Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Applicants did not elect with or without traverse.
Claims 1-3, 12-13, 18-25, 28-29, and 37-39 are Group I.
Claims 25, 28-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/19/2025.
Examiner called Applicants on February 3, 2026 (see the interview summary) in order to correct Claim 7’s informality (Claim 7 had two status identifiers (canceled and previously presented)). Applicants corrected this issue in the claims of 02/05/2026.
Current Status of 19/294,542
The claims of 02/05/2026 were used in this Office Action.
Claims 1-3, 12-13, 18-25, 28-29, and 37-39 are examined on the merits.
Priority
This application is a continuation of application 19/273,213 and claims priority to US provisional applications 63/717,634, 63/675,648, and 63/673,607. There is also a PCT/US25/38265 application.
The instant claims find support from 63/673,607. Therefore, the effective filing is 07/19/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 12/22/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Papierzewska (Papierzewska et al., “Safety of Janus Kinase inhibitors in Patients with Alopecia Areata: A Systematic Review”, Clinical Drug Investigation, May 3, 2023).
Papierzewska anticipates a pharmaceutical composition of Deuruxolitinib, which is administered to human patients to treat Alopecia areata (abstract and results). Deuruxolitinib is the instant compound (I) of claim 1. Papierzewska teaches that Deuruxolitinib is a JAK inhibitor (abstract) and used to treat patients with alopecia areata (page 332).
The phrase “prescribing information for the use of said composition for the treatment of a JAK-inhibition-responsive condition” constitutes nonfunctional printed matter; nonfunctional printed matter does not distinguish claimed product from prior art. Where the only difference between a prior art product and a claimed product is printed matter that is not functionally related to the product, the content of the printed matter will not distinguish the claimed product from the prior art. See MPEP 2112.01(III). This anticipates claim 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-3, 12-13, 20-24 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (Zhao et al., “Co-Administration with Voriconazole Doubles the Exposure of Ruxolitinib in Patients with Hematological Malignancies, Drug Design, Development and Therapy, March 25, 2022), Papierzewska (Papierzewska et al., “Safety of Janus Kinase inhibitors in Patients with Alopecia Areata: A Systematic Review”, Clinical Drug Investigation, May 3, 2023), as evidenced by Chaundary (Chaundary et al., “LC-MS/MS: a powerful tool for modern analytical science: Fundamentals, techniques, applications, and innovations”, Journal of Liquid Chromatography and Related Technologies, April 16, 2025), and in view of KUSHNER (Kushner et al., “Pharmacological uses and perspectives of heavy water and deuterated compounds”, Can J Physio Pharmacol. Feb 1999).
Zhao teaches a method of treating a JAK inhibition responsive condition in a subject (Graft-versus-host disease is responsive to a treatment of JAK inhibitors; Abstract).
Zhao teaches co-administering (title) ruxolitinib (JAK inhibitor) and voriconazole (which can inhibit CYP2C9 weakly; page 818).
Zhao teaches drug–drug interaction (DDI) may occur between them because Ruxolitinib metabolic pathways overlap with voriconazole and can be inhibited by voriconazole, including cytochrome P450 (CYP) isozymes 3A4 and 2C9 (background). This helps teach claim 22.
Zhao teaches that subjects receiving CYP2C9 inhibitor displayed increased Cmax and half life for JAK inhibitor, Ruxolitnib (page 821). This helps teach why an artisan would stop one medication before starting another (helps teach claim 1). Zhao also teaches that higher dose of Ruxolitinib have higher incidents of adverse events whereas the 5mg dosage of Ruxolitinib was not reported to have adverse events (pages 821 and 823).
Zhao also teaches that the maximum plasma concentration (Cmax), area under the curve from time zero to last (AUClast), and AUC from time zero to infinity (AUCinf) of plasma concentration-time are increased significantly when ruxolitinib was coadministered with fluconazole, a moderate CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 dual inhibitor, compared with ruxolitinib alone (page 818). This helps teach claims 20-22.
Zhao teaches that the CYP2C9 inhibitor is determined to be in the blood (page 819 sample collection) by chromatography (specifically LC-MS/MS, Liquid Chromatography-Tandem Mass Spectrometry method; page 819 Drug Concentration detection). This teaches claim 38.
Chaudhary is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that LC-MS/MS is a high performance liquid chromatography, offering exceptional sensitivity, specificity, and the ability to detect multiple analytes simultaneously (abstract). This teaches claim 39.
Zhao (Figure 2 and page 819) as evidenced by Chaudhary teaches that drug amount and drug identity (via mass spectrometry). This helps teach claims 23-24.
Zhao does not disclose discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor (in this case voriconazole) and does not teach administering the instantly claimed compound I (which is a deuterated version of Zhao’s Ruxolitinib).
Papierzewska teaches a pharmaceutical composition of Deuruxolitinib, which is administered to human patients to treat Alopecia areata, which is a JAK inhibitor responsive condition (abstract and results). Deuruxolitinib is the instant compound (I) of claim 1. Papierzewska teaches that Deuruxolitinib is a JAK inhibitor (abstract) and used to treat patients with alopecia areata (page 332). Other JAK inhibitors are also known to treat Alopecia areata (table 1). This helps teach claims 1 and 12-13.
Papierzewska does not teach discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor.
KUSHNER teaches advantages of deuterated compounds: Most deuterated compounds are more resistant to metabolic changes, especially those changes mediated by cytochrome P450 (CYP) systems. Deuteration may also change the pathway of drug metabolism (metabolic switching). Changed metabolism may lead to increased duration of action and lower toxicity (abstract).
An artisan would have been motivated to have discontinued the treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor (voriconazole) and administer an effective amount of Ruxolitinib to the subject. The artisan would have been expected to avoid known adverse events associated with high dose of Ruxolitinib (Zhao pages 821 and 823). This helps teach claim 1.
The artisan would have been further motivated to use a deuterated compound in Zhao’s method of treating a JAK inhibition responsive condition (abstract) in order to use the benefits taught by Kushner (such as increased duration of action and lower toxicity; Abstract). Additionally, the artisan would have been motivated to substitute Deuruxolitinib for Ruxolitinib. The artisan would have expected Deuruxolitinib (the deuterated version of Zhao’s Ruxolitinib) to be effective as both compounds are JAK inhibitors (Papierzewska abstract; Zhao page 821). This teaches claim 1.
The artisan would have been motivated, in a course of normal dose tailoring, to select a time interval effective to provide the patient with an effective level of Deuruxolitinib. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there Is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”. Neither the specification nor the claims indicate the administration time is critical. This teaches claims 2-3.
The artisan would expect that a pharmaceutical composition of Deuruxolitinib would be effective in treating Alopecia areata after discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor. The artisan would expect that because Alopecia areata is a JAK inhibitor responsive condition and Deuruxolitinib by itself is known to be effective in treating Alopecia areata (Papierzewska abstract and results). This teaches claims 12-13.
Furthermore, the artisan would have been motivated to discontinue any CYP2C9 inhibitor, including a strong, moderate, or weak CYP2C9 inhibitor. The artisan would have been expected to avoid known adverse events associated with high dose of Ruxolitinib (Zhao pages 821 and 823) especially since a moderate CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 dual inhibitor (fluconazole) impacted the pharmacokinetics of ruxolitinib so greatly (Zhao page 818). In order to avoid any drug-drug interactions, the artisan would be motivated to discontinue any CYP2C9 inhibitor. This teaches claims 20-22.
Because the purpose of LC-MS/MS is to identify both the drug amount and drug identity, the artisan would be expected when using Zhao’s LC-MS/MS to do both of these actions in order to determine if the exogenous CYP2C9 is a strong or moderate CYP2C9 inhibitor based on the identity of the compound (Zhao Figure 2 and page 819 as evidenced by Chaudhary abstract). This teaches claims 23-24.
Claim(s) 1, 12-13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (Zhao et al., “Co-Administration with Voriconazole Doubles the Exposure of Ruxolitinib in Patients with Hematological Malignancies, Drug Design, Development and Therapy, March 25, 2022), Papierzewska (Papierzewska et al., “Safety of Janus Kinase inhibitors in Patients with Alopecia Areata: A Systematic Review”, Clinical Drug Investigation, May 3, 2023), Kushner (Kushner et al., “Pharmacological uses and perspectives of heavy water and deuterated compounds”, Can J Physio Pharmacol. Feb 1999) in view of KING (King et al., “Phase 2 Randomized, dose-ranging trial of CTP-542, a selective Janus Kinase inhibitor, in moderate-to-severe alopecia areata” J Am Aca Dermatol, March 29, 2022).
Claims 1 and 12-13 are taught above.
Papierzewska confirms that CTP-543 (from King below) is Deuruxolitinib (table 1).
King teaches that Deuruxolitinib (referred to as CTP-543) is administered in a dosage from 8mg to 24 mg a day (4 mg, 8 mg, or 12 mg doses given twice a day) (methods).
The artisan would be motivated and expected to use a known dosage range in order to administer the same drug (Deuruxolitinib) for the same disease (alopecia areata). This teaches claims 18 and 19.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/273,213 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2-3, 12-13, 20-24 and 38-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 159 of copending Application No. 18/910,606 in view of Zhao (Zhao et al., “Co-Administration with Voriconazole Doubles the Exposure of Ruxolitinib in Patients with Hematological Malignancies, Drug Design, Development and Therapy, March 25, 2022), Papierzewska (Papierzewska et al., “Safety of Janus Kinase inhibitors in Patients with Alopecia Areata: A Systematic Review”, Clinical Drug Investigation, May 3, 2023), as evidenced by Chaundary (Chaundary et al., “LC-MS/MS: a powerful tool for modern analytical science: Fundamentals, techniques, applications, and innovations”, Journal of Liquid Chromatography and Related Technologies, April 16, 2025), and in view of KUSHNER (Kushner et al., “Pharmacological uses and perspectives of heavy water and deuterated compounds”, Can J Physio Pharmacol. Feb 1999).
The reference application teaches compound (I), the same as instant compound (I), used to treat alopecia areata in a subject (ref claim 159).
Zhao teaches a method of treating a JAK inhibition responsive condition in a subject (Graft-versus-host disease is responsive to a treatment of JAK inhibitors; Abstract).
Zhao teaches co-administering (title) ruxolitinib (JAK inhibitor) and voriconazole (which can inhibit CYP2C9 weakly; page 818).
Zhao teaches drug–drug interaction (DDI) may occur between them because Ruxolitinib metabolic pathways overlap with voriconazole and can be inhibited by voriconazole, including cytochrome P450 (CYP) isozymes 3A4 and 2C9 (background). This helps teach claim 22.
Zhao teaches that subjects receiving CYP2C9 inhibitor displayed increased Cmax and half life for JAK inhibitor, Ruxolitnib (page 821). This helps teach why an artisan would stop one medication before starting another (helps teach claim 1). Zhao also teaches that higher dose of Ruxolitinib have higher incidents of adverse events whereas the 5mg dosage of Ruxolitinib was not reported to have adverse events (pages 821 and 823).
Zhao also teaches that the maximum plasma concentration (Cmax), area under the curve from time zero to last (AUClast), and AUC from time zero to infinity (AUCinf) of plasma concentration-time are increased significantly when ruxolitinib was coadministered with fluconazole, a moderate CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 dual inhibitor, compared with ruxolitinib alone (page 818). This helps teach claims 20-22.
Zhao teaches that the CYP2C9 inhibitor is determined to be in the blood (page 819 sample collection) by chromatography (specifically LC-MS/MS, Liquid Chromatography-Tandem Mass Spectrometry method; page 819 Drug Concentration detection). This teaches claim 38.
Chaudhary is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that LC-MS/MS is a high performance liquid chromatography, offering exceptional sensitivity, specificity, and the ability to detect multiple analytes simultaneously (abstract). This teaches claim 39.
Zhao (Figure 2 and page 819) as evidenced by Chaudhary teaches that drug amount and drug identity (via mass spectrometry). This helps teach claims 23-24.
Zhao does not disclose discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor (in this case voriconazole) and does not teach administering the instantly claimed compound I (which is a deuterated version of Zhao’s Ruxolitinib).
Papierzewska teaches a pharmaceutical composition of Deuruxolitinib, which is administered to human patients to treat Alopecia areata, which is a JAK inhibitor responsive condition (abstract and results). Deuruxolitinib is the instant compound (I) of claim 1. Papierzewska teaches that Deuruxolitinib is a JAK inhibitor (abstract) and used to treat patients with alopecia areata (page 332). Other JAK inhibitors are also known to treat Alopecia areata (table 1). This helps teach claims 1 and 12-13.
Papierzewska does not teach discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor.
KUSHNER teaches advantages of deuterated compounds: Most deuterated compounds are more resistant to metabolic changes, especially those changes mediated by cytochrome P450 (CYP) systems. Deuteration may also change the pathway of drug metabolism (metabolic switching). Changed metabolism may lead to increased duration of action and lower toxicity (abstract).
An artisan would have been motivated to have discontinued the treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor (voriconazole) and administer an effective amount of Ruxolitinib to the subject. The artisan would have been expected to avoid known adverse events associated with high dose of Ruxolitinib (Zhao pages 821 and 823). This helps teach claim 1.
The artisan would have been further motivated to use a deuterated compound in Zhao’s method of treating a JAK inhibition responsive condition (abstract) in order to use the benefits taught by Kushner (such as increased duration of action and lower toxicity; Abstract). Additionally, the artisan would have been motivated to substitute Deuruxolitinib (the same as ref compound (I) from application 18/910,606) for Ruxolitinib. The artisan would have expected Deuruxolitinib (the deuterated version of Zhao’s Ruxolitinib) to be effective as both compounds are JAK inhibitors (Papierzewska abstract; Zhao page 821). This teaches claim 1.
The artisan would have been motivated, in a course of normal dose tailoring, to select a time interval effective to provide the patient with an effective level of Deuruxolitinib. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there Is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”. Neither the specification nor the claims indicate the administration time is critical. This teaches claims 2-3.
The artisan would expect that a pharmaceutical composition of Deuruxolitinib would be effective in treating Alopecia areata after discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor. The artisan would expect that because Alopecia areata is a JAK inhibitor responsive condition and Deuruxolitinib by itself is known to be effective in treating Alopecia areata (Papierzewska abstract and results). This teaches claims 12-13.
Furthermore, the artisan would have been motivated to discontinue any CYP2C9 inhibitor, including a strong, moderate, or weak CYP2C9 inhibitor. The artisan would have been expected to avoid known adverse events associated with high dose of Ruxolitinib (Zhao pages 821 and 823) especially since a moderate CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 dual inhibitor (fluconazole) impacted the pharmacokinetics of ruxolitinib so greatly (Zhao page 818). In order to avoid any drug-drug interactions, the artisan would be motivated to discontinue any CYP2C9 inhibitor. This teaches claims 20-22.
Because the purpose of LC-MS/MS is to identify both the drug amount and drug identity, the artisan would be expected when using Zhao’s LC-MS/MS to do both of these actions in order to determine if the exogenous CYP2C9 is a strong or moderate CYP2C9 inhibitor based on the identity of the compound (Zhao Figure 2 and page 819 as evidenced by Chaudhary abstract). This teaches claims 23-24.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2-3, 12-13, 20-24 and 38-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 159 of US Patent 12285432 in view of Zhao (Zhao et al., “Co-Administration with Voriconazole Doubles the Exposure of Ruxolitinib in Patients with Hematological Malignancies, Drug Design, Development and Therapy, March 25, 2022), Papierzewska (Papierzewska et al., “Safety of Janus Kinase inhibitors in Patients with Alopecia Areata: A Systematic Review”, Clinical Drug Investigation, May 3, 2023), as evidenced by Chaundary (Chaundary et al., “LC-MS/MS: a powerful tool for modern analytical science: Fundamentals, techniques, applications, and innovations”, Journal of Liquid Chromatography and Related Technologies, April 16, 2025), and in view of KUSHNER (Kushner et al., “Pharmacological uses and perspectives of heavy water and deuterated compounds”, Can J Physio Pharmacol. Feb 1999).
The reference application teaches compound (I), the same as instant compound (I), used to treat alopecia areata in a subject (ref claim 1). The instant claims use the open-ended language of “comprising”, which can include the additional agent included in the ref claim 1.
Zhao teaches a method of treating a JAK inhibition responsive condition in a subject (Graft-versus-host disease is responsive to a treatment of JAK inhibitors; Abstract).
Zhao teaches co-administering (title) ruxolitinib (JAK inhibitor) and voriconazole (which can inhibit CYP2C9 weakly; page 818).
Zhao teaches drug–drug interaction (DDI) may occur between them because Ruxolitinib metabolic pathways overlap with voriconazole and can be inhibited by voriconazole, including cytochrome P450 (CYP) isozymes 3A4 and 2C9 (background). This helps teach claim 22.
Zhao teaches that subjects receiving CYP2C9 inhibitor displayed increased Cmax and half life for JAK inhibitor, Ruxolitnib (page 821). This helps teach why an artisan would stop one medication before starting another (helps teach claim 1). Zhao also teaches that higher dose of Ruxolitinib have higher incidents of adverse events whereas the 5mg dosage of Ruxolitinib was not reported to have adverse events (pages 821 and 823).
Zhao also teaches that the maximum plasma concentration (Cmax), area under the curve from time zero to last (AUClast), and AUC from time zero to infinity (AUCinf) of plasma concentration-time are increased significantly when ruxolitinib was coadministered with fluconazole, a moderate CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 dual inhibitor, compared with ruxolitinib alone (page 818). This helps teach claims 20-22.
Zhao teaches that the CYP2C9 inhibitor is determined to be in the blood (page 819 sample collection) by chromatography (specifically LC-MS/MS, Liquid Chromatography-Tandem Mass Spectrometry method; page 819 Drug Concentration detection). This teaches claim 38.
Chaudhary is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that LC-MS/MS is a high performance liquid chromatography, offering exceptional sensitivity, specificity, and the ability to detect multiple analytes simultaneously (abstract). This teaches claim 39.
Zhao (Figure 2 and page 819) as evidenced by Chaudhary teaches that drug amount and drug identity (via mass spectrometry). This helps teach claims 23-24.
Zhao does not disclose discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor (in this case voriconazole) and does not teach administering the instantly claimed compound I (which is a deuterated version of Zhao’s Ruxolitinib).
Papierzewska teaches a pharmaceutical composition of Deuruxolitinib, which is administered to human patients to treat Alopecia areata, which is a JAK inhibitor responsive condition (abstract and results). Deuruxolitinib is the instant compound (I) of claim 1. Papierzewska teaches that Deuruxolitinib is a JAK inhibitor (abstract) and used to treat patients with alopecia areata (page 332). Other JAK inhibitors are also known to treat Alopecia areata (table 1). This helps teach claims 1 and 12-13.
Papierzewska does not teach discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor.
KUSHNER teaches advantages of deuterated compounds: Most deuterated compounds are more resistant to metabolic changes, especially those changes mediated by cytochrome P450 (CYP) systems. Deuteration may also change the pathway of drug metabolism (metabolic switching). Changed metabolism may lead to increased duration of action and lower toxicity (abstract).
An artisan would have been motivated to have discontinued the treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor (voriconazole) and administer an effective amount of Ruxolitinib to the subject. The artisan would have been expected to avoid known adverse events associated with high dose of Ruxolitinib (Zhao pages 821 and 823). This helps teach claim 1.
The artisan would have been further motivated to use a deuterated compound in Zhao’s method of treating a JAK inhibition responsive condition (abstract) in order to use the benefits taught by Kushner (such as increased duration of action and lower toxicity; Abstract). Additionally, the artisan would have been motivated to substitute Deuruxolitinib (the same as ref compound (I)) for Ruxolitinib. The artisan would have expected Deuruxolitinib (the deuterated version of Zhao’s Ruxolitinib) to be effective as both compounds are JAK inhibitors (Papierzewska abstract; Zhao page 821). This teaches claim 1.
The artisan would have been motivated, in a course of normal dose tailoring, to select a time interval effective to provide the patient with an effective level of Deuruxolitinib. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there Is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”. Neither the specification nor the claims indicate the administration time is critical. This teaches claims 2-3.
The artisan would expect that a pharmaceutical composition of Deuruxolitinib would be effective in treating Alopecia areata after discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor. The artisan would expect that because Alopecia areata is a JAK inhibitor responsive condition and Deuruxolitinib by itself is known to be effective in treating Alopecia areata (Papierzewska abstract and results). This teaches claims 12-13.
Furthermore, the artisan would have been motivated to discontinue any CYP2C9 inhibitor, including a strong, moderate, or weak CYP2C9 inhibitor. The artisan would have been expected to avoid known adverse events associated with high dose of Ruxolitinib (Zhao pages 821 and 823) especially since a moderate CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 dual inhibitor (fluconazole) impacted the pharmacokinetics of ruxolitinib so greatly (Zhao page 818). In order to avoid any drug-drug interactions, the artisan would be motivated to discontinue any CYP2C9 inhibitor. This teaches claims 20-22.
Because the purpose of LC-MS/MS is to identify both the drug amount and drug identity, the artisan would be expected when using Zhao’s LC-MS/MS to do both of these actions in order to determine if the exogenous CYP2C9 is a strong or moderate CYP2C9 inhibitor based on the identity of the compound (Zhao Figure 2 and page 819 as evidenced by Chaudhary abstract). This teaches claims 23-24.
Claims 1, 2-3, 12-13, 20-24 and 38-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 159 of copending Application No. 18/033,730 in view of Zhao (Zhao et al., “Co-Administration with Voriconazole Doubles the Exposure of Ruxolitinib in Patients with Hematological Malignancies, Drug Design, Development and Therapy, March 25, 2022), Papierzewska (Papierzewska et al., “Safety of Janus Kinase inhibitors in Patients with Alopecia Areata: A Systematic Review”, Clinical Drug Investigation, May 3, 2023), as evidenced by Chaundary (Chaundary et al., “LC-MS/MS: a powerful tool for modern analytical science: Fundamentals, techniques, applications, and innovations”, Journal of Liquid Chromatography and Related Technologies, April 16, 2025), and in view of KUSHNER (Kushner et al., “Pharmacological uses and perspectives of heavy water and deuterated compounds”, Can J Physio Pharmacol. Feb 1999).
The reference application teaches compound (I), the same as instant compound (I), used to treat alopecia areata in a subject (ref claims 1-2).
Zhao teaches a method of treating a JAK inhibition responsive condition in a subject (Graft-versus-host disease is responsive to a treatment of JAK inhibitors; Abstract).
Zhao teaches co-administering (title) ruxolitinib (JAK inhibitor) and voriconazole (which can inhibit CYP2C9 weakly; page 818).
Zhao teaches drug–drug interaction (DDI) may occur between them because Ruxolitinib metabolic pathways overlap with voriconazole and can be inhibited by voriconazole, including cytochrome P450 (CYP) isozymes 3A4 and 2C9 (background). This helps teach claim 22.
Zhao teaches that subjects receiving CYP2C9 inhibitor displayed increased Cmax and half life for JAK inhibitor, Ruxolitnib (page 821). This helps teach why an artisan would stop one medication before starting another (helps teach claim 1). Zhao also teaches that higher dose of Ruxolitinib have higher incidents of adverse events whereas the 5mg dosage of Ruxolitinib was not reported to have adverse events (pages 821 and 823).
Zhao also teaches that the maximum plasma concentration (Cmax), area under the curve from time zero to last (AUClast), and AUC from time zero to infinity (AUCinf) of plasma concentration-time are increased significantly when ruxolitinib was coadministered with fluconazole, a moderate CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 dual inhibitor, compared with ruxolitinib alone (page 818). This helps teach claims 20-22.
Zhao teaches that the CYP2C9 inhibitor is determined to be in the blood (page 819 sample collection) by chromatography (specifically LC-MS/MS, Liquid Chromatography-Tandem Mass Spectrometry method; page 819 Drug Concentration detection). This teaches claim 38.
Chaudhary is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that LC-MS/MS is a high performance liquid chromatography, offering exceptional sensitivity, specificity, and the ability to detect multiple analytes simultaneously (abstract). This teaches claim 39.
Zhao (Figure 2 and page 819) as evidenced by Chaudhary teaches that drug amount and drug identity (via mass spectrometry). This helps teach claims 23-24.
Zhao does not disclose discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor (in this case voriconazole) and does not teach administering the instantly claimed compound I (which is a deuterated version of Zhao’s Ruxolitinib).
Papierzewska teaches a pharmaceutical composition of Deuruxolitinib, which is administered to human patients to treat Alopecia areata, which is a JAK inhibitor responsive condition (abstract and results). Deuruxolitinib is the instant compound (I) of claim 1. Papierzewska teaches that Deuruxolitinib is a JAK inhibitor (abstract) and used to treat patients with alopecia areata (page 332). Other JAK inhibitors are also known to treat Alopecia areata (table 1). This helps teach claims 1 and 12-13.
Papierzewska does not teach discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor.
KUSHNER teaches advantages of deuterated compounds: Most deuterated compounds are more resistant to metabolic changes, especially those changes mediated by cytochrome P450 (CYP) systems. Deuteration may also change the pathway of drug metabolism (metabolic switching). Changed metabolism may lead to increased duration of action and lower toxicity (abstract).
An artisan would have been motivated to have discontinued the treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor (voriconazole) and administer an effective amount of Ruxolitinib to the subject. The artisan would have been expected to avoid known adverse events associated with high dose of Ruxolitinib (Zhao pages 821 and 823). This helps teach claim 1.
The artisan would have been further motivated to use a deuterated compound in Zhao’s method of treating a JAK inhibition responsive condition (abstract) in order to use the benefits taught by Kushner (such as increased duration of action and lower toxicity; Abstract). Additionally, the artisan would have been motivated to substitute Deuruxolitinib (the same as ref compound (I) from application 18/033,730) for Ruxolitinib. The artisan would have expected Deuruxolitinib (the deuterated version of Zhao’s Ruxolitinib) to be effective as both compounds are JAK inhibitors (Papierzewska abstract; Zhao page 821). This teaches claim 1.
The artisan would have been motivated, in a course of normal dose tailoring, to select a time interval effective to provide the patient with an effective level of Deuruxolitinib. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there Is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”. Neither the specification nor the claims indicate the administration time is critical. This teaches claims 2-3.
The artisan would expect that a pharmaceutical composition of Deuruxolitinib would be effective in treating Alopecia areata after discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor. The artisan would expect that because Alopecia areata is a JAK inhibitor responsive condition and Deuruxolitinib by itself is known to be effective in treating Alopecia areata (Papierzewska abstract and results). This teaches claims 12-13.
Furthermore, the artisan would have been motivated to discontinue any CYP2C9 inhibitor, including a strong, moderate, or weak CYP2C9 inhibitor. The artisan would have been expected to avoid known adverse events associated with high dose of Ruxolitinib (Zhao pages 821 and 823) especially since a moderate CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 dual inhibitor (fluconazole) impacted the pharmacokinetics of ruxolitinib so greatly (Zhao page 818). In order to avoid any drug-drug interactions, the artisan would be motivated to discontinue any CYP2C9 inhibitor. This teaches claims 20-22.
Because the purpose of LC-MS/MS is to identify both the drug amount and drug identity, the artisan would be expected when using Zhao’s LC-MS/MS to do both of these actions in order to determine if the exogenous CYP2C9 is a strong or moderate CYP2C9 inhibitor based on the identity of the compound (Zhao Figure 2 and page 819 as evidenced by Chaudhary abstract). This teaches claims 23-24.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 2-3, 12-13, 20-24 and 38-39 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of US Patent 10561659 in view of Zhao (Zhao et al., “Co-Administration with Voriconazole Doubles the Exposure of Ruxolitinib in Patients with Hematological Malignancies, Drug Design, Development and Therapy, March 25, 2022), Papierzewska (Papierzewska et al., “Safety of Janus Kinase inhibitors in Patients with Alopecia Areata: A Systematic Review”, Clinical Drug Investigation, May 3, 2023), as evidenced by Chaundary (Chaundary et al., “LC-MS/MS: a powerful tool for modern analytical science: Fundamentals, techniques, applications, and innovations”, Journal of Liquid Chromatography and Related Technologies, April 16, 2025), and in view of KUSHNER (Kushner et al., “Pharmacological uses and perspectives of heavy water and deuterated compounds”, Can J Physio Pharmacol. Feb 1999).
The reference application teaches compound (I), the same as instant compound (I), used to treat alopecia areata in a subject (ref claim 1). The instant claims use the open-ended language of “comprising”, which can include the additional agent included in the ref claim 1.
Zhao teaches a method of treating a JAK inhibition responsive condition in a subject (Graft-versus-host disease is responsive to a treatment of JAK inhibitors; Abstract).
Zhao teaches co-administering (title) ruxolitinib (JAK inhibitor) and voriconazole (which can inhibit CYP2C9 weakly; page 818).
Zhao teaches drug–drug interaction (DDI) may occur between them because Ruxolitinib metabolic pathways overlap with voriconazole and can be inhibited by voriconazole, including cytochrome P450 (CYP) isozymes 3A4 and 2C9 (background). This helps teach claim 22.
Zhao teaches that subjects receiving CYP2C9 inhibitor displayed increased Cmax and half life for JAK inhibitor, Ruxolitnib (page 821). This helps teach why an artisan would stop one medication before starting another (helps teach claim 1). Zhao also teaches that higher dose of Ruxolitinib have higher incidents of adverse events whereas the 5mg dosage of Ruxolitinib was not reported to have adverse events (pages 821 and 823).
Zhao also teaches that the maximum plasma concentration (Cmax), area under the curve from time zero to last (AUClast), and AUC from time zero to infinity (AUCinf) of plasma concentration-time are increased significantly when ruxolitinib was coadministered with fluconazole, a moderate CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 dual inhibitor, compared with ruxolitinib alone (page 818). This helps teach claims 20-22.
Zhao teaches that the CYP2C9 inhibitor is determined to be in the blood (page 819 sample collection) by chromatography (specifically LC-MS/MS, Liquid Chromatography-Tandem Mass Spectrometry method; page 819 Drug Concentration detection). This teaches claim 38.
Chaudhary is relied upon for the beneficial teaching that LC-MS/MS is a high performance liquid chromatography, offering exceptional sensitivity, specificity, and the ability to detect multiple analytes simultaneously (abstract). This teaches claim 39.
Zhao (Figure 2 and page 819) as evidenced by Chaudhary teaches that drug amount and drug identity (via mass spectrometry). This helps teach claims 23-24.
Zhao does not disclose discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor (in this case voriconazole) and does not teach administering the instantly claimed compound I (which is a deuterated version of Zhao’s Ruxolitinib).
Papierzewska teaches a pharmaceutical composition of Deuruxolitinib, which is administered to human patients to treat Alopecia areata, which is a JAK inhibitor responsive condition (abstract and results). Deuruxolitinib is the instant compound (I) of claim 1. Papierzewska teaches that Deuruxolitinib is a JAK inhibitor (abstract) and used to treat patients with alopecia areata (page 332). Other JAK inhibitors are also known to treat Alopecia areata (table 1). This helps teach claims 1 and 12-13.
Papierzewska does not teach discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor.
KUSHNER teaches advantages of deuterated compounds: Most deuterated compounds are more resistant to metabolic changes, especially those changes mediated by cytochrome P450 (CYP) systems. Deuteration may also change the pathway of drug metabolism (metabolic switching). Changed metabolism may lead to increased duration of action and lower toxicity (abstract).
An artisan would have been motivated to have discontinued the treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor (voriconazole) and administer an effective amount of Ruxolitinib to the subject. The artisan would have been expected to avoid known adverse events associated with high dose of Ruxolitinib (Zhao pages 821 and 823). This helps teach claim 1.
The artisan would have been further motivated to use a deuterated compound in Zhao’s method of treating a JAK inhibition responsive condition (abstract) in order to use the benefits taught by Kushner (such as increased duration of action and lower toxicity; Abstract). Additionally, the artisan would have been motivated to substitute Deuruxolitinib (the same as ref compound (I)) for Ruxolitinib. The artisan would have expected Deuruxolitinib (the deuterated version of Zhao’s Ruxolitinib) to be effective as both compounds are JAK inhibitors (Papierzewska abstract; Zhao page 821). This teaches claim 1.
The artisan would have been motivated, in a course of normal dose tailoring, to select a time interval effective to provide the patient with an effective level of Deuruxolitinib. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A): “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there Is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical”. Neither the specification nor the claims indicate the administration time is critical. This teaches claims 2-3.
The artisan would expect that a pharmaceutical composition of Deuruxolitinib would be effective in treating Alopecia areata after discontinuing treatment with a CYP2C9 inhibitor. The artisan would expect that because Alopecia areata is a JAK inhibitor responsive condition and Deuruxolitinib by itself is known to be effective in treating Alopecia areata (Papierzewska abstract and results). This teaches claims 12-13.
Furthermore, the artisan would have been motivated to discontinue any CYP2C9 inhibitor, including a strong, moderate, or weak CYP2C9 inhibitor. The artisan would have been expected to avoid known adverse events associated with high dose of Ruxolitinib (Zhao pages 821 and 823) especially since a moderate CYP2C9 and CYP3A4 dual inhibitor (fluconazole) impacted the pharmacokinetics of ruxolitinib so greatly (Zhao page 818). In order to avoid any drug-drug interactions, the artisan would be motivated to discontinue any CYP2C9 inhibitor. This teaches claims 20-22.
Because the purpose of LC-MS/MS is to identify both the drug amount and drug identity, the artisan would be expected when using Zhao’s LC-MS/MS to do both of these actions in order to determine if the exogenous CYP2C9 is a strong or moderate CYP2C9 inhibitor based on the identity of the compound (Zhao Figure 2 and page 819 as evidenced by Chaudhary abstract). This teaches claims 23-24.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/G.A.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1625 /Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625