Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species III, and Subspecies A in the reply filed on October 12th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 12th, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hakamiun (US 5,647,079).
Regarding Claim 1, Hakamiun discloses a pressure-mitigation system comprising:
a first modular chamber device including:
a first inflatable chamber (36) in the form of a first geometric shape, and
a first controller (86) configured to control inflation of the first inflatable chamber ; and
a second modular chamber device including:
a second inflatable chamber (additional 36) in the form of a second geometric shape that is able to fit adjacent to the first geometric shape,
a second controller (88) configured to control inflation of the second inflatable chamber, and
an attachment mechanism (48) coupled to the second inflatable chamber and configured to connect the second inflatable chamber with the first inflatable chamber;
wherein the first and second inflatable chambers are adjacently connected via the attachment mechanism in a geometric arrangement (see Figs. 2 and 3B), such that the geometric arrangement of the first and second modular chamber devices provides a continuous surface configured to support a human body disposed thereon (see Fig. 1); and
wherein the first controller communicates with the second controller to apply a pressure-mitigation treatment on the human body based on a coordination of the inflation of the first inflatable chamber and the inflation of the second inflatable chamber that results in a pressure differential being applied by the first and second inflatable chambers on the human body (see Col. 3, Lines 15-30).
Regarding Claim 2, Hakamiun discloses a central controller (20) to which the first controller and the second controller are communicably coupled, wherein the central controller is configured to transmit commands to each of the first controller and the second controller to facilitate the coordination of the inflation of the first inflatable chamber and the inflation of the second inflatable chamber (see Col. 9, Lines 33-45).
Regarding Claim 3, Hakamiun discloses wherein the first modular chamber device further includes a respective attachment mechanism (48) configured to interface with the attachment mechanism of the second modular chamber device (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 4, Hakamiun discloses wherein the attachment mechanism of the second modular chamber device is located on an externally-facing edge of the second geometric shape of the second inflatable chamber (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 5, Hakamiun discloses An aggregate pressure-mitigation device comprising:
a plurality of modular chamber devices located in a geometric arrangement (see Fig. 2), each modular chamber device including:
an inflatable chamber (36), and
a controller (86/84) configured to control an inflation of the inflatable chamber;
wherein the respective controllers of the modular chamber devices are configured to communicate with one another to coordinate the inflation of the respective inflatable chambers according to a pattern to effect a pressure-mitigation treatment on a body disposed atop the aggregate pressure-mitigation device (see Col. 5, Lines 32-38).
Regarding Claim 6, Hakamiun discloses wherein each modular chamber device further includes an attachment mechanism (48) configured to adjacently connect a respective modular chamber device to another modular chamber device in the geometric arrangement (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding Claim 7, Hakamiun discloses wherein the respective controllers of the modular chamber devices are configured to coordinate the inflation of the respective inflatable chambers via a central controller (20) to which each of the respective controllers are communicably coupled.
Regarding Claim 8, Hakamiun discloses wherein the respective controllers coordinate the inflation of the respective inflatable chambers such that a number of occurrences in which inflatable chambers that belong to adjacent modular chamber devices in the geometric arrangement are concurrently inflated in a way that precludes a void being created between the adjacent modular chamber devices (see Col. 5, Lines 19-32).
Regarding Claim 9, Hakamiun discloses wherein a modular chamber device is configured to be detached from the geometric arrangement, such that a surface provided by the aggregate pressure-mitigation device via the geometric arrangement is reduced in size (see Col. 7, Lines 56-62 and Fig. 3b).
Regarding Claim 10, Hakamiun discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of modular chamber devices include an inflatable chamber configured with a different geometric shape than that of another modular chamber device (see inflatable chambers 40 and 42 in Fig. 3A comprised of different shapes; each cushion 36 contains these two differently-shaped chambers) .
Regarding Claim 11, Hakamiun discloses wherein the plurality of modular chamber devices lacks intervening tubing between each of the modular chamber devices (see Fig. 2 and Col. 12, Lines 20-23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/ERIC J KURILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619