DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed on 08/09/2025.
Claims 1-20 present for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is hereby acknowledged that the following papers have been received and placed of record in the file:
Information Disclosure Statement(s) as received on 10/28/2025 is/are considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
With respect to claims 15-20, and according to paragraph [0065] of the specification, the “computer-readable medium” does not positively limit the invention to non-transitory media, the “computer-readable medium” does not exclude a transitory type medium; the claims are directed to signal per se, which does not fall into the categories of “process”, “machine”, “manufacture” and “composition of matter”. Applicant can amend the limitation to "a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” to overcome the rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4, 6-8, 11, 13-15, 18, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,432,142 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the patent anticipate all the claims in the applications.
Instant Application
Patent (US 12,432,142 B1)
1. An apparatus, comprising:
a storage configured to store an Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) address assigned to a router by a carrier; and
a processor configured to
assign a plurality of unique local addresses (ULAs) to a plurality of devices on a local area network (LAN) served by the router, respectively;
receive a packet from a device included on the LAN, where the packet comprises a source address that includes a ULA assigned to the device and a destination address of a system on an IPv6 connection of the carrier;
replace the source address of the packet with the IPv6 address of the router assigned by the carrier rather than a prefix delegation provided by the carrier; and
transmit the packet to the Internet via the IPv6 connection of the carrier.
1. An apparatus, comprising:
a storage configured to store a first Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) address of a router assigned by a first carrier and a second IPv6 address of the router assigned by a second carrier; and
a processor configured to
assign a plurality first set of IPv6 addresses of the first carrier and a second set of IPv6 address of the second carrier to a plurality of devices on a local area network (LAN) served by the router,
receive a packet from a device included on the LAN, where the packet comprises an IPv6 address of the first carrier assigned to the device,
replace the IPv6 address of the first carrier within the packet to the second IPv6 address of the router assigned by the second carrier,
transmit the packet to the Internet via an IPv6 connection of the second carrier,
receive a second packet from a second device on the LAN, where the second packet comprises an IPv6 address of the second carrier assigned to the second device, and
replace the IPv6 address of the second carrier within the second packet to the first IPv6 address of the router assigned by the first carrier, and transmit the second packet via an IPv6 connection of the first carrier.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to receive a return packet from the IPv6 connection of the carrier, wherein the return packet comprises a respective destination address of the IPv6 address of the router assigned by the carrier.
3. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to receive a return packet from the IPv6 connection of the second carrier, wherein the return packet comprises the second IPv6 address of the router assigned by the second carrier.
6.The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to receive a second packet from the device included on the LAN, where the second packet comprises a respective source address that includes the ULA assigned to the device and a respective destination address of a second system on a second IPv6 connection of a second carrier.
1.An apparatus, comprising:
…
receive a second packet from a second device on the LAN, where the second packet comprises an IPv6 address of the second carrier assigned to the second device, and
…
7. The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to replace the respective destination address of the second packet with a second IPv6 address of the router assigned by the second carrier, and transmit the second packet to the Internet via the second IPv6 connection of the second carrier.
1.An apparatus, comprising:
…
replace the IPv6 address of the second carrier within the second packet to the first IPv6 address of the router assigned by the first carrier, and transmit the second packet via an IPv6 connection of the first carrier.
8. A method, comprising:
storing an Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) address assigned to a router by a carrier;
assigning a plurality of unique local addresses (ULAs) to a plurality of devices on a local area network (LAN) served by the router, respectively;
receiving a packet from a device included on the LAN, where the packet comprises a source address that includes a ULA assigned to the device and a destination address of a system on an IPv6 connection of the carrier;
replacing the source address of the packet with the IPv6 address of the router assigned by the carrier rather than a prefix delegation provided by the carrier; and
transmitting the packet to the Internet via the IPv6 connection of the carrier.
6. A method, comprising:
storing a first Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) address of a router assigned by a first carrier and a second IPv6 address of the router assigned by a second carrier;
assigning a plurality first set of IPv6 addresses of the first carrier and a second set of IPv6 addresses of the second carrier to a plurality of devices on a local area network (LAN) served by the router;
receiving a packet from a device included on the LAN, where the packet comprises an IPv6 address of the first carrier assigned to the device;
replacing the IPv6 address of the first carrier within the packet to the second IPv6 address of the router assigned by the second carrier;
transmitting the packet to the Internet via an IPv6 connection of the second carrier;
receiving a second packet from a second device on the LAN, where the second packet comprises an IPv6 address of the second carrier assigned to the second device; and
replacing the IPv6 address of the second carrier within the second packet to the first IPv6 address of the router assigned by the first carrier, and transmitting the second packet via an IPv6 connection of the first carrier.
11. The method of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises receiving a return packet from the IPv6 connection of the carrier, wherein the return packet comprises a respective destination address of the IPv6 address of the router assigned by the carrier.
8. The method of claim 6, wherein the method further comprises receiving a return packet from the IPv6 connection of the second carrier, wherein the return packet comprises the second IPv6 address of the router assigned by the second carrier.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein the method further comprises receiving a second packet from the device included on the LAN, where the second packet comprises a respective source address that includes the ULA assigned to the device and a respective destination address of a second system on a second IPv6 connection of a second carrier.
6. A method, comprising:
…
receiving a second packet from a second device on the LAN, where the second packet comprises an IPv6 address of the second carrier assigned to the second device; and
…
14. The method of claim 13, further comprising replacing the respective destination address of the second packet with a second IPv6 address of the router assigned by the second carrier, and transmitting the second packet to the Internet via the second IPv6 connection of the second carrier.
6. A method, comprising:
…
replacing the IPv6 address of the second carrier within the second packet to the first IPv6 address of the router assigned by the first carrier, and transmitting the second packet via an IPv6 connection of the first carrier.
15. A computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which when executed by a computer cause a processor to perform:
storing an Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) address assigned to a router by a carrier;
assigning a plurality of unique local addresses (ULAs) to a plurality of devices on a local area network (LAN) served by the router, respectively;
receiving a packet from a device included on the LAN, where the packet comprises a source address that includes a ULA assigned to the device and a destination address of a system on an IPv6 connection of the carrier;
replacing the destination address of the packet with the IPv6 address of the router assigned by the carrier rather than a prefix delegation provided by the carrier; and
transmitting the packet to the Internet via the IPv6 connection of the carrier.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which when executed by a computer cause a processor to perform:
storing a first Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) address of a router assigned by a first carrier and a second IPv6 address of the router assigned by a second carrier;
assigning a plurality first set of IPv6 addresses of the first carrier and a second set of IPv6 addresses of a second carrier to a plurality of devices on a local area network (LAN) served by the router;
receiving a packet from a device included on the LAN, where the packet comprises an IPv6 address of the first carrier assigned to the device;
replacing the IPv6 address of the first carrier within the packet to the second IPv6 address of the router assigned by the second carrier;
transmitting the packet to the Internet via an IPv6 connection of the second carrier;
receiving a second packet from a second device on the LAN, where the second packet comprises an IPv6 address of the second carrier assigned to the second device; and
replacing the IPv6 address of the second carrier within the second packet to the first IPv6 address of the router assigned by the first carrier, and transmitting the second packet via an IPv6 connection of the first carrier.
18. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform receiving a return packet from the IPv6 connection of the carrier, wherein the return packet comprises a respective destination address of the IPv6 address of the router assigned by the carrier.
13. The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to perform receiving a return packet from the IPv6 connection of the second carrier, wherein the return packet comprises the second IPv6 address of the router assigned by the second carrier.
20. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform receiving a second packet from the device included on the LAN, where the second packet comprises a respective source address that includes the ULA assigned to the device and a respective destination address of a second system on a second IPv6 connection of a second carrier.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which when executed by a computer cause a processor to perform:
…
receiving a second packet from a second device on the LAN, where the second packet comprises an IPv6 address of the second carrier assigned to the second device; and
...
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15, line 9, “the destination address of the packet” should read “the source address of the packet”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 7, 12, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the IPv6 address of the carrier" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Same rejection applies to claims 12 and 19.
Regarding claim 7, claim limitation recites “replace the respective destination address of the second packet with a second IPv6 address of the router”, which renders the claim vague and indefinite. It is unclear why would a system replace respective destination address of a second system on a second IPv6 connection of a second carrier with a second IPv6 address of the router. Same rejection applies to claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zweig (US 2006/0126613 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zweig discloses
An apparatus (router 22), comprising:
a storage configured to store an Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) address assigned to a router by a carrier (service provider) ([0024]: IPv6 versions of IP addresses can be used to practice the invention; & [0048]: the router 22 is configured with the WAN IP addresses provided by each service provider in communication with the router through a communication link; & [0027]: the router 22 maintains an address translation table that performs one-to-one mapping of local IP addresses to WAN IP addresses); and
a processor configured to
assign a plurality of unique local addresses (ULAs) to a plurality of devices on a local area network (LAN) (local IP address) served by the router, respectively ([0048]: the router 22 assigns (step 108) a local IP address to each of the client devices 26 on the internal network 10);
receive a packet from a device included on the LAN, where the packet comprises a source address that includes a ULA assigned to the device and a destination address of a system on an IPv6 connection of the carrier ([0049]: the router 22 receives a packet from one of the client devices 26 seeking to initiate communication with a first host system on the Internet; & [0035]: the router 22 receives an IP packet from a client device 26 and examines the packet header information; from the packet header, the router 22 obtains the source address, source port number, destination IP address, and destination port number for populating a new entry 52);
replace the source address of the packet with the IPv6 address of the router assigned by the carrier rather than a prefix delegation provided by the carrier ([0049]: the router 22 replaces (step 128) the source address with the WAN IP address assigned to the internet network 10 by the selected service provider); and
transmit the packet to the Internet via the IPv6 connection of the carrier ([0049]: the router 22 then forwards (step 132) the “translated” packet to that selected service provider over a communication link).
Regarding claim 3, Zweig discloses the apparatus as described in claim 1. Zweig further discloses
the plurality of ULAs assigned to the plurality of devices on the LAN are not routable on the Internet ([0024]: local IP addresses are private to the internal network 10 (i.e., unique and known within the internal network only)).
Regarding claim 4, Zweig discloses the apparatus as described in claim 1. Zweig further discloses
the processor is further configured to receive a return packet from the IPv6 connection of the carrier, wherein the return packet comprises a respective destination address of the IPv6 address of the router assigned by the carrier ([0037]: when an IP packet arrives from the external network 6, the router 22 examines and uses the destination port number in the IP packet to access information corresponding to the connection 52 corresponding stored at that location in the address translation table 50 associated with that WAN interface; & [0050]: the router 22 receives a packet from a host system on the external network 6 through one of the service providers 18; the packet arrives at the WAN port interface 96 through one of the WAN ports 84; the destination address in the header of the packet identifies the WAN IP address assigned to the internal network 10 by that service provider 18).
Regarding claim 5, Zweig discloses the apparatus as described in claim 4. Zweig further discloses
the processor is further configured to identify the ULA of the device based on the IPv6 address of the carrier from a mapping table stored by the router, replace the respective destination address with the ULA of the device, and transmit the return packet to the device via the LAN ([0037]: the router 22 examines and uses the destination port number in the IP packet to access information corresponding to the connection 52 corresponding stored at that location in the address translation table 50 associated with that WAN interface; provided the destination port number corresponds to a valid location in the address translation table, the router 22 replaces the destination address and destination port number in the packet with the source address and source port number corresponding to that connection 52; the router 22 then forwards the IP packet over the internal network 10 to that client device 26).
Regarding claim 6, Zweig discloses the apparatus as described in claim 1. Zweig further discloses
the processor is configured to receive a second packet from the device included on the LAN, where the second packet comprises a respective source address that includes the ULA assigned to the device and a respective destination address of a second system on a second IPv6 connection of a second carrier ([0049]: the router 22 receives a packet from one of the client devices 26 seeking to initiate communication with a first host system on the Internet; & [0035]: the router 22 receives an IP packet from a client device 26 and examines the packet header information; from the packet header, the router 22 obtains the source address, source port number, destination IP address, and destination port number for populating a new entry 52; & [0041]: if one client device 26 has presently initiated a file transfer transaction using a first service provider, the link selector 88 can direct a subsequent new connection (from the same or different client device) to a different service provider while the file transfer occupies the first service provider).
Regarding claim 7, Zweig discloses the apparatus as described in claim 6. Zweig further discloses
the processor is further configured to replace the respective destination address of the second packet with a second IPv6 address of the router assigned by the second carrier, and transmit the second packet to the Internet via the second IPv6 connection of the second carrier ([0004]: the NAT router replaces the source address of the packet, containing the private IP address of the computing device, with the globally unique IP address before forwarding the packet to the Internet; & [0036]: the router 22 replaces the local IP address of the client device 26 in the header of the packet with a selected WAN IP address of the router 22).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, the limitations of claims 8 and 15 are rejected in the analysis of claim 1 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 10-14, the limitations of claims 10-14 are rejected in the analysis of claims 3-7 respectively, and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Regarding claims 17-20, the limitations of claims 17-20 are rejected in the analysis of claims 3-6 respectively, and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zweig in view of Imadali et al. (US 2015/0215274 A1), hereinafter Imadali.
Regarding claim 2, Zweig discloses the apparatus as described in claim 1. Zweig does not explicitly disclose
the plurality of ULAs assigned to the plurality of devices on the LAN each comprise a forty-eight bit prefix including an eight bit ULA prefix and a forty-bit global prefix.
However, Imadali discloses
the plurality of ULAs assigned to the plurality of devices on the LAN each comprise a forty-eight bit prefix including an eight bit ULA prefix and a forty-bit global prefix (FIG. 1 & [0007]: a ULA address is formatted according to the format shown in FIG. 1, which includes the following fields: Prefix: fixed at “FC00::/7” to identify a ULA address; L: fixed at 1 if the prefix is assigned locally; Global ID: 40-bit identifier, used to create globally unique prefixes generated by a pseudorandom algorithm).
It would have been to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate feature of Imadali in the Zweig because Zweig discloses assign local IP address to each client device on the internal network ([0048]) and Imadali further suggests unique local IPv6 unicast address has prefix and 40-bit identifier ([0007]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Imadali in the Zweig system in order to create globally unique unicast IPv6 address and provide packet forwarding faster and more efficient.
Regarding claims 9 and 16, the limitations of claims 9 and 16 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 above and these claims are rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mucignat et al. (US 2012/0233478 A1). Each device is assigned a private network address from the integrated router; as packets pass from within the private network through the router, the router replaces the “source” address with the public network address of the router and a “source port” that references the entry in the NAT table ([0036]).
Gundavelli et al. (US 2013/0139221 A1). Using the proxy mobile IPv6 protocol to assign the IP address for the mobile wireless client device at the router device in the wireless wide area core network.
Avital et al. (US 2014/0310428 A1). Replace the source address of the outgoing network packet (e.g., the private network address of the platform component) with the public address of the platform router ([0039]).
Callan et al. (US 2014/0344449 A1). The router allocates a private IP address to the device; for traffic originating from that device, the router replaces the device’s private IP address with the public IP address allocated to the device ([0033]).
Kaylee Huang
09/23/2026
/KAYLEE J HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447