DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No.US 12406285. The instant claims are anticipated by the claims of the parent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jonnalagadda et al. (US 2021/0201144) in view of Kearney (US 20190272467)
Claim 1: Jonnalagadda discloses a method for fine tuning a machine learning model, the method being executed by a processor configured for:
receiving multi-dimensional data comprising account data, recipient data, and seller data from one or more data sources; ([0020] Further, systems and methods for an automated buying assistant are provided. Such systems and methods generate at least one message to request information regarding requirements from a buyer. Once a response is received, the response is classified to extract requirements. The system generates at least one message to request information regarding product availability from a seller. A seller response is received, and is classified to extract availability information. [0069], The messaging server 108 may distribute the generated messages to the various message delivery platforms 112 for delivery to the individual recipients)
processing the multi-dimensional data via a processing module executed by the processor to extract one or more features ( [0070] One or more data sources 110 may be available to the messaging server 108 to provide user specific information, message template data, knowledge sets, intents, and target information. These data sources may be internal sources for the system's utilization or may include external third-party data sources (such as business information belonging to a customer for whom the conversation is being generated). )
generating a dynamic feature hierarchy based on the one or more features by executing a feature ranking module, wherein generating the dynamic feature hierarchy comprises: evaluating the one or more features by computing correlation coefficients, using a correlation analysis algorithm, between the one or more features and a desired outcome; assigning a feature importance score to each of the one or more features based on the computed correlation coefficients; [0087] Returning to FIG. 4A, after the actions have been determined, a message builder 450 incorporates the actions into a message template obtained from a template database 408 (when appropriate). Dynamic message building design depends on ‘message building’ rules in order to compose an outbound document. A rules child class is built to gather applicable phrase components for an outbound message. Applicable phrases depend on target variables and target state. FIG. 4D provides an example of this message builder 450, which is presented in greater detail. The message builder 450 receives output from the earlier components and performs its own processing to arrive at the final outgoing message. The message builder 450 may include a hierarchical conversation library 451 for storing all the conversation components for building a coherent message. The hierarchical conversation library 451 may be a large curated library, organized and utilizing multiple inheritance along a number of axes: organizational levels, access-levels (rep->group->customer->public). The hierarchical conversation library 451 leverages sophisticated library management mechanisms, involving a rating system based on achievement of specific conversation objectives, gamification via contribution rewards, and easy searching of conversation libraries based on a clear taxonomy of conversations and conversation trees. (also see [0144])
and
generating the dynamic feature hierarchy based on the feature importance score; ([0145] Returning to FIG. 16, the template is then populated with phrase selections (at 1630). Sequence to sequence networks and transformer networks may be employed to augment the phrases in a dynamically generated message. Additionally or alternatively, reinforced learning algorithms may be employed for phrase selection (at 1640), and unscripted messages may be generated using mimic rephrasing (at 1650). Population of the variable fields includes replacement of facts and entity fields from the conversation library based upon an inheritance hierarchy. The conversation library is curated and includes specific rules for inheritance along organization levels and degree of access. This results in the insertion of customer/industry specific values at specific place in the outgoing messages, as well as employing different lexica or jargon for different industries or clients. Wording and structure may also be influenced by defined conversation objectives and/or specific data or properties of the specific target) but does not explicitly disclose
fine-tuning a pre-trained machine learning model using the dynamic feature hierarchy, wherein the fine-tuning is performed, by a model tuning module, based on the feature importance scores of the one or more features in the dynamic feature hierarchy, wherein the model tuning module uses an iterative approach to adjust learning rates of the machine learning model by dynamically increasing a learning rate for the one or more features with higher feature importance scores and decreasing the learning rate for the one or more features with lower feature importance scores. However Kearny discloses fine-tuning a pre-trained machine learning model using the dynamic feature hierarchy, wherein the fine-tuning is performed, by a model tuning module, based on the feature importance scores of the one or more features in the dynamic feature hierarchy, wherein the model tuning module uses an iterative approach to adjust learning rates of the machine learning model by dynamically increasing a learning rate for the one or more features with higher feature importance scores and decreasing the learning rate for the one or more features with lower feature importance scores.( [0004] While most applications of (RL) have a single scalar step-size for all features, in some applications, it would may be beneficial to have a unique step-size for each individual feature that is used to represent a state. The importance of different features may change over time and some features may convey more information than others; having unique step-sizes for each feature may, in some scenarios, address these problems. While having a step-size for each input can be powerful, it also introduces greater complexity in selecting parameter initialization. [0043] IDBD adapts step-sizes by performing meta-gradient descent over a set of meta-weights β which are used to specify the step-size α. This is done online and incrementally. As shown in Algorithm 1, the meta-weights β are updated—as shown on line 5—by θxh, where θ is a positive constant meta step-size, x is the current observation, and h (update on line 8) is a trace of recent weight updates. This has the effect of updating β based on the correlation of weight updates.
[0044] If the weight updates are very correlated for a given feature, then it means that that feature is pertinent to a given prediction problem, and that it should have a larger step-size. In addition, it would have been a more efficient use of data to make one large update, rather than many smaller updates—justifying the use of a larger step-size. [0045] On each time-step, the step-size vector α is defined by taking the exponential of the meta-weights β (line 6). By taking an exponential, the step-sizes are guaranteed to always be positive. In addition, by taking the exponential of our weights, when the architecture takes fixed steps in our weights, it is actually taking geometric steps in α. This can, in some instances, be beneficial, as is moving by a fraction of its current value, enabling some weights to remain very small while others become large. [0111] In previous work, step-size adaptation acts as feature learning: features relevant to a given prediction problem the step-sizes would increase and how for features which were irrelevant to a given problem the step-size values would shrink (Kearney et al.). On a per-feature basis, the step-sizes are providing information which describes how relevant that feature is to the prediction being made)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, Jonnalagadda to include fine-tuning a pre-trained machine learning model using the dynamic feature hierarchy, wherein the fine-tuning is performed, by a model tuning module, based on the feature importance scores of the one or more features in the dynamic feature hierarchy, wherein the model tuning module uses an iterative approach to adjust learning rates of the machine learning model by dynamically increasing a learning rate for the one or more features with higher feature importance scores and decreasing the learning rate for the one or more features with lower feature importance scores, in order to make more efficient use of the training data. ([0044], Kearney)
Claim 2: Jonnalagadda discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising generating one or more email strategies for a recipient by using the fine-tuned machine learning model, wherein the fine-tuned machine learning model is used to generate one or more of personalized content, timing, and format recommendations for each of the one or more email strategies. [0066]
Claim 3: Jonnalagadda discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising selecting an email strategy from the one or more email strategies by executing a strategy selection algorithm that scores and ranks the one or more email strategies based on one or more factors including engagement potential, relevance, outreach appropriateness, and saliency. [0023]
Claim 4: Jonnalagadda discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising generating a personalised email corresponding to the selected email strategy. [0148]
Claim 5: Jonnalagadda discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising :
monitoring, in real time, to track the recipient's interactions with the personalized email sent to the recipient; [0069, 0084]
receiving, based on the monitoring the recipient's interactions, interaction data, wherein the interaction data includes at least one of: email open, click through events on links within the personalised email, and time spent on the personalised email; [0071]
continuously refining the dynamic feature hierarchy based on the received interaction data; [0154] and
Kearney further teaches
fine-tuning the pre-trained machine learning model based on the refined dynamic feature hierarchy. [0004] and [0044]
Combined under the same rationale as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Manikandan et al. (US 2020/0065835) - A method and apparatus for generating and/or using a customer frustration score are disclosed. In one embodiment, the method comprises generating a customer frustration index for a customer; and performing one or more operations based on the customer frustration index.
/D.A.P/Examiner, Art Unit 3622
/ILANA L SPAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3622