DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,398,835. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent encompasses the subject matter of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a first seat". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-12 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20050167980, Bauer.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses a fluid coupling comprising: a male coupling (4) defining a first longitudinal axis and an open flow path extending along the first longitudinal axis between both ends of the male coupling, the male coupling comprising:(i) a cylindrical body portion having a first outer diameter (to the left of 17) and (ii) a ridge portion (17) attached to the cylindrical body portion and having a second outer diameter that is larger than the first outer diameter; and a female coupling (1) defining a second longitudinal axis and an open flow path extending along the second longitudinal axis between both ends of the female coupling, the female coupling comprising: (i) a first end portion comprising a termination structure (1a) configured for attaching a fluid conduit to the female coupling and (ii) a second end portion comprising an inner sleeve (1b) and an ovular outer collar (2) radially surrounding the inner sleeve, wherein the ovular outer collar comprises: (i) a pair of first wall portions (12) that face each other and are spaced apart at a first distance and (ii) a pair of second wall portions (19) that face each other and are spaced apart at a second distance that is greater than the first distance, wherein each first wall portion of the pair of first wall portions defines an opening, wherein, while the male and female couplings are connected together: the inner sleeve is radially within the cylindrical body portion of the male coupling; the ovular outer collar is radially outside of the cylindrical body portion of the male coupling; and the ridge portion extends into each of the openings defined by the pair of first wall portions, and wherein the pair of second wall portions are configured to be compressed to disconnect the male and female couplings when the male and female couplings are connected together.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses the second end portion of the female coupling includes a first seal (3) member, and wherein, while the male and female couplings are connected together, the first seal member fluidly seals against a first cylindrical inner wall portion of the male coupling.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses the second end portion of the female coupling includes a second seal member (3), and wherein, while the male and female couplings are connected together, the second seal member fluidly seals against a second cylindrical inner wall portion of the male coupling.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses the ovular outer collar is bisymmetrical.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses a junction between the first and second end portions of the female coupling comprises an area of reduced strength.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses each of the second wall portions of the ovular outer collar defines an opening.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses an end of the ovular outer collar defines a scallop along each of the second wall portions.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses a female fluid coupling comprising: a main body defining a longitudinal axis and an open flow path extending along the longitudinal axis between both ends of the main body, the main body comprising: (i) a first end portion comprising a termination structure configured for attaching a fluid conduit to the female fluid coupling and (ii) a second end portion comprising an inner sleeve and an ovular outer collar radially surrounding the inner sleeve, wherein the ovular outer collar comprises: (i) a pair of first wall portions that face each other and are spaced apart at a first distance and (ii) a pair of second wall portions that face each other and are spaced apart at a second distance that is greater than the first distance, wherein each first wall portion of the pair of first wall portions defines an opening.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses a first seal member and a second seal member, wherein the first and second seal members are positioned on the inner sleeve.
In regards to claim 14, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses the ovular outer collar is bisymmetrical.
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses a junction between the first and second end portions of the main body comprises an area of reduced strength.
In regards to claim 16, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses each of the second wall portions of the ovular outer collar defines an opening.
In regards to claim 17, in Figures 1-4 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Bauer discloses an end of the ovular outer collar defines a scallop along each of the second wall portions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it illustrates the claimed invention.
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679