DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 8 it is unclear how the controller is configured to manage and control the release of water, oxygen, or carbon dioxide for a pre-defined period as no structure is positively claimed to perform the claimed functions. There are no structures claimed to supply water or carbon dioxide, or structures that provide for selective “release”, or a structure to communicate with the controller that can receive any control commands. For the purposes of examination, the examiner considers this limitation to read as a capable function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (10,264,743) in view of Janney (8,881,454).
In re. claims 1, 4, 9, 13, and 15, with reference to Figures 1 and 7, Smith discloses a system, comprising: a housing adapted to receive soil and one or more plants or seeds therein, wherein the housing comprises a floor region; a support platform above the floor region of the housing, such that the platform comprises an open aerated region there below; and an air injection unit secured to tubing that extends from an upper region of the housing, wherein the air injection unit comprises a pump having adjustable power (col.6 lines 45-55) disposed therein adapted to inject ambient air into the tubing. Not disclosed is an adjustable speed fan in a casing and solar panels or photovoltaic cells.
However, with reference to col.5 line 62 to col. 6 line 30, Janney discloses a system comprising a housing adapted to receive soil and one or more plants or seeds therein, wherein the housing comprises a floor region; a support platform above the floor region of the housing, such that the platform comprises an open aerated region there below; and an oxygen delivery system comprising a fan powered by a solar panel. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. The claim would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. It would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalent to substitute the pump with a fan, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007). The Examiner contends that well-known, common fan structures inherently include some form of a “casing” around centrally positioned fan blades. (References containing basic depictions of a fan having a “casing”: Fig. 2A & 2G US 2019/0059242, Fig. 23-24 US 2022/0174899, Fig.1 US 11,490,574)
In re. claim 2, with reference to the figures, Smith discloses the tubing is comprised of a plurality of tubes that further extend to a lower region of the housing.
In re. claim 3, with reference to col.7 lines 45-48, Smith discloses a circulation fan module, wherein the circulation fan module is configured to divert carbon dioxide gases.
In re. claim 5, with reference to col.4 lines 1-10, Smith discloses the support platform is comprised of a plurality of openings. Not disclosed is a grid configuration. It would have been a matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the platform to have a grid configuration as an obvious change in shape. In reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
In re. claim 6, with reference to Figure 1, Smith discloses the support platform further comprises an opening adapted to receive the tubing.
In re. claims 7, 8, and 10, with reference to col.7 lines 15-27, Smith discloses a controller in communication with the housing configured to manage and control the release water, oxygen, or carbon dioxide for a pre-defined period.
In re. claim 11, with reference to col.4 lines 55-60, Smith discloses the housing is cylindrical.
In re. claim 12, with reference to col.4 lines 31-64, Smith discloses a cover. Not disclosed is the cover being conical shaped with a flat top. It would have been a matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the cover to be conical shaped with a flat top as an obvious change in shape. In reDailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith (10,264,743) in view of Janney (8,881,454) as applied to claims 1-13 and 15 above, and further in view of Junkeer (US 2011/0162272).
In re. claim 14, Smith, as modified by Janney, discloses the claimed invention as described above except for a lower region of the housing comprising a plurality of grooves or projections.
However, with reference to [0031], Junkeer discloses a system comprising a housing having a plurality of grooves or projections (ribbing) for added strength. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Smith, as modified by Janney, to include grooves or projections as taught by Junkeer for increased strength.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Examiner lists referenced documents on PTO-892 because the references present other/alternative or conceptual designs similar in scope that illustrate relevant features, which may demonstrate the level of novelty in comparison to Applicant’s inventive submission. The record relates to Applicant’s identified material and Examiner’s discovered references concerning Applicant’s subject matter relevant for a patentability determination.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA L PERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644