DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang US 11,533,039.
1. Wang discloses an acoustic wave device (Fig. 1, etc.) comprising:
an insulating layer (1070 and/or 1080) including a recess;
a piezoelectric layer (1030) on the insulating layer and over the recess to define a cavity (1000a);
a first excitation electrode (1110) on a first surface of the piezoelectric layer opposite to the cavity;
a second excitation electrode (1040) within the cavity and on a second surface of the piezoelectric layer opposite to the first surface;
a dielectric layer (1130) on the first excitation electrode; and
a first frame (1120) on the second excitation electrode and within the cavity (Col. 4 lines 15-20).
11. The acoustic wave device of claim 1, wherein the recess has a tapered shape toward a bottom surface of the recess (Fig. 1 shows the recess, which is the cavity has the claimed tapered shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 11,533,039 in view of Song US 9,385,303.
2. Wang discloses the acoustic wave device of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not disclose the first frame includes first width portions and second width portions different from the first width portions.
Song exemplarily discloses an acoustic wave device (Figs. 1, 2A,B, etc.) comprising: an electrode (130) on a piezoelectric layer (120); a frame (140) on the electrode; the frame has a first width portions (141) and second width portions (142) different from the first width portions.
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the first frame to have different first and second width portions. The modification would have been obvious because a high Q-factor and high electromechanical coupling coefficient can be achieved as taught by Song (Col. 5 lines 54-60).
Claim(s) 3-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 11,533,039 in view of Burak US 9,246,473.
3. Wang discloses the acoustic wave device of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not disclose a second frame on the second excitation electrode.
Burak exemplarily discloses an acoustic wave device (Figs. 2A, 3A, etc.) comprising: a bottom electrode (115, 315, etc.) on a piezoelectric layer (125, etc.), a first frame (collar 340, correspond to Wang’s item 1120) and second frames (collar 240) (collars are located and functioned as frames similar to the Application and other prior art discussed) on the bottom electrode (Col. 16 lines 26-30).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added a second frame and/or formed frames/collars as in Burak. The modification would have been obvious because various frames can be added/combined to enhance the Q-factor as taught by Burak (Col. 5 lines 63-65, Col. 16 lines 26-30).
4. The acoustic wave device of claim 3, wherein the second frame (Burak: Fig. 2A item 240) is on a first surface of the second excitation electrode between the piezoelectric layer and the second excitation electrode; and the first frame (Burak: Fig. 3A item 340) is on a second surface of the second excitation electrode opposite to the first surface of the second excitation electrode.
5. The acoustic wave device of claim 4, further comprising an excitation region including an overlap region, when viewed in a plan view, between the first and the second excitation electrodes (Wang: Fig. 1, stack 1035 where the layers overlap).
6. The acoustic wave device of claim 5, wherein the second frame (Burak: item 240) includes a cantilever extending past an end of the second excitation electrode (i.e., portion of item 240 that extend past the electrode 115; note the similarity to Applicant’s Fig. 11A item 11).
7. The acoustic wave device of claim 6, wherein the first frame has a constant width and extends along an entire or substantially an entire periphery of the excitation region; and the second frame has a constant width and extends along a portion of the periphery of the excitation region (Burak: Figs. 2A, 3A; Col. 2 lines 37-40, Col. 5 lines 1-3, 35-36; constant width is shown and with edge along the boundary thus the default consideration of the disclosure would have constant width along the entire periphery).
9. The acoustic wave device of claim 6, wherein the first frame has a constant width and extends along a first portion of a periphery of the excitation region; and the second frame has a constant width and extends along a second portion of the periphery of the excitation region (Burak: Figs. 2A, 3A; Col. 2 lines 37-40, Col. 5 lines 1-3, 35-36; note that the first and second portions can be same as claimed; and the cited pertinent art Kim listed as potential art).
Claim(s) 8, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 11,533,039 in view of Burak US 9,246,473 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Song US 9,385,303.
8, 10. The Wang/Burak combination discloses the acoustic wave device of claim 6 as discussed above including
for claim 8: first frame along an entire or substantially an entire periphery of the excitation region; and the second frame has a constant width and extends along the entire or substantially the entire periphery of the excitation region (Burak: Figs. 2A, 3A; Col. 2 lines 37-40, Col. 5 lines 1-3, 35-36, Col. 7 lines 29-44);
for claim 10: first frame along a first portion of a periphery of the excitation region; and the second frame has a constant width and extends a second portion of periphery of the excitation region (Burak: Figs. 2A, 3A; Col. 2 lines 37-40, Col. 5 lines 1-3, 35-36, Col. 7 lines 29-44; note that the first portion and the second portion can be the same as claimed; and the cited pertinent art Kim listed as potential art);
but does not disclose first frame includes first width portions and second width portions different from the first width portions.
Song exemplarily discloses an acoustic wave device (Figs. 1, 2A,B, etc.) comprising: an electrode (130) on a piezoelectric layer (120); a frame (140) on the electrode; the frame has a first width portions (141) and second width portions (142) different from the first width portions and extends along the entire or substantially the entire periphery of an excitation region (Fig. 2A).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the first frame to have different first and second width portions. The modification would have been obvious because a high Q-factor and high electromechanical coupling coefficient can be achieved as taught by Song (Col. 5 lines 54-60).
Claim(s) 13, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 11,533,039.
13. Wang discloses the acoustic wave device of claim 1, further comprising: a first wiring electrode (portion of item 1110 to item 1150) connected to the first excitation electrode and having a first thickness; and a second wiring electrode (portion of item 1040 to item 1140) connected to the second excitation electrode and having a second thickness; but does not disclose the second thickness is smaller than the first thickness. However, there are only limited choices of the thickness relationship (i.e., smaller, equal, or larger) and thickness is a well-known design variable; thus at the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to try to make the second thickness smaller than the first thickness in order to obtain any desired characteristic or implementation of the device (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
15. The acoustic wave device of claim 13, wherein the second wiring electrode is located outside the cavity (Wang: Fig. 1; portion of item 1040 to item 1140 that are outside of cavity).
16. The acoustic wave device of claim 13, wherein the first wiring electrode is located outside the cavity (Wang; Fig. 1; portion of item 1110 to item 1150 that are outside of cavity).
17. Wang discloses the acoustic wave device of claim 1, but does not disclose a total area of the first excitation electrode and the first wiring electrode is larger than a total area of the second excitation electrode and the second wiring electrode. However, there are only limited choices of the area relationship (i.e., smaller, equal, or larger) and area/size is a well-known design variable; thus at the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to try to make the area relationship as claimed in order to obtain any desired characteristic or implementation of the device (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 11,533,039 in view of Lee US 11,303,262.
14. Wang discloses the acoustic wave device of claim 1, further comprising: a first wiring electrode (portion of item 1110 to item 1150) connected to the first excitation electrode; and a second wiring electrode (portion of item 1040 to item 1140) connected to the second excitation electrode.
Wang does not disclose the second wiring electrode embedded in the insulating layer such that one surface of the second wiring electrode contacts the second excitation electrode and other surfaces of the second wiring electrode contact the insulating layer.
Lee exemplarily discloses an acoustic wave device (Fig. 2) comprising: a first (top) electrode (170), a piezoelectric layer (160), a second (bottom) electrode (150); a first wiring electrode (right side; 130, 114) connected to the first electrode; a second wiring electrode (left side; 130, 114) embedded in an insulating layer (110) such that one surface of the second wiring electrode contacts the second excitation electrode and other surfaces of the second wiring electrode contact the insulating layer.
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added/modified the second wiring electrode to be embedded in the insulating layer. The modification would have been obvious because it can provide an external connection thru the bottom of the device as shown in Lee (Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US 11,533,039 in view of Kando US 8,973,229.
18. Wang discloses the acoustic wave device of claim 1, but does not disclose the piezoelectric layer is pyro-free.
Kando discloses an acoustic wave device (Figs. 3A-F, 4) wherein the piezoelectric layer is pyro-free (Col. 12 lines 11-14; Col. 7 line 57 – Col. 8 line 37; the piezoelectric layer is made to increase conductivity so as to reduce the pyroelectricity effect with ion beam, thus read as treatment to make pyro-free).
At the time of the filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the piezoelectric layer as pyro-free. The modification would have been obvious to prevent deterioration of piezoelectricity as taught by Kando (Col. 7 line 57 – Col. 8 line 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12, 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
For claim 12, the prior arts of record does not disclose a step underneath an end of the second excitation electrode.
For claim 19, the prior arts of record does not disclose the piezoelectric layer includes first and second etching holes arranged along a direction in which a coefficient of linear expansion is largest.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim US 10,879,872 discloses acoustic wave device having partial frame.
/A.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843