DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/020,810, filed on 2/10/2023.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,421,697. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the narrower patented claims anticipates the broader instant application claim. Claim 1 of instant application is anticipated by patented claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kiyota et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0360177 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kiyota discloses a display device (50, FIG. 2) comprising:
a display unit (50, FIG. 2) configured to display a screen (MP1, FIG. 4);
an alarm sound output unit (52, FIG. 2) configured to output an alarm sound based on alarm information (Detect vehicle in distant area S102C, FIG. 32 and Notify detection of vehicle with vehicle detection sound S108C; and
a control unit (30, FIG. 2) configured to cause the display unit to display a screen in accordance with a received instruction (FIG. 33A), wherein the control unit is configured to:
when a first instruction is received, cause the display unit to display a screen including information related to an error (Similarly, warn against the entry of a monitoring target in to a warning area around the shovel ¶ 94), and
when a second instruction is received, stop an output of the alarm sound by the alarm sound output unit (“The external audio output device 62 can, under the control of the controller 30, warn against the entry of a monitoring target into a warning area around the shovel by outputting predetermined audio information to the surroundings of the shovel.” ¶ 95).
Regarding claim 2, Kiyota discloses the display device, wherein the control unit is further configured to, when a third instruction is received, resume outputting the alarm sound by the alarm sound output unit (if vehicle continues to be detected, S110C goes back to step S108 to continue detected sound, FIG. 32).
Regarding claim 3, Kiyota discloses the display device, wherein the control unit is further configured to, when the third instruction is received, cause the display unit to re-display the screen including the information related to the error (An object is moving and approaching the shovel which triggers a trajectory line, Red Color and blinking which is interpreted to read on the “error” and is cyclical as the sensors determine if the object is moving or stationary and close or distant to the shovel, FIG. 28).
Regarding claim 4, Kiyota discloses the display device, wherein the alarm information includes an alarm level associated with the error, the alarm level includes a first alarm level and a second alarm level (Color and Blinking marker attributes based on distance and approach; alarm level 1 and alarm level 1 ¶ 485), and
the control unit is configured to: resume outputting the alarm sound when the alarm level is the first alarm level and a third instruction is received; and maintain stopping the alarm sound when the alarm level is the second alarm level and the third instruction is received (S110C, S112C; FIG. 32).
Regarding claim 5, Kiyota discloses the display device, wherein the screen including information related to the error includes a selection item display area (Marker MK10 of worker W10B, FIG. 26A), and
the control unit is configured to display, in the selection item display area, a selection item corresponding to the first instruction based on the alarm information (FIGS. 15-16).
Regarding claim 6, Kiyota discloses the display device, wherein the selection item includes an alarm mark image indicating that the error is occurring (FIG. 27).
Regarding claim 7, Kiyota discloses the display device, wherein the alarm information includes an alarm level including a first alarm level and a second alarm level,
the alarm mark image includes a first alarm mark image corresponding to the first alarm level and a second alarm mark image corresponding to the second alarm level, and
the control unit is configured to display one of the first alarm mark image and the second alarm mark image in accordance with the alarm level (Color and Blinking marker attributes based on distance and approach; alarm level 1 and alarm level 1 ¶ 485).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sugiura et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0010313 A1) teaches an abnormality detection means for detecting abnormality of an apparatus installed on the construction machine; an abnormality information output means for outputting abnormality information about the apparatus detected by the abnormality detection means in an ordinary mode, and negating or avoiding outputting the abnormality information about the apparatus detected by the abnormality detection means in a maintenance mode.
/TYLER J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663