Detailed Action
This Office Action is made in reply to Application Serial Number 19/293,991 filed 07 August 2025. As originally filed, Claims 1 – 20 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 6, 8, and 10 – 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 6 and 16 - 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,413,816. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent Claim 1 of US Patent 12,413,816 falls entirely within the scope of Claim 1 of the instant application. Claim 1 of the instant application generally recites outputting of a subsequent segment of a content item based on determining that user preference indicates the subsequent segment is a type of content that the user does not want to skip. While the patented claim 1 recites specific steps in determining if the subsequent segment of a content item should be output or should be skipped. Therefore, claim 1 of the patent is narrower in scope than claim 1 of the instant application.
19/293,991
US Patent 12,413,816
1. A method comprising:
based on a trick play command to skip a current segment of a content item,
causing, by a computing device,
based on determining that the current segment of the content item is associated with a user preference to skip one or more types of content, and
based on determining that a subsequent segment of the content item is different from the one or more types of content,
output of the subsequent segment of the content item; and
outputting a message indicating automatic output of the subsequent segment.
1. A method comprising:
receiving a trick play command to skip a current segment of a content item;
receiving, by a computing device, information indicating a user preference regarding one or more types of content;
the information indicating the user preference regarding one or more types of content; and the trick play command;
information indicating a type of the subsequent segment;
causing output of a subsequent segment of the content item, wherein the causing is based on:
outputting a message indicating automatic output of the subsequent segment.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the current segment comprises a commercial scene.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the current segment comprises a commercial scene.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
causing trick play output of the current segment,
wherein the causing output of the subsequent segment of the content item comprises: causing output of the subsequent segment by aligning a boundary of the subsequent segment with an end of the trick play output of the current segment.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
causing trick play output of the current segment,
wherein the causing output of the subsequent segment of the content item comprises: causing output of the subsequent segment by aligning a boundary of the subsequent segment with an end of the trick play output of the current segment.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein a timing of the output of the message is based on a start time of the subsequent segment.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein a timing of the output of the message is based on a start time of the subsequent segment.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the user preference indicates that: the current segment of the content item is objectionable to a user, and the subsequent segment of the content item is not objectionable to the user.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the information indicating the user preference regarding one or more types of content indicates that the current segment of the content item is objectionable to a user, and that the subsequent segment of the content item is not objectionable to the user.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the message comprises an audio cue.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the message comprises an audio cue.
8. An apparatus comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:
based on a trick play command to skip a current segment of a content item,
cause, based on determining that the current segment of the content item is associated with a user preference to skip one or more types of content, and
based on determining that a subsequent segment of the content item is different from the one or more types of content,
output of the subsequent segment of the content item; and
output a message indicating automatic output of the subsequent segment.
16. An apparatus comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:
receive a trick play command to skip a current segment of a content item;
receive information indicating a user preference regarding one or more types of content; and the trick play command;
the information indicating the user preference regarding one or more types of content; and
information indicating a type of the subsequent segment;
cause output of a subsequent segment of the content item, wherein the causing is based on:
output a message indicating automatic output of the subsequent segment.
10. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:
cause trick play output of the current segment,
wherein the causing output of the subsequent segment of the content item comprises:
causing output of the subsequent segment by aligning a boundary of the subsequent segment with an end of the trick play output of the current segment.
17. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:
cause trick play output of the current segment,
wherein the causing output of the subsequent segment of the content item comprises:
causing output of the subsequent segment by aligning a boundary of the subsequent segment with an end of the trick play output of the current segment.
11. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein a timing of the output of the message is based on a start time of the subsequent segment.
18. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein a timing of the output of the message is based on a start time of the subsequent segment.
12. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the user preference indicates that:
the current segment of the content item is objectionable to a user, and
the subsequent segment of the content item is not objectionable to the user.
19. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the information indicating the user preference regarding one or more types of content indicates that
the current segment of the content item is objectionable to a user, and
that the subsequent segment of the content item is not objectionable to the user.
13. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the message comprises an audio cue
20. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the message comprises an audio cue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aarts, US Pub. 2006/0036783 A1 (hereinafter Aarts) [included in IDS received 07 August 2025] in view of Lin et al., US Pub. 2012/0059697 A1 (hereinafter Lin) [included in IDS received 07 August 2025].
In regards to Claim 1, Aarts discloses a method comprising:
based on a trick play command to skip a current segment of a content item, causing, by a computing device, based on determining that the current segment of the content item is associated with a user preference to skip one or more types of content, and based on determining that a subsequent segment of the content item is different from the one or more types of content, output of the subsequent segment of the content item (Aarts: [0068], where a fast forward button is provided which fast forwards through unwanted content; [0063], where user preference profile may be determined in response to previous user behavior, such that the system monitors when the user fast forwards through material and sets the user preference profile accordingly; [0032], where a user preference profile indicated user's preference for different kinds of content as determined by the user manually inputting a user preference value for each content category; [0034], where content is played back to the user at a determined presentation rate; [0048], where, as an example, a video apparatus will continuously determine if the current content is a normal TV program or an advert and use a real time playback rate for normal programs and a fast forward rate for adverts; [0060], where a user may fast forward or skip, using a fast forward button, through undesired music until the content indicator identifies a preferred music category which music style has been selected by the user as a preferred music style and tracks corresponding to undesired music categories are skipped and only music in the preferred category is played at a normal rate. Examiner notes that the "subsequent'' track or segment is determined to be either undesirable and is skipped or from a preferred category and is played; [0050], where a user may reverse or fast reverse through a video signal and content of interest may be automatically detected and presented in a real time forward rate; [0045], where content categories could include sport, adverts, game shows, news, previews and other; [0013], where content can be determined to be unwanted content or desired content). But Aarts fails to explicitly disclose outputting a message indicating automatic output of the subsequent segment.
Lin from a similar endeavor teaches outputting a message indicating automatic output of the subsequent segment (Lin: [0036], where a cue, which can be an image, sound, or tactile feedback notifies the viewer that a resume point is approaching which indicates the end of the advertisement block and the resumption of the non-advertisement content).
As viewers try to avoid watching ads, networks and local broadcasters are generating lower advertisement revenue per viewer as more viewers adopt ad-avoidance strategies, (Lin: [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aarts in view of Lin such that during a trick play to avoid unwanted content such as ads, as disclosed by Aarts (Aarts: [0068]), a cue is presented which indicates that non-advertisement content is approaching, (Lin: [0036]). This provides a more effective way to advertise during accelerated media playback, (Lin: [0020]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the current segment comprises a commercial scene (Lin: [0021], where accelerated playback occurs during an advertisement block).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
causing trick play output of the current segment (Lin: [0021], where accelerated playback occurs during an advertisement block),
wherein the causing output of the subsequent segment of the content item comprises:
causing output of the subsequent segment by aligning a boundary of the subsequent segment with an end of the trick play output of the current segment (Lin: [0036], where the user is notified of an approaching resume point. In a fast-forward operation, for example, the resume point is at the end of the advertisement block and before the resumption of the non-advertisement content).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a timing of the output of the message is based on a start time of the subsequent segment (Lin: [0036], where a cue notifies the viewer that a resume point is approaching or that the resume point has been reached).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user preference indicates that:
the current segment of the content item is objectionable to a user (Aarts: [0048], where the user may indicate their desire to fast forward or skip adverts; [0063], where the system will detect if a user typically fast forwards through adverts and if so will set the user preference profile such that adverts
will be automatically fast forwarded/skipped), and
the subsequent segment of the content item is not objectionable to the user (Aarts: [0048], where the user may indicate their desire to fast forward or skip adverts; [0063], where the system will detect if a user typically fast forwards through adverts and if so will set the user preference profile such that adverts
will be automatically fast forwarded/skipped).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the message comprises an audio cue (Lin: [0036], where a cue, which can be an image, sound, or tactile feedback notifies the viewer that a resume point is approaching which indicates the end of the advertisement block and the resumption of the non-advertisement content).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the causing output of the subsequent segment is further based on a type of the subsequent segment (Lin: Fig. 6 and [0052], where Fig. 6 indicates media consisting of a television 602, followed by advertisements 604 and 608, followed by the television show 612, where the television show and advertisements are different types of segments).
In regards to Claim 8, Aarts discloses an apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (Aarts: Fig. 2, [0038] and [0045], content analysis processor 207 and user preference profile processor 209); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Aarts: Fig. 2 and [0038], where memory 205 is connected to a content analysis processor 207), cause the apparatus to:
based on a trick play command to skip a current segment of a content item, cause, based on determining that the current segment of the content item is associated with a user preference to skip one or more types of content, and based on determining that a subsequent segment of the content item is different from the one or more types of content, output of the subsequent segment of the content item (Aarts: [0068], where a fast forward button is provided which fast forwards through unwanted content; [0063], where user preference profile may be determined in response to previous user behavior, such that the system monitors when the user fast forwards through material and sets the user preference profile accordingly; [0032], where a user preference profile indicated user's preference for different kinds of content as determined by the user manually inputting a user preference value for each content category; [0034], where content is played back to the user at a determined presentation rate; [0048], where, as an example, a video apparatus will continuously determine if the current content is a normal TV program or an advert and use a real time playback rate for normal programs and a fast forward rate for adverts; [0060], where a user may fast forward or skip, using a fast forward button, through undesired music until the content indicator identifies a preferred music category which music style has been selected by the user as a preferred music style and tracks corresponding to undesired music categories are skipped and only music in the preferred category is played at a normal rate. Examiner notes that the "subsequent'' track or segment is determined to be either undesirable and is skipped or from a preferred category and is played; [0050], where a user may reverse or fast reverse through a video signal and content of interest may be automatically detected and presented in a real time forward rate; [0045], where content categories could include sport, adverts, game shows, news, previews and other; [0013], where content can be determined to be unwanted content or desired content). But Aarts fails to explicitly disclose output a message indicating automatic output of the subsequent segment.
Lin from a similar endeavor teaches output a message indicating automatic output of the subsequent segment (Lin: [0036], where a cue, which can be an image, sound, or tactile feedback notifies the viewer that a resume point is approaching which indicates the end of the advertisement block and the resumption of the non-advertisement content).
As viewers try to avoid watching ads, networks and local broadcasters are generating lower advertisement revenue per viewer as more viewers adopt ad-avoidance strategies, (Lin: [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aarts in view of Lin such that during a trick play to avoid unwanted content such as ads, as disclosed by Aarts (Aarts: [0068]), a cue is presented which indicates that non-advertisement content is approaching, (Lin: [0036]). This provides a more effective way to advertise during accelerated media playback, (Lin: [0020]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the current segment comprises a commercial scene (Lin: [0021], where accelerated playback occurs during an advertisement block).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to:
cause trick play output of the current segment (Lin: [0021], where accelerated playback occurs during an advertisement block),
wherein the causing output of the subsequent segment of the content item comprises:
causing output of the subsequent segment by aligning a boundary of the subsequent segment with an end of the trick play output of the current segment (Lin: [0036], where the user is notified of an approaching resume point. In a fast-forward operation, for example, the resume point is at the end of the advertisement block and before the resumption of the non-advertisement content).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein a timing of the output of the message is based on a start time of the subsequent segment (Lin: [0036], where a cue notifies the viewer that a resume point is approaching or that the resume point has been reached).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the user preference indicates that:
the current segment of the content item is objectionable to a user (Aarts: [0048], where the user may indicate their desire to fast forward or skip adverts; [0063], where the system will detect if a user typically fast forwards through adverts and if so will set the user preference profile such that adverts
will be automatically fast forwarded/skipped), and
the subsequent segment of the content item is not objectionable to the user (Aarts: [0048], where the user may indicate their desire to fast forward or skip adverts; [0063], where the system will detect if a user typically fast forwards through adverts and if so will set the user preference profile such that adverts
will be automatically fast forwarded/skipped).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the message comprises an audio cue (Lin: [0036], where a cue, which can be an image, sound, or tactile feedback notifies the viewer that a resume point is approaching which indicates the end of the advertisement block and the resumption of the non-advertisement content).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to cause output of the subsequent segment further based on a type of the subsequent segment (Lin: Fig. 6 and [0052], where Fig. 6 indicates media consisting of a television 602, followed by advertisements 604 and 608, followed by the television show 612, where the television show and advertisements are different types of segments).
In regards to Claim 15, Aarts discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions (Aarts: Fig. 2 and [0038], where memory 205 is connected to a content analysis processor 207, Fig. 2, [0038] and [0045], content analysis processor 207 and user preference profile processor 209) that, when executed, cause:
based on a trick play command to skip a current segment of a content item, causing, by a computing device, based on determining that the current segment of the content item is associated with a user preference to skip one or more types of content, and based on determining that a subsequent segment of the content item is different from the one or more types of content, output of the subsequent segment of the content item (Aarts: [0068], where a fast forward button is provided which fast forwards through unwanted content; [0063], where user preference profile may be determined in response to previous user behavior, such that the system monitors when the user fast forwards through material and sets the user preference profile accordingly; [0032], where a user preference profile indicated user's preference for different kinds of content as determined by the user manually inputting a user preference value for each content category; [0034], where content is played back to the user at a determined presentation rate; [0048], where, as an example, a video apparatus will continuously determine if the current content is a normal TV program or an advert and use a real time playback rate for normal programs and a fast forward rate for adverts; [0060], where a user may fast forward or skip, using a fast forward button, through undesired music until the content indicator identifies a preferred music category which music style has been selected by the user as a preferred music style and tracks corresponding to undesired music categories are skipped and only music in the preferred category is played at a normal rate. Examiner notes that the "subsequent'' track or segment is determined to be either undesirable and is skipped or from a preferred category and is played; [0050], where a user may reverse or fast reverse through a video signal and content of interest may be automatically detected and presented in a real time forward rate; [0045], where content categories could include sport, adverts, game shows, news, previews and other; [0013], where content can be determined to be unwanted content or desired content). But Aarts fails to explicitly disclose outputting a message indicating automatic output of the subsequent segment.
Lin from a similar endeavor teaches outputting a message indicating automatic output of the subsequent segment (Lin: [0036], where a cue, which can be an image, sound, or tactile feedback notifies the viewer that a resume point is approaching which indicates the end of the advertisement block and the resumption of the non-advertisement content).
As viewers try to avoid watching ads, networks and local broadcasters are generating lower advertisement revenue per viewer as more viewers adopt ad-avoidance strategies, (Lin: [0008]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aarts in view of Lin such that during a trick play to avoid unwanted content such as ads, as disclosed by Aarts (Aarts: [0068]), a cue is presented which indicates that non-advertisement content is approaching, (Lin: [0036]). This provides a more effective way to advertise during accelerated media playback, (Lin: [0020]).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the current segment comprises a commercial scene (Lin: [0021], where accelerated playback occurs during an advertisement block).
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause:
causing trick play output of the current segment (Lin: [0021], where accelerated playback occurs during an advertisement block),
wherein the causing output of the subsequent segment of the content item comprises:
causing output of the subsequent segment by aligning a boundary of the subsequent segment with an end of the trick play output of the current segment (Lin: [0036], where the user is notified of an approaching resume point. In a fast-forward operation, for example, the resume point is at the end of the advertisement block and before the resumption of the non-advertisement content).
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein a timing of the output of the message is based on a start time of the subsequent segment (Lin: [0036], where a cue notifies the viewer that a resume point is approaching or that the resume point has been reached).
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the user preference indicates that:
the current segment of the content item is objectionable to a user (Aarts: [0048], where the user may indicate their desire to fast forward or skip adverts; [0063], where the system will detect if a user typically fast forwards through adverts and if so will set the user preference profile such that adverts will be automatically fast forwarded/skipped), and
the subsequent segment of the content item is not objectionable to the user (Aarts: [0048], where the user may indicate their desire to fast forward or skip adverts; [0063], where the system will detect if a user typically fast forwards through adverts and if so will set the user preference profile such that adverts will be automatically fast forwarded/skipped).
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teaching of Aarts and Lin discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the message comprises an audio cue (Lin: [0036], where a cue, which can be an image, sound, or tactile feedback notifies the viewer that a resume point is approaching which indicates the end of the advertisement block and the resumption of the non-advertisement content).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ganuthula, US Pub. 2021/0321168 A1 teaches a video analyzer resource producing metadata classifying different segments of content in the multiple episodes. Based on the metadata, segments are identified in the second episode of the video that are potentially skipped during playback of the second episode to a user following playback of the first episode of the video to the user, ([0006]).
S. Pham, C. Krauss, D. Silhavy and S. Arbanowski, "Personalized dynamic ad insertion with MPEG DASH," 2016 Asia Pacific Conference on Multimedia and Broadcasting (APMediaCast), Bali, Indonesia, 2016, pp. 1-6, doi: 10.1109/APMediaCast.2016.7878162, teach that after an ad is finished the client resumes the playback of the main content, (p. 4).
/CYNTHIA M FOGG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421