DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting asbeing unpatentable over claims 1-9, 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 11196970. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each otherbecause, by comparing the claims, all the limitations of claims 1-20 of the currentapplication are similar and included in claims 1-9, 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11196970
with only some obvious wording or terminology variations. That is, claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1-9, 12-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11196970.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting asbeing unpatentable over claims 1-7 and 10-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11818512. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, by comparing the claims, all the limitations of claims 1-20 of the currentapplication are similar and included in claims 1-7 and 10-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11818512 with only some obvious wording or terminology variations. That is, claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1-7 and 10-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11818512.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of no statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 12413692. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, by comparing the claims, all the limitations of claims 1-20 of the current application are similar and included in claims 1-9 and 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12413692 with only some obvious wording or terminology variations. That is, claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1-9 and 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12413692.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RAMANATH (US 20200204768 A1).
Regarding claim 1, RAMANATH discloses An eyewear device comprising:
a lens defining a waveguide;
[0016] FIG. 1 depicts an eyewear device 100. Eyewear device 100 includes a support structure that has a frame 102, a right temple 104a, and a left temple 104b. Frame 102 includes a right rim 106a that supports a right lens 108a and left rim 106b that supports a left lens 108b.
an illumination device including a plurality of illumination sources configured to emit light at a respective frequency;
[0019] FIG. 3 depicts hardware components 300 for use in eyewear device 100. In addition to SLM 110, ALS 112, thermistor 114, and illumination device 200 described above, hardware components 300 include a system controller 302, a memory 304, current controller 312, and three illuminators.
projection optics configured to project light from the plurality of illumination sources into the waveguide for routing to a viewing area;
[0086] The switch section 55 is comprised of a first switch 55A to light the illumination section 61, and second switches 55B, 55C to light the illumination section 61 with increase light quantities. When the second switches 55B, 55C are operated, the control section 54 controls the current control circuit 62 so as to change the average current value fed to the illumination section 61 from a rated value to an increase value higher than the rated value.
a spatial light modulator coupled to the illumination device to control when each of the plurality of illumination sources are on; and
[0041] System controller 302 may additionally adjust timing of illuminators if ambient light levels change while the projector is on.
a support structure adapted to be worn on the head of a user, the support structure configured to support the lens in a viewing area visible to the user when wearing the support structure and to support the spatial light modulator adjacent the lens.
[0016] FIG. 1 . Eyewear device 100 includes a support structure that has a frame 102 an ambient light sensor (ALS) 112, and a temperature sensor 114, which will be described in further detail below.
Regarding claim 2, RAMANATH discloses The eyewear device of claim 1, further comprising:
a controller; and
an ambient light sensor configured to sense an ambient light level, the ambient light sensor supported by the support structure adjacent the lens.
[0016] FIG. 1 . Eyewear device 100 includes a support structure that has a frame 102 an ambient light sensor (ALS) 112, and a temperature sensor 114, which will be described in further detail below.
Regarding claim 3, RAMANATH discloses The eyewear device of claim 1, further comprising:
a controller; and
a temperature sensor supported by the support structure, the temperature sensor positioned adjacent the illumination device to sense temperature;
[0020] System controller 302 receives temperature values from thermistor 114 and ambient light levels from ALS 112 via transmission lines. System controller retrieves timing information for tuning on the illuminators from memory 304 based on the ambient light levels.
wherein the controller is coupled to the temperature sensor and wherein the spatial light modulator adjusts current to at least one of the plurality of illumination sources responsive to the controller based on the sensed temperature.
Fig. 6 and [0038]-[40] for [0038] At step 616, determine if temperature is within an acceptable range. System controller 302 may compare the periodically read temperature values to acceptable temperature limits (e.g., a threshold value and if the read temperature is not within the acceptable range, current to the illuminators is reduced.
Regarding claim 4, RAMANATH discloses The eyewear device of claim 1, wherein each illumination source includes a first illuminator adapted to emit light at a first frequency, a second illuminator adapted to emit light at a second frequency, and a third illuminator adapted to emit light at a third frequency, wherein the first, second, and third frequencies are different.
[0019] FIG. 3 depicts hardware components 300 for use in eyewear device 100. In addition to SLM 110, ALS 112, thermistor 114, and illumination device 200 described above, hardware components 300 include a system controller 302, a memory 304, current controller 312, and three illuminators.
[0020] System controller 302 receives temperature values from thermistor 114 and ambient light levels from ALS 112 via transmission lines. System controller retrieves timing information for tuning on the illuminators from memory 304 based on the ambient light levels.
Regarding claim 5, RAMANATH discloses The eyewear device of claim 4, wherein the first illuminator is a red light emitting diode (LED), the second illuminator is a green LED, and the third illuminator is a blue LED.
[0019] for he three illuminators include a red illuminator 306 such as a red light emitting diode (LED) adapted to emit light at a first frequency associated with the color red, a green illuminator 308 such as a green LED adapted to emit light at a second frequency associated with the color green, and a blue illuminator 310 such as a green LED adapted to emit light at a third frequency associated with the color red.
Regarding claim 11, RAMANATH discloses An illumination method for use with an eyewear device comprising a lens having a viewing area, spatial light modulator, and a support structure adapted to be worn on the head of a user, the support structure configured to support the lens in a viewing area visible to the user when wearing the support structure and to support the spatial light modulator adjacent the lens, the method comprising:
[0019] FIG. 3 depicts hardware components 300 for use in eyewear device 100. In addition to SLM 110, ALS 112, thermistor 114, and illumination device 200 described above, hardware components 300 include a system controller 302, a memory 304, current controller 312, and three illuminators.
emitting light using an illumination device comprising a plurality of illumination sources configured to emit light at a respective frequency responsive to the spatial light modulator supported adjacent the lens by the support structure; and
[0019] FIG. 3 depicts hardware components 300 for use in eyewear device 100. In addition to SLM 110, ALS 112, thermistor 114, and illumination device 200 described above, hardware components 300 include a system controller 302, a memory 304, current controller 312, and three illuminators.
projecting light from the plurality of illumination sources into a waveguide for routing to the viewing area.
[0086] The switch section 55 is comprised of a first switch 55A to light the illumination section 61, and second switches 55B, 55C to light the illumination section 61 with increase light quantities. When the second switches 55B, 55C are operated, the control section 54 controls the current control circuit 62 so as to change the average current value fed to the illumination section 61 from a rated value to an increase value higher than the rated value.
Regarding claim 12, RAMANATH discloses The illumination method of claim 11, further comprising:
sensing an ambient light level with an ambient light sensor supported by the support structure adjacent the lens; wherein at least one of the plurality of illumination sources is adjusted responsive to the ambient light level.
[0020] System controller 302 receives temperature values from thermistor 114 and ambient light levels from ALS 112 via transmission lines. System controller retrieves timing information for tuning on the illuminators from memory 304 based on the ambient light levels.
Regarding claim 13, RAMANATH discloses The illumination method of claim 11, further comprising:
sensing temperature;
wherein the emitting comprises adjusting current to at least one of the illumination sources based on the sensed temperature.
[0020] System controller 302 receives temperature values from thermistor 114 and ambient light levels from ALS 112 via transmission lines. System controller retrieves timing information for tuning on the illuminators from memory 304 based on the ambient light levels.
Regarding claim 14, RAMANATH discloses The illumination method of claim 11, wherein each illumination source includes a first illuminator adapted to emit light at a first frequency, a second illuminator adapted to emit light at a second frequency, and a third illuminator adapted to emit light at a third frequency, wherein the first, second, and third frequencies are different.
[0019] for he three illuminators include a red illuminator 306 such as a red light emitting diode (LED) adapted to emit light at a first frequency associated with the color red, a green illuminator 308 such as a green LED adapted to emit light at a second frequency associated with the color green, and a blue illuminator 310 such as a green LED adapted to emit light at a third frequency associated with the color red.
Regarding claim 15, RAMANATH discloses The illumination method of claim 14, wherein the first illuminator is a red light emitting diode (LED), the second illuminator is a green LED, and the third illuminator is a blue LED.
[0019] for he three illuminators include a red illuminator 306 such as a red light emitting diode (LED) adapted to emit light at a first frequency associated with the color red, a green illuminator 308 such as a green LED adapted to emit light at a second frequency associated with the color green, and a blue illuminator 310 such as a green LED adapted to emit light at a third frequency associated with the color red.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 16-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAMIRA MONSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422