Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,336,669. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US 11,336,669 anticipate all of the current claims at issue.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,407,712. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US 12,407,712 anticipate all of the current claims at issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected. The term "less repetition" and “greater efficiency” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms "less repetition" and “greater efficiency” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “module configured to” in claims 11-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13-17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US 2017/0054745 in view of Jang US 2019/0190945.
As per claims 1, 10, 11. Zhang teaches A method of protecting a system, including but not limited to a network, from a cyber threat, comprising: identifying, with one or more Artificial Intelligence models trained with machine learning on a normal behavior of the system, at least one of i) an abnormal behavior, ii) a suspicious activity, and iii) any combination of both, from one or more entities in the system. Zhang teaches analyzing a collection of system data, including metrics data, to support or refute each of the one or more possible cyber threat hypotheses that could include the identified abnormal behavior and/or suspicious activity data with the one or more AI models trained with machine learning on possible cyber threats; and formatting an output of one or more supported possible cyber threat hypotheses from the possible set of cyber threat hypotheses into a formalized report, from a first template, that is outputted for a human user's consumption in a medium selectable from a group consisting of 1) printable report, 2) presented digitally on a user interface, 3) in a machine readable format for further use in machine-learning reinforcement and refinement, or 4) any combination of the three. [0039][0052][0053][0054][0058] (teaches modeling to detect abnormal behavior or malicious activity using machine learning and analysis, and presenting reports to a user for possible cyber threats)
Jang teaches forming one or more hypotheses on what are a possible set of cyber threats that could include the identified abnormal behavior and/or suspicious activity with one or more AI models trained with machine learning on possible cyber threats; [0007] [0050][0051] [0064] [0074] [0081] (teaches gathering evidence and presenting hypothesis including machine learning)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the hypotheses of Jang because it provides more information about the probability of cyber threat causes for users.As per claims 3, 13 Jang teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: initiating a collection of data to support or refute each of the one or more possible cyber threat hypotheses that could include this abnormal behavior or suspicious activity by the one or more AI models trained on possible cyber threats, extracting data on each possible hypothetical threat that would include the abnormal behavior or suspicious activity and then filtering that collection of data down to relevant points of data to either 1) support or 2) refute each particular hypothesis of what the cyber threat the suspicious activity and/or abnormal behavior relates to, and sending the filtered down relevant points of data to either 1) support or 2) refute each particular hypothesis to one or more algorithms used by the AI models trained with machine learning on possible cyber threats to make a determination on a probable likelihood of whether that particular hypothesis is supported or refuted. [0007] [0050][0051] [0064] [0074] [0081] (teaches gathering evidence and presenting hypothesis including machine learning)
As per claims 4, 14. Jang teaches The method of claim 3, further comprising: using a plurality of scripts to walk through a step by step process of what to collect to filter down to the relevant data points to make a decision and analyze possible cyber threats and one or more AI models trained with machine learning on a process of human analyzing on possible cyber threats and the relevant data points human analysts examine to support or rebut their analysis of a given cyber threat hypothesis. [0007] [0050][0051] [0064] [0074] [0081] (teaches gathering evidence and presenting hypothesis including machine learning and human review; Examiner interprets “scripts” to be the program that walks through the evidence; Jang teaches finding evidence and scoring evidence in the process of determining and ranking cyber threats)
As per claims 5, 15 Jang teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: assigning either i) a probability or ii) a confidence level, of a given cyber threat hypothesis that is supported and a threat level posed by that cyber threat hypothesis, which includes this abnormal behavior or suspicious activity, with the one or more AI models trained on possible cyber threats. [0074] (ranks hypothesis by severity and likelihood to report to personnel)As per claims 6, 16 Zhang teaches The method of claim 5, further comprising: generating a textual write up of an incident report in the formalized report for a wide range of breaches of normal behavior, used by the AI models trained with machine learning on the normal behavior of the system, based on analyzing previous reports with one or more models trained with machine learning on assessing and populating relevant data into the incident report corresponding to each possible cyber threat. [0054][0055][0058] (presents reports based in part on models with machine learning and historical data)As per claims 7, 17. Jang teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a threat incident report in the formalized report from a multitude of dynamic human-supplied and/or machine created templates corresponding to different types of cyber threats, each template, including the first template, corresponding to different types of cyber threats that vary in format, style, and standard fields in the multitude of templates, populating a given template with relevant data, graphs, or other information as appropriate in various specified fields, along with a ranking of a likelihood of whether that hypothesis cyber threat is supported and its threat severity level for each of the supported cyber threat hypotheses, and then outputting the formatted threat incident report with the ranking of each supported cyber threat hypothesis, which is presented digitally on the user interface and/or printed as the printable report. [0007] [0050][0051] (Jang teaches reports based on threats with ranking by threat and likelihood) (Zhang teaches a more comprehensive formalized report [0058]As per claim 9, 19 Jang teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: ranking supported candidate cyber threat hypotheses by combination of a likelihood that this candidate cyber threat hypothesis is supported as well as severity threat level of this incident type, where these factors are combined to create a total ordering possible cyber threat hypotheses presented in the formalized report on the user interface, where a filtering out of refuted cyber threat hypotheses and putting higher supported and more severe threat level possible cyber threat hypotheses higher in the total ordering of possible cyber threat hypotheses allows cyber personnel to better focus on interesting cyber threats that could include the identified abnormal behavior and/or suspicious activity data. [0074] (ranks hypothesis by severity and likelihood to report to personnel)
As per claim 15, Jang teaches The apparatus of claim 11, further comprising: an assessment module configured to assign a probability of a given cyber threat hypothesis that is supported and a threat level posed by that cyber threat hypothesis, which includes this abnormal behavior or suspicious activity, with the one or more AI models trained on possible cyber threats. [0074] (ranks hypothesis by severity and likelihood to report to personnel)
As per claim 20. Jang teaches The apparatus of claim 11, further comprising: wherein the trigger module, analyzer module and formatting module cooperate to improve the analysis and formalized report generation with less repetition to consume CPU cycles with greater efficiency than humans repetitively going through these steps and re-duplicating steps to filter and rank the one or more supported possible cyber threat hypotheses from the possible set of cyber threat hypotheses. [0074]- [0077] (more efficient than standard human analysis)
Claims 2, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US 2017/0054745 in view of Jang US 2019/0190945 in view of Yadav 2016/0359695
As per claims 2, 12 Yadav teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the AI models trained with machine learning on possible cyber threats are at least one or more supervised machine learning models, and using both 1) the one or more supervised machine learning models trained on agnostic examples of past history of detection of a multitude of possible types of cyber threat hypotheses previously analyzed by human cyber threat analysis, and 2) one or more unsupervised machine learning models trained to perform anomaly detection verses a normal pattern of life to determine whether the abnormal behavior and/or suspicious activity is malicious or benign when the cyber threat is previously unknown. [0017] [0084]- [0090] (Yadav teaches both supervised and unsupervised learning methods for detecting cyber threats)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the learning methods of Yadav with the prior combination because both machine learning methods improve efficiency.
Claims 8, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US 2017/0054745 in view of Jang US 2019/0190945 in view of Altman US 2014/0359761
As per claims 8, 18 Altman teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: utilizing repetitive feedback, as time goes on, for the AI models trained with machine learning on possible cyber threats via reviewing a subsequent resulting analysis of the supported possible cyber threat hypotheses and supply that information to the training of the AI models trained with machine learning on possible cyber threats in order to reinforce the model's finding were correct or inaccurate. [0055]- [0057] (analyst uses repetitive feedback to improve models)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the feedback of Altman with the prior art combination because it improves accuracy.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439