DETAILED ACTION
35 USC § 101
The claims are directed to a sales method, which is a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activities. MPEP § 2106.04(a). The limitations relating to analyzing and identifying visual effects, however, impose meaningful limits on the scope of the abstract idea so as to integrate it into a practical application. See applicant’s amendment in parent application 17/362,796 filed October 19, 2023, pages 10-11. The claims are therefore directed to statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0244272 A1 (hereinafter “Lee”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0266660 A1 (hereinafter “Wang”).
With respect to claims 1, 13, and 17, Lee discloses
“A computer-implemented method comprising”: Lee, abstract;
“obtaining, by one or more computing devices, product data associated with one or more products”; Lee ¶ 0004 (selection of makeup products and product information for each selection are obtained);
“selecting, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a visual effect of the at least one corresponding visual effect”; Lee ¶¶ 0020, 0022 (virtual makeup is applied to makeup user interface to display cosmetic effects); and
“generating, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a modified version of user content by applying the visual effect to the user content”. Lee ¶¶ 0020, 0022 (virtual makeup is applied to modify user content).
Lee discloses the application of virtual makeup, Lee ¶¶ 0018, 0034, but does not explicitly disclose analyzing product data to determine makeup effects. Wang discloses
“determining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, at least one object associated with a use of the one or more products by applying a first image analysis technique to the product data”; Wang ¶¶ 0036, 0045 (cosmetic product is recognized); and
“identifying, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices and using a second image analysis technique, at least one corresponding visual effect being applied in the product data to a region including the at least one object”. Wang ¶¶ 0036, 0045 (makeup effect is identified using any number of image analysis techniques).
Both Lee and Wang relate to makeup selection. Lee, abstract; Wang, abstract. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the makeup effect analysis feature as taught by Wang in the method of Lee with the motivation of assisting users to select makeup products. Wang ¶ 0003.
With respect to claim 2, Lee discloses
“further comprising: determining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a product that corresponds to the visual effect”; Lee ¶¶ 0020, 0022 (virtual makeup is applied to makeup user interface to display cosmetic effects); and
“generating, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a list of products that includes the product, each product in the list of products corresponding to at least one visual effect enabled to modify the user content”. Lee ¶ 0004 (selected products are listed in digital signature).
With respect to claim 3, Wang discloses
“further comprising: displaying, on at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the list of products, each product in the list of products being associated with respective product information comprising one of at least an identifier, pricing information, a rating, one or more reviews, image content, video content, audio content, or availability information”. Wang, fig. 11 (each product is shown with associated information, such as name and price).
With respect to claim 4, Wang discloses
“further comprising: determining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a plurality of classifications of products”; Wang ¶ 0034 (products can be classified in any manner, such as by type of product, such as lipstick, eyeshadow, etc. or by general appearance, such as pink or red);
“determining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, first visual effects of a first number of products included in a first classification of the plurality of classifications”; Wang ¶ 0034 (e.g., visual effects of different colored lipsticks); and
“determining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, second visual effects of a second number of products included in a second classification of the plurality of classifications”. Wang ¶ 0034 (e.g., visual effects of different types of products of the same color).
With respect to claim 5, Wang discloses
“further comprising: determining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a first number of visual effects options corresponding to the first visual effects, the first visual effects modifying a first appearance related to a first object”; Wang ¶ 0034 (e.g., lipstick modifies appearance of lips); and
“determining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a second number of visual effects options corresponding to the second visual effects, the second visual effects modifying a second appearance related to a second object that is different from the first object”. Wang ¶ 0034 (e.g., eyeshadow modifies appearance of eyes).
With respect to claim 6, Wang discloses
“wherein the first visual effects modify at least one of color, shade, brightness, shape, texture or size of a first facial feature and the second visual effects modify at least one of color, shade, brightness, shape, texture or size of a second facial feature”. Wang ¶ 0034 (e.g., lipstick modifies color of lips and eyeshadow modifies shade of area of face around eyes).
With respect to claim 7, Wang discloses
“wherein the first visual effects modify at least one of color, shade, brightness, shape, texture or size of a region proximate to a first facial feature and the second visual effects modify at least one of color, shade, brightness, shape, texture or size of a region proximate to a second facial feature”. Wang ¶ 0042 (e.g., lipstick modifies lips and blush modifies skin proximate to lips).
With respect to claim 11, Wang discloses
“wherein identifying the visual effect applied to the region that includes the at least one object comprises detecting facial features using one of at least a template matching technique, a neural network technique, or a Fisher linear discriminant technique, a maximal rejection classifier technique, a support vector machine technique, an edge filtering technique, an edge detection technique”. Wang ¶¶ 0034-0038 (visual effect is identified using standard techniques, such as edge detection).
With respect to claim 12, Wang discloses
“wherein implementing the first image analysis technique comprises implementing an object recognition technique, and wherein implementing the second image analysis technique comprises detecting features comprising one of at least edges, lighting changes, color changes, shape changes, or size changes”. Wang ¶¶ 0034-0038 (visual effect is identified using standard techniques, such as edge detection and color and size changes).
With respect to claim 14, Wang discloses
“wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media include additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising: determining a product that corresponds to the visual effect based on metadata related to the product data, the metadata being provided by a service provider that aggregates information corresponding to a number of products, by a manufacturer of one or more products, or by a seller of the one or more products”. Wang ¶ 0034 (metadata include labels applied to product, such as lipstick or eyeshadow and pink or red).
With respect to claim 18, Wang discloses
“wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media include additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising: displaying a first user interface of a client application associated with the one or more products, the first user interface including additional user content and a first number of visual effects options corresponding to a first classification of products; and displaying a second user interface of the client application, the second user interface including the additional user content and a second number of visual effects options corresponding to a second classification of products”. Wang ¶¶ 0034-0038 (multiple preview windows can be displayed showing the effects of different shades of lipsticks or the application of either lipstick or eyeshadow, etc.).
With respect to claim 19, Wang discloses
“wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media include additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising: modifying a first appearance of a first object included in the additional user content according to a first visual effect related to a first visual effects option included in the first number of visual effects options to produce a first modified version of the additional user content; and modifying a second appearance of a second object included in the additional user content according to a second visual effect related to a second visual effects option included in the second number of visual effects options to produce a second modified version of the additional user content”. Wang ¶¶ 0034-0038 (multiple preview windows can be displayed showing the effects of different shades of lipsticks or the application of either lipstick or eyeshadow, etc.).
Claims 8-10, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Wang as applied to claims 1-7, 11-14, and 17-19 above, and further in view of Merothiya, S., “Shaping the Future of Beauty Brands with Augmented Reality” Jun. 19, 2019 (https://www.srijan.net/resources/blog/shaping-future-beauty-brands-augmented-reality” (listed on applicant’s information disclosure statement filed March 7, 2024 in parent application 18/598,538) (hereinafter “Merothiya”).
With respect to claim 8, Lee and Wang do not explicitly disclose augmented reality. Merothiya discloses
“wherein: the first visual effects include a first visual effect that corresponds to first augmented reality content that applies the first visual effect in relation to the first object included in the user content; and the second visual effects include a second visual effect that corresponds to second augmented reality content that applies the second visual effect in relation to the second object included in the user content”. Merothiya, page 2 (e.g., Sephora allows user to try on combinations of different products using augmented reality).
Lee, Wang, and Merothiya relate to makeup selection. Lee, abstract; Wang, abstract; Merothiya, pages 1-2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the augmented reality feature as taught by Merothiya in the method of Lee/Wang with the motivation of assisting users to select makeup products online. Merothiya, pages 1-2.
With respect to claim 9, Merothiya discloses
“further comprising obtaining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, modified user content that includes the first visual effect applied in relation to the first object and the second visual effect applied in relation to the second object”. Merothiya, page 2 (e.g., Sephora includes visual effects relating to multiple products).
With respect to claim 10, Merothiya discloses
“further comprising: obtaining, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, a message that includes the modified version of the user content; and sending, by at least one computing device of the one or more computing devices, the message to a client device of a recipient of the message, the message being accessible via an instance of a client application executed by the client device of the recipient”. Merothiya, page 2 (modified content is sent to user device).
With respect to claim 15, Wang discloses
“wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media include additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising: determining a measure of similarity between the additional object included in the user content and the at least one object associated with the product”; Wang ¶¶ 0034, 0035 (e.g., closeness of shades of several different lipsticks); and
“determining that the additional object and the at least one object are similar based on determining that the measure of similarity is at least a threshold measure of similarity”. Wang ¶¶ 0034, 0035 (e.g., lipstick is determined to be close enough to a particular color to display for user to choose desired shade).
Merothiya discloses
“analyzing the user content using one or more image analysis techniques to determine an additional object included in the user content”; Merothiya, page 2 (“All of this is made possible by several significant developments around facial recognition, feature tracking and computer vision. These combine to create the advanced AR applications that almost all global beauty brands are currently investing in”); and
“implementing augmented reality content with respect to the additional object to apply the visual effect to at least one of the additional object or a region proximate to the additional object”. Merothiya, page 2 (augmented reality is implemented to display each object).
With respect to claim 16, Merothiya discloses
“wherein the one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media include additional computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform additional operations comprising: making social networking content that includes the modified version of the user content accessible to one or more contacts of a user of a client application associated with the one or more products”. Merothiya, page 3 (“Brands like L’Oreal are using AR to strengthen their digital platforms and engage with millennials and Gen-Z on social platforms of their choice. As a result of this digital engagement, L’Oreal reported 50% revenues from online product sales in certain markets.”)
With respect to claim 20, Merothiya discloses
“wherein: the first user interface includes a magnified version of a first portion of the additional user content that includes the first object; and the second user interface includes a magnified version of a second portion of the additional user content that includes the second object”. Merothiya, page 3 (Neutrogena or Clinique app allows user to view close up images of skin; close-ups are magnified).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent Number 12,400,256 B2 (hereinafter “Luo”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are anticipated by (and broader than) and therefore obvious over the claims of Luo.
Conclusion
ETHAN D. CIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3688
/ETHAN D CIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688