DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant has submitted large amount of Information Disclosure Statements and/or huge number of references and/or reference(s) which are very hefty. Where applicant points the Examiner to large reference or references without citing a specific portion or page, the Examiner will not pour over the documents to extract the relevant information, Ernst Haas Studio, Inc. v. palm Press, Inc. 164 F.3rd 110, 112 (2d Cir. 1999), Winer International Royalty Corp. v. Wang, 202 F3d 1340, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2000). It is not true, if applicant presents an overload of irrelevant or non-probative references, somehow the irrelevancies will add up to relevant evidence, DeSilva v. DiLeonardi, 181 F.3d 865, 867. Information Disclosure Statements must make all relevant information accessible to the Examiner, rather ask him to play archaeologist with the references, Shiokawa v. Maienfisch, 56 USPQ2d 1406, 1413 and LeVeen v. Edwards 57 USPQ2d 1406, 1413. It is desirable to avoid the submission of long lists of documents if it can be avoided. Eliminate clearly irrelevant and marginally pertinent cumulative information. If a long list is submitted, highlight those documents which have been specifically brought to applicant’s attention and/or are known to be of most significance. See Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F. Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff’d, 479 F.2d 1338, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1974). But cf. Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823 (Fed. Cir. 1995). With this in mind, the Information Disclosure Statement has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the detacher is provided at an exit of the venue and the first securing member comprises a hook portion of a hook-and-loop fastener, and wherein the second securing member comprises a loop portion of the hook-and-loop fasten must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
It has been held that to be entitled to weight in method claims, the recited structure limitations therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense, and not to amount to the mere claiming of a use or not the use of a particular structure. Ex parte Pfeiffer, 1962 C.D. 408 (1961)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 17, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification does not support, for the filing date sought, and/or inadequately describes the now claimed the locks further comprise first and second magnetic plates formed within the front and rear panels, respectively and the first securing member comprises a hook portion of a hook-and-loop fastener, and wherein the second securing member comprises a loop portion of the hook-and-loop fastener.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the member’s" and “the audience member’s” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0190841 (Nash) .
Nash discloses a method for reducing the distraction caused by a mobile electronic device at a venue, the method comprising identifying a venue where mobile electronic devices are likely to cause distraction during a communal event (figures 14-16, ¶4) providing a flexible case (#102) to a user of a mobile electronic device (#90), wherein the mobile electronic device (#90) is a cell phone or a smart phone (¶76, claim 1). The lock (figure 9, #106) is configured to secure the case in a closed position and is further configured to prevent a user from controlling their electronic device and limiting the user's control over the user's mobile electronic device (#90) at the venue by causing the case to be locked with the user's mobile electronic device (#90) within the case, reducing the distraction caused by the user's mobile electronic device at the communal event (¶4, 65, 19, 133, etc.).
Regarding front panel having a lower edge and sides that are longer than the lower edge, a rear panel having a lower edge coupled to the front panel's lower edge and sides that are approximately the same length as the front panel's sides, wherein the front and rear panels' respective sides are closed thereby forming an opening to a cavity opposite the lower edges, wherein the cavity is sized to receive the mobile electronic device, and a lock, comprising a first locking member outside of the cavity and connected to the front panel, and a second locking member outside of the cavity and connected to the rear panel, the second locking member configured to engage the first locking member, note paragraph 5 above.
Regarding claim 11, note ¶4 which shows allowing the user to retain possession of their mobile electronic device locked within the flexible case during at least a portion of the communal event.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 15, 19, 20, 26, 29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0187003 (Stewart, et al).
A flexible case (figure 1-3, #10) for a mobile electronic device (#14), the flexible case (#12) comprising a front panel having sides, each extending in parallel to the other in a longitudinal direction, and a bottom edge extending between the sides of the front panel in a lateral direction (#12). A rear panel having sides, each extending in parallel to the other in the longitudinal direction, and a bottom edge extending between the sides of the rear panel in the lateral direction (#12) The front and rear panels are coupled such that the bottom edges and sides of the front and rear panels define a cavity (#24) having an opening opposite to the bottom edges (#12). The cavity is sized to receive a user's mobile electronic device (#14), and wherein each of the front and rear panels are foldable relative to the longitudinal direction to close the opening of the cavity (#24) and a first securing member connected to the front panel and a second securing member connected to the rear panel (#24). The first securing member is configured such that, when the front and rear panels are folded relative to the longitudinal direction to close the opening of the cavity (#12), the first securing member engages the second securing member and securing the case in a closed position such that it limits the user's access to their mobile electronic device (#14, ¶17-27).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, first side of the front panel's sides and a first side of the rear panel's sides are coupled via stitching and the front panel's bottom edge and the rear panel's bottom edge are not coupled via stitching, note ¶24-26.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, this claim is not a patentable limitation against the flexible case since this is only limiting mobile electronic device. Also note ¶21.
Regarding claim 29, this claim is inherent since the electronic device cannot be use for anything.
Regarding claim 26, note ¶22 and #16 which shows the first and second securing member are further configured to unlock via a detacher comprising a magnet.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0190841 (Nash) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0187003 (Stewart, et al).
Nash, et al discloses a system for reducing an audience's distraction from the member's respective mobile electronic devices at a communal event, the system comprising a plurality of flexible cases (figure 9, ¶11). The lock (#106) is configured to secure the case (#102) in a closed position, thereby limiting the audience member's access to their mobile electronic device (¶4). Also note the above paragraphs. Nash, et al does not disclose flexible cases comprising a front panel having a lower edge and sides that are longer than the lower edge, a rear panel having a lower edge and sides that are approximately the same length as the front panel's lower edge and sides, wherein the front and rear panels are coupled such that the lower edges and sides of the front and rear panels form a cavity having an opening opposite to the lower edges, the cavity sized to receive an audience member's mobile electronic device; and a lock comprising a first locking member outside of the cavity and connected to the front panel, and second locking member outside of the cavity and connected to the rear panel, the second locking member configured to engage the first locking member. Stewart, et al teaches the use of flexible cases comprising a front panel having a lower edge and sides that are longer than the lower edge, a rear panel having a lower edge and sides that are approximately the same length as the front panel's lower edge and sides, wherein the front and rear panels are coupled such that the lower edges and sides of the front and rear panels form a cavity having an opening opposite to the lower edges, the cavity sized to receive a mobile electronic device, and a lock comprising a first locking member outside of the cavity and connected to the front panel, and second locking member outside of the cavity and connected to the rear panel, the second locking member configured to engage the first locking member for the purpose of electronic device may be sealed and prevent unauthorized removal, note figures 1-3, ¶17-27, ##10, 14, 24. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of flexible cases comprising a front panel having a lower edge and sides that are longer than the lower edge, a rear panel having a lower edge and sides that are approximately the same length as the front panel's lower edge and sides, wherein the front and rear panels are coupled such that the lower edges and sides of the front and rear panels form a cavity having an opening opposite to the lower edges, the cavity sized to receive a mobile electronic device, and a lock comprising a first locking member outside of the cavity and connected to the front panel, and second locking member outside of the cavity and connected to the rear panel, the second locking member configured to engage the first locking member for the purpose of electronic device may be sealed and prevent unauthorized removal, as taught by Stewart, et al, in the system for reducing an audience's distraction from the member's respective mobile electronic devices at a communal event of Stewart, et al in order to provide a security device made of a flexible material into which a product may be sealed and prevent unauthorized removal.
Regarding claim 6, note figure 3.
Regarding claim 7, note Abstract of Nash.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0190841 (Nash) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0374076 (Theobald).
Nash disclose all subject matter, note the above paragraphs, except for restoring the user's control over their mobile electronic device by providing a detacher, the detacher comprising a holder and a magnet within the holder, wherein the magnet is configured to unlock the lock such that, when the lock touches the detacher, the lock unlocks and the user may access their mobile electronic device. Also note paragraph 5 above. Theobald teaches the use of restoring the user's control over their mobile electronic device by providing a detacher, the detacher comprising a holder and a magnet within the holder, wherein the magnet is configured to unlock the lock such that, when the lock touches the detacher, the lock unlocks and the user may access their contents for the purpose of a magnetic force is applied by a permanent magnet in proximity whereby to allow the control member to be moved from the locking position to the unlocking position by application of a magnetic force to the control member, figures 5 and 6, ¶44-49. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of restoring the user's control over their mobile electronic device by providing a detacher, the detacher comprising a holder and a magnet within the holder, wherein the magnet is configured to unlock the lock such that, when the lock touches the detacher, the lock unlocks and the user may access their contents for the purpose of a magnetic force is applied by a permanent magnet in proximity whereby to allow the control member to be moved from the locking position to the unlocking position by application of a magnetic force to the control member, as taught by Theobald in the system for reducing an audience's distraction from the member's respective mobile electronic devices at a communal event of Nash in in order to when a magnetic force is applied by a permanent magnet in proximity whereby to allow the control member to be moved from the locking position to the unlocking position by application of a magnetic force to the control member.
Regarding claim 13, note paragraph 5 above.
Regarding claim 14, the user must have or receive the detacher, hence the detacher is restricted until that predetermined condition is met.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0187003 (Stewart, et al) in view of United States Patent 5,953,795 (Bauer).
Stewart, et al disclose all subject matter, note the above paragraphs, except for the first and second securing members comprise magnetic plates.
Bauer teaches the use of a well-known and some two decades old first and second securing members comprise magnetic plates for the purpose of a magnetic snap lock which comprises a male member and a female member which can cooperate with each other to define a locking position, note figures 2, 7, 10A. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of a first and second securing members comprise magnetic plates for the purpose of a magnetic snap lock which comprises a male member and a female member which can cooperate with each other to define a locking position, as taught by Bauer, in the flexible case of Stewart, et al in order to providing a magnetic snap lock which comprises a male member and a female member which can cooperate with each other to define a locking position.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0187003 (Stewart, et al) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2004/0047522 (Thibault).
Claim 18, Stewart, et al disclose all subject matter, note the above paragraphs, except for first side of the front panel's sides and a first side of the rear panel's sides are coupled via stitching. Containers or bags have a first side of the front panel's sides and a first side of the rear panel's sides are coupled via stitching is very old, common, and commercially available and the Examiner takes official notice and supplies Thibault as evidence. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having below ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the old and well know use of a first side of the front panel's sides and a first side of the rear panel's sides are coupled via stitching in the flexible case of Stewart, et al in order to attached the sides of flexible case to each other.
Regarding claim 17, securing member comprises a hook portion of a hook-and-loop fastener, a hook portion of a hook-and-loop fastener for flexible case for securing an opening is extremely old, well known and commercially available and the Examiner takes Official Notice as such. It would be very obvious toa person having below ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use such extremely old, well known and commercially available for using a lock or fastener which is inexpensive.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 23, 24, 28, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0187003 (Stewart, et al) in view of United States Patent 6,864,791 (Kam).
Stewart, et al disclose all subject matter, note the above paragraphs, except for the first securing member is a configured to receive and lock to a latch of the second securing member. The Examiner takes Official Notice that a first securing member is a configured to receive and lock to a latch of the second securing member is very old, well known and commercially available to the public. The Examiner provides Kam as evidence as such. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having below ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the old and well know use of a first securing member is a configured to receive and lock to a latch of the second securing member in the flexible case of Stewart, et al in order to keep the overall cost of flexible case minimal.
Regarding claim 24, In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950), the position of the securing members is unpatentable because shifting the position of the securing members would not have modified the operation of the flexible case. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) the particular placement of a securing members is held to be an obvious matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 28, note #24 in figure 3 of Stewart, et al.
Regarding claim 30, note figures 2 and 4, #15 in Kam, et al.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application Publication 2014/0190841 (Nash) in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2012/0187003 (Stewart, et al) as applied to claims above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2015/0374076 (Theobald).
Nash in view of Stewart, et al disclose all subject matter, note the above paragraphs, except for restoring the user's control over their mobile electronic device by providing a detacher, the detacher comprising a holder and a magnet within the holder, wherein the magnet is configured to unlock the lock such that, when the lock touches the detacher, the lock unlocks and the user may access their mobile electronic device. Also note paragraph 5 above. Theobald teaches the use of restoring the user's control over their mobile electronic device by providing a detacher, the detacher comprising a holder and a magnet within the holder, wherein the magnet is configured to unlock the lock such that, when the lock touches the detacher, the lock unlocks and the user may access their contents for the purpose of a magnetic force is applied by a permanent magnet in proximity whereby to allow the control member to be moved from the locking position to the unlocking position by application of a magnetic force to the control member, figures 5 and 6, ¶44-49. Hence, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of restoring the user's control over their mobile electronic device by providing a detacher, the detacher comprising a holder and a magnet within the holder, wherein the magnet is configured to unlock the lock such that, when the lock touches the detacher, the lock unlocks and the user may access their contents for the purpose of a magnetic force is applied by a permanent magnet in proximity whereby to allow the control member to be moved from the locking position to the unlocking position by application of a magnetic force to the control member, as taught by Theobald in the system for reducing an audience's distraction from the member's respective mobile electronic devices at a communal event of Nash in view of Stewart, et al in order to when a magnetic force is applied by a permanent magnet in proximity whereby to allow the control member to be moved from the locking position to the unlocking position by application of a magnetic force to the control member.
Regarding claim 3, note ¶22-23 in Stewart, et al.
Regarding claim 4, note #78 in Theobald.
Regarding claim 5, note ¶22 -23 in Stewart, et al.
The Examiner has cited particular columns and/or line/paragraphs numbers in the reference(s) applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. IN RE JUNG, No. 10-1019 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 25 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose or make obvious the claimed he flexible case further comprises first and second magnetic plates disposed within the front and rear panels, respectively. In combination in a flexible case for a mobile electronic device. The flexible case comprising a front panel having sides, each extending in parallel to the other in a longitudinal direction, and a bottom edge extending between the sides of the front panel in a lateral direction. A rear panel having sides, each extending in parallel to the other in the longitudinal direction, and a bottom edge extending between the sides of the rear panel in the lateral direction. The front and rear panels are coupled such that the bottom edges and sides of the front and rear panels define a cavity having an opening opposite to the bottom edges. The cavity is sized to receive a user's mobile electronic device. Each of the front and rear panels are foldable relative to the longitudinal direction to close the opening of the cavity and a first securing member connected to the front panel and a second securing member connected to the rear panel. The first securing member is configured such that, when the front and rear panels are folded relative to the longitudinal direction to close the opening of the cavity, the first securing member engages the second securing member, thereby securing the case in a closed position such that it limits the user's access to their mobile electronic device. The first securing member is a configured to receive and lock to a latch of the second securing member.
Conclusion
If applicants wish to request for an interview, an "Applicant Initiated Interview Request" form (PTOL-413A) should be submitted to the examiner prior to the interview in order to permit the examiner to prepare in advance for the interview and to focus on the issues to be discussed. This form should identify the participants of the interview, the proposed date of the interview, whether the interview will be personal, telephonic, or video conference, and should include a brief description of the issues to be discussed. A copy of the completed "Applicant Initiated Interview Request" form should be attached to the Interview Summary form, PTOL-413 at the completion of the interview and a copy should be given to applicant or applicant's representative.
WILLIAM D. CUMMING
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2645
/WILLIAM D CUMMING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645