DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “CPE” must be spelled out. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is indefinite what the intended metes and bounds of “transmitting…“ and “deleting…” steps in claims 1 and 7 is or which entity performs them and which entity receives them, the controller, the CPE, or some other entity.
It is indefinite what the intended metes and bounds of “establish a direct connection therebetween in an Internet by “ in claim 7 is.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
This is not intended to be a complete list of such indefiniteness issues.
The dependent claims included in the statement of rejection but not specifically addressed in the body of the rejection have inherited the deficiencies of their parent claim and have not resolved the deficiencies. Therefore, they are rejected based on the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma (20220224542), and further in view of Parry (20150237018) and Lambert (20150071438).
Regarding claim 1, Sharma teaches A method for establishing network connections, comprising (abstract):
monitoring a controller channel by a controller; generating a random peer ID for participating in the controller channel by a customer premise equipment (CPE); discovering the CPE at the controller channel, displaying the CPE on a pending connection list of the controller, and determining whether the CPE should be controlled by the controller (par.36-45);
Sharma does not expressly disclose, however,
Parry teaches generating a pair of CPE's public key and CPE's private key corresponding to the CPE; transmitting the CPE's public key, the CPE's private key, and a controller's public key corresponding to the controller via the controller channel (par.40-55); and
Lambert teaches deleting the random peer ID, and using the CPE's public key obtained from the controller channel as a peer ID corresponding to the CPE (par.23-27, 48-53).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharma to use keys derived as taught by Parry and to bootstrap a public key as device ID as taught by Lambert.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to provide for additional security (Parry, par.3-11, 36-51) and to securely control access to services (Lambert, par,34-55).
Regarding claim 7, Sharma teaches A system for establishing network connections, comprising (abstract):
a data center, wherein the data center is provided with a firewall and a controller; at least one local-area network, wherein each local-area network is provided with a firewall and a CPE (par.33-38); and
wherein the controller and the CPE establish a direct connection therebetween in an Internet by using a method for establishing network connections (par.34-36, 68-74);
the method for establishing network connections comprises: monitoring a controller channel by the controller; generating a random peer ID for participating in the controller channel by the CPE; discovering the CPE at the controller channel, displaying the CPE on a pending connection list of the controller, and determining whether the CPE should be controlled by the controller (par.36-45);
Sharma does not expressly disclose, however,
Parry teaches generating a pair of CPE's public key and CPE's private key corresponding to the CPE; transmitting the CPE's public key, the CPE's private key, and a controller's public key corresponding to the controller via the controller channel (par.40-55); and
Lambert teaches deleting the random peer ID, and using the CPE's public key obtained from the controller channel as a CPE's peer ID (par.23-27, 48-53) and
a bootstrap peer, wherein the bootstrap peer has connection information of the CPE and the controller, and establishes a connection with the CPE and the controller, respectively (par.34-40)
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sharma to use keys derived as taught by Parry and to bootstrap a public key as device ID as taught by Lambert.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification to provide for additional security (Parry, par.3-11, 36-51) and to securely control access to services (Lambert, par,34-55).
Regarding claim 2, Sharma/Parry/Lambert teaches wherein the random peer ID generated by the CPE is generated based on a public key cryptographic function library (Sharma, par.36-45).
Regarding claim 3, Sharma/Parry/Lambert teaches a discovery mechanism, wherein the discovery mechanism is a multicast domain name system (mDNS), a distributed hash table (DHT), or a direct connection upgrade through relay (DCUtR) (Sharma, par.36-45, 52-58).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the remaining references put forth on the PTO-892 form are directed to onboarding devices from CPE environments.
Wei (20250350495) teaches Disclosed are various embodiments relating to remotely connecting to customer premises networks to access cloud-executed edge applications. In one embodiment, a layer-3 virtual private network is established between a cloud provider network and a customer premises network of a customer. A layer-2 virtual interface is established for an edge application executed on the cloud provider network using a tunnel to encapsulate layer-2 traffic over the layer-3 virtual private network. A client device outside of the cloud provider network is connected to the customer premises network via the layer-3 virtual private network.
Beljaars (20240313995) teaches A device identifier is associated with an active medium access control (MAC) address of a connected device connected to a customer-premises equipment (CPE). The CPE is configured to implement a local area network (LAN) for a data communication of the connected device. The device identifier is passed to a service in the CPE using a communication mechanism. The CPE is configured to implement a platform for the service. The communication mechanism is configured to operate in the CPE.
Matthews (20250175789) teaches A customer-premises equipment, CPE receives from a connected device via a first encrypted wireless connection an active media access control, MAC, address and a true MAC address of the connected device. The CPE receives from the connected device via a second wireless connection a data communication that contains the active MAC address of the connected device and omits the true MAC address of the connected device. In response to the CPE detecting that the data communication is addressed to an internal service within the CPE, the CPE associates the true MAC address of the connected device with the data communication, and transmits to the internal service the data communication that contains the active MAC address of the connected device and is associated with the true MAC address of the connected device.
Sleeman (20250211491) teaches performing zero trust packet routing (ZPR) in one or more networks. ZPR allow users to create data-centric, intent-based policies that are evaluated and enforced at different enforcement points within one or more networks to control data flow. The policy statements specify who/what (e.g., users, computing resources) can access data and where that data is allowed to travel throughout one or more networks. ZPL policy statements are focused on allowing/denying tagged resources (users, compute instances, . . . ) to allow/deny access to tagged data that is also tagged. Generally, when packets are transmitted/received, the enforcement points evaluate the ingress or egress rules associated with the policy. In this way, packets are not transmitted from an enforcement point to a next hop until the rules are evaluated by the enforcement point and the enforcement point determines that the transmission is authorized by the policy.
/David Garcia Cervetti/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409