Response to Amendment
The amendment submitted 12/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-15 and 19 remain pending. Claims 16-18 have been cancelled. New claims 20-22 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but were not fully persuasive. However, the amendments to the claims have changed the scope of the claims necessitating new or modified grounds of rejection. Please see new or modified grounds of rejection below.
The Applicant argues the prior art does not teach all the limitations of claim 1 since it has been amended to define the turbine shroud as a unitary turbine shroud and wherein the base portion, flange, cooling passage, and the at least one aft end exhaust conduit are integrally formed/defined.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Merely making structural features integrally formed/defined supports a prima facie determination of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.04(V)(B). Please see modified grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7147432 to Lowe in view of US 6139257 to Proctor.
(a) Regarding claim 1:
(i) Lowe discloses a method, comprising: coupling a turbine shroud (turbine shroud assembly 10, Fig 1) to a turbine casing (casing 26, Fig 1) of a gas turbine (gas turbine engine high pressure turbine section 8, Fig 1), the turbine shroud including:
a forward end (flange 34 and forward rail 46, Fig 1; 104, Fig 2) including a first hook (flange 34, Fig 1) coupled to the turbine casing (Fig 1);
an aft end (end comprising flange 40 and aft rail 48, Fig 1; 106, Fig 2) positioned opposite the forward end (Fig 1),
the aft end including a second hook (flange 40, Fig 1) coupled to the turbine casing (Fig 1);
a base portion (radially inward portion of hanger segments 24, base 44, rails 46/48, and baffle 68; Fig 1) extending between the forward end and the aft end (Fig 1) and positioned radially opposite the first hook and the second hook coupled to the turbine casing (Fig 1),
the base portion including an inner surface (surface 81, Fig 1) facing a hot gas flow path for the turbine system (core engine gas stream 20, Fig 1);
a flange (flange 60, Fig 1) extending from the aft end and positioned radially between the base portion and the second hook (Fig 1); and
a cooling passage positioned within the base portion (space between radially inner surface of baffle 68 and surface 81, Fig 1), adjacent the inner surface (Fig 1); and
directing a cooling fluid from a cooling chamber (either or both of plenum 74 and chamber 138, Fig 1) formed between the turbine shroud and the turbine casing (Fig 1) into the cooling passage (cooling airstreams 79 enter via apertures 78, Fig 1).
(ii) Lowe does not disclose:
at least one aft end exhaust conduit in fluid communication with the cooling passage,
the at least one aft end exhaust conduit extending through the aft end, radially between the base portion and the flange,
wherein the at least one aft end exhaust conduit is angled radially outward from the cooling passage, toward the flange, such that a cooling fluid in the cooling passage is exhausted directly towards the flange from the aft end exhaust conduit; and
directing a cooling fluid from a cooling chamber formed between the turbine shroud and the turbine casing into the cooling passage,
wherein the cooling fluid flows from the cooling passage into the at least one aft end exhaust conduit and is exhausted directly towards the flange from the at least one aft end exhaust conduit.
(iii) Proctor is also in the field of turbines (see title) and teaches a turbine shroud (shroud sections 22, Figs 1/3) comprising:
a cooling passage (shroud section cavity 52) positioned within a base portion (base 44) adjacent an inner surface (surface 44a, Fig 1),
wherein the cooling passage is defined within the base portion by the inner surface and an outer surface (radially inner surface of baffle 68, Fig 1; and
at least one aft end exhaust conduit (cooling holes 63/98) in fluid communication with the cooling passage (Figs 1/3),
the at least one aft end exhaust conduit extending through an aft end (downstream end of shroud section 22 relative to core engine gas stream, arrow 20, Figs 1/3) radially between the base portion and a flange (flange 60, Figs 1/3),
wherein the at least one aft end exhaust conduit is angled radially outward from the cooling passage, toward the flange (Col 5 Lns 21-28), such that a cooling fluid in the cooling passage is exhausted directly towards the flange from the aft end exhaust conduit (radially outward is directly towards the flange, Fig 1); and
directing a cooling fluid from a cooling chamber (cooling plenum 74 and/or baffle plenum 72, Fig 1) formed between the turbine shroud and the turbine casing (Fig 1) into the cooling passage (via perforations 78, Fig 1),
wherein the cooling fluid flows from the cooling passage into the at least one aft end exhaust conduit (cooling air 91, Fig 1) and is exhausted directly towards the flange from the at least one aft end exhaust conduit (when angled radially outward as described above).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooling passage as disclosed by Lowe with the above aforementioned at least one aft end exhaust conduit as taught by Proctor for the purpose of providing convection cooling to the flange and/or other turbine components as needed (Col 4 Lns 40-52; Col 5 Lns 21-28).
(v) The combined teachings of Lowe as modified by Proctor do not teach wherein the turbine shroud is a unitary turbine shroud, the base portion formed integral with the forward end and the aft end, the flange formed integral with the aft end, the cooling passage integrally defined by the base portion, and the at least one aft end exhaust conduit integrally defined by the aft end.
(vi) The Applicant has not disclosed any insight that is contrary to the understandings and expectations of the art regarding forming/defining these structural features integrally and merely making structural features integrally formed/defined supports a prima facie determination of obviousness, see MPEP 2144.04(V)(B).
(b) Regarding claim 2:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Lowe further discloses wherein the unitary turbine shroud further comprises:
a first side of the unitary turbine shroud extending between the forward end and the aft end (one of side ends connecting forward and aft ends 104 and 106, respectively, Fig 4); and
a second side of the unitary turbine shroud opposite the first side and extending between the forward end and the aft end (the other one of side ends connecting forward and aft ends 104 and 106, respectively, Fig 4),
wherein the flange extends between the first side and the second side (must extend at least some amount in a circumferential direction between first and second sides).
(c) Regarding claim 4:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Lowe further discloses wherein the flange extends axially beyond the base portion (Fig 1).
(d) Regarding claim 5:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Lowe further discloses wherein the flange is positioned radially between the cooling passage and the turbine casing (flange 60 radially outer to at least some portions of cooling passage, Fig 1).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7147432 to Lowe in view of US 6139257 to Proctor in further view of US 10989068 to Packer.
(a) Regarding claim 6:
(i) Lowe discloses a turbine shroud (turbine shroud assembly 10, Fig 1) coupled to a turbine casing (casing 26, Fig 1) of a turbine system (gas turbine engine high pressure turbine section 8, Fig 1), the turbine shroud comprising:
a forward end (flange 34 and forward rail 46, Fig 1; 104, Fig 2) including a first hook (flange 34, Fig 1) coupled to the turbine casing (Fig 1);
an aft end (end comprising flange 40 and aft rail 48, Fig 1; 106, Fig 2) positioned opposite the forward end (Fig 1),
the aft end including a second hook (flange 40, Fig 1) coupled to the turbine casing (Fig 1);
a base portion (radially inward portion of hanger segments 24, base 44, rails 46/48, and baffle 68; Fig 1) extending between the forward end and the aft end (Fig 1) and positioned radially opposite the first hook and the second hook coupled to the turbine casing (Fig 1),
the base portion including an inner surface (surface 81, Fig 1) facing a hot gas flow path for the turbine system (core engine gas stream 20, Fig 1);
a flange (flange 60, Fig 1) extending from the aft end and positioned radially between the base portion and the second hook (Fig 1); and
a cooling passage positioned within the base portion (space between radially inner surface of baffle 68 and surface 81, Fig 1), adjacent the inner surface (Fig 1).
(ii) Lowe does not disclose:
at least one aft end exhaust conduit in fluid communication with the cooling passage,
the at least one aft end exhaust conduit extending through the aft end, radially between the base portion and the flange,
wherein the at least one aft end exhaust conduit is angled radially outward from the cooling passage, toward the flange, such that a cooling fluid in the cooling passage is exhausted directly towards the flange from the at least one aft end exhaust conduit.
(iii) Proctor is also in the field of turbines (see title) and teaches a turbine shroud (shroud sections 22, Figs 1/3) comprising:
a cooling passage (shroud section cavity 52) positioned within a base portion (base 44) adjacent an inner surface (surface 44a, Fig 1),
wherein the cooling passage is defined within the base portion by the inner surface and an outer surface (radially inner surface of baffle 68, Fig 1; and
at least one aft end exhaust conduit (cooling holes 63/98) in fluid communication with the cooling passage (Figs 1/3),
the at least one aft end exhaust conduit extending through an aft end (downstream end of shroud section 22 relative to core engine gas stream, arrow 20, Figs 1/3) radially between the base portion and a flange (flange 60, Figs 1/3),
wherein the at least one aft end exhaust conduit is angled radially outward from the cooling passage, toward the flange (Col 5 Lns 21-28), such that a cooling fluid in the cooling passage is exhausted directly towards the flange from the aft end exhaust conduit (radially outward is directly towards the flange, Fig 1).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooling passage as disclosed by Lowe with the above aforementioned at least one aft end exhaust conduit as taught by Proctor for the purpose of providing convection cooling to the flange and/or other turbine components as needed (Col 4 Lns 40-52; Col 5 Lns 21-28).
(v)The combine teachings of Lowe as modified by Proctor does not teach:
at least an aft portion of the cooling passage having a serpentine pattern extending into the aft end,
the serpentine pattern beginning adjacent a first side of the base portion and extending toward a second side of the base portion opposite the first side of the base portion, and
at least one turn from which the aft portion of the cooling passage continues, alternating in direction of extension between the first and second sides of the base portion with each turn;
the at least one aft end exhaust conduit in fluid communication with the aft portion of the cooling passage after a last turn of the at least one turn.
(vi) Packer is also in the field of turbine shrouds (see title) and teaches:
an aft portion (aft part 136, Figs 17-18) of a cooling passage (first cooling passage 130, Figs 17-18) having a serpentine pattern (serpentine pattern 194, Figs 17-18) extending into the aft end (Figs 17-18),
the serpentine pattern beginning adjacent a first side of a base portion and extending toward a second side of the base portion opposite the first side of the base portion (Fig 17), and
at least one turn from which the aft portion of the cooling passage continues (Fig 17), alternating in direction of extension between the first and second sides of the base portion with each turn (Fig 17);
at least one aft end exhaust conduit (exhaust hole 160, Fig 18) in fluid communication with the aft portion of the cooling passage after a last turn of the at least one turn (Figs 17-18).
(vii) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooling passage as taught by the combined teachings of Lowe as modified by Proctor with the above aforementioned aft portion as taught by Packer for the purpose of aiding in heat transfer and/or cooling of the turbine shroud (Col 21 Lns 52-54).
(b) Regarding claim 7:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Packer teaches the turbine shroud of claim 6.
(ii) Lowe further discloses:
the first side of the turbine shroud extending between the forward end and the aft end (one of side ends connecting forward and aft ends 104 and 106, respectively, Fig 4); and
the second side of the turbine shroud opposite the first side and extending between the forward end and the aft end (the other one of side ends connecting forward and aft ends 104 and 106, respectively, Fig 4),
wherein the flange extends between the first side and the second side (must extend at least some amount in a circumferential direction between first and second sides).
(c) Regarding claim 9:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Packer teaches the turbine shroud of claim 6.
(ii) Low further discloses wherein the flange extends axially beyond the base portion (Fig 1).
(d) Regarding claim 10:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Packer teaches the turbine shroud of claim 6.
(ii) Lowe further discloses wherein the flange is positioned radially between the cooling passage and the turbine casing (flange 60 radially outer to at least some portions of cooling passage, Fig 1).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7147432 to Lowe in view of US 6139257 to Proctor as evidenced by US 8814507 to Campbell.
(a) Regarding claim 3:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor teaches the method of claim 1.
(ii) Lowe as modified by Proctor does not teach wherein the flange angularly extends from the aft end and extends one of: radially outward toward the second hook, or radially inward toward the base portion.
(iii) The applicant has disclosed no criticality nor any new or unexpected results from having the flange angularly extending as claimed which is merely a result of design choice which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flange as disclosed by Lowe to angularly extend from the aft end as an obvious matter of design choice arriving at a configuration well known in the art as evidenced by Campbell (flanged portion radially outer of seal 116 as shown in Fig 1 angled radially outward as shown in Figs 1-2/4-5).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7147432 to Lowe in view of US 6139257 to Proctor in further view of US 10989068 to Packer as evidenced by US 8814507 to Campbell.
(a) Regarding claim 8:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Packer teaches the turbine shroud of claim 6.
(ii) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Packer does not teach wherein the flange angularly extends from the aft end and extends one of: radially outward toward the second hook, or radially inward toward the base portion.
(iii) The applicant has disclosed no criticality nor any new or unexpected results from having the flange angularly extending as claimed which is merely a result of design choice which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flange as disclosed by Lowe to angularly extend from the aft end as an obvious matter of design choice arriving at a configuration well known in the art as evidenced by Campbell (flanged portion radially outer of seal 116 as shown in Fig 1 angled radially outward as shown in Figs 1-2/4-5).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7147432 to Lowe in view of US 6139257 to Proctor in further view of US 10989068 to Packer as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of US 4157232 to Bobo.
(a) Regarding claims 11-12:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Packer teaches the turbine shroud of claim 6.
(ii) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Packer does not teach:
wherein at least a portion of the base portion is included in a platform of a stator vane; nor
wherein the platform is an outer platform positioned radially adjacent the turbine casing.
(iii) Bobo is also in the field of turbines (see title) and teaches:
a turbine shroud (shroud segments 33, Fig 1) comprising a base (portion of shroud segments 33 defining groove 48, Fig 4),
wherein at least a portion of the base portion is included in a platform of a stator vane (base combines with inner flange 47 of outer band 44 of nozzle 14 to form a cooling portion of a platform of nozzle 14 i.e. they combine to define slots 67 of platform comprising flange 47, Fig 4); and
wherein the platform is an outer platform positioned radially adjacent the turbine casing (Fig 1).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified at least a portion of the base portion as taught by Lowe as modified by Proctor to be included in a platform of a stator vane as taught by Bobo for the purpose of providing additional hot spot cooling and flushing out regions between the shroud and platform interface thereby maintaining uniform temperatures and radial positions of the shroud and support structures (Col 5 Lns 16-23).
Claim(s) 13, 16, and 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7147432 to Lowe in view of US 6139257 to Proctor in further view of US 9464538 to Sezer.
(a) Regarding claim 13:
(i) Lowe a turbine system comprising:
a turbine casing (casing 26, Fig 1); and
a first stage (high pressure turbine section 8, Fig 1) positioned within the turbine casing,
the first stage including:
a plurality of turbine blades (turbine blades 12, Fig 1) positioned within the turbine casing (Fig 1),
a plurality of stator vanes (vanes 16, Fig 1) positioned within the turbine casing (Fig 1), downstream of the plurality of turbine blades (Fig 1); and
a plurality of turbine shrouds (shroud segments 22 and hanger segments 24, Fig 1) positioned radially adjacent the plurality of turbine blades and upstream of the plurality of stator vanes (Fig 1),
each of the plurality of turbine shrouds including:
a forward end (flange 34 and forward rail 46, Fig 1; 104, Fig 2) including a first hook (flange 34, Fig 1) coupled to the turbine casing (Fig 1);
an aft end (end comprising flange 40 and aft rail 48, Fig 1; 106, Fig 2) positioned opposite the forward end (Fig 1),
the aft end including a second hook (flange 40, Fig 1) coupled to the turbine casing (Fig 1);
a base portion (radially inward portion of hanger segments 24, base 44, rails 46/48, and baffle 68; Fig 1) extending between the forward end and the aft end (Fig 1) and positioned radially opposite the first hook and the second hook coupled to the turbine casing (Fig 1),
the base portion including an inner surface (surface 81, Fig 1) facing a hot gas flow path for the turbine system (core engine gas stream 20, Fig 1);
a flange (flange 60, Fig 1) extending from the aft end and positioned radially between the base portion and the second hook (Fig 1).
(ii) Lowe does not disclose:
at least one aft end exhaust conduit extending through the aft end, radially between the base portion and the flange,
(iii) Proctor is also in the field of turbines (see title) and teaches a turbine shroud (shroud sections 22, Figs 1/3) comprising:
a cooling passage (shroud section cavity 52) positioned within a base portion (base 44) adjacent an inner surface (surface 44a, Fig 1),
wherein the cooling passage is defined within the base portion by the inner surface and an outer surface (radially inner surface of baffle 68, Fig 1; and
at least one aft end exhaust conduit (cooling holes 63/98) in fluid communication with the cooling passage (Figs 1/3),
the at least one aft end exhaust conduit extending through an aft end (downstream end of shroud section 22 relative to core engine gas stream, arrow 20, Figs 1/3) radially between the base portion and a flange (flange 60, Figs 1/3),
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cooling passage as disclosed by Lowe with the above aforementioned at least one aft end exhaust conduit as taught by Proctor for the purpose of providing convection cooling to the flange and/or other turbine components as needed (Col 4 Lns 40-52; Col 5 Lns 21-28).
(v) The Examiner is taking official notice that turbine blades circumferentially about a rotor is well known in the art.
(vi) Lowe as modified by Proctor does not teach a plurality of first channels positioned within the base portion, adjacent the inner surface; and the at least one aft end exhaust conduit in fluid communication with the plurality of first channels.
(vii) Sezer is also in the field of turbine systems (see title) and teaches a plurality of first channels (cooling flow passages 150 at trailing portion 106, Fig 6) positioned within a base portion (main body 120, Fig 6), adjacent the inner surface (Fig 11); and at least one aft end exhaust conduit (exhaust passages 134 at trailing portion 106, Fig 6) in fluid communication with the plurality of first channels (Fig 6).
(viii) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the base portion and the at least one aft end exhaust conduit as taught by the combined teachings of Lowe as modified by Proctor with the above aforementioned plurality of first channels as taught by Sezer for the purpose of providing increased cooling and directing cooling to various locations with the base portion (Col 8 Lns 6-25).
(b) Regarding claim 16:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Sezer teaches the turbine system of claim 13.
(ii) Lowe further discloses wherein each of the plurality of turbine shrouds further includes:
a first side of the turbine shroud extending between the forward end and the aft end (one of side ends connecting forward and aft ends 104 and 106, respectively, Fig 4); and
a second side of the turbine shroud opposite the first side and extending between the forward end and the aft end (the other one of side ends connecting forward and aft ends 104 and 106, respectively, Fig 4),
wherein the flange of each of the plurality of turbine shrouds extends between the first side and the second side (must extend at least some amount in a circumferential direction between first and second sides).
(c) Regarding claim 18:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Sezer teaches the turbine system of claim 13.
(ii) Lowe further discloses wherein the flange is positioned radially between the cooling passage and the turbine casing (flange 60 radially outer to at least some portions of cooling passage, Fig 1).
(d) Regarding claim 19:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Sezer teaches the turbine system of claim 13.
(ii) Lowe further discloses wherein the flange extends axially beyond the base portion (Fig 1).
(e) Regarding claim 20:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Sezer teaches the turbine system of claim 13.
(ii) Sezer further teaches wherein the at least one aft end exhaust conduit includes a respective aft end exhaust conduit (any one of exhaust passages 134 at trailing end 106, Fig 6) in fluid communication with each first channel of the plurality of first channels and extending through the aft end (Fig 6).
(f) Regarding claim 21:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Sezer teaches the turbine system of claim 13.
(ii) Sezer further teaches:
a plurality of second channels (cooling flow passages 150 at leading portion 104, Fig 6) positioned within the base portion (Fig 6),
each second channel of the plurality of second channels extending forward from a respective opening in the base portion (Fig 6), and
at least one forward end exhaust conduit (exhaust passages 134 at leading portion 104, Fig 6) in fluid communication with the plurality of second channels (Fig 6),
the at least one forward end exhaust conduit extending through the forward end (Fig 6).
(g) Regarding claim 22:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Sezer teaches the turbine system of claim 21.
(ii) Sezer further teaches wherein the at least one forward end exhaust conduit includes a respective forward end exhaust conduit (any one of exhaust passages 134 at leading portion 104, Fig 6) in fluid communication with each second channel of the plurality of second channels and extending through the forward end (Fig 6).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7147432 to Lowe in view of US 6139257 to Proctor in further view of US 9464538 to Sezer as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of US 6435820 to Overberg.
(a) Regarding claim 14:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Sezer teaches the turbine system of claim 13.
(ii) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Sezer do not teach a seal extending between the plurality of stator vanes and the plurality of turbine shrouds, the seal contacting: the base portion of each of the plurality of turbine shrouds, adjacent the aft end; and an outer platform of each of the plurality of stator vanes.
(iii) Overberg is also in the field of turbine shrouds (see abstract) and teaches a seal (discourager seal 176, Fig 1) extending between a stator assembly (stator assembly comprising nozzle outer band 172, Fig 1) and a plurality of turbine shrouds (arcuate shrouds 114, Fig 1), the seal contacting: the a portion of each of the plurality of turbine shrouds (base 126, Fig 1), adjacent an aft end (Fig 1); and an outer platform of each of the plurality of stator vanes (nozzle outer band 172, Fig 1).
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the turbine system as taught by the combined teachings of Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Sezer with the above aforementioned seal as taught by Overberg for the purpose of preventing the ingestion of hot gases (Col 3 Lns 58-62).
(b) Regarding claim 15:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Sezer as even further modified by Overberg teaches the turbine system of claim 14.
(ii) Lowe as modified by Proctor as further modified by Sezer as even further modified by Overberg further teaches wherein the at least one aft end exhaust conduit of each of the plurality of turbine shrouds is positioned radially between the flange and the seal contacting the base portion (Proctor: cooling holes 63 spaced radially from both flange 60 and radially outer surface of base 44, Fig 1; Overberg: seal 176 abutting and directly adjacent radially outer surface of base, Fig 1).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7147432 to Lowe in view of US 6139257 to Proctor in further view of US 9464538 to Sezer as evidenced by US 8814507 to Campbell.
(a) Regarding claim 17:
(i) Lowe as modified by Proctor as modified by Sezer teaches the turbine system of claim 13.
(ii) Lowe as modified by Proctor as modified by Sezer does not teach wherein the flange angularly extends from the aft end and extends one of: radially outward toward the second hook, or radially inward toward the base portion.
(iii) The applicant has disclosed no criticality nor any new or unexpected results from having the flange angularly extending as claimed which is merely a result of design choice which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
(iv) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flange as disclosed by Lowe to angularly extend from the aft end as an obvious matter of design choice arriving at a configuration well known in the art as evidenced by Campbell (flanged portion radially outer of seal 116 as shown in Fig 1 angled radially outward as shown in Figs 1-2/4-5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN A PRUITT/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745