DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action regarding application number 19/293,796, filed August 17, 2025. This is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits, Claims 1-20 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicants claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on February 17, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 7/8/2026, 8/26/2025, and 8/7/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “smoothly” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “smoothly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “easily” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “easily” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/295,035 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higashitani (US-20200079366) in view of Hidaka (US-20240034320).
Regarding claim 1, Higashitani teaches a vehicle control device that autonomously controls driving of a subject vehicle, the vehicle control device comprising (Abstract, “An automatic driving control system”)
at least one of (i) a circuit and (ii) a processor with a memory storing computer program code executable by the processor, the at least one of the circuit and the processor configured to cause the vehicle control device to implement (Paragraph [0036], “The automatic driving ECU 200 is a circuit including a CPU and a memory. The automatic driving ECU 200 functions as an automatic driving control unit 210 executing a computer program stored in a nonvolatile storage medium to control automatic driving of the vehicle 50”)
an environment recognition section configured to recognize environment information at an intersection (Paragraph [0043], “The front recognizing unit 224 utilizes information provided by the front detection device 410 to recognize the status of an object or a road facility (lane, intersection, traffic signal, or the like) present in front of the own vehicle 50. The rear recognizing unit 226 recognizes status related to an object or a road facility present in the rear of the own vehicle 50. For example, the front recognizing unit 224 and the rear recognizing unit 226 can recognize an approaching status in which an other object approaches the own vehicle 50.”)
and a setting section configured to set, using the environment information, an angle of a steering wheel of the subject vehicle in a case where the subject vehicle temporarily stops while making a right or left turn at the intersection (Paragraph [0059], “In steps S120 and S130, in a case where the status recognizing unit 220 recognizes a prescribed steering angle change status while the own vehicle 50 is temporarily stopped or traveling slowly near the center of an intersection, the automatic driving control unit 210 changes a first steering angle (first steering angle indicated by a steering angle indication value for automatic driving) along the planned traveling route to a second steering angle different from the first steering angle to mitigate the effect of rear-ending of the own vehicle 50 by another vehicle.”) (See also Paragraphs [0066-0068], and [0131])
wherein the environment information includes a size of the intersection (Paragraph [0062], “The “predetermined value” of the vehicle speed in condition 1 is a vehicle speed at which the own vehicle 50 can be estimated to be substantially stopped, and is set to, for example, 2 km/hour or less. Note that the “predetermined value” may be zero such that condition 1 is satisfied only when the own vehicle 50 is stopped. The “predetermined range from the center of the intersection” in condition 2 is appropriately preset in accordance with the size of the intersection, the width of the road, or the like. The “lane straight-ahead direction at the intersection” in condition 3 means the straight-ahead direction of the lane where the own vehicle 50 travels before entering the intersection. “) (See also Paragraphs [0066-0068] and [0131])
However Higashitani does not explicitly teach the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is equal to or greater than a preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented toward a traveling direction after the right or left turn, relative to an orientation of the vehicle body of the subject vehicle, and the setting section sets the angle fo the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is smaller than the preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented in alignment with the orientation of the vehicle body.
Hidaka teaches a driving assistance apparatus for a vehicle that performs intervention control of generating a correct route and an erroneous route in an intersection including
the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is equal to or greater than a preset threshold value (Paragraph [0051], “The process in step S3 is executed according to a correct route and erroneous route generation subroutine illustrated in FIG. 3. In this subroutine, first, in step S11, road information ahead of the vehicle M is read. Examples of the road information include the distance from the current position of the vehicle M to the front of the intersection, the size of the intersection, the position information of a coupling end with the intersection in the right turn or left turn direction, road width information, lane number information, and the like.”) (Paragraph [0065], “Dead zone widths are set on both sides of the route threshold value SLc as indicated by alternate long and short dash lines in the drawing. The dead zone widths are each set with reference to a table set in advance to widths that increase as the shortest distance coupling the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re increases, and the inside of the dead zone widths are the dead zone Zd. Since the route threshold value SLc is set at the center between the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the route threshold value SLc is located far from both the routes Rc and Re. Therefore, if the vehicle position Vp is located far from both the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the vehicle position Vp is within the dead zone Zd.”) (See also [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9)
the steering wheel is oriented toward a traveling direction after the right or left turn, relative to an orientation of the vehicle body of the subject vehicle (Paragraph {0039], “In this case, the driving assistance control unit 21 calculates a steering angle correction amount that converges the deviation amount to the target route (deviation amount=0) from the deviation amount between the target route set by the map locator calculator 12 and the vehicle position (vehicle lateral position) estimated by the camera unit 26 or the vehicle position estimation calculator 12a. Then, the target steering angle is corrected by the steering angle correction amount (feedback control), and the EPS driving unit 32 is driven by the corrected target steering angle.”) (See Also Paragraphs [0051] [0057], [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9)
and the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is smaller than the preset threshold value (Paragraph [0051], “The process in step S3 is executed according to a correct route and erroneous route generation subroutine illustrated in FIG. 3. In this subroutine, first, in step S11, road information ahead of the vehicle M is read. Examples of the road information include the distance from the current position of the vehicle M to the front of the intersection, the size of the intersection, the position information of a coupling end with the intersection in the right turn or left turn direction, road width information, lane number information, and the like.”) (Paragraph [0065], “Dead zone widths are set on both sides of the route threshold value SLc as indicated by alternate long and short dash lines in the drawing. The dead zone widths are each set with reference to a table set in advance to widths that increase as the shortest distance coupling the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re increases, and the inside of the dead zone widths are the dead zone Zd. Since the route threshold value SLc is set at the center between the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the route threshold value SLc is located far from both the routes Rc and Re. Therefore, if the vehicle position Vp is located far from both the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the vehicle position Vp is within the dead zone Zd.”) (See also [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9)
the steering wheel is oriented in alignment with the orientation of the vehicle body (Paragraph {0039], “In this case, the driving assistance control unit 21 calculates a steering angle correction amount that converges the deviation amount to the target route (deviation amount=0) from the deviation amount between the target route set by the map locator calculator 12 and the vehicle position (vehicle lateral position) estimated by the camera unit 26 or the vehicle position estimation calculator 12a. Then, the target steering angle is corrected by the steering angle correction amount (feedback control), and the EPS driving unit 32 is driven by the corrected target steering angle.”) (See Also Paragraphs [0051] [0057], [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9).
Higashitani and Hidaka are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for monitoring the surrounds of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is equal to or greater than a preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented toward a traveling direction after the right or left turn, relative to an orientation of the vehicle body of the subject vehicle, and the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is smaller than the preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented in alignment with the orientation of the vehicle body of Hidaka in the a vehicle control device that autonomously controls driving of a subject vehicle of Higashitani with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the driving assistance of the vehicle by returning the vehicle to the correct route when the vehicle route is erroneous (Paragraph [0002], “generating a correct route and an erroneous route in an intersection when a vehicle turns right or left in the intersection, and returning the route to the correct route side when the vehicle is traveling on the erroneous route side”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Higashitani further teaches wherein the at least one of the circuit and the processor is further configured to cause the vehicle control device to implement a control execution section configured to control the subject vehicle from traveling to a temporary stop such that an operation of the temporary stop is completed with the steering wheel at the angle set by the setting section (Paragraphs [0040], [0048-0049], [0059], [0062], [0066-0069] and [0131]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Higashitani further teaches wherein the setting section sets the orientation of the vehicle body at a temporary stop based on a type of the subject vehicle, such that the vehicle body faces a direction opposite to the traveling direction after the right or left turn with respect to a lane in which the subject vehicle travels before the right or left turn (Paragraphs [0079-0082] and Figures 13-24).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Higashitani further teaches wherein the at least one of the circuit and the processor is further configured to cause the vehicle control device to implement a control switching section configured to switch a traveling mode of a vehicle to a mode in which the subject vehicle is allowed to smoothly start at a time of a temporary stop (Paragraphs [0059], [0062], [0066-0068], and [0131]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Higashitani further teaches wherein the environment information includes information indicating presence or absence and a posture of an oncoming vehicle that is about to turn right or left at the intersection (Paragraphs [0038], [0043], [0049-0052], [0097-0099], [0120] and [0125-0129])
and the setting section sets a posture of the subject vehicle according to the posture of the oncoming vehicle in a case where the oncoming vehicle is present ([0038], [0043], [0049-0052], [0097-0099], [0120], and [0125-0129]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Higashitani further teaches wherein the environment information includes information indicating presence or absence of an oncoming vehicle that is about to turn right or left at the intersection (Paragraphs [0038], [0043], [0049-0052], [0097-0099], [0120] and [0125-0129])
and the setting section sets an angle such that an angle of an orientation of the vehicle body of the subject vehicle with respect to a subject lane before entering the intersection is inclined to a traveling direction after the vehicle body turns right or left in a case where the oncoming vehicle is present, compared with in a case where the oncoming vehicle is not present (Paragraphs [0038], [0043], [0049-0052], [0097-0099], [0120] and [0125-0129]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Higashitani further teaches wherein the subject vehicle is configured to execute a driving-mode switch to a driver of the subject vehicle in a case where autonomous control of driving is not allowed to continue (Paragraphs [0037], [0039], [0041], [0105-0112], and [0131])
and the setting section acquires information about the driver (Paragraphs [0037], [0039], [0041], [0105-0112], and [0131])
and sets an angle of the steering wheel at a temporary stop at the intersection according to the information about the driver (Paragraphs [0037], [0039], [0041], [0105-0112], and [0131]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Higashitani further teaches wherein in a case where the driver is a driver whose driving level with respect to accelerator operation is low (Paragraphs [0037], [0039], [0041], [0105-0112], and [0131])
the setting section sets an angle of the steering wheel at a temporary stop at the intersection to an angle aligned with the orientation of the vehicle body of the subject vehicle (Paragraphs [0037], [0039], [0041], [0105-0112], and [0131]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Higashitani further teaches wherein the environment information includes information about a condition of a road (Paragraph [0038], [0043], and [0069])
and the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel at a temporary stop of the intersection according to the condition (Paragraph [0038], [0043], and [0069]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Higashitani further teaches wherein the environment information further includes information about an inclination of a road (Paragraph [0038], [0043], and [0069])
and in a case where the condition includes a situation in which a slip is likely to occur on the road (Paragraph [0038], [0043], and [0069])
the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel such that a slip is less likely to occur with respect to the inclination (Paragraph [0038], [0043], and [0069]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Higashitani further teaches wherein the setting section acquires information about a grip force of the steering wheel (Paragraph [0038], [0043], and [0069])
estimates a possibility of occurrence of a slip with respect to a temporary angle setting of the steering wheel based on information about the condition and the grip force (Paragraph [0038], [0043], and [0069])
and sets a final angle of the steering wheel based on the possibility (Paragraph [0038], [0043], and [0069]).
Regarding claim 19, Higashitani teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a vehicle control program for autonomously controlling driving of a subject vehicle, the vehicle control program for causing at least one processing section to execute (Paragraph [0036], “The automatic driving ECU 200 is a circuit including a CPU and a memory. The automatic driving ECU 200 functions as an automatic driving control unit 210 executing a computer program stored in a nonvolatile storage medium to control automatic driving of the vehicle 50”)
recognizing environment information at an intersection (Paragraph [0043], “The front recognizing unit 224 utilizes information provided by the front detection device 410 to recognize the status of an object or a road facility (lane, intersection, traffic signal, or the like) present in front of the own vehicle 50. The rear recognizing unit 226 recognizes status related to an object or a road facility present in the rear of the own vehicle 50. For example, the front recognizing unit 224 and the rear recognizing unit 226 can recognize an approaching status in which an other object approaches the own vehicle 50.”)
and setting an angle of a steering wheel of the subject vehicle in a case where the subject vehicle temporarily stops along with a right or left turn at the intersection using the environment information (Paragraph [0059], “In steps S120 and S130, in a case where the status recognizing unit 220 recognizes a prescribed steering angle change status while the own vehicle 50 is temporarily stopped or traveling slowly near the center of an intersection, the automatic driving control unit 210 changes a first steering angle (first steering angle indicated by a steering angle indication value for automatic driving) along the planned traveling route to a second steering angle different from the first steering angle to mitigate the effect of rear-ending of the own vehicle 50 by another vehicle.”) (See also Paragraphs [0066-0068], and [0131])
wherein the environment information includes a size of the intersection (Paragraph [0062], “The “predetermined value” of the vehicle speed in condition 1 is a vehicle speed at which the own vehicle 50 can be estimated to be substantially stopped, and is set to, for example, 2 km/hour or less. Note that the “predetermined value” may be zero such that condition 1 is satisfied only when the own vehicle 50 is stopped. The “predetermined range from the center of the intersection” in condition 2 is appropriately preset in accordance with the size of the intersection, the width of the road, or the like. The “lane straight-ahead direction at the intersection” in condition 3 means the straight-ahead direction of the lane where the own vehicle 50 travels before entering the intersection. “) (See also Paragraphs [0066-0068] and [0131]).
However Higashitani does not explicitly teach setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that when the size of the intersection is equal to or greater than a preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented toward a traveling direction after the right or left turn, relative to an orientation of a vehicle body of the subject vehicle, and the setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is smaller than the preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented in alignment with the orientation of the vehicle body.
Hidaka teaches a driving assistance apparatus for a vehicle that performs intervention control of generating a correct route and an erroneous route in an intersection including
setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that when the size of the intersection is equal to or greater than a preset threshold value (Paragraph [0051], “The process in step S3 is executed according to a correct route and erroneous route generation subroutine illustrated in FIG. 3. In this subroutine, first, in step S11, road information ahead of the vehicle M is read. Examples of the road information include the distance from the current position of the vehicle M to the front of the intersection, the size of the intersection, the position information of a coupling end with the intersection in the right turn or left turn direction, road width information, lane number information, and the like.”) (Paragraph [0065], “Dead zone widths are set on both sides of the route threshold value SLc as indicated by alternate long and short dash lines in the drawing. The dead zone widths are each set with reference to a table set in advance to widths that increase as the shortest distance coupling the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re increases, and the inside of the dead zone widths are the dead zone Zd. Since the route threshold value SLc is set at the center between the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the route threshold value SLc is located far from both the routes Rc and Re. Therefore, if the vehicle position Vp is located far from both the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the vehicle position Vp is within the dead zone Zd.”) (See also [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9)
the steering wheel is oriented toward a traveling direction after the right or left turn, relative to an orientation of a vehicle body of the subject vehicle (Paragraph {0039], “In this case, the driving assistance control unit 21 calculates a steering angle correction amount that converges the deviation amount to the target route (deviation amount=0) from the deviation amount between the target route set by the map locator calculator 12 and the vehicle position (vehicle lateral position) estimated by the camera unit 26 or the vehicle position estimation calculator 12a. Then, the target steering angle is corrected by the steering angle correction amount (feedback control), and the EPS driving unit 32 is driven by the corrected target steering angle.”) (See Also Paragraphs [0051] [0057], [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9)
and the setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is smaller than the preset threshold value (Paragraph [0051], “The process in step S3 is executed according to a correct route and erroneous route generation subroutine illustrated in FIG. 3. In this subroutine, first, in step S11, road information ahead of the vehicle M is read. Examples of the road information include the distance from the current position of the vehicle M to the front of the intersection, the size of the intersection, the position information of a coupling end with the intersection in the right turn or left turn direction, road width information, lane number information, and the like.”) (Paragraph [0065], “Dead zone widths are set on both sides of the route threshold value SLc as indicated by alternate long and short dash lines in the drawing. The dead zone widths are each set with reference to a table set in advance to widths that increase as the shortest distance coupling the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re increases, and the inside of the dead zone widths are the dead zone Zd. Since the route threshold value SLc is set at the center between the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the route threshold value SLc is located far from both the routes Rc and Re. Therefore, if the vehicle position Vp is located far from both the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the vehicle position Vp is within the dead zone Zd.”) (See also [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9)
the steering wheel is oriented in alignment with the orientation of the vehicle body (Paragraph {0039], “In this case, the driving assistance control unit 21 calculates a steering angle correction amount that converges the deviation amount to the target route (deviation amount=0) from the deviation amount between the target route set by the map locator calculator 12 and the vehicle position (vehicle lateral position) estimated by the camera unit 26 or the vehicle position estimation calculator 12a. Then, the target steering angle is corrected by the steering angle correction amount (feedback control), and the EPS driving unit 32 is driven by the corrected target steering angle.”) (See Also Paragraphs [0051] [0057], [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9).
Higashitani and Hidaka are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for monitoring the surrounds of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that when the size of the intersection is equal to or greater than a preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented toward a traveling direction after the right or left turn, relative to an orientation of a vehicle body of the subject vehicle, and the setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is smaller than the preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented in alignment with the orientation of the vehicle body of Hidaka in the a vehicle control device that autonomously controls driving of a subject vehicle of Higashitani with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the driving assistance of the vehicle by returning the vehicle to the correct route when the vehicle route is erroneous (Paragraph [0002], “generating a correct route and an erroneous route in an intersection when a vehicle turns right or left in the intersection, and returning the route to the correct route side when the vehicle is traveling on the erroneous route side”).
Regarding claim 20, Higashitani teaches a vehicle control method of autonomously controlling driving of a subject vehicle, the vehicle control method being executed by at least one processing section, the vehicle control method comprising (Paragraph [0036], “The automatic driving ECU 200 is a circuit including a CPU and a memory. The automatic driving ECU 200 functions as an automatic driving control unit 210 executing a computer program stored in a nonvolatile storage medium to control automatic driving of the vehicle 50”)
recognizing environment information at an intersection (Paragraph [0043], “The front recognizing unit 224 utilizes information provided by the front detection device 410 to recognize the status of an object or a road facility (lane, intersection, traffic signal, or the like) present in front of the own vehicle 50. The rear recognizing unit 226 recognizes status related to an object or a road facility present in the rear of the own vehicle 50. For example, the front recognizing unit 224 and the rear recognizing unit 226 can recognize an approaching status in which an other object approaches the own vehicle 50.”)
and setting an angle of a steering wheel of the subject vehicle in a case where the subject vehicle temporarily stops along with a right or left turn at the intersection using the environment information (Paragraph [0059], “In steps S120 and S130, in a case where the status recognizing unit 220 recognizes a prescribed steering angle change status while the own vehicle 50 is temporarily stopped or traveling slowly near the center of an intersection, the automatic driving control unit 210 changes a first steering angle (first steering angle indicated by a steering angle indication value for automatic driving) along the planned traveling route to a second steering angle different from the first steering angle to mitigate the effect of rear-ending of the own vehicle 50 by another vehicle.”) (See also Paragraphs [0066-0068], and [0131])
wherein the environment information includes a size of the intersection (Paragraph [0062], “The “predetermined value” of the vehicle speed in condition 1 is a vehicle speed at which the own vehicle 50 can be estimated to be substantially stopped, and is set to, for example, 2 km/hour or less. Note that the “predetermined value” may be zero such that condition 1 is satisfied only when the own vehicle 50 is stopped. The “predetermined range from the center of the intersection” in condition 2 is appropriately preset in accordance with the size of the intersection, the width of the road, or the like. The “lane straight-ahead direction at the intersection” in condition 3 means the straight-ahead direction of the lane where the own vehicle 50 travels before entering the intersection. “) (See also Paragraphs [0066-0068] and [0131]).
However Higashitani does not explicitly teach setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that when the size of the intersection is equal to or greater than a preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented toward a traveling direction after the right or left turn, relative to an orientation of a vehicle body of the subject vehicle, and the setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is smaller than the preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented in alignment with the orientation of the vehicle body.
Hidaka teaches a driving assistance apparatus for a vehicle that performs intervention control of generating a correct route and an erroneous route in an intersection including
setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that when the size of the intersection is equal to or greater than a preset threshold value (Paragraph [0051], “The process in step S3 is executed according to a correct route and erroneous route generation subroutine illustrated in FIG. 3. In this subroutine, first, in step S11, road information ahead of the vehicle M is read. Examples of the road information include the distance from the current position of the vehicle M to the front of the intersection, the size of the intersection, the position information of a coupling end with the intersection in the right turn or left turn direction, road width information, lane number information, and the like.”) (Paragraph [0065], “Dead zone widths are set on both sides of the route threshold value SLc as indicated by alternate long and short dash lines in the drawing. The dead zone widths are each set with reference to a table set in advance to widths that increase as the shortest distance coupling the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re increases, and the inside of the dead zone widths are the dead zone Zd. Since the route threshold value SLc is set at the center between the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the route threshold value SLc is located far from both the routes Rc and Re. Therefore, if the vehicle position Vp is located far from both the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the vehicle position Vp is within the dead zone Zd.”) (See also [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9)
the steering wheel is oriented toward a traveling direction after the right or left turn, relative to an orientation of a vehicle body of the subject vehicle (Paragraph {0039], “In this case, the driving assistance control unit 21 calculates a steering angle correction amount that converges the deviation amount to the target route (deviation amount=0) from the deviation amount between the target route set by the map locator calculator 12 and the vehicle position (vehicle lateral position) estimated by the camera unit 26 or the vehicle position estimation calculator 12a. Then, the target steering angle is corrected by the steering angle correction amount (feedback control), and the EPS driving unit 32 is driven by the corrected target steering angle.”) (See Also Paragraphs [0051] [0057], [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9)
and the setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is smaller than the preset threshold value (Paragraph [0051], “The process in step S3 is executed according to a correct route and erroneous route generation subroutine illustrated in FIG. 3. In this subroutine, first, in step S11, road information ahead of the vehicle M is read. Examples of the road information include the distance from the current position of the vehicle M to the front of the intersection, the size of the intersection, the position information of a coupling end with the intersection in the right turn or left turn direction, road width information, lane number information, and the like.”) (Paragraph [0065], “Dead zone widths are set on both sides of the route threshold value SLc as indicated by alternate long and short dash lines in the drawing. The dead zone widths are each set with reference to a table set in advance to widths that increase as the shortest distance coupling the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re increases, and the inside of the dead zone widths are the dead zone Zd. Since the route threshold value SLc is set at the center between the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the route threshold value SLc is located far from both the routes Rc and Re. Therefore, if the vehicle position Vp is located far from both the correct route Rc and the erroneous route Re, the vehicle position Vp is within the dead zone Zd.”) (See also [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9)
the steering wheel is oriented in alignment with the orientation of the vehicle body (Paragraph {0039], “In this case, the driving assistance control unit 21 calculates a steering angle correction amount that converges the deviation amount to the target route (deviation amount=0) from the deviation amount between the target route set by the map locator calculator 12 and the vehicle position (vehicle lateral position) estimated by the camera unit 26 or the vehicle position estimation calculator 12a. Then, the target steering angle is corrected by the steering angle correction amount (feedback control), and the EPS driving unit 32 is driven by the corrected target steering angle.”) (See Also Paragraphs [0051] [0057], [0061-0063], [0023], and Figures 6-9).
Higashitani and Hidaka are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for monitoring the surrounds of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that when the size of the intersection is equal to or greater than a preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented toward a traveling direction after the right or left turn, relative to an orientation of a vehicle body of the subject vehicle, and the setting the angle of the steering wheel sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, when the size of the intersection is smaller than the preset threshold value, the steering wheel is oriented in alignment with the orientation of the vehicle body of Hidaka in the a vehicle control device that autonomously controls driving of a subject vehicle of Higashitani with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the driving assistance of the vehicle by returning the vehicle to the correct route when the vehicle route is erroneous (Paragraph [0002], “generating a correct route and an erroneous route in an intersection when a vehicle turns right or left in the intersection, and returning the route to the correct route side when the vehicle is traveling on the erroneous route side”).
Claim 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Higashitani (US-20200079366) in view of Hidaka (US-20240034320) and further in view of Kumano (US-20200168097).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, however the combination does not explicitly teach wherein in a case where the intersection is a roundabout, the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel in a case where the subject vehicle temporarily stops upon entering the roundabout, according to a scale of the roundabout.
Kumano teaches a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that can smooth traffic including
wherein in a case where the intersection is a roundabout, the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel in a case where the subject vehicle temporarily stops upon entering the roundabout, according to a scale of the roundabout (Paragraphs [0008], [0010], [0085-0086], [0093], [0099-0106], and Figures 8-12).
Higashitani, Hidaka, and Kumano are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for monitoring the surrounds of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein in a case where the intersection is a roundabout, the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel in a case where the subject vehicle temporarily stops upon entering the roundabout, according to a scale of the roundabout of Kumano in the a vehicle control device that autonomously controls driving of a subject vehicle of Higashitani and Hidaka with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the traffic flow by preventing traffic jams at circular intersections (Paragraph [0004-0005], “However, in the related art, it is easier for a traffic jam or the like to occur at an intersection in which a plurality of other roads do not perpendicularly intersect a certain road, such as a circular intersection, in comparison with an intersection in which a plurality of other roads perpendicularly intersect a certain road, and smooth traffic flow cannot be realized in some cases. Aspects of the present invention provide a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that can further smooth traffic.”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Higashitani, Hidaka, and Kumano teaches the system as discussed above in claim 5, Kumano further teaches wherein the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, as the scale of the roundabout decreases, the steering wheel is oriented toward a traveling direction after the right or left turn with respect to an orientation of the vehicle body of the subject vehicle (Paragraphs [0008], [0010], [0085-0086], [0093], [0099-0106], and Figures 8-12).
Higashitani, Hidaka, and Kumano are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for monitoring the surrounds of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel such that, as the scale of the roundabout decreases, the steering wheel is oriented toward a traveling direction after the right or left turn with respect to an orientation of the vehicle body of the subject vehicle of Kumano in the a vehicle control device that autonomously controls driving of a subject vehicle of Higashitani and Hidaka with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the traffic flow by preventing traffic jams at circular intersections (Paragraph [0004-0005], “However, in the related art, it is easier for a traffic jam or the like to occur at an intersection in which a plurality of other roads do not perpendicularly intersect a certain road, such as a circular intersection, in comparison with an intersection in which a plurality of other roads perpendicularly intersect a certain road, and smooth traffic flow cannot be realized in some cases. Aspects of the present invention provide a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that can further smooth traffic.”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Higashitani, Hidaka, and Kumano teaches the system as discussed above in claim 5, Kumano further teaches wherein in a case where a road connecting the roundabout and a next intersection has a plurality of lanes, the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel at a time of exiting the roundabout according to a lane corresponding to a traveling direction scheduled for the next intersection among the plurality of lanes (Paragraphs [0008], [0010], [0085-0086], [0093], [0099-0106], and Figures 8-12).
Higashitani, Hidaka, and Kumano are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for monitoring the surrounds of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein in a case where a road connecting the roundabout and a next intersection has a plurality of lanes, the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel at a time of exiting the roundabout according to a lane corresponding to a traveling direction scheduled for the next intersection among the plurality of lanes of Kumano in the a vehicle control device that autonomously controls driving of a subject vehicle of Higashitani and Hidaka with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the traffic flow by preventing traffic jams at circular intersections (Paragraph [0004-0005], “However, in the related art, it is easier for a traffic jam or the like to occur at an intersection in which a plurality of other roads do not perpendicularly intersect a certain road, such as a circular intersection, in comparison with an intersection in which a plurality of other roads perpendicularly intersect a certain road, and smooth traffic flow cannot be realized in some cases. Aspects of the present invention provide a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that can further smooth traffic.”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, however the combination does not explicitly teach wherein in a case where the intersection is a roundabout having a plurality of lanes, the subject vehicle travels in any of the plurality of lanes, and a parallelly traveling vehicle is traveling in an adjacent lane, the setting section adjusts the angle of the steering wheel so as to be away from the parallelly traveling vehicle.
Kumano teaches wherein in a case where the intersection is a roundabout having a plurality of lanes, the subject vehicle travels in any of the plurality of lanes (Paragraphs [0008], [0010], [0085-0086], [0093], [0099-0106], and Figures 8-12)
and a parallelly traveling vehicle is traveling in an adjacent lane, the setting section adjusts the angle of the steering wheel so as to be away from the parallelly traveling vehicle (Paragraphs [0008], [0010], [0085-0086], [0093], [0099-0106], and Figures 8-12).
Higashitani, Hidaka, and Kumano are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for monitoring the surrounds of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein in a case where the intersection is a roundabout having a plurality of lanes, the subject vehicle travels in any of the plurality of lanes, and a parallelly traveling vehicle is traveling in an adjacent lane, the setting section adjusts the angle of the steering wheel so as to be away from the parallelly traveling vehicle of Kumano in the a vehicle control device that autonomously controls driving of a subject vehicle of Higashitani and Hidaka with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the traffic flow by preventing traffic jams at circular intersections (Paragraph [0004-0005], “However, in the related art, it is easier for a traffic jam or the like to occur at an intersection in which a plurality of other roads do not perpendicularly intersect a certain road, such as a circular intersection, in comparison with an intersection in which a plurality of other roads perpendicularly intersect a certain road, and smooth traffic flow cannot be realized in some cases. Aspects of the present invention provide a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that can further smooth traffic.”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Higashitani, Hidaka, and Kumano teaches the system as discussed above in claim 8, Kumano further teaches wherein the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel such that the larger a size of the parallelly traveling vehicle, the more easily the subject vehicle is immediately away from the parallelly traveling vehicle (Paragraphs [0008], [0010], [0085-0086], [0093], [0099-0106], and Figures 8-12).
Higashitani, Hidaka, and Kumano are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for monitoring the surrounds of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel such that the larger a size of the parallelly traveling vehicle, the more easily the subject vehicle is immediately away from the parallelly traveling vehicle of Kumano in the a vehicle control device that autonomously controls driving of a subject vehicle of Higashitani and Hidaka with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the traffic flow by preventing traffic jams at circular intersections (Paragraph [0004-0005], “However, in the related art, it is easier for a traffic jam or the like to occur at an intersection in which a plurality of other roads do not perpendicularly intersect a certain road, such as a circular intersection, in comparison with an intersection in which a plurality of other roads perpendicularly intersect a certain road, and smooth traffic flow cannot be realized in some cases. Aspects of the present invention provide a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that can further smooth traffic.”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Higashitani and Hidaka teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, however the combination does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one of the circuit and the processor is further configured to cause the vehicle control device to implement a control execution section configured to stop the subject vehicle in a space where the subject vehicle is allowed to stop in a case where the intersection is a roundabout, the subject vehicle travels in a lane within the roundabout, and a motorcycle is present near the subject vehicle.
Kumano teaches wherein the at least one of the circuit and the processor is further configured to cause the vehicle control device to implement a control execution section configured to stop the subject vehicle in a space where the subject vehicle is allowed to stop in a case where the intersection is a roundabout, the subject vehicle travels in a lane within the roundabout, and a motorcycle is present near the subject vehicle (Paragraphs [0008], [0010], [0085-0086], [0093], [0099-0106], and Figures 8-12).
Higashitani, Hidaka, and Kumano are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for monitoring the surrounds of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the at least one of the circuit and the processor is further configured to cause the vehicle control device to implement a control execution section configured to stop the subject vehicle in a space where the subject vehicle is allowed to stop in a case where the intersection is a roundabout, the subject vehicle travels in a lane within the roundabout, and a motorcycle is present near the subject vehicle of Kumano in the a vehicle control device that autonomously controls driving of a subject vehicle of Higashitani and Hidaka with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the traffic flow by preventing traffic jams at circular intersections (Paragraph [0004-0005], “However, in the related art, it is easier for a traffic jam or the like to occur at an intersection in which a plurality of other roads do not perpendicularly intersect a certain road, such as a circular intersection, in comparison with an intersection in which a plurality of other roads perpendicularly intersect a certain road, and smooth traffic flow cannot be realized in some cases. Aspects of the present invention provide a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that can further smooth traffic.”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Higashitani, Hidaka, and Kumano teaches the system as discussed above in claim 10, Kumano further teaches wherein the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel in preparation for cut-in driving of the motorcycle to the subject vehicle until the subject vehicle is stopped (Paragraphs [0008], [0010], [0085-0086], [0093], [0099-0106], and Figures 8-12).
Higashitani, Hidaka, and Kumano are analogous art as they are both generally related to systems for monitoring the surrounds of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the setting section sets the angle of the steering wheel in preparation for cut-in driving of the motorcycle to the subject vehicle until the subject vehicle is stopped of Kumano in the a vehicle control device that autonomously controls driving of a subject vehicle of Higashitani and Hidaka with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the traffic flow by preventing traffic jams at circular intersections (Paragraph [0004-0005], “However, in the related art, it is easier for a traffic jam or the like to occur at an intersection in which a plurality of other roads do not perpendicularly intersect a certain road, such as a circular intersection, in comparison with an intersection in which a plurality of other roads perpendicularly intersect a certain road, and smooth traffic flow cannot be realized in some cases. Aspects of the present invention provide a vehicle control device, a vehicle control method, and a storage medium that can further smooth traffic.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Oba (US-20240280997) teaches an information processing system for remotely steering a mobile body, the information processing system including an information acquisition unit (104) that acquires information concerning the mobile body and information concerning a periphery of the mobile body. Temel (US-20220363257) a method for automated control of a vehicle includes automatically navigating a vehicle within a current lane of travel with a driving assistance system, and predetermining a steering maneuver during the automatic navigation with the driving assistance system. Ali (US-11453417) an intersection navigation system includes: a complexity module configured to determine a complexity value for an intersection of two or more roads, where the complexity value for the intersection corresponds to a level of complexity for a vehicle to navigate the intersection during autonomous driving.
/CHRISTOPHER GEORGE FEES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662