DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US PGPub 2016/0093760 to Kallos.
Regarding claim 15-17 and 20, Kallos teaches an asymmetric light propagation device (the device of Fig. 1, guides light in the direction 107 toward plane 105, ¶0028, 0029) comprising
At least one nanostructure 103 comprising a generally pyramidal shape having a first height “ltap” that is greater than or equal to a base width (equivalent to “d”, ¶0052, 0053)
At least one substrate 101 optically coupled to the at least one nanostructure 103, the at least one substrate having a cuboid shape (¶0031, 0037, 0041)
Wherein the at least one nanostructure 103 is configured to permit a first quantity of light to propagate in a forward direction (direction of 107 in Fig. 1, 207 in Fig. 2) and a second quantity of light (approaching zero light, ¶0030, 0042, 0043, 0051) in a backward direction, the first quantity of light is greater than the second quantity of light for a wavelength range.
Per claims 16 and 17, Kallos teaches the limitations of claim 15. The wavelength range of light in an embodiment is 350 nm to 8000 nm (Fig. 7, ¶0024, 0057).
Per claim 20, Kallos teaches the limitations of claim 15. The at least one nanostructure 103 is positioned on at least one substrate 101 to form at least one nanostructure-substrate pairing (Fig. 1; MPEP §2125).
The device comprises a plurality of nanostructure-substrate pairings arranged in a periodic array having a periodicity (equivalent to “d”) ranging from 10 nm to 1000 nm (¶0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kallos as applied to claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 18, Kallos teaches the limitations of claim 18. The base width (equivalent to “d” of Fig. 1) ranges from 10 nm to 1000 nm and the first height is less than 100,000 nm (¶0053). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 19, Kallos teaches the limitations of claim 18. The at least one substrate 101 has a width (equivalent to “d”-“w” of Fig. 1) in a range as low as (10 nm – 2 nm) = 8 nm and as large as (1000 nm – 2 nm) = 998 nm and a second height “l” of less than 10,000 nm (¶0053). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kallos as applied to claim 20 above.
Regarding claim 21, Kallos teaches the limitations of claim 20. The device comprises a plurality of nanostructure-substrate pairings arranged in a periodic array having a periodicity (equivalent to “d”) ranging from 10 nm to 1000 nm (Fig. 1, ¶0053). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kallos as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of CN10707901A to Wang (machine translation relied upon herein).
Regarding claim 22, Kallos teaches the limitations of claim 15. Kallos teaches that the material of the at least one nanostructure and at least one substrate may comprise metals or dielectrics (¶0005, 0008). In one embodiment, the at least one nanostructure comprises aluminum oxide (¶0040).
The substrate has a plasmonic function (¶0013), which Kallos teaches can also be accomplished by metallic elements in other materials (¶0004). Kallos does not specifically teach that the at least one substrate comprises polymethylmethacrylate. Wang teaches a plasmonic function can be achieved by metallic elements comprised within polymethylmethacrylate (bottom p. 4 of translation, Example 1 on p. 9-12). Therefore it would have been obvious as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention for a person having ordinary skill in the art to form the at least one substrate to comprise polymethylmethacrylate, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success of such a material having a plasmonic function. The prior art can be modified or combined to reject claims as prima facie obvious as long as there is a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (see MPEP § 2143.02).
Conclusion
Ryan S. Cannon
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726