DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to applicant’s filing on 8/11/2025. Claims 1-8 are pending and considered below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“activation unit”, “data collection unit”, “analysis unit” and “visualization unit” (claims 1-8) are components of a data processing device and a smart device communicating through a network (paragraphs [0024-0029] (PGPub) and FIG. 1, data processing device-12, smart device-14, and network-54). The data processing device is a server (paragraph [0024]). The smart device is a mobile device, smartphone, tablet, smart glasses, headset-type terminal or robot (paragraphs [0070] and [0127-0130]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without integrating the judicial exception into a practical application and without an additional element which amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claims 1-8, step 1 analysis, the subject matter of claims 1-8 is included in the four patent-eligible subject matter categories (e.g., process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter). Claims 1-8 are directed to a device (a data processing device and a smart device communicating through a network).
Claims 1-8 are directed to a judicial exception. The claim limitations recite a revised step 2A, prong one, abstract idea (a mental process involving observation and evaluation which could be performed in the human mind). Claims 1-8 are directed to a device for determining to activate one or more drones. This limitation is a simple process that, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the claims encompass an emergency responder determining to dispatch drones to provide aerial photography of a disaster area. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
Claims 1-8 do not include any revised step 2A, prong two, additional elements.
Claims 1-8 include the step 2B additional elements of an activation unit, a data collection unit, an analysis unit, and a visualization unit. Applicant’s specification does not provide any indication that the activation unit, data collection unit, analysis unit, and visualization unit are anything other than a conventional server and smart device. Determining to activate one or more drones in response to a disaster is a well-understood, routine and conventional function when claimed using a generic server and smart device. Servers and smart devices are widely prevalent and in common use in emergency response systems. Servers and smart devices are not significantly more than the judicial exception since they are well-understood, routine and conventional features previously known to the disaster response industry. Therefore, claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Examiner suggests amending claim 1 to positively recite a control function of the drone and a drone camera in order to provide a revised step 2A, prong two, additional element that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. For instance, claim 1 could be amended to include “wherein the drone automatically maneuvers to the site of a disaster; and wherein a drone camera captures images of the site of the disaster”.
See, the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, which is available on the USPTO Website.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims should use the word “a” or “an” the first time an element is introduced, and should use “the” or “said” during subsequent use.
Terms should be used consistently in all claims, including dependent claims.
Regarding claims 3, 5 and 7, “the damage situation” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, “the damage situation data” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 7, “the site” lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 8, “the user’s emotion” lacks antecedent basis.
Further regarding claim 8, the claim is unclear if the “user” is a person operating the drone, an emergency rescuer, or a disaster victim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Konishi (US-2025/0004477-A1, hereinafter Konishi).
Regarding claim 1, Konishi discloses:
A system comprising: (paragraphs [0027-0028]; and FIG. 1, unmanned vehicle-100, data storage system-300, data analysis device-400, disaster prediction device-500, rescuer device-600, and disaster victim device-610);
an activation unit that activates a drone (paragraphs [0036] and [0044-0045]; FIG. 3, unmanned vehicle management device-500A, and unmanned vehicle deployment unit-520; and FIG. 6, Disaster occurred? - S200, and Deploy unmanned vehicle and rescuer - S202);
a data collection unit that processes data collected by the drone activated by the activation unit (paragraphs [0030-0031], [0038] and [0049]; FIG. 1, unmanned vehicle-100, and camera image sensor information-340; FIG. 3, unmanned vehicle-100, sensor-110, and camera-112; and FIG. 6, Data collection and accumulation - S204);
an analysis unit that analyzes the data collected by the data collection unit (paragraphs [0031-0032] and [0049]; FIG. 1, data storage system-300, and data analysis device-400; and FIG. 6, Understand disaster (including updating and prediction) - S206, and Select evacuation area and route - S208); and
a visualization unit that visualizes the data analyzed by the analysis unit (paragraphs [0040] and [0049]; FIG. 3, information provision device-500B, information presentation unit for rescuers-540, information presentation unit for disaster victims-542, rescuer device-600, and disaster victim device-610; and FIG. 6, Provide information - S210).
Regarding claim 2, Konishi further discloses:
wherein the activation unit simultaneously activates a plurality of drones within one hour after the occurrence of a disaster (paragraphs [0047] and [0054]).
Regarding claim 3, Konishi further discloses:
wherein the data collection unit captures images of the damage situation using a drone equipped with a camera (paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 6, Konishi further discloses:
wherein the analysis unit rapidly processes the damage situation data (paragraphs [0047] and [0054]).
Regarding claim 7, Konishi further discloses:
wherein the visualization unit enables real-time understanding of the damage situation at the site (paragraphs [0047] and [0054]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konishi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leon Ibarra (US-2024/0004381-A1, hereinafter Leon Ibarra).
Regarding claim 4, Konishi does not disclose analyzing the damage situation using generative AI. However, Leon Ibarra discloses a system for controlling unmanned aerial vehicles (RPA) and unmanned aerial systems (UAS) using platform as a service (PaaS) powered by artificial intelligence (AI), including the following features:
wherein the analysis unit analyzes the damage situation data using generative AI (paragraphs [0156], [0174-0176] and [0197]).
Leon Ibarra teaches that a system for controlling unmanned aerial vehicles (RPA) and unmanned aerial systems (UAS) should use platform as a service (PaaS) powered by artificial intelligence (AI) for mapping forest fires and other public safety emergencies (paragraphs [0156] and [0174-0176]). Leon Ibarra further teaches that information stored in the cloud will enable data-driven decisions to be made quickly and accurately, with the application of AI (paragraph [0197]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the system of using AI to map forest fires and other public safety emergencies of Leon Ibarra into the system of using drones to map disaster areas and provide a map display to rescuers and disaster victims of Konishi. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of quickly and accurately providing rescuers and victims with information regarding forest fires and other public safety emergencies.
Regarding claim 5, Konishi does not disclose analyzing the damage situation using generative AI. However, Leon Ibarra further discloses:
wherein the visualization unit visualizes the damage situation as a 3D map using generative AI (paragraphs [0018-0019], [0156], [0174-0176] and [0197]).
Leon Ibarra teaches that aerial images with a photogrammetry technique can generate georeferenced maps and 3D surveys used to support police operations, natural disaster response, and response to other emergencies (paragraph [0018]). Leon Ibarra further teaches that drones should be used with computer vision algorithms and artificial intelligence algorithms (paragraph [0019]). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the system of using AI to create 3D maps of forest fires and other public safety emergencies of Leon Ibarra into the system of using drones to map disaster areas and provide a map display to rescuers and disaster victims of Konishi. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of quickly and accurately providing rescuers and victims with information regarding forest fires and other public safety emergencies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Flick (U.S. Patent Number 10,137,984) discloses an autonomous drone which automatically deploys to mitigate damage to insured assets (Abstract).
Halbgewachs et al., Using UAV Data to Improve the Situational Awareness for First Responders in Disaster Management: The Example of Flooding in the AHR Valley, Germany, 2023 IEEE International Geoscience and Remote Sensing Symposium (IGARSS 2023), pp. 934-937, 2023, discloses mapping of flooded areas as well as automatically detecting buildings and vehicles using machine learning workflows. Navigable and analyzable 3D scenes are calculated from drone data and provided to first responders (Abstract).
Krichen et al., Advances in AI and Drone-based Natural Disaster Management: A Survey, 2023 20th ACS/IEEE International Conference on Computer Systems and Applications (AICCSA), pp. 1-6, 2023, discloses the use of artificial intelligence (AI) and drone-based technologies for disaster relief. Drones are used to survey a scene and look for survivors. AI-based systems provide real-time data to rescue workers (Abstract).
Shi et al., Application of Social Sensors in Natural Disasters Emergency Management: A Review, IEEE Transactions on Computational Social Systems, Vol. 10, No. 6, pp. 3143-3158, 2023, discloses the application of social sensors for natural disaster situation awareness and event detection, disaster information dissemination and communication, and disaster sentiment analysis and public opinion mining (Abstract).
TAMARA L. WEBER
Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/TAMARA L WEBER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667