DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 01/09/2025. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2025-0003398 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-12, 15-16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yap et al. (“Yap”, US 2008/0044170).
Regarding claim 1, Yap discloses a method of operating an electronic device which includes an application processor and an image sensing device, the method comprising:
generating, by the image sensing device, first image data in a first shutter mode (Yap: see figs. 4-6 and pars. [0024], [0027], wherein generating, by the image sensing device 10, first image data in a rolling shutter mode);
providing, by the application processor, the image sensing device with a first mode change signal indicating a second shutter mode different from the first shutter mode, based on photographing environment information associated with the first image data, to the image sensing device (Yap: see figs. 4-6 and pars. [0016], [0026]-[0027], wherein providing, by the processor 22, the image sensing device 10 with a first mode change signal as motion value indicating a global shutter mode different from the rolling shutter mode, based on brightness value associated with the first image data, to the image sensing device 10); and
generating, by the image sensing device, second image data in the second shutter mode, based on the first mode change signal (Yap: see fig. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], note that generating, by the image sensing device 10, second image data in the global shutter mode based on the first mode change signal as motion value in step 61).
Regarding claim 2, Yap discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first shutter mode is one of a rolling shutter mode and a global shutter mode, and the second shutter mode is another of the rolling shutter mode and the global shutter mode (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Yap discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the generating of the second image data in the second shutter mode based on the first mode change signal comprises:
obtaining, by the image sensing device, first setting data corresponding to the second shutter mode, based on the first mode change signal (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], obtaining, by the image sensing device 10, first setting data as motion value corresponding to the global shutter mode, based on the first mode change signal in step 61);
changing, by the image sensing device, a setting of an image sensor of the image sensing device, based on the first setting data (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], changing, by the image sensing device 10, a setting of an image sensor of the image sensing device 10, based on the first setting data as motion value); and
generating, by the image sensor, the second image data based on the changed setting (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], in which generating, by the image sensor, the second image data as full resolution image, based on the changed setting).
Regarding claim 5, Yap discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the first setting data are stored in a sensor controller of the image sensing device or the image sensor (Yap: see the abstract, wherein the memory stores a program for detecting motion, therefore, the memory should store the motion value).
Regarding claim 6, Yap discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the image sensing device operates in the second shutter mode during a frame period which starts after a time point at which the first mode change signal is received from the application processor (Yap: see fig. 6 and par. [0027], in which the image sensing device 10 operates in the global shutter mode during a frame period which starts after a time point at which the first mode change signal is received from the processor as two shutter modes can switch to each other).
Regarding claim 8, Yap discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the photographing environment information includes any one or any combination of illuminance information, and movement information (Yap: see fig. 6 and pars. [0026]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 9, Yap discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first shutter mode is a global shutter mode and the second shutter mode is a rolling shutter mode, and
wherein the providing of the image sensing device with the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode comprises:
determining, by the application processor, that an illuminance value indicated by the illuminance information is less than a first threshold value (Yap: see par. [0026], determining, by the processor 22, that an illuminance value indicated by the brightness value is less than a first threshold value as compare exposure time with shutter close time);
generating, by the application processor, the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode based on the illuminance value being less than the first threshold value (Yap: see par. [0026], generating, by the processor 22, the motion value indicating the global shutter mode based on the illuminance value as brightness value being less than the first threshold value as comparing with shutter close time); and
providing, by the application processor, the first mode change signal to the image sensing device (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], proving, by the processor 22, the motion value to the image sensing device 10).
Regarding claim 10, Yap discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first shutter mode is a rolling shutter mode and the second shutter mode is a global shutter mode, and
wherein the providing of the image sensing device with the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode comprises:
determining, by the application processor, that an illuminance value indicated by the illuminance information is greater than a second threshold value (Yap: see pars. [0026]-[0027], determining, by the processor 22, that an illuminance value indicated by the brightness value is greater than a first threshold value as compare exposure time with shutter close time);
generating, by the application processor, the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode based on the illuminance value being greater than the second threshold value (Yap: see par. [0026], generating, by the processor 22, the motion value indicating the global shutter mode based on the illuminance value as brightness value being greater than the first threshold value as comparing with shutter close time); and
providing, by the application processor, the first mode change signal to the image sensing device (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], proving, by the processor 22, the motion value to the image sensing device 10).
Regarding claim 11, Yap discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first shutter mode is a rolling shutter mode and the second shutter mode is a global shutter mode, and
wherein the providing of the image sensing device with the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode comprises:
determining, by the application processor, that a movement amount indicated by the movement information is greater than a third threshold value (Yap: see pars. [0026]-[0027], determining, by the processor 22, that motion value indicated by the movement information is greater than a third threshold);
generating, by the application processor, the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode based on the movement amount being greater than the third threshold value (Yap: see pars. [0026]-[0027], generating, by the processor 22, the motion value indicating the global shutter mode based on the motion value being greater than the third threshold value); and
providing, by the application processor, the first mode change signal to the image sensing device (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], proving, by the processor 22, the motion value to the image sensing device 10).
Regarding claim 12, Yap discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the first shutter mode is a global shutter mode and the second shutter mode is a rolling shutter mode, and
wherein the providing of the image sensing device with the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode comprises:
determining, by the application processor, that a movement amount of the movement information is less than a fourth threshold value (Yap: see pars. [0026]-[0027], determining, by the processor 22, that motion value indicated by the movement information is less than a third threshold);
generating, by the application processor, the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode based on the movement amount being less than the fourth threshold value (Yap: see pars. [0026]-[0027], generating, by the processor 22, the motion value indicating the global shutter mode based on the motion value being less than the third threshold value); and
providing, by the application processor, the first mode change signal to the image sensing device (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], proving, by the processor 22, the motion value to the image sensing device 10).
Regarding claim 15, Yap discloses a method of operating a system-on-chip which includes a sensor controller and an image sensor, the method comprising:
generating, by the image sensor, first image data in a first shutter mode (Yap: see figs. 4-6 and pars. [0024], [0027], wherein generating, by the image sensing device 10, first image data in a rolling shutter mode);
changing, by the sensor controller, a setting of the image sensor based on photographing environment information associated with the first image data to control the image sensor to operate in a second shutter mode different from the first shutter mode (Yap: see figs. 4-6 and pars. [0016], [0026]-[0027], wherein providing, by the processor 22, the image sensing device 10 with a first mode change signal as motion value indicating a global shutter mode different from the rolling shutter mode, based on brightness value associated with the first image data, to the image sensing device 10); and
generating, by the image sensor, second image data in the second shutter mode (Yap: see fig. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], note that generating, by the image sensing device 10, second image data in the global shutter mode based on the first mode change signal as motion value in step 61).
Regarding claim 16, Yap discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the changing of the setting of the image sensor comprises:
determining, by the sensor controller, the second shutter mode as a target shutter mode, based on the photographing environment information associated with the first image data signal (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], wherein determining, by the controller, the global shutter mode as a target shutter mode, based on the brightness value associated with the first image data signal);
obtaining, by the sensor controller, first setting data corresponding to the second shutter mode signal (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], in which obtaining, by the controller, motion value corresponding to the global shutter mode signal); and
changing, by the sensor controller, the setting of the image sensor based on the first setting data (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027], note that changing, by the controller, the setting of the image sensor based on the motion value).
Regarding claim 18, Yap discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the image sensor operates in the second shutter mode during a frame period which starts after a time point at which the sensor controller determines the second shutter mode as the target shutter mode (Yap: see figs. 5-6 and pars. [0026]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites the similar subject matter as previously discussed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 13-14, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yap et al. (“Yap”, US 2008/0044170).
Regarding claim 3, Yap discloses the method of claim 1.
Yap does not explicitly disclose that the image sensing device is a system-on-chip.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the image sensing device is a system-on-chip is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate the teaching into Yap’s system to combine all the necessary parts onto a single tiny piece of silicon.
The rational to do so is to have compact design for the system.
Regarding claim 7, Yap discloses the method of claim 1.
Yap does not explicitly disclose comprising obtaining, by the application processor, the photographing environment information from at least one of the first image data, metadata of the first image data provided from the image sensing device together with the first image data, and metadata of the first image data stored in the application processor.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that obtaining, by the application processor, the photographing environment information from at least one of the first image data, metadata of the first image data provided from the image sensing device together with the first image data, and metadata of the first image data stored in the application processor is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate the teaching into Yap’s system to obtain metadata.
The rational to do so is to have information for the image data obtained.
Regarding claim 13, Yap discloses the method of claim 8.
Yap does not explicitly disclose that the first shutter mode is a rolling shutter mode and the second shutter mode is a global shutter mode, and wherein the providing of the image sensing device with the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode comprises: determining, by the application processor, that a multiple value indicated by the gain amplification information is less than a fifth threshold value; generating, by the application processor, the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode based on the multiple value being less than the fifth threshold value; and providing, by the application processor, the first mode change signal to the image sensing device.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the first shutter mode is a rolling shutter mode and the second shutter mode is a global shutter mode, and wherein the providing of the image sensing device with the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode comprises: determining, by the application processor, that a multiple value indicated by the gain amplification information is less than a fifth threshold value; generating, by the application processor, the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode based on the multiple value being less than the fifth threshold value; and providing, by the application processor, the first mode change signal to the image sensing device is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate the teaching into Yap’s system to switch shutter mode based on the gain information.
The rational to do so is to perform shutter mode correctly.
Regarding claim 14, Yap discloses the method of claim 8.
Yap does not explicitly disclose that the first shutter mode is a global shutter mode and the second shutter mode is a rolling shutter mode, and wherein the providing of the image sensing device with the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode comprises: determining, by the application processor, that a multiple value indicated by the gain amplification information is greater than a sixth threshold value; generating, by the application processor, the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode based on the multiple value being greater than the sixth threshold value; and providing, by the application processor, the first mode change signal to the image sensing device.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the first shutter mode is a global shutter mode and the second shutter mode is a rolling shutter mode, and wherein the providing of the image sensing device with the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode comprises: determining, by the application processor, that a multiple value indicated by the gain amplification information is greater than a sixth threshold value; generating, by the application processor, the first mode change signal indicating the second shutter mode based on the multiple value being greater than the sixth threshold value; and providing, by the application processor, the first mode change signal to the image sensing device is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate the teaching into Yap’s system to switch shutter mode based on the gain information.
The rational to do so is to perform shutter mode correctly.
Regarding claim 17, Yap discloses the method of claim 16.
Yap does not explicitly disclose that the changing of the setting of the image sensor based on the first setting data comprises: providing, by the sensor controller, at least one setting value of the first setting data to the image sensor; and storing, by the image sensor, the at least one setting value in at least one register of the image sensor.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that the changing of the setting of the image sensor based on the first setting data comprises: providing, by the sensor controller, at least one setting value of the first setting data to the image sensor; and storing, by the image sensor, the at least one setting value in at least one register of the image sensor is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate the teaching into Yap’s system to have setting data stored.
The rational to do so is to accelerate the speed of the device.
Regarding claim 19, Yap discloses the method of claim 15.
Yap does not explicitly disclose obtaining the photographing environment information from any one or any combination of the first image data, metadata of the first image data provided from the image sensor together with the first image data, and metadata of the first image data stored in an application processor communicating with the system-on-chip.
The Examiner takes Official Notice that obtaining the photographing environment information from any one or any combination of the first image data, metadata of the first image data provided from the image sensor together with the first image data, and metadata of the first image data stored in an application processor communicating with the system-on-chip is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to incorporate the teaching into Yap’s system to obtain metadata.
The rational to do so is to have information for the image data obtained.
Conclusion
/CHAN T NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638
/LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638