DETAILED ACTION
This is response to application filed 08/07/2025.
Status of the claims
Claims 1-18 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is: “a content addressable storage system configured to:” in claims 14-17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 14 indicate a system that comprises various units such as a "a content addressable storage system", “the metadata storage mechanism”. However, such units lack tangible hardware devices or tangible storage to process the system and thus could be considered as software. The claims fail to comply with 35 USC 101 for not provided a tangible storage medium (e.g., memory) or hardware (e.g., a processor) to process the system claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 9-17 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 8,788519. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-18 of instant application recited similar limitation. Therefore, they are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting.
Claims similar as follows:
Instant application 18768588
1. A computer-implemented method for managing metadata in a content addressable storage system, comprising:
receiving a file for storage at a content addressable storage server, the file comprises a header and data, and wherein the content addressable storage server stores and retrieves the data based on content of the data rather than with a hierarchical file system;
automatically obtaining with one or more computer processors metadata associated with the data from the header of the file;
storing the metadata in a metadata storage device, wherein the metadata is stored in association with the data stored in the content addressable storage server;
receiving a query from a requester for content at the content addressable storage server;
searching the metadata storage device for content related to the received query; and
when the metadata associated with the file is indicated by the query:
retrieving the file stored in the content addressable storage; and sending the retrieved file to the requester.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
sending the query to a second content addressable storage server;
receiving one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage server; and
sending to the requester the retrieved file and the one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage server.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
sending the query to a second content addressable storage server;
receiving one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage server; and
determining whether any of the retrieved file and the one or more files received from the second content addressable storage server are duplicates.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the method further comprises:
sending to the requester one or more files that are not duplicates.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the content addressable storage server stores DICOM images and the metadata is related to the DICOM images.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
distributing the file and the metadata to a second content addressable storage server.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
distributing the file and the metadata to a plurality of content addressable storage servers in a hierarchical fashion.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the method further comprises:
sending the query to the plurality of content addressable storage servers, based on the metadata;
receiving one or more files related to the query from the plurality of content addressable storage servers; and
sending to the requester the retrieved file and the one or more files related to the query from the plurality of content addressable storage servers.
9. A computer-implemented method for managing metadata 1D a content addressable storage system, comprising:
receiving one or more files for storage at a content addressable storage server, wherein each of the one or more files comprises a header and data, and wherein the content addressable storage server stores and retrieves the data based on content of the data rather than with a hierarchical file system;
automatically obtaining with one or more computer processors metadata associated with the data from the header of each of the one or more files;
storing the metadata in a metadata storage device, wherein the metadata is stored in association with the data stored in the content addressable storage server;
receiving a first query from a requester for content at an application server;
searching locally at the application server for one or more files related to the first query;
sending a second query, related to the first query, to the content addressable storage server; receiving one or more files related to the second query from the content addressable storage server; and sending to the requester the one or more files found locally based on the first query and the one or more files received from the content addressable storage server based on the second query.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: determining whether any of the one or more files found locally based on the first query and the one or more files received from the content addressable storage server based on the second query are duplicates.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the method further comprises: sending to the requester one or more files that are not duplicates.
12. The method of claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: sending the second query to a second content addressable storage server; receiving one or more files related to the second query from the second content addressable storage server; and sending to the requester the one or more files received from the second content addressable storage server based on the second query.
13. The method of claim 9, wherein the content addressable storage server stores DICOM images and the metadata is related to the DICOM images.
14. A computer-implemented system for managing metadata in a content addressable storage system, comprising: a content addressable storage system configured to: receive a file for storage, said file to be stored using content addressable storage; store metadata associated with the file in a storage mechanism for storing metadata for content addressable storage; receive a query from a requester for content; 16
search the metadata storage mechanism for content related to the received query; and when the metadata associated with the file is indicated by the query: retrieve the file stored in the content addressable storage; and send the retrieved file to the requester.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the content addressable storage system is further configured to: send the query to a second content addressable storage system; receive one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage system; and send to the requester the retrieved file and the one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage system.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the content addressable storage system is further configured to: send the query to a second content addressable storage system; receive one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage system; and determine whether any of the retrieved file and the one or more files received from the second content addressable storage system are duplicates.
17. The system of claim 16, wherein the content addressable storage system is further configured to: send to the requester one or more files that are not duplicates.
18. The system of claim 14, wherein the content addressable storage system stores DICOM images and the metadata is related to the DICOM images.
Patent No. 8,788519
1. A computer-implemented method for managing metadata in a content addressable storage system, the method comprising: receiving, using one or more computer processors, a file for storage at a first content addressable storage (CAS) server, the file comprising a header and data, and wherein the first CAS server stores data that can be retrieved based on content of the data rather than its storage location or with a hierarchical file system; receiving, using one or more computer processors, the same one or more files for storage at a second CAS server; automatically obtaining, with the one or more computer processors, from the header of the file, metadata associated with the data; storing the metadata in a first metadata storage device, wherein the metadata is stored in association with the data stored in the CAS server; replicating the stored metadata and storing the replicated metadata in a second metadata storage device; receiving, using the one or more computer processors, a query from a requester for content at the CAS server; performing a local search within locally-stored content related to the received query; sending the query to one or more CAS servers; searching beyond a temporary data cache in a local storage device for local content not stored in the CAS server and related to the received query, wherein the local storage device and the CAS server are distinct; sending results of the local search to the requestor; searching the metadata storage device for content related to the received query; and when the metadata associated with the file is indicated by the query: retrieving the file stored in the content addressable storage; and sending the retrieved file to the requester; wherein sending the results of the local search and the retrieved file to the requester further comprises excluding or flagging any duplicate files.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the CAS servers store DICOM images and the metadata is related to the DICOM images.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: distributing the file and the metadata to a plurality of CAS servers in a hierarchical fashion.
4. The method of claim 3, wherein the method further comprises: sending the query to the plurality of CAS servers, based on the metadata; receiving one or more files related to the query from the plurality of CAS servers; and sending to the requester the retrieved file and the one or more files related to the query from the plurality of CAS servers.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the CAS server comprises the metadata storage device.
9. A computer-implemented method for managing metadata in a hashed storage system, comprising: receiving, using one or more computer processors, one or more files for storage at a first hashed storage server, wherein each of the one or more files comprises a header and data, and wherein the hashed storage server stores and retrieves the data with a hash function that generates unique identifiers linked to content of the data rather than with a location-based, hierarchical file system; receiving, using one or more computer processors, the same one or more files for storage at a second hashed storage server; automatically obtaining with the one or more computer processors metadata associated with the data from the header of each of the one or more files; storing the metadata in a first metadata storage device, wherein the metadata is stored in association with the data stored in the hashed storage server; replicating the stored metadata and storing the replicated metadata in a second metadata storage devices; receiving, using the one or more computer processors, a first query from a requester for content at an application server, wherein the application server comprises a local storage device, the local storage device and the content addressable storage server are distinct; after or simultaneously with the local search according to the first query, sending a second query, related to the first query, to the hashed storage server; receiving one or more files related to the second query from the hashed storage server; excluding or flagging any duplicate files resulting from the first query, the second query, or both, the duplicate files comprising the same one or more files; and sending to the requester a result set comprising the one or more files found at the local storage device based on the first query and the one or more files received from the hashed storage server based on the second query, wherein any duplicate files are excluded or flagged in the result set.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the hashed storage servers store DICOM images and the metadata is related to the DICOM images.
11. A computer-implemented system for managing metadata in a content addressable storage system comprising: a content addressable storage system comprising at least one computer processor configured to: receive a file for storage and backup, said file to be stored using a first content addressable storage server and also backed up to a second content addressable storage server; store metadata associated with the file in a first storage mechanism for storing metadata for content addressable storage; replicate the stored metadata in a second storage mechanism; receive a query from a requester for content; search an application server for local content that is related to the received query but that is not stored in the content addressable storage system, wherein the application server and the content addressable storage system are distinct; retrieve the local content stored on the application server; send the local content to the requestor; search the metadata storage mechanism for content related to the received query; and when the metadata associated with the file is indicated by the query: retrieve the associated file stored in the content addressable storage; and send the retrieved file to the requester; wherein sending the local content to the requester and sending the retrieved file to the requester comprise excluding or flagging any duplicate files.
12. The system of claim 11, wherein the computer-implemented system for managing metadata in a content addressable storage system is further configured to: send the query to a second content addressable storage system; receive one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage system; and send to the requester the retrieved file and the one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage system.
13. The system of claim 11, wherein the content addressable storage system stores DICOM images having headers and the metadata is related to the headers of the DICOM images.
14. A computer-implemented system for managing metadata in a content addressable storage (CAS) system, comprising: a CAS system comprising at least one computer processor configured to: receive a file for storage and receive a second copy of the same file, said file and the second copy of the same file to be stored using content addressable storage; and store metadata associated with the file and the second copy of the file in a searchable storage mechanism for storing metadata for CAS; and an application server comprising at least one computer processor, the application server configured to: receive a first query from a requester for content at an application server, wherein the application server comprises a local storage device and wherein the local storage device and the CAS system are distinct; send a second query, related to the first query, to the CAS system; receive one or more files related to the second query from the CAS system; and send a result set to the requester, the result set comprising one or more files found locally based on the first query and the one or more files received from the CAS system based on the second query, wherein any duplicate files are excluded or flagged in the result set.
15. The system of claim 14, wherein the application server is further configured to: send the second query to a second CAS system; receive one or more files related to the second query from the second CAS system; and send to the requester the one or more files received from the second CAS system based on the second query.
16. The system of claim 14, wherein the CAS system stores DICOM images and the metadata is related to the DICOM images.
17. A computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, using one or more computer processors, a file for storage at a first fixed content storage CAS server, the file comprising a header and data; receiving, using one or more computer processors, the same file for storage at a second CAS server; automatically determining that the file meets the criteria for storing the file at a CAS server and storing the file at one or more CAS servers, wherein the criteria does not prevent or exclude duplicate or backup files; automatically obtaining, with the one or more computer processors, from the header of the file, metadata associated with the file; storing the metadata in at least one searchable metadata storage device at one or more CAS servers; receiving, at a CAS server, using the one or more computer processors, a query from a requester for content at a CAS server; forwarding the query, using the one or more computer processors, to at least one additional CAS server; simultaneously with or after forwarding the query to the at least one additional CAS server, searching a local storage device for local content that is related to the query; sending the local content to the requestor, wherein sending the local content comprises excluding or flagging any duplicate content; searching the metadata storage device for content related to the received query; and when the metadata associated with the file is indicated by the query: retrieving the associated file stored in the CAS server; and sending the retrieved file to the requester, wherein sending the retrieved file comprises excluding or flagging any duplicates.
20. A computer-implemented system for managing fixed content storage, the system comprising: a CAS server having at least one computer processor, the CAS server configured to: receive files for storage and automatically recognize files as eligible for fixed content storage, wherein duplicate files are eligible for storage; and store and retrieve files, including duplicate files, using a function that is independent of physical storage location and that maintains an identifier that is consistent for each file as long as the data comprising that file does not change; an application server having at least one computer processor, the application server configured to: receive files, including duplicate files, for local storage outside of the local cache, in non-temporary storage; receive a query from a requester and convey the query to the fixed content storage server; after or at the same time as conveying the inquiry, perform a search, based on the query, within its own local, non-temporary storage; and retrieve any relevant local content or files and convey them to the requestor, while at the same time flagging or excluding duplicates; and a metadata storage device associated with either the FCS server or the application server, the metadata storage device configured to: store metadata associated with the file, and any duplicate files, in a searchable metadata database; associate metadata with files stored on the CAS server or the application server; and using these associations, allow the CAS server or the application server to search for content or files related to any received query, and when metadata associated with a file is indicated by the query, retrieve the relevant file or files, whether stored in the CAS server or in local storage and send any retrieved files to the requester, excluding or flagging duplicates.
Furthermore, there is no apparent reason why applicant was prevented from presenting claims corresponding to those of the instant application during prosecution of the application which matured into a patent. See In re Schneller, 397 F.2d 350, 158 USPQ 210 (CCPA 1968). See also MPEP § 804.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) The invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 14, 15 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b)as being anticipated by Todd et al. (US 20080065718, hereafter Todd).
Regarding claim 14, Todd discloses: A computer-implemented system for managing metadata in a content addressable storage system, comprising:
a content addressable storage system configured to: receive a file for storage, said file to be stored using content addressable storage (Todd [0077] discloses: a request is received specifying a particular object identifier, the OAS systems that make up the core may queried to determine which store to requested content…);
store metadata associated with the file in a storage mechanism for storing metadata for content addressable storage (Todd [0045] discloses: object addressable system or content addressable system that store the medical information form part of the core of object addressable storages that is assessable to an individual along with metadata associated with the content);
receive a query from a requester for content (Todd [0075] discloses: respond to requests to retrieve content units stored on the core 102 by locating the requested object(s) (the terms "object" and content unit" are used interchangeably herein) based upon object identifiers for the content units provided in specific requests, or based on specified search parameters (e.g., metadata);
search the metadata storage mechanism for content related to the received query (Todd [0039] discloses: the user should be able to locate content by searching for the associated metadata ); and
when the metadata associated with the file is indicated by the query (Todd [0078] discloses: upon search parameters (e.g., metadata) can be implemented in any manner using any suitable searching techniques):
retrieve the file stored in the content addressable storage (Todd [0075] disclose: retrieve the content units stored on an OAS system); and
send the retrieved file to the requester (Todd [0089] discloses: returns the content unit to the requesting device).
Regarding claim 15, Todd discloses: The system of claim 14, wherein the content addressable storage system is further configured to: send the query to a second content addressable storage system (Todd 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems);
receive one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage system (Todd [ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems); and
send to the requester the retrieved file and the one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage system (Todd[ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems).
Regarding claim 18, Todd discloses: The system of claim 14, wherein the content addressable storage system stores DICOM images and the metadata is related to the DICOM images (Todd [0044; 0045] discloses: MRI images, x-rays).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 2, 5- 9, 12, 13 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Todd in view of McGovern et al. (US 20050097260, hereafter McGovern).
Regarding claim 1, Todd discloses: A computer-implemented method for managing metadata in a content addressable storage system, comprising:
receiving a file for storage at a content addressable storage server, wherein the content addressable storage server stores and retrieves the data based on content of the data rather than with a hierarchical file system (Todd [0077] discloses: a request is received specifying a particular object identifier, the OAS systems that make up the core may queried to determine which store to requested content…);
automatically obtaining with one or more computer processors metadata associated with the data from the of the file (Todd [ 0039; 0048] discloses: metadata associated with the file )
storing the metadata in a metadata storage device, wherein the metadata is stored in association with the data stored in the content addressable storage server (Todd [0045] discloses: object addressable system or content addressable system that store the medical information form part of the core of object addressable storages that is assessable to an individual along with metadata associated with the content);
receiving a query from a requester for content at the content addressable storage server (Todd [0075] discloses: respond to requests to retrieve content units stored on the core 102 by locating the requested object(s) (the terms "object" and content unit" are used interchangeably herein) based upon object identifiers for the content units provided in specific requests, or based on specified search parameters (e.g., metadata));
searching the metadata storage device for content related to the received query (Todd [0039] discloses: the user should be able to locate content by searching for the associated metadata ); and
when the metadata associated with the file is indicated by the query (Todd [0078] discloses: upon search parameters (e.g., metadata) can be implemented in any manner using any suitable searching techniques):
retrieving the file stored in the content addressable storage (Todd [0075] disclose: retrieve the content units stored on an OAS system) ; and
sending the retrieved file to the requester (Todd [0086 discloses: returns the content unit to the requesting device).
Todd didn’t disclose, but McGovern discloses: the file comprises a header and data (McGovern [0115] discloses: the file header associated with file data).
Todd and McGovern are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, manage content addressable storage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention was made, to modify the Todd, to include the file header of McGovern, in order to use as metadata for content. The suggestion/motivation to combine is to recognize content when transfer of data from the source WORM (content addressable storage) to the destination volume ([0115]).
Regarding claim 2, Todd as modified discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: sending the query to a second content addressable storage server (Todd [0090] discloses: issues queries to the caching servers to determine if they have a request content unit; [ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems);
receiving one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage server (Todd[ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems); and
sending to the requester the retrieved file and the one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage server (Todd[ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems; [0086 discloses: returns the content unit to the requesting device).
Regarding claim 5, Todd as modified discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the content addressable storage server stores DICOM images and the metadata is related to the DICOM images (Todd [0044; 0045] discloses: MRI images, x-rays).
Regarding claim 6, Todd as modified discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: distributing the file and the metadata to a second content addressable storage server (Todd [ 0076] discloses: distributed across a number of devices accessible to the object locator 204 (e.g., across the OAS systems in the core 102).
Regarding claim 7, Todd as modified discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: distributing the file and the metadata to a plurality of content addressable storage servers in a hierarchical fashion (Todd [ 0076] discloses: distributed across a number of devices accessible to the object locator 204 (e.g., across the OAS systems in the core 102; [0126] discloses: a arranged in a hierarchical fashion).
Regarding claim 8, Todd as modified discloses: The method of claim 7, wherein the method further comprises: sending the query to the plurality of content addressable storage servers, based on the metadata (Todd[ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems);
receiving one or more files related to the query from the plurality of content addressable storage servers(Todd[ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems); and
sending to the requester the retrieved file and the one or more files related to the query from the plurality of content addressable storage servers (Todd [0086 discloses: returns the content unit to the requesting device).
Regarding claim 9, Todd as modified discloses: A computer-implemented method for managing metadata in a content addressable storage system, comprising:
receiving one or more files for storage at a content addressable storage server, wherein the content addressable storage server stores and retrieves the data based on content of the data rather than with a hierarchical file system (Todd [0077] discloses: a request is received specifying a particular object identifier, the OAS systems that make up the core may queried to determine which store to requested content…);
automatically obtaining with one or more computer processors metadata associated with the data from each of the one or more files (Todd [ 0039; 0048] discloses: metadata associated with the file );
storing the metadata in a metadata storage device, wherein the metadata is stored in association with the data stored in the content addressable storage server (Todd [0045] discloses: object addressable system or content addressable system that store the medical information form part of the core of object addressable storages that is assessable to an individual along with metadata associated with the content);
receiving a first query from a requester for content at an application server; searching locally at the application server for one or more files related to the first query Todd [0075] discloses: respond to requests to retrieve content units stored on the core 102 by locating the requested object(s) (the terms "object" and content unit" are used interchangeably herein) based upon object identifiers for the content units provided in specific requests, or based on specified search parameters (e.g., metadata);
sending a second query, related to the first query, to the content addressable storage server (Todd [ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems);
receiving one or more files related to the second query from the content addressable storage server (see paragraphs 0055; 0056) (Todd [0086 discloses: returns the content unit to the requesting device; [ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems); and
sending to the requester the one or more files found locally based on the first query (Todd [0086 discloses: returns the content unit to the requesting device; [0171] discloses: searching the content unit locally) and the one or more files received from the content addressable storage server based on the second query (Todd [0086 discloses: returns the content unit to the requesting device; [ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems).
Todd didn’t disclose, but McGovern discloses: wherein each of the one or more files comprises a header and data (McGovern [0115] discloses: the file header associated with file data).
Todd and McGovern are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, manage content addressable storage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention was made, to modify the Todd, to include the file header of McGovern, in order to use as metadata for content. The suggestion/motivation to combine is to recognize content when transfer of data from the source WORM (content addressable storage) to the destination volume ([0115]).
Regarding claim 12, Todd as modified discloses: The method of claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: sending the second query to a second content addressable storage server (Todd [0090] discloses: issues queries to the caching servers to determine if they have a request content unit); receiving one or more files related to the second query from the second content addressable storage server (Todd [0086 discloses: returns the content unit to the requesting device;[ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems); and sending to the requester the one or more files received from the second content addressable storage server based on the second query (Todd [0086 discloses: returns the content unit to the requesting device; [ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems).
Regarding claim 13, Todd as modified discloses: The method of claim 9, wherein the content addressable storage server stores DICOM images and the metadata is related to the DICOM images (Todd [0044; 0045] discloses: MRI images, x-rays).
Claims 3, 4,10, 11, 16 and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Todd in view of McGovern et al. (US 20050097260, hereafter McGovern) in view of Armangau et al. (US 20070050415, hereafter Armangau).
Regarding claim 3, Todd discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: sending the query to a second content addressable storage server (Todd [0090] discloses: issues queries to the caching servers to determine if they have a request content unit ; [ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems);
receiving one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage server (Todd[ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems);
Todd didn't explicitly disclose, but Armangau discloses: determining whether any of the retrieved file and the one or more files received from the second content addressable storage server are duplicates (Armangau [0059] discloses: content units identified by both the primary storage system and secondary storage system).
Todd as modified and Armangau are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, manage content addressable storage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention was made, to modify the Todd, to include the duplicate files of McGovern, in order to identify duplicate for contents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is to remove duplicates and return contents.
Regarding claim 4, Todd as modified discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein the method further comprises: sending to the requester one or more files that are not duplicates (Armangau [0061] discloses: query request to the host computer and duplicates may be filtered; Todd [0086 discloses: returns the content unit to the requesting device).
Regarding claim 10, Todd as modified discloses: The method of claim 9, wherein the method further comprises: determining whether any of the one or more files found locally based on the first query (Todd[ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems); Todd didn't explicitly disclose, but Armangau discloses: determining whether any of the retrieved file and the one or more files received from the second content addressable storage server are duplicates (Armangau [0061]). Todd as modified and Armangau are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, manage content addressable storage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention was made, to modify the Todd, to include the duplicate files of McGovern, in order to identify duplicate for contents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is to remove duplicates and return contents.
Regarding claim 11, Todd as modified discloses: The method of claim 10, wherein the method further comprises: sending to the requester one or more files that are not duplicates (Armangau [0061] discloses: query request to the host computer and duplicates may be filtered).
Regarding claim 16, Todd as modified discloses: The system of claim 14, wherein the content addressable storage system is further configured to: send the query to a second content addressable storage system (Todd [0090] discloses: issues queries to the caching servers to determine if they have a request content unit; [ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems); receive one or more files related to the query from the second content addressable storage system (Todd [0086 discloses: returns the content unit to the requesting device;[ 0074; 0075] discloses: locating content units stored on one or more OAS systems); and
Armangau discloses: determine whether any of the retrieved file and the one or more files received from the second content addressable storage system are duplicates (Armangau [0059; 0061] discloses: content units identified by both the primary storage system and secondary storage system).
Todd as modified and Armangau are analogous art because they are in the same field of endeavor, manage content addressable storage. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention was made, to modify the Todd, to include the duplicate files of McGovern, in order to identify duplicate for contents. The suggestion/motivation to combine is to remove duplicates and return contents.
Regarding claim 17, Todd as modified discloses: The system of claim 16, wherein the content addressable storage system is further configured to: send to the requester one or more files that are not duplicates (Armangau [0061] discloses: query request to the host computer and duplicates may be filtered).
Contact Information
/CINDY NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2161