DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on 08/11/2025, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
The following is a Final Rejection Office Action on the merits in response to Applicant’s filing from 08/24/2026.
Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The application claims priority to provisional application 63/431,618, filed on 12/09/2022; and is a continuation of 18/533,949, filed on 12/08/2023. The priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/08/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Mizuno does not show or suggest, "a portion of said internal fluid path centrally formed within said barrel valve and extending axially within said barrel valve, wherein a compression flow of fluid occurs axially about said barrel valve and along said portion of said internal fluid path in a first direction" AND "wherein a rebound flow of said fluid also occurs axially about said barrel valve" and wherein the rebound flow "also occurs, at least partially, along said portion of said internal fluid path but in a second direction" AND "wherein said first direction of said compression flow along said portion of said internal fluid path is opposite said second direction of said rebound flow of said fluid along said portion of said internal fluid path". Examiner maintains that Mizuno discloses all the above aspects of claim 1, because a) the portion of the internal fluid path is being interpreted as 72+74 (not just 72 and not just 74), where 72 houses the rebound flow and 74 houses the compression flow; b) because saying “a portion of said internal fluid path centrally formed within said barrel valve and extending axially within said barrel valve” is not the same as claiming “a portion of said internal fluid path formed along a central axis within said barrel valve, such that the compression and rebound flow each flow along the central axis”, which would traverse the current rejection (“centrally formed” and “extending axially” is interpreted more broadly than “central axis”). For at least these reasons, the 102 rejection in view of Mizuno is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizuno (CN 111853133), as cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Mizuno discloses a powered bleed adjust {Figures 1-2} comprising:
a barrel valve {52} located at least partially within a bleed fluid pathway {solid arrow in Fig. 2 [0092], dotted arrow in Fig. 2 [0095]} of a shaft {14A, 14B, 34: “the lower end of the rod 14B is screwed with the end wall 34 at the upper end of the main body portion 14A is integrally connected” [0073]}, said barrel valve {52} comprising:
an internal fluid path {fluid pathway arrows shown in Fig. 2 going through 52 [0079]} formed along a longitudinal axis of said barrel valve {52 (Figs. 2, 4-10)}; said internal fluid path {fluid path arrows in Fig. 2} extending completely through said barrel valve {52} along said longitudinal axis of said barrel valve {52 (Fig. 2)}, a portion {72+74} of said internal fluid path {fluid path arrows in Fig. 2} centrally formed within said barrel valve {52 (axially, and radially)} and extending axially within said barrel valve {52}, wherein a compression flow {dotted arrow (Fig. 2)} of fluid occurs axially about said barrel valve {52} and along said portion {72+74 (74)} of said internal fluid path {fluid path arrows in Fig. 2 run up and down in the vertical, or axial, direction} in a first direction {vertical up direction (Fig. 2)}, and wherein a rebound flow {solid arrow (Fig. 2)} of said fluid also occurs axially about said barrel valve {52} and also occurs, at least partially, along said portion {72+74 (72)} of said internal fluid path but in a second direction {vertical down direction (Fig. 2)}, and wherein said first direction {vertical up direction} of said compression flow {dotted arrow (Fig. 2)} along said portion of said internal fluid path is opposite said second direction {vertical down direction} of said rebound flow {solid arrow (Fig. 2)} of said fluid along said portion {72+74} of said internal fluid path {fluid path arrows in Fig. 2};
an opening of said internal fluid path {openings shown in 52 (Fig. 4)} at a first end {top end} of said barrel valve {52}, and
at least one bleed port {66 [0085]} through a wall of said barrel valve {52 (Fig. 4)} to provide a second opening for said internal fluid path {fluid pathway arrows going through 52 (Fig. 2)}; and
a motor {90 (Fig. 1)} coupled with said barrel valve {52 (Fig. 2)}, said motor {90} configured to rotate said barrel valve {52} to control a fluid flow through said bleed fluid pathway {fluid pathway arrows shown in Fig. 2: “The actuator 90 includes an electric rotary drive device such as a stepping motor, and rotates the output shaft 92 according to an input control signal to rotate and position the spool valve spool 52 relative to the main body 14A around the relative movement axis 18A…” [0088-0089]}.
Regarding claim 2, Mizuno discloses said at least one bleed port {66 (horizontal in Fig. 2)} is approximately perpendicular to said internal fluid path {vertical fluid pathway arrows running through 52 in Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 3, Mizuno discloses said barrel valve {52} is oriented with respect to a cross port {48 (Fig. 2)} of said bleed fluid pathway {fluid pathway arrows (Fig. 2)}, such that a rotational position of said barrel valve {52} will cause said bleed port {66} to not impede, partially impede, or block a fluid flow through said cross port {48 (Fig. 13); [0088-0089]}.
Regarding claim 4, Mizuno discloses said motor {90} is selected from a group consisting of: a current limited motor {“The actuator 90 includes an electric rotary drive device such as a stepping motor” [0088]; stepping motors use electrical energy to achieve output force in discrete steps, that electrical energy is required to have a certain electrical safety limit (i.e. current limit)} and a torque limited motor {since it is disclosed that this is rotary stepping motor in Par. [0088], it is clear that the output force that is being limited into discrete steps is one of rotation (or torque)}.
Regarding claim 7, Mizuno discloses said barrel valve {52} further comprises: a pressure balanced port {68} through a wall of said barrel valve {52} for said internal fluid path {Fig. 2}, said pressure balanced port {68} providing a fluid pathway to a fluid chamber {20 (Fig. 2)} within a portion of said bleed fluid pathway {fluid pathway arrows (Fig. 2); [0088-0089]} to pressure balance said barrel valve {52: “the first and second contraction stroke openings 50 and 68 at least partially overlap. As a result, as indicated by a broken line arrow in FIG. 2, the oil 32 in the cylinder lower chamber 22 flows to the cylinder upper chamber 20” [0095]}.
Regarding claim 8, Mizuno discloses {Figures 1-26} a metering rod {52D; 92 (Fig. 2)} coupled between said motor {90 (Fig. 1)} and said barrel valve {52}.
Regarding claim 9, Mizuno discloses {Figures 1-26} a motor coupler {88, 94 (Fig. 2)} coupled between an output shaft {92} of said motor {90} and said metering rod {52D}.
Regarding claim 10, Mizuno discloses {Figures 1-26} a connection ring {94} configured to couple said metering rod {92} with said barrel valve {52}.
Regarding claim 11, Mizuno discloses a powered bleed adjust {Figures 1-2} comprising:
a barrel valve {52} located at least partially within a bleed fluid pathway {solid arrow in Fig. 2 [0092], dotted arrow in Fig. 2 [0095]} of a shaft {14A, 14B, 34: “the lower end of the rod 14B is screwed with the end wall 34 at the upper end of the main body portion 14A is integrally connected” [0073]}, said barrel valve {52} comprising:
an internal fluid path {fluid pathway arrows shown in Fig. 2 going through 52 [0079]} formed along a longitudinal axis of said barrel valve {52 (Figs. 2, 4-10)}; said internal fluid path {fluid path arrows in Fig. 2} extending completely through said barrel valve {52} along said longitudinal axis of said barrel valve {52 (Fig. 2)}, a portion {72+74} of said internal fluid path {fluid path arrows in Fig. 2} centrally formed within said barrel valve {52} and extending axially within said barrel valve {52}, wherein a compression flow {dotted arrow (Fig. 2)} of said fluid occurs axially about said barrel valve {52} and along said portion {72+74 (74)} of said internal fluid path in a first direction {vertical up direction (Fig. 2)}, and wherein a rebound flow {solid arrow (Fig. 2)} of said fluid also occurs axially about said barrel valve {52} and also occurs, at least partially, along said portion {72+74 (72)} of said internal fluid path but in a second direction {vertical down direction (Fig. 2)}, and wherein said first direction {vertical up direction} of said compression flow {dotted arrow (Fig. 2)} along said portion {72+74 (74)} of said internal fluid path {fluid path arrows in Fig. 2} is opposite said second direction {vertical down direction} of said rebound flow {solid arrow (Fig. 2)} of said fluid along said portion {72+74 (72)} of said internal fluid path {fluid path arrows in Fig. 2};
an opening of said internal fluid path {openings shown in 52 (Fig. 4)} at a first end {top end} of said barrel valve {52}, and
at least one bleed port {66 [0085]} through a wall of said barrel valve {52 (Fig. 4)} to provide a second opening for said internal fluid path {fluid pathway arrows going through 52 (Fig. 2)}; and
a motor {90 (Fig. 1)} coupled with said barrel valve {52 (Fig. 2)}, said motor {90} configured to rotate said barrel valve {52} to control a fluid flow through said bleed fluid pathway {fluid pathway arrows shown in Fig. 2: “The actuator 90 includes an electric rotary drive device such as a stepping motor, and rotates the output shaft 92 according to an input control signal to rotate and position the spool valve spool 52 relative to the main body 14A around the relative movement axis 18A…” [0088-0089]}.
Regarding claim 12, Mizuno discloses {Figures 1-26} said at least one bleed port {66 (horizontal in Fig. 2)} is approximately perpendicular to said internal fluid path {vertical fluid pathway arrows running through 52 in Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 13, Mizuno discloses {Figures 1-26} said barrel valve {52} is oriented with respect to a cross port {48 (Fig. 2)} of said bleed fluid pathway {fluid pathway arrows (Fig. 2)}, such that a rotational position of said barrel valve {52} will cause said bleed port {66} to not impede, partially impede, or block a fluid flow through said cross port {48 (Fig. 13); [0088-0089]}.
Regarding claim 14, Mizuno discloses {Figures 1-26} said motor {90} is selected from a group consisting of: a current limited motor {“The actuator 90 includes an electric rotary drive device such as a stepping motor” [0088]; stepping motors use electrical energy to achieve output force in discrete steps, that electrical energy is required to have a certain electrical safety limit (i.e. current limit)} and a torque limited motor {since it is disclosed that this is rotary stepping motor in Par. [0088], it is clear that the output force that is being limited into discrete steps is one of rotation (or torque)}.
Regarding claim 17, Mizuno discloses {Figures 1-26} said barrel valve {52} further comprises: a pressure balanced port {68} through a wall of said barrel valve {52} for said internal fluid path {Fig. 2}, said pressure balanced port {68} providing a fluid pathway to a fluid chamber {20 (Fig. 2)} within a portion of said bleed fluid pathway {fluid pathway arrows (Fig. 2); [0088-0089]} to pressure balance said barrel valve {52: “the first and second contraction stroke openings 50 and 68 at least partially overlap. As a result, as indicated by a broken line arrow in FIG. 2, the oil 32 in the cylinder lower chamber 22 flows to the cylinder upper chamber 20” [0095]}.
Regarding claim 18, Mizuno discloses {Figures 1-26} a metering rod {52D; 92 (Fig. 2)} coupled between said motor {90 (Fig. 1)} and said barrel valve {52}.
Regarding claim 19, Mizuno discloses {Figures 1-26} a motor coupler {88, 94 (Fig. 2)} coupled between an output shaft {92} of said motor {90} and said metering rod {52D}.
Regarding claim 20, Mizuno discloses {Figures 1-26} a connection ring {94} configured to couple said metering rod {92} with said barrel valve {52}.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Daniel M. Keck/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614