Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the application filed 08/08/2025. Claims 1-12 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities: “selecting the geometry constraint from those geometry constraints form the physical closure.” Claim should read “selecting the geometry constraint from those geometry constraints that form the physical closure.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “determining a first vector from the base of the robot to the end point of the robot, a second vector from the end point of the robot to the touch point, a third vector from the touch point to the origin point of the work object and a fourth vector from the origin point of the work object to the base of the robot, in case that the tool is an on-hand tool and the work object is a fixed work object;” and then recites “determining a first vector from the base of the robot to the end point of the robot, a second vector from the end point of the robot to the origin point of the work object, a third vector from the origin point of the work object to the touch point and a fourth vector from the touch point to the base of the robot in case that the tool is a fixed tool and the work object is an on-hand work object”. As the claim is written, the claim is directed to two different “first vectors”, and it is unclear if the first vector in lines 7-11 is the same as the first vector in lines 3-6. This makes the claim indefinite, as it is unclear how the claim is meant to be interpreted in light of the two first vectors. Because of the indefiniteness of the claim, the examiner is unsure how to examine the claim in light of the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noren et al. US 20220105640 A1 (“Noren”).
Regarding Claim 1. Noren teaches a method for calibration of a tool and a work object for a robot (a control system for calibrating a tool of an industrial robot [Paragraph 35]), comprising:
determining a geometry constraint from a set of candidate geometry constraints as a physical closure for the calibration (The reference target may be a single point. Alternatively, the reference target may be an object having a definable geometric shape, such as a sphere, cylinder or cube. In any case, the position of the reference target may be either known or unknown to the robot [paragraph 32]);
determining a set of touch points of the tool with the work object (the positioning of the tool center point in relation to the reference target may be made in a plurality of different calibration positions of the robot, such as in four different calibration positions. In each calibration position, the tool may be oriented differently with respect to the reference target. As a possible alternative, the tool may be oriented in the same way with respect to the reference target in several or all different calibration positions of the robot [paragraph 26]. The reference target 26 in FIG. 3 has a spherical surface 36 of known radius and thereby constitutes one example of an object having a definable geometric shape. By knowing or calculating the shape of the reference target 26, the tool center point 32 of the tool 14 can be positioned in arbitrarily calibration positions 34 in relation to the surface 36 of the reference target 26, for example by contacting unique points of the surface 36 in each calibration position 34 [paragraph 61]) based on a performance criterion and an objective function, wherein the objective function is constructed for the tool and the work object based on the determined geometry constraint (According to one aspect, the calibration method includes determining an error of the calculated tool data [paragraph 15]. The modification of the at least one kinematic parameter may comprise performing optimization of joint position modifications of the at least one recorded joint position to satisfy an objective function of minimizing the error of the tool center point, and to output at least one optimized joint position; and using the at least one optimized joint position as the modified at least one kinematic parameter [paragraph 30]); and
obtaining calibration parameters of the tool and the work object according to the objective function based on observations from the robot with the set of touch points (calculating tool data based on the at least one joint position in each calibration position and based on a kinematic model of the robot, the tool data comprising a definition of the tool center point; determining an error of the calculated tool data; and modifying at least one kinematic parameter of the robot based on the error to reduce the error [paragraph 15]. A kinematic parameter may be any parameter that affects a definition of the tool center point [paragraph 20]).
Regarding Claim 7. Noren teaches the method of claim 1.
Noren also teaches:
wherein obtaining calibration parameters of the tool and the work object comprises:
controlling the robot to touch the work object with the set of touch points (The method may further comprise controlling the robot to execute a movement using the at least one modified kinematic parameter [paragraph 25]. The control system 16 is configured to generate drive signals to motors (not shown) of each joint 20 based on movement instructions from the robot program and the kinematic and dynamic models of the robot 10 [paragraph 45]);
obtaining the observations from the robot in response to the robot touching the work object (According to one aspect, the calibration method includes determining an error of the calculated tool data [paragraph 15]. The modification of the at least one kinematic parameter may comprise performing optimization of joint position modifications of the at least one recorded joint position to satisfy an objective function of minimizing the error of the tool center point, and to output at least one optimized joint position; and using the at least one optimized joint position as the modified at least one kinematic parameter [paragraph 30]); and
solving the objective function based on the observations (calculating tool data based on the at least one joint position in each calibration position and based on a kinematic model of the robot, the tool data comprising a definition of the tool center point; determining an error of the calculated tool data; and modifying at least one kinematic parameter of the robot based on the error to reduce the error [paragraph 15]. A kinematic parameter may be any parameter that affects a definition of the tool center point [paragraph 20]).
Regarding Claim 8. Noren teaches the method of claim 1.
Noren also teaches:
further comprising:
determining a calibration result of the tool and the work object (calculating tool data based on the at least one joint position in each calibration position and based on a kinematic model of the robot, the tool data comprising a definition of the tool center point [paragraph 20]);
determining whether the calibration result meets the performance criterion (determining an error of the calculated tool data; and modifying at least one kinematic parameter of the robot based on the error to reduce the error [paragraph 15]. A kinematic parameter may be any parameter that affects a definition of the tool center point [paragraph 20]); and
determining another set of touch points of the tool with the work object in response to determining that the calibration result does not meet the performance criterion (paragraphs 5-15).
Regarding Claim 9. Noren teaches the method of claim 8.
Noren also teaches:
wherein the performance criterion includes a precision error indicating value of the set of touch points being lower than a certain threshold (Paragraph 15).
Regarding Claim 10. Noren teaches a computing device, comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory including computer program codes;
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program codes are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the computing device to implement the method of claim 1 (paragraph 35).
Regarding Claim 11. Noren teaches a robot system comprising the robot;
the tool;
the work object on which the tool moves; and
the computing device configured for calibration of the tool and the work object according to the method of claim 1 (FIG. 1 shows the robot at 10, the tool at 14, the work object at 30, and a computing device which is a control system at 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noren et al. US 20220105640 A1 (“Noren”).
Regarding Claim 5. Noren teaches the method of claim 1.
Noren also teaches:
wherein determining the set of touch points of the tool comprises:
receiving a user input of a first number of desired touch points of the robot (Noren teaches a setup in which there are at least four different positions of the robot [paragraph 5]. The positioning of the tool center point in relation to the reference target may be made under manual control, e.g. by jogging the robot into one or more calibration positions [paragraph 17], and are then recorded in paragraph 18);
generating a second number of candidate touch points of the robot, wherein the second number is multiple times larger than the first number;
dividing the second number of candidate touch points into a plurality of subsets of candidate touch points each containing the first number of candidate touch points (FIG. 2 shows the tool in relation to a reference target in different calibration positions of the robot. Each of the calibration positions 34a, 34b, 34c, and 34d. One of these four points is shown to be in solid lines while the others are shown in dashed lines. While not explicit, it would have been obvious to try for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Noren’s disclosure so as to group the four points as one set of candidate touch points and a second subset within the larger set contains the first group of points from paragraphs 17-18);
determining a precision error indicating value of each subset of candidate touch points (By moving the robot such that the tool center point approaches the tip of the reference target in at least four different positions of the robot, the coordinates of the tool center point and an error thereof can be calculated by solving a least squares optimization problem [paragraph 5]); and
selecting the subset of candidate touch points with a minimum precision error indicating value as the set of touch points (After calculating the error of the tool data for the tool center point, the method further comprises modifying at least one kinematic parameter of the robot based on the error to reduce the error [paragraph 15]).
Regarding Claim 6. Noren teaches the method of claim 5.
Noren also teaches:
further comprising:
determining whether each subset of the candidate touch points is reachable by the robot; and
eliminating a subset of candidate touch points from the plurality of subsets of candidate touch points in response to determining that the subset of candidate touch points is not reachable (This is implicit, if not inherent, to the disclosure of Noren, particularly including the disclosure regarding error. There is no way for the system to calculate the error of the tool center point for positions that cannot be reached).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noren et al. US 20220105640 A1 (“Noren”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Poelman et al. US 20220147026 A1 (“Poelman”).
Regarding Claim 2. Noren teaches the method of claim 1.
Noren does not explicitly teach:
wherein determining the geometry constraint comprises:
providing the set of candidate geometry constraints when application of the robot is setup;
determining whether each of the set of candidate geometry constraints forms the physical closure; and
selecting the geometry constraint from those geometry constraints form the physical closure.
However, as best can be understood, Poelman teaches:
wherein determining the geometry constraint comprises:
providing the set of candidate geometry constraints when application of the robot is setup (FIG. 8 is a flowchart of one embodiment of setting up a robotic cell, with sensors and calibration [paragraph 18], and FIG. 9 is an overview flowchart of one embodiment of setting up the workspace [paragraph 19]);
determining whether each of the set of candidate geometry constraints forms the physical closure (In one embodiment, the robot arm is a 6-axis arm and has a range of motion through the entirety of the work space. The workspace in one embodiment is defined by the enclosed area, shown in which the robotic arm moves [paragraph 60], which means that when the constraints of the workspace are determined, the robot will also determine when the workspace is enclosed); and
selecting the geometry constraint from those geometry constraints form the physical closure (At block 830 of FIG. 8, a root origin (0,0,0 position in a coordinate system) us established for the cell. This root can be selected with respect to the most rigid part of the cell [paragraph 130], meaning it can be selected from one of the geometry constraints forming the physical closure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Noren with wherein determining the geometry constraint comprises: providing the set of candidate geometry constraints when application of the robot is setup; determining whether each of the set of candidate geometry constraints forms the physical closure; and selecting the geometry constraint from those geometry constraints form the physical closure as taught by Poelman so as to allow the system to operate in an enclosed area and include those constraints as the boundaries of the enclosure.
Claim(s) 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noren et al. US 20220105640 A1 (“Noren”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fang et al. US 20230045651 A1 (“Fang”).
Regarding Claim 3. Noren teaches the method of claim 1.
Noren does not explicitly teach:
wherein the objective function is formed with four vectors formed from a base of the robot, an end point of the robot, a touch point where the end point of the robot touching the work object, and an origin point of the work object (A number of vectors are shown in Noren in FIG. 1, including a vector at Xbase, a vector at Xwrist, and a vector at Xtool. However, they do not line up exactly with each of the vectors described in the present claim language).
However, Fang teaches:
wherein the objective function is formed with four vectors formed from a base of the robot, an end point of the robot, a touch point where the end point of the robot touching the work object, and an origin point of the work object (FIG. 1 shows an example of a robot system with 4 vectors, and this includes a vector at the base of the robot at 112, a vector at the end point of the robot at 111, a touch point where the end point of the robot will touch the work object at 120, and an origin point of the work object at 130 [FIG. 1, paragraphs 36-37]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Noren with wherein the objective function is formed with four vectors formed from a base of the robot, an end point of the robot, a touch point where the end point of the robot touching the work object, and an origin point of the work object as taught by Fang, because it would have been obvious to try. Assigning vectors to various points in a coordinate space is known in the art, and using them to map the locations and intended movements of the robot and work object in 3-dimensional space would have been an obvious combination to try with a reasonably high chance of success.
Regarding Claim 12. Noren teaches the method of claim 1.
Noren also teaches:
A computer readable medium comprising program instructions for causing an apparatus to perform the method of claim 1 (paragraph 35).
Noren does not explicitly teach:
the computer readable medium is a non-transitory computer readable medium.
However, Fang teaches:
the computer readable medium is a non-transitory computer readable medium (Paragraph 84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Noren with the computer readable medium is a non-transitory computer readable medium as taught by Fang because it would have been obvious to try; non-transitory computer readable medium are well-known in the art, and using one as the medium for storing the instructions of Noren would have had a highly predictable chance of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gan et al. US 6822412 B1 (“Gan”), which teaches a method for calibrating and programming of a robot using a series of vectors.
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656