DETAILED ACTION
Examiner cites particular columns or paragraphs, and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claim indirectly depends from claim 12 and recites “the first optical member and the second optical member have different shapes”, which is already claimed in claim 12. Therefore, it does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2022/0375400).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display device (see display device 1000 in Fig. 1; para[0025]), comprising:
a timing controller configured to generate image data based on an input image (see timing controller 600 in Fig. 1 configured to generate image data RGB based on input image IRGB; para[0028]; para[0035]);
a data driver configured to generate a data signal based on the image data and output the data signal to a data line (see data driver 400 in Fig. 1 configured to generate data signals based on the image data RGB, and supplies the data signals to data lines D; para [0027]-para[0028]; para[0030]); and
a display panel that includes a pixel connected to the data line (see display panel 100 including pixels PX connected to the data lines D; para[0026]),
wherein the timing controller is further configured to generate a first image and a second image based on the input image (regarding Figs. 1 and 3, see e.g. IMAGE1 and IMAGE2 generated based on a mode of operation as determined by the timing controller 600 based on the input image data IRGB; para[0029]; para[0043]), generate a third image by adjusting a gray scale of at least a partial area of the first image (regarding Figs. 1 and 3, see e.g. IMAGE3 generated “When the display device 1000 operates in the second mode MODE2”, and “a voltage level corresponding to the black grayscale value… for displaying the third image IMAGE3 in the second area DA2 is written”, the second area DA2 corresponding to a partial area of IMAGE1; para[0029]; para[0043]; para[0079]), and generate image data corresponding to each of the second image and the third image (“In the second mode MODE2, the display device 1000 may display a second image IMAGE2 (for example, a moving image) in a first display area DA1 of the display panel 100, and display a third image IMAGE3 (for example, a still image or a low-frequency image)”, and “The data driver 400 may receive… image data RGB from the timing controller 600”, accordingly; para[0028]-para[0029]; para[0035]; para[0043]; para[0047]; para[0079]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kim discloses the timing controller includes:
an image separating unit configured to generate the first image and the second image from the input image based on the input image and a mode signal (“The timing controller 600 may determine whether to operate in the first mode or the second mode based on the input image data IRGB”, and “may divide the display panel 100 into the first display area DA1 and the second display area DA2 based on the input image data IRGB” and the operation mode; “In the first mode MODE1, the display device 1000 may display a first image IMAGE1 corresponding to the entire (or a portion of) display panel 100”; “In the second mode MODE2, the display device 1000 may display a second image IMAGE2 (for example, a moving image) in a first display area DA1 of the display panel 100, and display a third image IMAGE3”; para[0029]; para[0042]-para[0043]; para[0047]; para[0066]-para[0067]);
a grayscale adjusting unit configured to generate the third image by adjusting a gray scale of the at least the partial area of the first image based on the first image, the second image, and masking information (“In the second mode MODE2, the display device 1000 may display a second image IMAGE2… in a first display area DA1 of the display panel 100, and display a third image IMAGE3”; “When the display device 1000 operates in the second mode MODE2”, “a voltage level corresponding to the black grayscale value… for displaying the third image IMAGE3 in the second area DA2 is written”, the second area DA2 corresponding to a partial area of IMAGE1; in the timing controller 600, “The area determiner 610 may determine the second display area DA2, in which a still image or a black image is displayed”; para[0043]; para[0066]-para[0067]; para[0079]); and
an image data generating unit configured to generate the image data based on the second image and the third image (the timing controller 600 generates and sends image data RGB corresponding to IMAGE2 and IMAGE3 to “the data driver 400 so that the data signal is supplied to the data lines D1 to Dm in the active frame of… the second mode”; para[0030]; para[0035]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Kim discloses the data driver is configured to generate a first data signal based on image data corresponding to the second image, generate a
second data signal based on image data corresponding to the third image, and output the first data signal and the second data signal to the data line (regarding Figs. 1 and 3, “The data driver 400 may receive… image data RGB from the timing controller 600” during each operating mode; “The data driver 400 may convert the image data RGB in a digital format into an analog data signal (data voltage)”, clearly corresponding to IMAGE2 and IMAGE3 when operating in the second mode MODE2, and “The data driver 400 may supply the data signal (e.g., the data voltage)… to the data lines D1 to Dm” to display IMAGE2 and IMAGE3; para[0027]; para[0030]; para[0035]-para[0036]; para[0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0375400), in view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0212576).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 9). However, Kim does not appear to expressly disclose the timing controller further includes: a multiplexer signal generating unit configured to generate a first multiplexer signal that controls a timing when the first data signal is output and a second multiplexer signal that controls a timing when the second data signal is output.
Lee discloses a timing controller (see timing controller 130 in Fig. 1) includes: a multiplexer signal generating unit configured to generate a first multiplexer signal that controls a timing when a first data signal is output and a second multiplexer signal that controls a timing when a second data signal is output (“demultiplexer array 112 may utilize a plurality of demultiplexers (DEMUX) to sequentially supply data voltages outputted from the channels of the data driver 110 to the data lines 102 using a plurality of demultiplexers”; “the timing controller 130 may generate… a MUX control signal for controlling the operation timing of the demultiplexer array 112”; accordingly, the MUX control signal (claimed first and second multiplexer signals) controls a timing when first and second data signals are output to corresponding data lines 102; para[0057]; para[0068]-para[0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Kim’s invention, with the teachings in Lee’s invention, to have the timing controller further includes: a multiplexer signal generating unit configured to generate a first multiplexer signal that controls a timing when the first data signal is output and a second multiplexer signal that controls a timing when the second data signal is output, for the advantage of a configuration that reduces the number of channels of the data driver (para[0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 1). However, Kim does not appear to expressly disclose the pixel includes: a first pixel circuit including a first light emitting diode; a first optical member that refracts light from the first light emitting diode; a second pixel circuit including a second light emitting diode, the second light emitting diode emitting a same color light as the first light emitting diode; and a second optical member that refracts light from the second light emitting diode, the second optical member having a shape that is different from a shape of the first optical member.
Lee discloses a pixel (see pixels 101 in Fig. 1) including a first pixel circuit including a first light emitting diode (see in Fig. 2 pixel circuit including a first light emitting element EL1; para[0072]; para[0078]); a first optical member that refracts light from the first light emitting diode (see LENS1 in Figs. 2-3; para[0087]; para[0090]-para[0091]); a second pixel circuit including a second light emitting diode (see in Fig. 2 pixel circuit including a second light emitting element EL2; para[0072]; para[0078]), the second light emitting diode emitting a same color light as the first light emitting diode (“Each of the pixels 101 may be divided into a red sub-pixel, a green sub-pixel, and a blue sub-pixel for color implementation”, and thus, EL2 emitting a same color light as EL1, as shown in Fig. 3; para[0047]); and a second optical member that refracts light from the second light emitting diode, the second optical member having a shape that is different from a shape of the first optical member (see in Figs. 2-3 LENS2 having different shape than LENS1; para[0089]-para[0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Kim’s invention, with the teachings in Lee’s invention, to have the pixel includes: a first pixel circuit including a first light emitting diode; a first optical member that refracts light from the first light emitting diode; a second pixel circuit including a second light emitting diode, the second light emitting diode emitting a same color light as the first light emitting diode; and a second optical member that refracts light from the second light emitting diode, the second optical member having a shape that is different from a shape of the first optical member, for the advantage of simultaneously displaying a variety of images having different viewing angles on a single screen (para[0002]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim and Lee disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 12). In addition, Lee discloses a first data signal corresponding to image data generated based on a third image is supplied to the first pixel circuit and a second data signal corresponding to image data generated based on a second image is supplied to the second pixel circuit (since “the first light emitting element EL1 may be driven in the first mode SMODE to emit light” and “the second light emitting element EL2 may be driven in the second mode PMODE to emit light”, and “In the first and second modes SMODE and PMODE, the pulse of the first gate signal SCAN1 synchronized with the data voltage Vdata of the pixel data is inputted to the pixel circuit”, EL1 and EL2 emit light to display corresponding images; para[0096]-para[0097]; para[0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have a first data signal corresponding to image data generated based on the third image is supplied to the first pixel circuit and a second data signal corresponding to image data generated based on the second image is supplied to the second pixel circuit, as taught by the combination, for the advantage of executing the displaying of a variety of images having different viewing angles on a single screen (para[0002]).
Regarding claim 14, Kim and Lee disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 13). In addition, in the combination, Lee already discloses the first optical member and the second optical member have different shapes (as already discussed in claim 12, see in Figs. 2-3 LENS2 having different shape than LENS1; para[0087]; para[0089]-para[0092]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim and Lee disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 13). In addition, Lee discloses the first optical member has a
first viewing angle having a first value and the second optical member has a second viewing angle having a second value that is less than the first value (Due to the first lens LENS1 disposed above the first light emitting element EL1, the horizontal viewing angle of the first light emitting element EL1 is greater than that of the second light emitting element EL2 covered by the second lens LENS2; para[0087]; para[0089]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the first optical member has a first viewing angle having a first value and the second optical member has a second viewing angle having a second value that is less than the first value, as also taught by Lee, for the advantage of enabling pixels to be driven with a narrow viewing angle to display a private content image that can only be viewed by a specific user, and be driven with a wide viewing angle to display a shared content image that can be viewed by multiple users together (para[0006]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0375400), in view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0212576), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0035734), hereinafter Lee ‘734.
Regarding claim 11, Kim and Lee disclose all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 10). However, Kim and Lee do not appear to expressly disclose a width of a period in which the first multiplexer signal has a turn-on level is less than a width of a period in which the second multiplexer signal has a turn-on level.
Lee ‘734 discloses a width of a period in which a first multiplexer signal has a turn-on level is less than a width of a period in which a second multiplexer signal has a turn-on level (regarding Figs. 15-16, “the first demux control signal DMUX1 is held at an on-level Lon during a portion of the programming period P3”, and “The second demux control signal DMUX2 is held at the on-level Lon during a remaining period of the programming period P3” that is less than the portion of the programming period P3 during which the first demux control signal DMUX1 is held at the on-level Lon; para[0085]; para[0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Kim’s and Lee’s combination, with the teachings in Lee ‘734’s invention, to have a width of a period in which the first multiplexer signal has a turn-on level is less than a width of a period in which the second multiplexer signal has a turn-on level, for the advantage of preventing generation of unwanted current deviation between pixels of the same color (para[0092]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2024/0212576), in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0035734), hereinafter Lee ‘734.
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses a display device (see display device in Fig. 1; para[0044]), comprising:
a timing controller configured to generate a first image and a second image based on an input image and generate image data based on the first image and the second image (see timing controller 130 in Fig. 1; “The display panel driving circuit may write the pixel data of an input image to the pixels 101 of the display panel 100 under the control of the timing controller 130”; “Each of the channels of the data driver 110 may be driven in the first mode or the second mode under the control of the timing controller 130 to output the data voltage of the pixel data”; accordingly, the timing controller 130 generates image data corresponding to images of a fist mode and a second mode; para[0056]; para[0062]);
a data driver configured to generate a first data signal based on image data corresponding to the first image, generate a second data signal based on image data corresponding to the second image, and output the first data signal and the second data signal to a data line (see data driver 110 in Fig. 1; “The data driver 110 may receive the pixel data of the input image received as a digital signal from the timing controller 130 and output the data voltage”; “Each of the channels of the data driver 110 may be driven in the first mode or the second mode under the control of the timing controller 130 to output the data voltage of the pixel data”, and thus generates data signals/voltages corresponding to images of the fist mode and the second mode; “demultiplexer array 112 may utilize a plurality of demultiplexers (DEMUX) to sequentially supply data voltages outputted from the channels of the data driver 110 to the data lines 102 using a plurality of demultiplexers”; para[0057]; para[0059]; para[0062]); and
a display panel that includes a pixel connected to the data line (see display panel 100 including pixels 101 connected to data lines 102, as shown in Fig. 1),
wherein the timing controller is further configured to generate a first multiplexer signal that controls a timing when the first data signal is output and a second multiplexer
signal that controls a timing when the second data signal is output (“demultiplexer array 112 may utilize a plurality of demultiplexers (DEMUX) to sequentially supply data voltages outputted from the channels of the data driver 110 to the data lines 102 using a plurality of demultiplexers”; “the timing controller 130 may generate… a MUX control signal for controlling the operation timing of the demultiplexer array 112”; accordingly, the MUX control signal (claimed first and second multiplexer signals) controls a timing when first and second data signals are output to corresponding data lines 102; para[0057]; para[0068]-para[0069]).
However, Lee does not appear to expressly disclosed a width of a period in which the first multiplexer signal has a turn-on level is less than a width of a period in which the second multiplexer signal has a turn-on level.
Lee ‘734 discloses a width of a period in which a first multiplexer signal has a turn-on level is less than a width of a period in which a second multiplexer signal has a turn-on level (regarding Figs. 15-16, “the first demux control signal DMUX1 is held at an on-level Lon during a portion of the programming period P3”, and “The second demux control signal DMUX2 is held at the on-level Lon during a remaining period of the programming period P3” that is less than the portion of the programming period P3 during which the first demux control signal DMUX1 is held at the on-level Lon; para[0085]; para[0090]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings in Lee’s invention, with the teachings in Lee ‘734’’s invention, to have a width of a period in which the first multiplexer signal has a tum-on level is less than a width of a period in which the second multiplexer signal has a tum-on level, for the advantage of preventing generation of unwanted current deviation between pixels of the same color (para[0092]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses all the claim limitations as applied above (see claim 2). However, the prior art, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or suggest the following limitations in combination with the rest of the claim, that is, the claim as a whole: “…the image separating unit generates the first image including a first masking image that overlaps a target area by masking the target area of the input image in which a target image is disposed and generates the second image including a second masking image which overlaps a remaining area by masking the remaining area of the input image excluding the target area”, as claimed in claim 3.
Regarding claims 4-8, these claims would be allowable based on their dependence from claim 3.
Conclusion
/GLORYVID FIGUEROA-GIBSON/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/NITIN PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628