DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 16 March 2026. Claims
1-10 and 14-19 are now pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to
claims 1, 2, 6-9 and 14, as well as the cancellation of claims 11-13 and the addition of
claims 17-19.
Drawings
2. The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 1206.
3. The drawings are objected to because Fig. 12A recites “micro hope” which should apparently read –microphone--.
4. The drawings are objected to because replacement Fig. 12B appears to show more than one bed attachment 1206; more than one bed attachment of which is not supported by the disclosure as originally filed.
5. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “a bed attachment” as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Claim Objections
6. Claims 2, 3 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: with respect to claim 2, either claim 1 or claim 2 should clarify if “the frequency” is referencing “20 Hz” in claim 1; “60 Hz” in claim 1; or a frequency of the claimed “non-invasive stimulus” as recited at line 10 of claim 1. With respect to claim 3, either claim 1 or claim 3 should clarify if “the frequency” is referencing “20 Hz” in claim 1; “60 Hz” in claim 1; or a frequency of the claimed “non-invasive stimulus” as recited at line 10 of claim 1.
7. At line 2 of claim 10, “a subject” should apparently read --the subject--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
10. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “stimulus-emitting component” in claim 1, the equivalent structures thereof enumerated at multiple instances throughout the specification at, for example, paragraphs [0283], [0336], [0339], and [0346] of the instant publication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
12. Claims 1-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites “the device comprising: (a) a bed attachment comprising (i) an audio source; and (ii) a transducer…”. The specification, as originally filed, does not provide support for “a bed attachment”. The figures do not show the structure and the specification does not provide definition of what constitutes such. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect an example of what would constitute “a bed attachment”, or at least a definition of the bed attachment as a bed attachment could read on a variety of articles such as a mattress pad or simply a Velcro strip, for example.
14. Claims 1-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
15. Claim 1 at line 12 recites the limitation “said subject in need thereof”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A suggested amendment to line 12 is –said subject--.
16. Claim 2 recites “the frequency is from 35 Hz to 45 Hz”. It is unclear based on the recitation, what the intended language is of the claim; in light of the specification, it appears that the frequency is within a range from “35 Hz to 45 Hz” and will be construed as such for purposes of interpretation of the claim.
17. Claim 9 recite the limitation "reducing the duration of nighttime active periods" There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
18. Claim 9 at line 2 recites “the duration of active periods”. It is unclear if this limitation lacks antecedent basis or if it refers back to “the duration of nighttime active periods” recited at line 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
21. Claims 1-10 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0246579) in view of Aharonovitch et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0139112). Regarding claim 1, Cohen teaches a device for improving a parameter of sleep quality experienced by a subject, the device comprising: (a) a bed attachment (“Support apparatus 16 may be, for example, a chair, a couch, a table, a bed, a pad, or a combination of pads” [0052]); see Figs. 1-3 and [0053]-[0054]) comprising (i) an audio source (CD player; mp3 device; iPod; cell phone) 18 (as shown in Fig. 1; [0052]; [0174]); and (ii) a transducer (Fig. 7) comprising a stimulus-emitting component capable of providing a non-invasive stimulus to said subject ([0055]-[0062], [0069] and Figs. 6-7);
(b) one or more processors operatively coupled to the bed attachment ([0011], [0173]-[0174]), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively programmed to execute a set of instructions comprising:
(i) using the transducer to convert an electrical signal from the audio source into a non-invasive stimulus ([0011]; [0056], [0060], [0062], [0129]-[0131]) from about 20 Hz to about 60 Hz [0056];
(ii) instructing said stimulus-emitting component to emit said non-invasive stimulus to said subject in need thereof ([0011], [0142] and [0130]-[0131]);
(iii) receiving an indication of a physiological, cognitive, neural, or physical assessment of said subject from a feedback sensor configured to receive the indication of said physiological, cognitive, neural, or physical assessment of said subject [0184]; and
(iv) instructing said stimulus-emitting component, based on said indication, to adjust a parameter associated with said non-invasive stimulus ([0184] and [0011]),
thereby improving the parameter of sleep quality experienced by the subject ([0142], [0079], [0106]);
and
(d) said feedback sensor [0184]. However, Cohen fails to disclose explicitly a memory device configured to store said set of instructions. Aharonovitch et al. (hereinafter Aharonovitch) teaches an external device for stimulation of a user via various mechanisms such as vibration, in order to improve sleep and other cognitive disorders/conditions (see Abstract), wherein a cognitive assessment is made following stimulation, followed by stimulation parameters being changed based on the assessment, and storing the stimulation parameters if the results of desired brain response is achieved [0030]. The storing step is performed on the memory of an external device such as a cell phone, tablet, or cloud-based device ([0033], [0016] and [0056]-[0060], [0106]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a processing device as taught by Cohen, to store a set of instructions as suggested by Aharonovitch, as Cohen recognizes the need to regulate parameters of the applied vibration/stimulation to achieve a desired response ([0011] and [0184]), and Aharonovitch teaches that a processing device configured to store instructions enables the storing of stimulation parameters for protocol establishment and future stimulation sessions [0106].
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the frequency is from 35 Hz to 45 Hz, or “about 40 hz” ([0056] of Cohen – “…transducer is capable of producing vibrational frequencies from approximately 0.5 Hz to approximately 1,000 Hz, and has a crossover frequency of approximately 14 Hz to 75 Hz. The transducer is also capable of producing sound frequencies from approximately 20 Hz to approximately 8,000 Hz”).
Regarding claim 4, the non-invasive stimulus comprises an acoustic stimulus ([0055] – [0062] of Cohen).
Regarding claim 5, the device of Cohen is capable of reducing a sleep fragmentation/disturbances in the subject ([0142] of Cohen).
Regarding claim 6, the device is capable of reducing a duration of nighttime active periods/disturbances experienced during sleep ([0142] of Cohen).
Regarding claim 7, the device is capable of reducing a number of nighttime active periods/disturbances experienced during sleep ([0142] of Cohen).
Regarding claim 8, the device is capable of increasing a duration of slow wave sleep or a duration of rapid eye movement sleep experienced by the subject (“lucid dreaming” as described by Cohen [0155]).
Regarding claim 9, the device is capable of reducing the duration of nighttime active periods by at least half ([0142] and [0155]) of Cohen).
Regarding claim 10, the device is capable of improving a reduction in snoring of a subject as the device reduces sleep disturbances/fragmentation ([0142] of Cohen).
Regarding claim 14, the device is capable of adjusting the stimulus which results in a reduction in sleep fragmentation in the subject ([0142], [0079], [0106]) of Cohen).
Regarding claim 15, while Cohen teaches the incorporation of sensors for monitoring patient movement for periodically adjusting stimulation [0184], in addition to physiological parameters such as heart rate and blood pressure being indicative of conditions of the body affecting sleep/anxiety [0091]-[0101]), Cohen does not disclose explicitly that the one or more processors are individually or collectively programmed to execute a set of instructions to monitor the heart rate of the subject. Aharonovitch teaches an external device for stimulation of a user via various mechanisms such as vibration, in order to improve sleep and other cognitive disorders/conditions (see Abstract), wherein an assessment is made following stimulation, of the heart rate of the individual, to determine the efficacy of the stimulation [0208].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a processing device as taught by Cohen, to monitor heart rate of a patient as suggested by Aharonovitch, as Cohen recognizes the need to regulate parameters of the applied vibration/stimulation to achieve a desired response ([0011] and [0184]), and Aharonovitch teaches that a processing device configured to monitor and assess physiological parameters such as heart rate enables enhancement of the efficacy of the stimulation protocol/treatment for improving sleep [0209].
Regarding claim 16, the non-invasive stimulus comprises a vibration ([0011]; [0056], [0060], [0062], [0129]-[0131] of Cohen).
Regarding claim 17, at least one of the one or more processors comprises a processor of a mobile device ([0011], [0173]-[0174] of Cohen).
Regarding claim 18, while Cohen teaches that at least one of the one or more processors comprises a processor of an external controller ([0011], [0173]-[0174]), Cohen fails to disclose explicitly that the controller is a cloud server. Aharonovitch teaches that the one or more processors comprises an external device such as a cloud-based storing device for storing stimulation parameters found to be efficacious in treatment of patients ([0016], [0027], and [0133]-[0134]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure at least one of the one or more processors as taught by Cohen, of a cloud server as suggested by Aharonovitch, as Cohen recognizes the use of remote, external devices for controlling and adjusting the parameters of the stimulation ([0011], [0173]-[0174]), and Aharonovitch teaches that data sent to a cloud server enables larger-scale processing of data in order to suggest future treatment protocol/recommendations ([0133]-[0134]).
Regarding claim 19, at least one of the one or more processors comprises a processor of a controller ([0011], [0173]-[0174] of Cohen).
Response to Arguments
22. Applicant’s arguments filed 16 March 2026 with respect to the objection to the Drawings have been fully considered. While the inclusion of a “bed attachment” is acknowledged, the incorporation of such a “bed attachment” in the manner presented is objected to for the reasons noted above.
23. Applicant’s arguments filed 16 March 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant contends that paragraph [0070] provides a description of devices by which the non-invasive signal is delivered to the user’s environment, such as a through a bed attachment, and taken with claim 1, the “the instant specification describes substantive structural limitations to establish a structure-function relationship with respect to a bed attachment comprising an audio source, a transducer, and a stimulus emitting component”. However, this argument is not persuasive. While Applicant’s remark, coupled with the specification and the claim language could establish “a structure-function relationship” with respect to a device comprising an audio source, a transducer, and a stimulus emitting component, this would not cover a bed attachment comprising an audio source, a transducer, and a stimulus emitting component as a bed attachment could read on a variety of articles such as a mattress pad or simply a Velcro strip, or a bracket, for example, each of which are very different types of “attachments,” yet the specification is silent as to any type of such structure. Additionally, the figures do not show the structure, aside from a black box indicating its presence, and the specification does not provide definition of what constitutes such. One of ordinary skill in the art would expect an example of what would constitute “a bed attachment”, or at least a definition of the bed attachment. In view of the foregoing, the rejection of claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) has been maintained.
24. Applicant’s arguments filed 16 March 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 2, 6-9 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered, however new grounds of rejection are presented above in light of the amendments.
25. Applicant’s arguments filed 16 March 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-10 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) citing Karkkainen (‘995) have been fully considered and are persuasive, however new grounds of rejection are presented above in light of the amendments.
26. Applicant’s arguments filed 16 March 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 11-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing Karkkainen (‘995) in view of Weiss (‘202) have been fully considered and are persuasive, however new grounds of rejection are presented above in light of the amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791