DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claims, understood as a whole, recites subject matter within a statutory category as a process (claim 20), machine (claims 1 – 19), which recite the abstract idea steps of
Claim 1
a patient population including a plurality of patients
an accumulated health data for each patient of the patient population, the accumulated health data including data in disparate formats from the providers, the insurers, and the patients;
receive the accumulated health data from the behavior database;
filter the accumulated health data into a patient modifiable data;
calculate a plurality of health indices in a unified format from the patient modifiable data, the unified format is different than the disparate formats of the accumulated health data;
stores the health indices with each health index corresponding to one patient of the patient population; and
determine a health action executed by at least one of the providers, the insurers, and the patients based on the health indices.
Claims 19 and 20
receive an accumulated health data for a patient, the accumulated health data is from a plurality of different sources in a plurality of disparate formats;
filter the accumulated health data into a patient modifiable data by including in the patient modifiable data only data related to clinical and non-clinical patient modifiable behaviors;
calculate a plurality of health indices in a unified format from the patient modifiable data, the unified format is different than the disparate formats of the accumulated health data;
stores the health indices with each health index corresponding to one patient of the patient population; and
execute a health action based on the health indices.
These steps of claims 1 – 20, as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, includes methods of organizing human activity. The Examiner understands the claimed invention, as a whole, in light of the Specification. The Examiner uses the specification to bring life into the claimed invention. As stated in the Specification
FIELD OF THE INVENTION
[0002] The present invention relates to a healthcare system, and more particularly, to a system for aggregating health data from disparate sources into a unified format that allows user to better understand the impact of patient-modifiable behaviors on overall health and to modify identified unhealthy behaviors.
[0082] The health index 136 improves awareness of unfavorable health behaviors that are within the control of the patient 3000 while offering insights and health actions 7000 to improve these behaviors.
The Examiner notes that the health actions are not specific as Vanda.
The result of the claimed invention is data that has a potential action in the future. It is not clear how is executing the actions and it is understood that the user performs any later steps. The invention is not disclosed to be a technological improvement or an improvement of technology.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims (such as claims 2 – 18, reciting particular aspects of how health action determination may be performed but for recitation of generic computer components).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, other than the abstract idea per se, because the additional elements amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (such as recitation of processor executing amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (such as recitation of receiving amounts to mere data gathering, recitation of filter amounts to selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated, recitation of execute a health action amounts to insignificant application, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims (such as claims 2 – 18, additional limitations which amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract ide). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Additionally, the additional limitations, other than the abstract idea per se, amount to no more than limitations which:
amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields (such as 1 – 20; receive, filter, calculate, transmit, e.g., electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii))
Additional Elements
Computer, system, server – paragraphs 33, 72
Databases – paragraph 37
Algorithm/ program – paragraphs 33, 65
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims (such as claims 2 – 18, additional limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields, retrieving, filtering, calculating, storing e.g., electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii)). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 8 - 10, 13 – 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McGuire et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2004/0131997.
As per claim 1,
McGuire teaches a system, comprising:
a health information system corresponding to a plurality of providers, a plurality of insurers, and a patient population including a plurality of patients (figure 1 and paragraphs 19, 20), the health information system including:
a behavior database storing an accumulated health data for each patient of the patient population, the accumulated health data including data in disparate formats from the providers, the insurers, and the patients (figure 1, #112, #116);
a first index database (paragraph 21, weight); and
a first processor connected to the first index database (figure 1, #106 and paragraphs 22 and 23); and
a health index system connected to the health information system, the health index system having a memory and a second processor connected to the memory, the second processor executing
a plurality of algorithms stored on the memory to:
receive the accumulated health data from the behavior database (paragraphs 24 27);
filter the accumulated health data into a patient modifiable data (paragraph 22 database and inherent features - The specification never shows that the patient modifies the data rather patient modifiable data" is a label describing patient data - The Specification does not disclose what rules are being used to filter. The result is that you filter this accumulated health data by not disclosed variable to achieve a descriptive value "patient modifiable." Modifiable vs non-modifiable is never used. Paragraph 47 begins with, "The processor 110 can filter the data into the clinical and non-clinical patient modifiable behaviors by specific programming in the algorithm of the behavior unit 160 that categorizes specific types of data and data elements as either clinical or non-clinical data and as either patient modifiable or non-patient modifiable." What is the difference between clinical data and non-clinical data? For example, is sex clinical or non-clinical 5'6" woman vs 5'6" man)
calculate a plurality of health indices in a unified format from the patient modifiable data, the unified format is different than the disparate formats of the accumulated health data (paragraph 41, weight, BMI paragraph 75 scorecard);
transmit the health indices to the first index database of the health information system (figure 1),
the first index database stores the health indices with each health index corresponding to one patient of the patient population (paragraph 73); and
determine a health action executed by at least one of the providers, the insurers, and the patients based on the health indices (paragraphs 58, 75 discount).
As per claim 2, McGuire teaches the system of claim 1 as describe above.
McGuire further teaches the system wherein the second processor filters the accumulated health data by including in the patient modifiable data only data related to clinical and non-clinical patient modifiable behaviors (paragraph 23 - The Examiner believes that "including only data related to clinical and non-clinical" is all data. There are no parameters provided to exclude any
data set. "related to" is undefined).
As per claim 6, McGuire teaches the system of claim 2 as describe above.
McGuire further teaches the system wherein each of the health indices is a single score that represents health behaviors of a corresponding patient in the patient population that are modifiable by the corresponding patient and are associated with the corresponding patient across the providers and insurers of the health information system (paragraph 77 - invention comprises a system 118 for providing educational and motivational information to participating participants. This information 118 covers eating, exercise, and supplements. By receiving this information 118 on a regular basis, the participant 102 is equipped with the necessary information required to make changes to their health. The Examiner notes that this limitation describes the “wherein each of the health indices…” but does not positively describe a function. The limitation represents the discusses the indices at a high level such as associated without also describing a kind of association.).
As per claim 8, McGuire teaches the system of claim 1 as describe above.
McGuire further teaches the system wherein
the health index system has a second index database connected to the second processor and storing the health indices calculated over time for each patient (paragraph 39, time periods),
the second processor determines a patient activation indicator based on a pattern of health behavior in the patient modifiable data of the health indices stored in the second index database over time for each patient (paragraphs 62, 79, 81, 87 thresholds).
As per claim 9, McGuire teaches the system of claim 1 as describe above.
McGuire further teaches the system wherein the health information system has a threshold database storing a plurality of score thresholds, a plurality of appointment thresholds, and a plurality of insurer thresholds (paragraphs 62, 79, 81, 87).
As per claim 10, McGuire teaches the system of claim 9 as describe above.
McGuire further teaches the system wherein the health action is a score alert and the first processor retrieves the score thresholds from the threshold database, compares the score thresholds to the health index of one of the patients, determines the score alert for each instance of the health index exceeding the score threshold, and transmits the score alert to a patient device of the patient (paragraph 87).
As per claim 13, McGuire teaches the system of claim 9 as describe above.
McGuire further teaches the system wherein the health action is one of a plurality of insurer actions and the plurality of insurer thresholds include a plurality of positive insurer thresholds and a plurality of negative insurer thresholds (paragraph 90 trend analysis).
As per claim 14, McGuire teaches the system of claim 13 as describe above.
McGuire further teaches the system wherein each insurer has an insurer computing system with an insurer processor, an insurer memory, a plan database storing a plan data on an insurance plan for each of the plurality of patients, and a program database storing a plurality of health-based incentive programs of the insurer (figure 1A #121).
As per claim 15, McGuire teaches the system of claim 10 as describe above.
McGuire further teaches the system wherein the first processor receives the positive insurer thresholds from the threshold database, compares the positive insurer thresholds to the health index of one patient, and determines a payment decrease action for each instance of the health index exceeding the positive insurer threshold (paragraph 109 discounts and loss - It should be emphasized that this is obvious for the same reasons as described above in claim 11).
As per claim 19,
McGuire teaches a health index system as described above in claim 1.
As per claim 20,
McGuire teaches a method as described above in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 - 5, 7, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by McGuire et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2004/0131997 in view of Yagnyamurthy et al., U.S. Pre-Grant
Publication 2016/0171180 As per claim 3, McGuire teaches the system of claim 2 as describe above.
McGuire does not explicitly teach, however Yagnyamurthy further teaches the system wherein the second processor calculates each health index from a plurality of subcomponents (paragraph 78),
each of the subcomponents has a weighted subcomponent score determined from a subcomponent score and a subcomponent weight (paragraph 78), and
the second processor sums the weighted subcomponent scores to calculate the health index (paragraphs 78, 87 combine- It should be emphasized that the weighting scheme is not disclosed and therefore everything is equally weighted. The second problem is that subcomponents and subcomponent scores are introduced without stating where the values are from. The third problem is that there is no disclosed linkage between the summed weighted subcomponent score and the overall health index. Please see above for antecedent basis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add these features into McGuire. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date would have added these features into McGuire with the motivation to perform an
analysis of the healthcare information via one or more analytics techniques, and identifies a type
of health-related motivation, from multiple types of health-related motivations, based on
performing the analysis (Yagnyamurthy, Abstract).
As per claim 4, McGuire in view of Yagnyamurthy teaches the system of claim 3 as describe above.
McGuire does not explicitly teach however, Yagnyamurthy further teaches the system wherein the second processor
calculates the subcomponent score of each of the subcomponents from a plurality of behavior categories each having a weighted behavior category score, calculates each weighted behavior category score from a plurality of health behavior measures each having a health behavior measure score (paragraph 78), and
determines the health behavior measure score from at least one data element in the patient modifiable data (paragraph 78).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add these features into McGuire for the reasons as described above.
As per claim 5, McGuire in view of Yagnyamurthy teaches the system of claim 4 as describe above.
McGuire does not explicitly teach however, Yagnyamurthy further teaches the system wherein the subcomponent scores and the weighted behavior category scores are accessible and displayed at a single access point on a patient interface and communicated as a single composite value (figure 1A, Wellness Application – figure 1B levels 3 of fitness).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add these features into McGuire for the reasons as described above.
As per claim 7, McGuire teaches the system of claim 2 as describe above.
McGuire does not explicitly teach however, Yagnyamurthy further teaches the system wherein the second processor determines a data quality indicator from the patient modifiable data by comparing a plurality of first data elements in the patient modifiable data with a plurality of second data elements capable of being incorporated into at least one subcomponent score (paragraph 42 points for activities the user enjoys – a subcomponent score may be almost anything).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add these features into McGuire for the reasons as described above.
As per claim 11, McGuire teaches the system of claim 9 as describe above.
McGuire does not explicitly teach however, Yagnyamurthy further teaches the system wherein the first processor retrieves the health index particular to one patient from the first index database and transmits the health index to a provider computing system of one of the providers particular to the one patient (paragraphs 51 – 56 sent to a coach).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add these features into McGuire for the reasons as described above.
Claims 12 and 16 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by McGuire et al., U.S. Pre-Grant Publication 2004/0131997.
As per claim 12, McGuire teaches the system of claim 11 as describe above.
McGuire does not explicitly teach teaches the system wherein
the health action is an appointment alert (paragraphs 103 message 109 alert) and the first processor retrieves the appointment thresholds from the threshold database (paragraphs 62, 81), compares the appointment thresholds to a plurality of previous appointment dates of the one patient (paragraph 90- how the appointment date is compared to an appointment date is not disclosed),
determines the appointment alert for each instance of the previous appointment dates exceeding the appointment threshold (paragraph 90 - An appointment date is a date field while an appointment threshold is a value- comparison of the two docs not produce a value), and
transmits the appointment alert to the provider computing system (paragraph 70).
It should be understood that the word "appointment" is a label ascribed to a particular data type. As claimed, the word appointment has no function. Substituting one data label for another data label provides the same result, except that the data label differs. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to substitute one label for another label. The process of substituting labels is known and the results are predictable.
The claim regards obtaining a threshold. Compare the threshold against a past event. If the past event exceeds the threshold then set notify. The labels of the compared items are nonfunctional.
As per claim 16 - 18, McGuire teaches the resource of claim 14 as describe above.
McGuire further teaches the resource for the reasons as described above in claim 11. It should
be emphasized that the limitations compare a score against a threshold value. If the score exceeds
a threshold value then notification occurs. That notification includes words whose labels may be
increase or decrease or rate. However, these words are only useful if read and acted upon.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chapin et al Pub. No.: US 2011/0295624 A method for determining a fire risk score
Saidel et al Pub. No.: US 2013/0096935 creating, managing, backing, and transferring health care credits are described.
/NEAL SEREBOFF/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3626