Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The examiner believes that Claim 3 is phrased improperly. The examiner believes that the intent is to be akin to a list of features that the acquisition unit acquires, and should be organized as such. For example (including solutions to several antecedent basis issues discussed later);
the acquisition unit acquires;
the information regarding the power for driving the vehicle; and
the gradient of the road surface based on the acquired acceleration and wheel speed; [[and]]
wherein the acquisition unit determines;
the acceleration, based on the detected acceleration in the front-rear direction of the vehicle, a vehicle weight and vehicle driving force.
Similarly, claim 5 is also phrased improperly. The examiner believes that the intent is to be akin to a list of features that the acquisition unit acquires, and should be organized as such. For example
the acquisition unit acquires;
a target driving force input to the vehicle, including transmission characteristics indicating a relationship between the target driving force and the detected acceleration in the front-rear direction of the vehicle; and
the gradient of the road surface; [[and]]
wherein the acquisition unit determines;
the acceleration, based on a vehicle weight, the target driving force of the vehicle, the transmission characteristics, and the detected acceleration in the front-rear direction of the vehicle.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Acquisition unit
Derivation unit
Correction unit
Acceleration detection unit
Wheel speed detection unit
Therefore, the following interpretations will be made in light of the specification;
Acceleration detection unit interpreted to be a sensor (paragraph 0017)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the acquired acceleration”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claims discusses multiple instances of acceleration information, including “an acceleration” and “the acquired acceleration”; however, it is not clear if they are meant to invoke the same element, as dependent claims also recite other variants of acceleration without sufficient distinguishing antecedent basis, including;
Claims 3 and 5; “the detected acceleration” without specifically reciting “a detected acceleration” previously.
Claim 4; “the gradient acceleration” without specifically reciting “a gradient acceleration”.
To reiterate; the multiple differentiations of acceleration information are not supported with sufficient antecedent basis, rendering the interpretation of whether they amount to different values or not unclear, and thus are indefinite.
And as claim 2 depends on claim 1 without resolving the antecedent basis issue, it is also considered indefinite.
Claim limitation “Acquisition unit”, “Derivation unit”, “Correction unit ”, “wheel speed detection unit” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There are no clarifying structures or recitations of structure in the disclosure that identify how the invoked elements are performing their recited functions. While each element are recited to be part of a device (shown, for example, in Fig 1, this does not provide one with sufficient description that accomplishes the claimed functions.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea accomplishable by mental processes without significantly more. The claims recite the abstract idea of the concept of taking in data, processing it, and outputting a judgement/evaluation, which is analogous to mental work with the aid of generic computer equipment. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and the claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Step 1: Is the claim directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter?
Yes, The claims are directed to a machine.
Step 2A; is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, claims 1-5 are directed to the abstract idea of taking in data, processing it, and determining a gradient value of the road surface. In essence, the act of acquiring data, processing data, and outputting an evaluation of the data.
Prong One; Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
Yes, as understood in their broadest reasonable interpretation, the independent claims are directed to mental processes related to taking in data, processing it, and outputting an evaluation of the road surface gradient. In addition, the remaining claim limitations either work to develop the abstract idea further [such as by defining correction mechanics], or to implement the idea onto generic computer components.
Prong Two; Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
No, the elements are generically recited. In particular, elements of a vehicle controller and sensors merely use generically recited features as tools to perform the abstract idea. The claims recite additional elements of;
Acquisition unit
Derivation unit
Correction unit
However, these elements are indefinitely recited. While not explicitly stated in the disclosure, the examiner’s best interpretation for these elements are as programs within a CPU, ECU, processor etc. Furthermore, as no specific structure beyond being part of a road surface gradient estimation device, there does not appear to be meaningful limits or ideas beyond what is accomplishable by generic computer equipment well known in the art.
Therefore, this abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because there are no meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, Claims 1-5 are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claims 1-5 do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
In Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, a claim is to be evaluated as to whether the claim, as a whole, amounts to significantly more than the recited exception, i.e., whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, adds an inventive concept to the claim. See MPEP 2106.05.
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception on a generic computer cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Under the 2019 PEG, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B. Here, the receiving steps and the displaying step were considered to be insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A, and thus they are re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The specification does not provide any indication that the recited units are anything other than a conventional computer within a vehicle. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Further, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Accordingly, a conclusion that the collecting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer.
Thus, claims 1-5 are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US900898B2) In view of Sato (JP2018054527A, see IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Nilsson teaches;
A road surface gradient estimation device (taught as a method and system for estimating a road gradient column 2 lines 12-14) comprising:
an acquisition unit that acquires each of detection results of an acceleration detection unit (taught as an accelerometer, element 101 or 207) that detects an acceleration in a front-rear direction of a vehicle, [[and a wheel speed detection unit]], and acquires information regarding power for driving the vehicle (taught as determining a force, including a motive force, as shown in equation 4, column 3 lines 60-65);
a derivation unit that derives a gradient of a road surface on which the vehicle is traveling as a first road surface gradient based on the acquired acceleration [[and wheel speed]] (taught as estimating a road gradient, based on two methods; accelerometer based and force equation based; column 4 lines 9-13; wherein the acceleration measured a_s, is adjusted based on the acceleration of the vehicle, a_v, to derive the angle of the road, shown in equation 2); and
a correction unit that corrects the derived first road surface gradient based on the information regarding the power for driving the vehicle to derive a second road surface gradient (taught as using the force equation method, which depends on engine driving force, vehicle weight, air resistance etc. shown in equation 4, column 3 lines 60-65; wherein a sensor fusion technique for estimating the gradient is adjusted based on the two techniques, column 2 lines 15-24).
However Nilsson does not explicitly teach; a wheel speed detection unit, or a first road surface gradient based on the acquired acceleration and wheel speed.
Sato teaches; a wheel speed detection unit, or a first road surface gradient based on the acquired acceleration and wheel speed (taught as a wheel speed sensor, paragraph 0019).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wheel speed sensors in the basic road gradient estimation as taught by Sato in the system taught by Nilsson in order to measure road gradients quickly. Nilsson already indicates that eh accelerometer based estimate provides reliable values for roads where the gradient and bends are slight (column 3 lines 35-39). Additionally, Nilsson already indicates the use of detecting a vehicle acceleration (equation 2), but without an explicit sensor to measure vehicle acceleration. Sato teaches that an acceleration value can be derived from wheel speed as a basic wheel speed differential value (paragraph 0020) [and wheel speed sensors are essentially ubiquitous in vehicles for other systems to legally operate], and further can serve as a basis for switching between models/requiring correction, such as accounting for slip (paragraph 0024).
Regarding claim 2, Nilsson as modified by Sato teaches;
The road surface gradient estimation device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). Nilsson further teaches; wherein:
the acquisition unit acquires traveling state information indicating a traveling state of the vehicle (taught as detecting dynamic processes column 4 lines 36-37, which indicates current conditions of a vehicle including curvature, speed etc. column 4 lines 37-42);
the correction unit calculates a correction value based on the information regarding the power for driving the vehicle and corrects the derived first road surface gradient with the correction value to derive the second road surface gradient (taught as weighting parameters of the sensor fusion based on the presence of dynamic processes, column 4 lines 42-47;; and
when the acquired traveling state information does not satisfy a predetermined stable traveling condition, the correction unit corrects the first road surface gradient with a correction value used in previous correction to derive the second road surface gradient (taught as an accelerometer based derivations being weighted higher with no [or a first] dynamic processes occurring, and the force equation if a [or a second] dynamic process occurs, column 4 lines 48-53).
Regarding claim 3, Nilsson as modified by Sato teaches;
The road surface gradient estimation device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). Nilsson further teaches; wherein:
the acquisition unit acquires the information regarding the power for driving the vehicle (taught as determining a force, including a motive force, as shown in equation 4, column 3 lines 60-65);
gradient of the road surface based on the acquired acceleration and wheel speed (taught as a gradient derived from measured acceleration and vehicle acceleration, equation 2); and
acceleration, the detected acceleration in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (taught as an accelerometer detecting the longitudinal acceleration, element 101 or 207), a vehicle weight (indicated as a mass term used in deriving, via a force equation, to solve for a gradient, equation 4) and vehicle driving force (taught as a vehicle motive force, and indicated in the force equation to derive gradient, equation 4).
4. The road surface gradient estimation device according to claim 3, wherein the correction unit estimates a traveling acceleration based on the gradient acceleration and the vehicle driving force and derives the correction value based on a difference between the estimated traveling acceleration and the detection value of the acceleration in the front-rear direction of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, Nilsson as modified by Sato teaches;
The road surface gradient estimation device according to claim 3 (see claim 3 rejection). Nilsson further teaches; wherein the correction unit estimates a traveling acceleration based on the gradient acceleration and the vehicle driving force (taught as deriving acceleration based on the accelerometer [and equation 2] or force equation [equation 4], as an input for the sensor fusion model, column 5 lines 58-61) and derives the correction value based on a difference between the estimated traveling acceleration and the detection value of the acceleration in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (indicated in the use of a Kalman filter to perform the weighting of parameters of the sensor fusion, column 5 lines 6-14, Kalman filters will use weights to compensate between the measured and predicted values).
Regarding claim 5, Nilsson as modified by Sato teaches;
The road surface gradient estimation device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection). Nilsson further teaches; wherein:
the acquisition unit acquires target driving force input to the vehicle (taught as a vehicle motive force, and indicated in the force equation to derive gradient, equation 4), and transmission characteristics indicating a relationship between the target driving force and the detected acceleration in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (taught as dynamic processes including information about the readiest of curvature of a chosen gear, column 4 lines 37-42, wherein the dynamic processes are indicated to affect the determination of a gradient/acceleration by changing which weighting occurs column 4 lines 48-53);
gradient of the road surface (taught as estimating a road gradient based on an accelerometer, equation 2, column 3 lines 33-35); and
acceleration, a vehicle weight (indicated as a mass term used in deriving, via a force equation, to solve for a gradient, equation 4), the target driving force of the vehicle (taught as a vehicle motive force, and indicated in the force equation to derive gradient, equation 4, the transmission characteristics (taught as dynamic processes including information about the readiest of curvature of a chosen gear, column 4 lines 37-42), and the detected acceleration in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (taught as an accelerometer value to measure acceleration in the horizontal [longitudinal] direction, element 101 or 207, column 1 lines 40-43).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
For further road gradient estimation; US20120150384A1, US20140067155A1, US20190047557A1, US20200377096A1, US8078348B2
/GABRIEL ANFINRUD/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662