Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 4, “is configure evaluate” should be “is configured to evaluate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7-10, 12, 20-24, 30, 40 and 42-44 of U.S. Patent No. 12,419,217. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nykamp et al. (2017/0055446).
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 16, the Nykamp et al. reference discloses an automated grain filling system (see Figures) for directing the operation of a grain transfer element with a movable spout (89, 189) to transfer grain from a supplying container (91) to a receiving container (85), the automated grain filling system comprising: one or more sensors (10, 12; see para. [0048]) configured to detect at least a portion of a tarp bow of the receiving container (sensors 10, 12 are imaging devices that collect imaging data of the container, which would include any object (i.e., tarp bow or partition)); and a processor (18) configured to direct the operation of the grain transfer element and control the movement of the movable spout to direct the grain into the receiving container based at least in part on the detected portion of the tarp bow (would inherently be included as part of imaging data).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, the Nykamp et al. reference further discloses wherein the one or more sensors (10, 12) are configured to detect at least a portion of at least one of a left upper perimeter edge of the receiving container or a right upper perimeter edge (81; Fig. 4A) of the receiving container (85), and wherein the processor (18) is configured to distinguish the detected portion of the tarp bow (sensors 10, 12 are imaging devices that collect imaging data of the container, which would include any object (i.e., tarp bow or partition) from at least one of the detected portion of the left upper perimeter edge or the detected portion of the right upper perimeter edge, and direct the operation of the grain transfer element and control the movement of the movable spout to direct the grain into the receiving container based at least in part on at least one of the detected portion of the left upper perimeter edge or the detected portion of the right upper perimeter edge. See first to twelfth techniques in paragraphs [0115 – 0129].
Regarding claims 3 and 11, the Nykamp et al. reference further discloses wherein the one or more sensors (10, 12) are configured to detect at least a portion of a near upper perimeter edge (para. [0011]) of the receiving container (85) and at least a portion of a far upper perimeter edge (81; Fig. 4A) of the receiving container (included in boundary of edges of container), wherein the processor (18) is configured to determine a location of a longitudinal centerline (504) of the receiving container based at least in part on the detected portion of the near upper perimeter edge and the detected portion of the far upper perimeter edge (see Figure 11), and wherein the processor is configured to direct the operation of the grain transfer element and control the movement of the movable spout to direct the grain generally along the longitudinal centerline of the receiving container (see para. [0120]).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the Nykamp et al. reference further discloses wherein the one or more sensors (10, 12) are configured to detect at least a portion of an upper surface of a grain mound in the receiving container (85), and wherein the processor (18) is configured to direct the operation of the grain transfer element and control the movement of the movable spout (89, 189) to direct the grain into the receiving container based at least in part on the detected portion of the upper surface (see para. [0030], [0066]).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, the Nykamp et al. reference further discloses wherein the automated grain filling system further comprises a spout position sensor (alignment module 24) configured to detect at least one of a position or orientation of the movable spout, and wherein at least one of the directed operation of the grain transfer element or the controlled movement of the movable spout is based at least in part on at least one of the detected position or the detected orientation of the movable spout (see para. [0046]).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, the Nykamp et al. reference further discloses wherein the movable spout (89, 189) comprises a spout articulation mechanism (16, 116) configured to at least one of position or orient the movable spout, and wherein the processor is configured to direct the operation of the spout articulation mechanism (see para. [0051]).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, the Nykamp et al. reference further discloses wherein the one or more sensors (10, 12 are configured to detect at least a portion of an upper perimeter (para. [0011]) of the receiving container (85), and wherein the processor (18) is configured evaluate the position of the grain transfer element relative to the detected portion of the upper perimeter of the receiving container and to prevent discharge of grain via the grain transfer element if the processor determines that the discharged grain would not be discharged into the receiving container. Material is not fed unless the spout is in the target fill zone.
Regarding claims 8 and 20, the Nykamp et al. reference further discloses wherein directing the operation of the grain transfer element further comprises providing a signal to move at least one of the supplying container or the receiving container (85) to position the grain transfer element relative to the receiving container. See first to twelfth techniques in paragraphs [0115 – 0129].
Regarding claim 15, see Nykamp et al. paragraph [0056].
Regarding claim 17, see Nykamp et al. paragraph [0120 - 0121].
Regarding claim 18, the method would be inherent during normal use and operation of the device.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753