DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘visual indicator’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “the detached head” to “the detachable head”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “in such a way” to “such that”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldstein (US 2018/0008512A1) in view of Metri (US 2009/0318753A1) in view of Ackermann et al. (US 2014/0316310A1, “Ackermann”).
Regarding claims 1-3, Goldstein discloses a vibration unit for stimulating an acupressure point including a cylindrical shaft (20, 22; Fig. 1), defining an interior for accommodating at least an energy storage device (battery; [0049]) and a motor [0048] with an electronics control unit (generates vibrational forces). A detachable (removable; [0057, 0060]) head (16) which is attached to the cylindrical shaft by means of a thread [0051] and closes the cylindrical shaft opposite a free end [0060]. A push button (28; [0050])) is provided on the cylindrical shaft of the vibration unit, wherein the push button is for switching on and off and for setting power levels and a vibration frequency of the vibration unit associated with the power levels is provided.
However, Goldstein does not disclose a visual indicator on the shaft of the vibration unit, wherein the visual indicator displays the set power levels and the set associated vibration frequency and a chain attached to the head of the vibration unit for positioning the vibration unit on the acupressure point.
In the same field of endeavor, handheld vibrating device, Metri teaches a device including a cylindrical shaft, motor, battery source and a chain (18; Fig. 2) attached to the head (2) of the vibration unit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the head of the device of Goldstein with a chain, as taught by Metri, to aid in the use, retrieval and storage of the device [0018].
In the same field of endeavor, handheld vibration devices, Ackermann teaches a push button (114, 116; rocker switch for switching power levels and associated vibration frequency up and down) that controls and changes one or more parameters (e.g. frequency or pattern of vibration) which are then displayed as a visual indicator on a housing (138; [0054, 0069, 0070]). The visual indicator displays set power levels and the set associated vibration frequency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the head of the device of Goldstein with a visual indicator that displays set power levels and the set associated vibration frequency, as taught by Ackermann, to provide user feedback and information during use to indicate that mechanisms are being operated.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldstein in view of Metri in view of Ackermann, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hotaling et al. (US 2014/0171767A1, “Hotaling”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Goldstein, Metri and Ackermann does not disclose that the detachable head allows access of a charging cable which is connectable to the energy storage device in the shaft. In the same field of endeavor, portable battery-operated devices, Hotaling teaches a head or top of a housing (10) that includes access of a charging cable that is connectable to the energy storage device/battery ([0068]; Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the head of the device of the combination of Golden, Metri, and Ackermann with a access of a charging cable, as taught by Hotaling, for the benefit of using rechargeable batteries instead of having to replace the battery.
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldstein (US 2018/0008512A1) in view of Metri (US 2009/0318753A1) in view of Ackermann et al. (US 2014/0316310A1, “Ackermann”).
Regarding claims 1-3, Goldstein discloses a vibration unit for stimulating an acupressure point including a cylindrical shaft (20; Fig. 1), defining an interior for accommodating at least an energy storage device (battery; [0049]) and a motor [0048] with an electronics control unit (generates vibrational forces). A detachable (removable; [0051, 0057, 0060]) head (12) which is attached to the cylindrical shaft by means of a thread [0051] and closes the cylindrical shaft opposite a free end [0060]. A push button (28; [0050])) is provided on the cylindrical shaft of the vibration unit, wherein the push button is for switching on and off and for setting power levels and a vibration frequency of the vibration unit associated with the power levels is provided.
However, Goldstein does not disclose a visual indicator on the shaft of the vibration unit, wherein the visual indicator displays the set power levels and the set associated vibration frequency and a chain attached to the head of the vibration unit for positioning the vibration unit on the acupressure point.
In the same field of endeavor, handheld vibrating device, Metri teaches a device including a cylindrical shaft, motor, battery source and a chain (18; Fig. 2) attached to the head (2) of the vibration unit. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the head of the device of Goldstein with a chain, as taught by Metri, to aid in the use, retrieval and storage of the device [0018].
In the same field of endeavor, handheld vibration devices, Ackermann teaches a push button (114, 116; rocker switch for switching power levels and associated vibration frequency up and down) that controls and changes one or more parameters (e.g. frequency or pattern of vibration) which are then displayed as a visual indicator on a housing (138; [0054, 0069, 0070]). The visual indicator displays set power levels and the set associated vibration frequency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the head of the device of Goldstein with a visual indicator that displays set power levels and the set associated vibration frequency, as taught by Ackermann, to provide user feedback and information during use to indicate that mechanisms are being operated.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldstein in view of Metri in view of Ackermann, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oronsky et al. (US 2010/0042137A1, “Oronsky”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Goldstein, Metri and Ackermann discloses that the shaft (Goldstein; [0049]) is formed of stainless steel [0064] but does not disclose that the head is formed of stainless steel and that the head and shaft have a nickel-free outer coating. In the same field of endeavor, acupressure devices, Oronsky teaches a device formed of stainless steel and that is coated with gold or silver [0038]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the shaft and head of the combination of Golden, Metri, and Ackermann of stainless steel and a gold or silver coating, as taught by Oronsky, to provide high strength, corrosion resistant and to resist tarnishing and scratching of the head and shaft during use or storage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee (US 2014/0378940A1) discloses an acupressure apparatus including vibrating means and a motor.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771