpando et al. to allow the circuit assembly and its electrical components to be connected or disconnected from the electronic device to provide a modularized reconfigurable set of components for the electronic device as well as swapping out circuits for another such that multiple different wireless communication systems can be used (Paragraph 56-57 and 64 of Villalpando et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Olgun et al. further discloses configured to perform augmented reality (AR) through the transparent display, based at least in part on data received by the wireless communication circuit from the outside of the wearable electronic device through the first conductive pattern (Electronic device 100 comprises lens 112 that form a transparent display elements that can be used to perform augmented reality which would rely on data received by the antennas form the outside; Paragraph 26-44 and 73-78 of Olgun et al.).
Claim(s) 9-10, 12, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olgun et al. (US 20240063530 A1) in view of Villalpando et al. (WO 2021044219 A2) and Han et al. (US 20250118888 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. fails to disclose wherein the transparent display comprises a see-through type of transparent display comprising a plurality of pixels. Although Olgun et al. does suggest wherein the transparent display comprises a see-through type of transparent display comprising a plurality of pixels (Display elements like LED or LCD display are discussed wherein said display element are see-through type displays with a plurality of pixels; Paragraph 83 of Olgun et al.).
However, Han et al. does disclose wherein the transparent display comprises a see-through type of transparent display comprising a plurality of pixels (Wearable electronic device 100 comprises lens elements like 500a serving as a projection type transparent display wherein said display can comprise a display layer 503 wherein said displays may be made LCD, LED, or OLED which are see-through transparent displays comprising a plurality of pixels and said display layer also comprises a projector in the form of light source 505 to project light onto the display; Paragraph 18-39 and 80 as well as figures 2-5 of Han et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. to have wherein the transparent display comprises a see-through type of transparent display comprising a plurality of pixels as taught by Han et al. so the transparent display may be used for an augmented reality display system (Paragraph 63-77 of Han et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. fails to disclose wherein the transparent display comprises a projection type of transparent display, and wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises at least one light source configured to project light onto the transparent display. Although Olgun et al. does suggest wherein the transparent display comprises a projection type of transparent display (Display elements like LED or LCD display are discussed wherein said display element are see-through type displays with a plurality of pixels; Paragraph 83 of Olgun et al.).
However, Han et al. does disclose wherein the transparent display comprises a projection type of transparent display, and wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises at least one light source configured to project light onto the transparent display (Wearable electronic device 100 comprises lens elements like 500a serving as a projection type transparent display wherein said display can comprise a display layer 503 wherein said displays may be made LCD, LED, or OLED which are see-through transparent displays comprising a plurality of pixels and said display layer also comprises a projector in the form of light source 505 to project light onto the display; Paragraph 18-39 and 80 as well as figures 2-5 of Han et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. to have wherein the transparent display comprises a projection type of transparent display, and wherein the wearable electronic device further comprises at least one light source configured to project light onto the transparent display as taught by Han et al. so the transparent display may be used for an augmented reality display system (Paragraph 63-77 of Han et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. fail to disclose wherein the transparent display comprises a first surface facing the user's eyes and a second surface facing in a direction opposite to the first surface, and wherein, when viewed from above the second surface, the first conductive pattern is spaced apart from an edge of the transparent display and disposed or included in the transparent display.
However, Han et al. does disclose wherein the transparent display comprises a first surface facing the user's eyes and a second surface facing in a direction opposite to the first surface, and wherein, when viewed from above the second surface, the first conductive pattern is spaced apart from an edge of the transparent display and disposed or included in the transparent display (Wearable electronic device 100 comprises lens elements like 500a serving as transparent display wherein said lens comprises a multiple layer with a first side facing the side of the users eyes and an opposite side wherein antenna elements like 510-514 may be disposed in multiple locations including apart from an edge of the transparent display as seen from the second surface; Paragraph 18-39 and 80 as well as figures 2-5 of Han et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. to have wherein the transparent display comprises a first surface facing the user's eyes and a second surface facing in a direction opposite to the first surface, and wherein, when viewed from above the second surface, the first conductive pattern is spaced apart from an edge of the transparent display and disposed or included in the transparent display as taught by Han et al. since antenna elements may be placed to maximize lens space and avoid interference/cross-polarization between other sources like different antennas (Paragraph 16 and 33 of Han et al.).
Regarding Claim 14, Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. fail to disclose wherein the first conductive pattern is embedded in the transparent display.
However, Han et al. does disclose wherein the first conductive pattern is embedded in the transparent display (First conductive pattern in the form of an antenna may be disposed in the lens 500 with multiple layers like display layer 503 wherein said antenna may be conductive material deposited into a groove, serving as a recess, in any of the layer such that the antenna would be embedded into the display; Paragraph 18-39 and 80 as well as figures 2-5 of Han et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. to have wherein the first conductive pattern is embedded in the transparent display as taught by Han et al. to take advantage of the relatively large space that may be available for antennas by the transparent display layer and maintain high defectively away from the face of a user (Paragraph 16 and 42 of Han et al.).
Regarding Claim 16, Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. fail to disclose wherein at least a portion of the first conductive pattern is disposed in a first recess provided in a first surface of a first transparent display.
However, Han et al. does wherein at least a portion of the first conductive pattern is disposed in a first recess provided in a first surface of a first transparent display (First conductive pattern in the form of an antenna may be disposed in the lens 500 with multiple layers, like display layer 503 or eye tracking layer 501 wherein said antenna may be conductive material deposited into a groove, serving as a recess, in any of the layers which can serve as a first surface; Paragraph 18-39 and 80 as well as figures 2-5 of Han et al. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. to have wherein at least a portion of the first conductive pattern is disposed in a first recess provided in a first surface of a first transparent display as taught by Han et al. to take advantage of the relatively large space that may be available for antennas by the transparent display layer and maintain high defectively away from the face of a user (Paragraph 16 and 42 of Han et al.).
Regarding Claim 17, Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. fail to disclose wherein at least a portion of the first conductive pattern is disposed between a first surface and a second surface of a first transparent display.
However, Han et al. does wherein at least a portion of the first conductive pattern is disposed between a first surface and a second surface of a first transparent display (First conductive pattern in the form of an antenna may be disposed in the lens 500 with multiple layers, like display layer 503 or eye tracking layer 501 wherein said antenna may be conductive material deposited into a groove, serving as a recess, in any of the layers wherein in the case of using layer 503 the recesses would be between a first and second surface of the display 500; Paragraph 18-39 and 80 as well as figures 2-5 of Han et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. to have wherein at least a portion of the first conductive pattern is disposed between a first surface and a second surface of a first transparent display as taught by Han et al. to take advantage of the relatively large space that may be available for antennas by the transparent display layer and maintain high defectively away from the face of a user (Paragraph 16 and 42 of Han et al.).
Claim(s) 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olgun et al. (US 20240063530 A1) in view of Villalpando et al. (WO 2021044219 A2) and Togashi et al. (US 20170279183 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. fails to disclose wherein the transparent display is an integrated or single transparent display comprising a first part corresponding to a user's left eye, a second part corresponding to a user's right eye, and a third part connecting the first part and the second part.
However, Togashi et al. does disclose wherein the transparent display is an integrated or single transparent display comprising a first part corresponding to a user's left eye, a second part corresponding to a user's right eye, and a third part connecting the first part and the second part (Electronic device 1 may comprise a lens element 12 serving as a transparent display wherein lens element 12b may be an integral display comprising a first part P1 for a left eye, a second part P2 for a right eye, and a third part P3 that is in the middle and connects the first and second part; Paragraph 66-72 and annotated figure 7 of Togashi et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. to have wherein the transparent display is an integrated or single transparent display comprising a first part corresponding to a user's left eye, a second part corresponding to a user's right eye, and a third part connecting the first part and the second part as taught by Togashi et al. since lens shape may be modified as appropriate (Paragraph 68 of Togashi et al.) and to increase the amount of lens space available which would improve visibility.
Regarding Claim 13, Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. fails to disclose wherein the first conductive pattern is disposed on an edge of the transparent display.
However, Togashi et al. does disclose wherein the first conductive pattern is disposed on an edge of the transparent display (Electronic device 1 may comprise a first antenna element like 21 serving as first conductive pattern that can be disposed on an edge portion of the lens 12 serving as the transparent display; Paragraph 58-66 and figure 5-6 of Togashi et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna as taught by Olgun et al. and Villalpando et al. to have wherein the first conductive pattern is disposed on an edge of the transparent display as taught by Togashi et al. to improve the diversity performance of the antenna (Paragraph 64 of Togashi et al.).
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 4, 10, and 15, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim’s 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 6, patentability exists, at least in part, with the claimed features of “wherein the frame comprises a first frame in which the transparent display is disposed, and a second frame connected to the first frame via a hinge, wherein the circuit assembly is attachable to and detachable from the second frame, wherein, in an unfolded state of a combination of the first frame and the second frame, a first connector included in the circuit assembly and a second connector disposed in the first frame are electrically connected, and the first conductive pattern and the wireless communication circuit are electrically connected through the conduction of the first connector and the second connector, and wherein, in a folded state of the combination of the first frame and the second frame, the first connector and the second connector are electrically separated” as recited in claim 6.
Olgun et al., and Villalpando et al., are cited as teaching some of the elements of the claimed invention including an wearable electronic device comprising a frame, a transparent display, a first conductive pattern, a circuit assembly that can be attached/detached, and a wireless communication circuit. Olgun et al., and Villalpando et al. fail to disclose a first connection on the circuit assembly and a second connection on the frame wherein the connections are connected during an unfolded state to connect the assembly to the antenna and disconnected in a folded state.
However, the prior art, when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20170279955 A1 (TOGASHI; Daisuke) discloses an electronic eyewear comprising a transparent display formed from an integral display with antenna elements disposed on an edge of the display.
US 20210341762 A1 (MODULAR ACOUSTIC SYSTEMS) discloses an electronic eyewear comprising circuit assembly’s that can be attached or detached form a portion of the frame.
US 20220113562 A1 (Anderson; Christopher John et al.) discloses a circuit assembly connected to an electronic eyewear through a snap fit.
US 20230067343 A1 (Zhang; Ce et al.) discloses an electronic eyewear wherein the transparent display comprise an antenna element disposed in the display wherein said element may be on an edge of the display.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845