DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rogerson (US7089949B1).
As to claim 1, Rogerson discloses an apparatus comprising a casing (Fig.1) having opposing first and second plates (refs 12 & 14); a cleaning head (ref 64) and first and second supports (refs 50/60//61) thereby reading on a robot. Operation of the apparatus causes the entire apparatus being moved to rest on the workpiece until the second plate contacts an upper surface of the workpiece (Figs.3A-3B) and the plates remain stationary while the support members and cleaning head moves to perform cleaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogerson (US7089949B1) in view of Desormeaux (US20180104728A1).
As to claim 9, Rogerson teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the cleaning portion comprising all of a first shaft, rail, an arm, and cleaning head, however such features are known by Desormeaux.
Desormeaux discloses an apparatus for the purposes of cleaning interior surfaces [0139] by utilizing articulated arms [0002], wherein the apparatus comprises a vertically extending (Fig.21 ref 28 [0137]) and rotating (Fig. 21 ref 20) first support member/shaft (Fig.21 from ref 12 to ref 28) to allow for variable motion in a nozzle (Fig.21 ref 4180) for cleaning. Desormeaux further discloses another embodiment utilizing track/rail, synonymous to second support member, (Fig.4-4B refs 416/417) to provide lateral movement of an arm (Fig.4 ref 103, also [0102]) which is pivotally connected to the second support member (see Fig.4 ref 122 connected to ref 450 which is connected to the second support member and allow for pivoted movement [0058]). The embodiment further comprises a cleaning head (Fig.4 ref 418) attached to the arm and rotatable around a longitudinal axis of the arm (best seen in Figs. 1-3, also [0058]). Desormeaux and Rogerson are analogous in the art of cleaning interior surfaces of work pieces.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing, to modify the cleaning portion of Rogerson to utilize the arm/support members of Desormeaux in order to provide a multi-axis articulating arm capable of providing a 33% reduction in the cleaning time of work pieces (Desormeaux [0132]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize the elements of both embodiments of Desormeaux, such that the lateral track/rail is connected to the vertical first support, in order to increase precision and targeting of areas on the work piece for increased efficiency and decreased waste when cleaning a work piece (Desormeaux [0055]).
As to claim 10, Modified Rogerson teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the cleaning head is further constructed to move along a longitudinal axis of the arm (see Desormeaux).
Claims 11, & 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daijo (US20190299262A1) in view of Desormeaux (US20180104728A1).
As to claims 11 & 18, Daijo discloses an apparatus comprising: a casing with opposed first and second plates (ref 15 and portion below ref 38 adjacent to ref 16) having openings; and a cleaning portion having support members and a cleaning head coupled together (refs 4, 11-13, & 35-36); the opening of the second plate faces an opening of the process chamber (see Figs.2-3).
During use the apparatus is lowered entirely to rest on the process chamber until the second plate contacts the upper surface of the process chamber (see Figs.1-2). The plates are held stationary once the cleaning portion is inserted [0029 & 0053], and at least part of the casing acts form a sealed space with the wall of the chamber (see Figs.1-2). The movable members (see ref 4, reading on a robot) of the cleaning device allow for the interior cleaning of a tank during operation, including cleaning of the wall by extending beyond the casing and into the processes chamber during cleaning (see Figs.1-2). Daijo does not explicitly disclose the cleaning portion comprising all of a first shaft, rail, an arm, and cleaning head, however such features are known by Desormeaux.
Desormeaux discloses an apparatus for the purposes of cleaning interior surfaces [0139] by utilizing articulated arms [0002], wherein the apparatus comprises a vertically extending (Fig.21 ref 28 [0137]) and rotating (Fig. 21 ref 20) first support member/shaft (Fig.21 from ref 12 to ref 28) to allow for variable motion in a nozzle (Fig.21 ref 4180) for cleaning. Desormeaux further discloses another embodiment utilizing track/rail, synonymous to second support member, (Fig.4-4B refs 416/417) to provide lateral movement of an arm (Fig.4 ref 103, also [0102]) which is pivotally connected to the second support member (see Fig.4 ref 122 connected to ref 450 which is connected to the second support member and allow for pivoted movement [0058]). The embodiment further comprises a cleaning head (Fig.4 ref 418) attached to the arm and rotatable around a longitudinal axis of the arm (best seen in Figs. 1-3, also [0058]). Desormeaux and Daijo are analogous in the art of cleaning interior surfaces of work pieces.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing, to modify the cleaning portion of Daijo to utilize the arm/support members of Desormeaux in order to provide a multi-axis articulating arm capable of providing a 33% reduction in the cleaning time of work pieces (Desormeaux [0132]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize the elements of both embodiments of Desormeaux, such that the lateral track/rail is connected to the vertical first support, in order to increase precision and targeting of areas on the work piece for increased efficiency and decreased waste when cleaning a work piece (Desormeaux [0055]).
As to claim 17, Modified Daijo teaches the method of claim 11, further comprising a baffle (Daijo ref 15A) on a side of the process chamber constructed to seal an opening of the process chamber.
Claim 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daijo (US20190299262A1), and Desormeaux (US20180104728A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Shammari et al. (US9468957B1).
Regarding claim 12, Modified Daijo teaches the apparatus of claim 11 wherein the arm is capable of being manipulated (Desormeaux [0057]), but does not show how within the specific embodiments referenced. However, Desormeaux discloses, in a different embodiment, an actuator (see Desormeaux Figs.7-8 ref 1600/1602/1604, the actuator equivalent to a driving member since it provides rotation to the arm, best seen in Figs. 10-11). The actuator is fastened to hinge connectors/rotating parts (see Desormeaux Figs.7-8 & 10-11 refs 1610, 1390, & 1350), the hinge connectors/rotating parts read on a sleeve as they hold the tool in a desired position as work is performed and partially cover the elements. The actuators rotate at least one of the sleeves around a longitudinal direction of the arm (Desormeaux [0070-0071], specifically Fig.4 ref 122). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have supplied Modified Daijo with the actuators disclosed by Desormeaux in order to provide the manipulation of the arm in order to increase efficiency (Desormeaux [0055]). However, assuming arguendo that an actuator is not equivalent to a driving member, such features are known in the art as evidenced by Shammari.
Shammari discloses a tank cleaning machine (abstract) utilizing an articulated arm (see Figs.2, 5-8) with a cleaning head (Fig.5 all of portion right of ref 118, including brush, nozzle, lamps, sensors, camera, etc.) mounted to the end of the arm. The arm utilizes a motor (Fig.4 ref 54) with a shaft (Fig.4 ref 54a) housed between two plates (Fig.4 refs 56a/b), two rings (Fig.4 ref 50a/b), and an arm piece (see Fig.4 ref 38a for clarity) that fits around the corresponding elements in order to rotate the brush head and hold the brush head in a desired position (see Figs.5-8), thereby the arm pieces reading on a sleeve. Each motor/shaft is provided within each arm piece (Col.3 line 66 - Col.4 line24 also Col.6 lines 47-50) and provides at least some rotational movement of the sleeve around a longitudinal axis of the arm. Shammari and Daijo are analogous in the cleaning of interior of containers.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing, to modify the apparatus of Modified Daijo to utilize the motor/sleeve/cleaning head configuration of Shammari in order to allow for manipulation of the arm while also including a cleaning head with a brush, nozzle, sensors, cameras, lamps to provide more effective cleaning process than just a nozzle alone.
Claim 13 is/arc rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daijo (US20190299262A1), Desormeaux (US20180104728A1), and Shammari et al. (US9468957B1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of evidentiary reference MacNeil (US20090241989A1).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Daijo teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the first sleeve comprises a hole (Shammari Fig.4 see refs 50a/b and 52) on a surface, and when the cleaning head is pivoted in a certain manner the hole faces the cleaning head (best seen in Desormeaux Fig.4). The hole having a polygonal shape (see Shammari Fig.5) when seen from a cross section view. Further, the limitation of the hole being a polygonal shape is dependent upon the shape of the shaft and one of ordinary skill in the art would have found a polygonal shape to be obvious absent persuasive evidence that the claimed configuration was significant. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). Further, polygonal shafts and apertures for mounting of brush components in cleaning systems are already known and utilized (see evidentiary reference MacNeil [0064]). Such a modification would provide a first and second sleeve with the claimed configuration.
Claims 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daijo (US20190299262A1), Desormeaux (US20180104728A1), Shammari et al. (US9468957B1), and evidentiary reference MacNeil (US20090241989A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Outa et al. (US20170347788A1) and Greenwood (US20130174876A1).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Daijo teaches the apparatus of claim 13, but does not teach the presence of a second sleeve, a second shaft, and configured to move within a hole of the first sleeve. However, such features would have been obvious in light of the teachings of Outa.
Outa discloses a cleaning passively adjusting cleaning device (abstract), wherein the device comprises: a motor (Figs.5A-B ref 502); a first shaft (Figs.5A-B ref 504); a universal joint (Figs.5A-B ref 506); a second shaft (Figs.5A-B ref 508); a cleaning mechanism (Figs.5A-B ref 510 including refs 508 & 516-520); and an alignment mechanism with a bearing (Figs.5A-B refs 514/516/518). See also Figs.3, 4, & 6 for similar constructions and features. The universal joint reading on a sleeve as it fits partially around the second shaft for connection to the first shaft and it allows for the proper movement of the brush in accordance with a work piece [0025]. Further, the alignment mechanism and bearing read on a second sleeve as it also maintains proper desired alignment of the cleaning mechanism [0035] and fits around the desired elements. The first sleeve is attached/fastened to the motor and is rotatable by the motor [0023]. The universal joint having a hole on the surface which faces the cleaning mechanism, and to which the second shaft is connected thereto (see Figs.1-6 connection between the second shaft and the universal joint). The second sleeve having a hole (see Fig.3 ref 316) through which the second shaft passes and constructed to move in the hole of the universal joint where it connects. The features of Outa allows for improved cleaning efficiency across curved and non-uniform surfaces (abstract). Outa and Daijo are related in the art of cleaning surfaces. However, assuming arguendo that the universal joint does not read on a sleeve, such a sleeve is known in the art as evidenced by Greenwood.
Greenwood discloses a cleaner for the interior of containers (abstract), the cleaner utilizes a sleeve for the cleaning head (Fig.3 ref 225, see also [0061]). The sleeve allows for protection and support of the cleaning head [0061]. Greenwood and Daijo are analogous in the art of cleaning interior containers.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing, to modify articulated arm of Modified Daijo (best seen in Desormeaux Fig.9 refs 1591-4170) to utilize the alignment mechanism, universal joint, and shaft configuration of Outa to connect the cleaning head to the articulated arm in order to provide more efficient cleaning of curved and non-uniform surfaces (Outa abstract). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize sleeves as disclosed by Greenwood in order to protect and support the head (Greenwood [0061]).
Similarly to claim 13, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that the shaft shape when taken from a cross sectional view to be obvious absent persuasive evidence that the claimed configuration was significant. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). Further, polygonal shafts and apertures for mounting of brush components in cleaning systems are already known and utilized (see evidentiary reference MacNeil [0064]). Such a modification would provide a first and second sleeve with the claimed configuration.
Regarding claim 16, Modified Daijo teaches the apparatus of claim 14 wherein, the cleaning head further comprises a holding member (Outa Figs.5A-B ref 520) to allow the second shaft to movably couple to the second sleeve (Outa [0038]).
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daijo (US20190299262A1), Desormeaux (US20180104728A1), Shammari et al. (US9468957B1), evidentiary reference MacNeil (US20090241989A1), Outa et al. (US20170347788A1), and Greenwood (US20130174876A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN107891045A).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Daijo teaches the apparatus of claim 14 but does not teach the presence of a spring wrapping around a second shaft. However, such a feature is known within cleaning systems for the cleaning of surfaces, as evidenced by Zhang.
Zhang discloses a cleaning mechanism and system for the cleaning of barrel surfaces (abstract), wherein a brush (Fig. 1 ref 494) is utilized at the end of a rod (Fig. 1 ref 492) and a spring (Fig.1 ref 493) is provided on the rod [0011]. The spring allows for compressive action of the brush in order improve pressure and the cleaning effect, thereby saving time and effort [0028-0029]. Zhang and Daijo are related in the field of utilizing cleaning mechanism for the cleaning of surfaces.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing, to modify the second shaft of Modified Daijo to include a spring wrapped around the shaft, as disclosed by Zhang, in order to improve the cleaning effect and save time and effort (Zhang [0028-0029]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have provided the spring on the second shaft rather than the first because the second shaft is the shaft which holds the brush, where the improved pressure is desired.
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daijo (US20190299262A1) and Desormeaux (US20180104728A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of McGregor (US20130269730A1).
As to claim 19, Modified Daijo teaches the method of claim 18, but does not explicitly disclose removing water through a channel. However, McGregor teaches an art related vessel cleaning method wherein it is known to utilize a drain and valve (refs 15 & 17) for the cleaning of the tank [0037, 0045, & 0047]. The drain allows for the removal of any fluid containing contaminants released from the vessel during cleaning. Accordingly, a skilled artisan would find it obvious to provide such draining during a cleaning process in order to remove the contaminated cleaning fluid and complete the cleaning process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 & 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Other references of note include the following:
Innes (US20170259309A1) showcases a tank cleaning device having a plate for mounting to a surface of the tank [0116] and an articulated washing robot for cleaning of the interior of the tank (see all figures).
Cole (US20210283667A1) discloses plates (ref 175 & 185) that are held stationary once inserted, and movable members (see Fig.7-12, reading on a robot) allowing for the interior cleaning of a tank.
Moulder (US6021793A) showcases a casing (ref 60, see also embodiment of Figs.8-10 with similar elements) with opposing plates (refs 64/65, see also embodiment of Figs.8-10 with similar elements) support members (refs 14/16/20, see also embodiment of Figs.8-10 with similar elements) and a cleaning head (ref 8, see also embodiment of Figs.8-10 with similar elements)
Claims 2-8 & 20 are considered to contain allowable subject matter as none of the references of record, in the time allotted by the office, anticipates or renders obvious the inventions of said claims.
Conclusion
/OMAIR CHAUDHRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711