DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species B (Figure 2) is acknowledged. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed April 6, 2026. No claims are withdrawn as a result of the Requirement for Restriction mailed February 10, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 11-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 4,540,311 Leach.
To claim 1, Leach discloses an engineered textile (see Figures 1a-5, reproduced below for convenience; col. 2, line 49 – col. 4, line 19), comprising:
a first set of wire windings (28) substantially parallel to one another and elongated in a first direction (see Figures 1a-1b and 3; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 15; col. 3, lines 29-54; col. 4, lines 9-19; it is respectfully noted that the disclosure of the instant application indicates that wire windings may include “any suitable natural or synthetic material, including extruded elastic and inelastic polymers, braided fibers, combinations thereof, and the like;” see para. 0009 of the instant specification);
a second set of wire windings (30) substantially parallel to one another and elongated in a second direction distinct from the first direction, the second set of wire windings abutting the first set of wire windings in an unwoven, intercrossed pattern (see Figures 1a-1b and 3; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 15; col. 3, lines 29-54; col. 4, lines 9-19; it is respectfully noted that the disclosure of the instant application indicates that wire windings may include “any suitable natural or synthetic material, including extruded elastic and inelastic polymers, braided fibers, combinations thereof, and the like;” see para. 0009 of the instant specification); and
a first set of substantially linear stitch seams interleaved between the first set of wire windings, contacting the second set of wire windings, and binding the second set of wire windings to one another (see Figures 1a-2 and 4-5; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 44; first set of substantially linear stitch seams formed by first pair of threads 14,16; it is respectfully noted that the phrase “substantially linear stitch seams” is very broad and that the series of knit loops 18,20 and joints 22 of the knit structure formed by first pair of threads 14,16 can together properly be considered “substantially linear stitch seams” at least because they extend in a generally linear pattern and the phrase “stitch seam” does not denote any particular form or type of seam structure);
wherein each substantially linear stitch seam of the first set of substantially linear stitch seams includes a first pair of threads (14,16) codirectional with each other and defining a first set of joints (22) located at joint locations within the intercrossed pattern and joining together the second set of wire windings (see especially Figures 1a-2; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 44).
To claim 8, Leach further discloses an engineered textile wherein each wire of the first and second sets of wire windings has a first diameter, and each thread of the first pair of threads has a second diameter less than the first diameter (see Figures 1a-2 and 4-5; col. 4, lines 9-19).
To claim 11, Leach further discloses an engineered textile wherein each substantially linear stitch seam of the first set of substantially linear stitch seams extends substantially parallel to the first direction of the first set of wire windings and is interposed between a respective pair of wire windings in the first set of wire windings (see especially Figures 1a-2; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 44).
To claim 12, Leach further discloses an engineered textile wherein the first set of wire windings is formed from a first wire and the second set of wire windings is formed from a second wire distinct from the first wire (see Figures 1a-1b and 3; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 15; col. 3, lines 29-54; col. 4, lines 9-19; it is respectfully noted that the disclosure of the instant application indicates that wire windings may include “any suitable natural or synthetic material, including extruded elastic and inelastic polymers, braided fibers, combinations thereof, and the like;” see para. 0009 of the instant specification).
To claim 13, Leach further discloses an engineered textile wherein the first set of wire windings is substantially perpendicular to the second set of wire windings (see Figures 1a-1b and 3; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 15; col. 3, lines 29-54).
To claim 14, Leach further discloses an engineered textile wherein a first thread (14) of the first pair of threads abuts a first side of the second set of wire windings, and a second thread (16) of the first pair of threads abuts a second side, opposite the first side, of the second set of wire windings (see Figures 1a-5; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 15; col. 3, lines 29-54).
To claim 15, Leach further discloses an engineered textile wherein the unwoven, intercrossed pattern of the first and second sets of wire windings defines a plurality of quadrangles with central gaps, and wherein each joint of the first set of joints is located in a respective one of the central gaps (see Figures 1a-5; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 44).
To claim 16, Leach further discloses an engineered textile wherein each of the quadrangles is defined by a respective set of intersecting points at which the first set of wire windings intercrosses the second set of wire windings, and wherein each of the joints is located at a respective center of a diagonal line segment connecting an opposing pair of the intersecting points (see Figures 1a-5; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 44).
To claim 18, Leach further discloses an engineered textile wherein the first and second sets of wire windings are retained in a tensioned state in the unwoven, intercrossed pattern (see Figures 1a-1b and 3; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 15; col. 3, lines 29-54).
To claim 20, Leach discloses a method of assembling an engineered textile (see Figures 1a-5, reproduced above for convenience; col. 2, line 49 – col. 4, line 19), the method comprising:
arranging a first set of wire windings (28) substantially parallel to one another and elongated in a first direction (see Figures 1a-1b and 3; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 15; col. 3, lines 29-54; col. 4, lines 9-19; it is respectfully noted that the disclosure of the instant application indicates that wire windings may include “any suitable natural or synthetic material, including extruded elastic and inelastic polymers, braided fibers, combinations thereof, and the like;” see para. 0009 of the instant specification);
arranging a second set of wire windings (30) substantially parallel to one another and elongated in a second direction distinct from the first direction (see Figures 1a-1b and 3; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 15; col. 3, lines 29-54; col. 4, lines 9-19; it is respectfully noted that the disclosure of the instant application indicates that wire windings may include “any suitable natural or synthetic material, including extruded elastic and inelastic polymers, braided fibers, combinations thereof, and the like;” see para. 0009 of the instant specification);
abutting the second set of wire windings with the first set of wire windings in an unwoven, intercrossed pattern (see Figures 1a-1b and 3; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 15; col. 3, lines 29-54; col. 4, lines 9-19); and
forming a first set of substantially linear stitch seams interleaved with the first set of wire windings, contacting the second set of wire windings, and binding the second set of wire windings to one another (see Figures 1a-2 and 4-5; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 44; first set of substantially linear stitch seams formed by first pair of threads 14,16; it is respectfully noted that the phrase “substantially linear stitch seams” is very broad and that the series of knit loops 18,20 and joints 22 of the knit structure formed by first pair of threads 14,16 can together properly be considered “substantially linear stitch seams” at least because they extend in a generally linear pattern and the phrase “stitch seam” does not denote any particular form or type of seam structure),
wherein each substantially linear stitch seam of the first set of substantially linear stitch seams is formed by a first pair of threads (14,16) codirectional with each other and defining a first set of joints located at joint locations within the intercrossed pattern (see especially Figures 1a-2; col. 2, line 57 – col. 3, line 44).
Claims 1, 8-14, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by USPN 8,266,827 Dojan et al.
To claim 1, Dojan discloses an engineered textile (30) (see Figures 1-10B; col. 3, lines 4-23; col. 3, line 48 – col. 11, line 13), comprising:
a first set of wire windings (41) (col. 5, line 55 – col. 6, line 14; it is respectfully noted that the instant disclosure does not provide any particular definition for the term “wire,” and that strands 41 as disclosed in Dojan include configurations that can properly be considered “wires”) substantially parallel to one another and elongated in a first direction (annotated Figure 7C, see below; col. 4, line 25 – col. 8, line 56);
a second set of wire windings (41) (col. 5, line 55 – col. 6, line 14; it is respectfully noted that the instant disclosure does not provide any particular definition for the term “wire,” and that strands 41 as disclosed in Dojan include configurations that can properly be considered “wires”) substantially parallel to one another and elongated in a second direction distinct from the first direction, the second set of wire windings abutting the first set of wire windings in an unwoven, intercrossed pattern (annotated Figure 7C; col. 4, line 25 – col. 8, line 56); and
a first set of substantially linear stitch seams interleaved between the first set of wire windings, contacting the second set of wire windings, and binding the second set of wire windings to one another (see for example Figures 3-6B and annotated Figure 7C; col. 4, line 62 – col. 8, line 57; first set of substantially linear stitch seams formed by first pair of threads 42,43);
wherein each substantially linear stitch seam of the first set of substantially linear stitch seams includes a first pair of threads (42,43) (col. 5, line 55 – col. 6, line 25) codirectional with each other and defining a first set of joints located at joint locations within the intercrossed pattern and joining together the second set of wire windings (see for example Figures 3-6B and annotated Figure 7C; col. 4, line 62 – col. 8, line 57).
To claim 8, Dojan further discloses an engineered textile wherein each wire of the first and second sets of wire windings has a first diameter, and each thread of the first pair of threads has a second diameter less than the first diameter (see for example Figures 3-6B and annotated Figure 7C; col. 6, lines 26-58).
To claim 9, Dojan further discloses an engineered textile wherein the first diameter of the first and second sets of wire windings is at least 75% larger than the second diameter of the first pair of threads (see for example Figures 3-6B and annotated Figure 7C; col. 6, lines 26-58).
It is respectfully noted that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05).
To claim 10, Dojan further discloses an engineered textile wherein each joint of the first set of joints includes a respective lockstitch of the first pair of threads (see especially Figures 4-6B; col. 4, line 62 – col. 5, line 14).
To claim 11, Dojan further discloses an engineered textile wherein each substantially linear stitch seam of the first set of substantially linear stitch seams extends substantially parallel to the first direction of the first set of wire windings and is interposed between a respective pair of wire windings in the first set of wire windings (annotated Figure 7C; col. 4, line 62 – col. 5, line 54).
To claim 12, Dojan further discloses an engineered textile wherein the first set of wire windings is formed from a first wire and the second set of wire windings is formed from a second wire distinct from the first wire (annotated Figure 7C; col. 4, line 62 – col. 6, line 58).
To claim 13, Dojan further discloses an engineered textile wherein the first set of wire windings is substantially perpendicular to the second set of wire windings (annotated Figure 7C; col. 4, line 62 – col. 6, line 58; it is respectfully noted that the term “substantially” is very broad).
To claim 14, Dojan further discloses an engineered textile wherein a first thread (42) of the first pair of threads abuts a first side of the second set of wire windings, and a second thread (43) of the first pair of threads abuts a second side, opposite the first side, of the second set of wire windings (see for example Figures 3-6B and annotated Figure 7C; col. 4, line 62 – col. 8, line 57).
To claim 17, Dojan further discloses an engineered textile wherein the engineered textile is a vamp portion and/or a toe box portion of an upper of an article of footwear (10) (annotated Figure 7C; col. 3, line 48 – col. 4, line 23).
To claim 18, Dojan further discloses an engineered textile wherein the first and second sets of wire windings are retained in a tensioned state in the unwoven, intercrossed pattern (annotated Figure 7C; col. 8, lines 1-20).
To claim 20, Dojan discloses a method of assembling an engineered textile (30) (see Figures 1-10B; col. 8, line 58 – col. 11, line 13), the method comprising:
arranging a first set of wire windings (41) (col. 5, line 55 – col. 6, line 14; it is respectfully noted that the instant disclosure does not provide any particular definition for the term “wire,” and that strands 41 as disclosed in Dojan include configurations that can properly be considered “wires”) substantially parallel to one another and elongated in a first direction (annotated Figure 7C, see above; col. 4, line 25 – col. 8, line 56);
arranging a second set of wire windings (41) (col. 5, line 55 – col. 6, line 14; it is respectfully noted that the instant disclosure does not provide any particular definition for the term “wire,” and that strands 41 as disclosed in Dojan include configurations that can properly be considered “wires”) substantially parallel to one another and elongated in a second direction distinct from the first direction (annotated Figure 7C; col. 4, line 25 – col. 8, line 56);
abutting the second set of wire windings with the first set of wire windings in an unwoven, intercrossed pattern (annotated Figure 7C; col. 4, line 25 – col. 8, line 56); and
forming a first set of substantially linear stitch seams interleaved with the first set of wire windings, contacting the second set of wire windings, and binding the second set of wire windings to one another (see for example Figures 3-6B and annotated Figure 7C; col. 4, line 62 – col. 8, line 57; first set of substantially linear stitch seams formed by first pair of threads 42,43),
wherein each substantially linear stitch seam of the first set of substantially linear stitch seams is formed by a first pair of threads (42,43) codirectional with each other and defining a first set of joints located at joint locations within the intercrossed pattern (see for example Figures 3-6B and annotated Figure 7C; col. 4, line 62 – col. 8, line 57).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach (as applied to claims 1 and 8, above).
To claim 9, Leach discloses an engineered textile wherein each wire of the first and second sets of wire windings has a first diameter, and each thread of the first pair of threads has a second diameter less than the first diameter (see Figures 1a-2 and 4-5; col. 4, lines 9-19), as recited in claim 8, above.
Leach does not explicitly disclose an engineered textile wherein the first diameter of the first and second sets of wire windings is at least 75% larger than the second diameter of the first pair of threads.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the engineered textile of Leach such that the first diameter of the first and second sets of wire windings is at least 75% larger than the second diameter of the first pair of threads as a matter of routine optimization. It is further respectfully noted that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leach (as applied to claim 1, above) in view of USPN 4,447,967 Zaino.
To claim 17, Leach discloses an engineered textile as recited in claim 1, above.
Leach does not explicitly disclose an engineered textile wherein the engineered textile is a vamp portion and/or a toe box portion of an upper of an article of footwear.
However, Zaino teaches an engineered textile (1) (see Figures 1-4, reproduced below for convenience; col. 1, line 49 – col. 2, line 44) that is a vamp portion and/or a toe box portion of an upper of an article of footwear (3) (see especially Figures 1-2; col. 1, line 49 – col. 2, line 4).
Leach and Zaino teach analogous inventions in the field of engineered textiles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the engineered textile of Leach to form a vamp portion and/or a toe box portion of an upper of an article of footwear as taught by Zaino because Zaino teaches that this configuration is known in the art and allows for perspiration to take place (col. 2, lines 36-44).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,404,614.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they each recite engineered textiles comprising substantially the same elements including first and second sets of wire windings abutting each other in an unwoven, intercrossed pattern, substantially linear stitch seams between the wire windings, and with the substantially linear stitch seams including first and second threads and joints located at joint locations.
INSTANT APPLICATION
USPN 12,404,614
CLAIMS
1
1,15,21
2
1,15,17-19,21
3
6,18
4
2,16,21
5
5
6
6
7
5-6,18-19
8
7
9
3
10
2,16,21
11
5,19
12
14
13
6,18
14
4
15
9
16
9
17
10
18
11
19
1,15,21
20
1,15,21
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 19 allowed over the prior art of record (subject to the successful filing of a Terminal Disclaimer to overcome the rejection for nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,404,614, detailed above).
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (subject to the successful filing of a Terminal Disclaimer to overcome the rejection for nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,404,614, detailed above).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest pieces of prior art are USPN 4,540,311 Leach and USPN 8,266,827 Dojan et al. Claims 2-7 and 19 are distinguished from Leach and Dojan at least because neither Leach nor Dojan, alone or in combination, teach, suggest, or disclose an engineered textile comprising a second set of substantially linear stitch seams interleaved between a second set of wire windings, the second set of substantially linear stitch seams including a second pair of threads codirectional with each other and defining a second set of joints located at joint locations within an intercrossed pattern and joining together the second set of wire windings, along with each of the other limitations as claimed. The prior art of record would not be combinable to result in the claimed invention without substantial rearrangement and improper hindsight reasoning. Dependent claims are allowable at least by virtue of their dependencies on an allowable claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Additional examples of engineered textiles comprising first and second sets of wire windings abutting each other in an unwoven, intercrossed pattern and further comprising substantially linear stitch seams, analogous to the instant invention (see form PTO-892 “Notice of References Cited”).
/F Griffin Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732