DETAILED ACTION
1. The following is a non-final, First Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
2. Independent claims 1,7 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable respectively over independent claims 1, 10 and 16 of U.S. Patent 12,417,467 B1, in view of Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1), in view of Sohn et al; (US 2017/0262296 A1) and further in view of Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2). Also, dependent claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable respectively over dependent claims 2, 11 and 17 of U.S. Patent 12,417,467 B1.
In addition, Claims 1, 7 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable respectively over claims 1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent 11,887,147 B1, in view of Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1), in view of Sohn et al; (US 2017/0262296 A1) and further in view of Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2). See below.
Instant Application: case 19/297,169
Patent 12,417,467 B1
Patent 11,887,147 B1
Claims 1, 7 and 14: A system associated with a payment service comprising: one or more processors; one or more data stores storing information, wherein the information includes user information associated with a plurality of users of the payment service, account information associated with payment accounts issued by the payment service associated with the plurality of users, merchant information associated with a plurality of merchants, and offer information associated with a plurality of reward offers associated with at least one merchant; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises:
data for provisioning an application associated with the payment service for installation on a client device associated with a user of the plurality of users, wherein the application provides for display of a virtual payment card corresponding to a physical payment card issued to the user and associated with a payment account of the user; and instructions, wherein execution of the instructions by the one or more processors causes the one or more processors to:
identify one or more reward offers associated with the user, wherein the one or more reward offers are based on the information stored in the one or more data stores;
send, to the client device associated with the user, a request to display the one or more reward offers together with the virtual payment card in a user interface of the application;
receive, from the client device, a user input indicating an assignment of a selected reward offer of the one or more reward offers to the payment account; and update the one or more data stores to include connection information associated with a connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes automatic redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a subsequent transaction at the at least one merchant using the physical payment card.
Claims 6, 13 and 20: wherein the one or more reward offers are identified based on at least one of: demographic information associated with the user; time information associated with a current time; location information associated with a location of the user; historical information associated with use of the application by the user; interface information associated with input by the user while using the application; or status information associated with a membership status of the user.
Claims 1, 10 and 16: A system comprising: one or more processors associated with a payment service and configured by executable instruction to perform operations that include:
is taught by Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1) under 103 rejection below.
Sohn et al; (US 2017/0262296 A1) teaches “data for provisioning an application for installation” under 103 rejection below.
selecting, from a plurality of available reward offers, personalized reward offers that are personalized for a user of the payment service, wherein the personalized reward offers are selected by a machine-learning model that is trained to analyze first information about the user including historical information associated with use by the user of an application associated with the payment service on a client device of the user;
sending, to the client device, instructions to cause the application associated with the payment service to present on a display of the client device a user interface that presents: a representation of a payment instrument associated with a payment account of the user maintained by the payment service; and representations of the personalized reward offers, wherein the representations of the personalized reward offers are presented as a plurality of interactive user interface elements in a stack, respectively, that are selectable, via user interaction, to be associated with the payment account of the user, wherein the representations of the personalized reward offers presented as the plurality of interactive user interface elements in the stack are scrollable in at least one of a first direction or a second direction with respect to the representation of the payment instrument, and the plurality of interactive user interface elements presented in the stack are presented separately from, and concurrently with, the representation of the payment instrument;
receiving, from the client device, an indication of a user input that associates at least one personalized reward offer with the payment account of the user; responsive to receiving the indication of the user input, connecting the at least one personalized reward offer with the payment instrument by adding, to one or more data stores, second information associated with a connection between the payment instrument and the at least one personalized reward offer; in connection with processing transactions which use the payment instrument, analyzing third information about the transactions to identify a transaction using the payment instrument that satisfies a condition for providing the at least one personalized reward offer to the user and redeems the at least one personalized reward offer for the user; and redeeming, automatically, the at least one personalized reward offer based at least on identifying the transaction using the payment instrument that satisfies the condition and redeems the at least one personalized reward offer for the user.
Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2) teaches “a subsequent transaction” under 101 rejection a below.
Claims 2, 11 and 17: wherein the machine-learning model is further configured to select the one or more personalized reward offers based on at least one of: fourth information associated with a current time; fifth information associated with past transactions of the user; sixth information associated with a location of the user; seventh information associated with inputs by the user while using the application; or eighth information associated with a membership status of the user.
Claims 1, 8 and 15: A graphical user interface (GUI) presented via a mobile application, the GUI comprising:
is taught by Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1) under 103 rejection below.
Sohn et al; (US 2017/0262296 A1) teaches “data for provisioning an application for installation” under 103 rejection below.
a representation of a virtual payment card as a first user interface (UI) element representative of a payment instrument of a user; and a plurality of second UI elements, wherein each of the second UI elements represents a respective reward offer associated with a respective merchant, wherein each of the second UI elements presents, on a face thereof, summarized information related to the respective reward offer, and wherein the respective reward offer is selectable via user interaction with the second UI element in relation to the representation of the virtual payment card, wherein the plurality of second UI elements are presented in a scrollable carousel in which the plurality of second UI elements are scrollable laterally with respect to the representation of the virtual payment card in at least one of a first lateral direction or a second lateral direction while the representation of the virtual payment card is presented in the GUI concurrently with the scrollable carousel, wherein the scrollable carousel is presented separately from, and concurrently with, the representation of the virtual payment card, and the second UI elements are scrollable to each be individually proximate to and in greater alignment with the representation of the virtual payment card than other ones of the second UI elements in the scrollable carousel, enabling dynamic selection of at least one of the second UI elements from the scrollable carousel for association with the payment instrument corresponding to the concurrently presented representation of the virtual payment card,
wherein, based at least on receiving, via the GUI, an indication of selection from the scrollable carousel of a second UI element of the plurality of second UI elements, a processor associates a corresponding respective reward offer from a respective merchant with the payment instrument of the user, and wherein the processor automatically redeems the corresponding respective reward offer based at least on receiving an indication of use of the payment instrument in association with a transaction with the respective merchant corresponding to the selected second UI element.
Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2) teaches “a subsequent transaction” under 101 rejection a below.
In summary, 1, 10 and 16 of U.S. Patent 12,417,467 B1, in view of Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1), in view of Sohn et al; (US 2017/0262296 A1), and further in view of Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2) teach all the features of claims 1, 7 and 14 of the instant application as indicated in the table above. Although claims 1, 10 and 16 of U.S. Patent 12,417,467 B1 have additional underlined features (bold limitations in the table above) such as {e.g., wherein the personalized reward offers are selected by a machine-learning model that is trained to analyze first information about the user including historical information associated with use by the user of an application associated with the payment service on a client device of the user; representations of the personalized reward offers, wherein the representations of the personalized reward offers are presented as a plurality of interactive user interface elements in a stack, respectively, that are selectable, via user interaction, to be associated with the payment account of the user, wherein the representations of the personalized reward offers presented as the plurality of interactive user interface elements in the stack are scrollable in at least one of a first direction or a second direction with respect to the representation of the payment instrument, and the plurality of interactive user interface elements presented in the stack are presented separately from, and concurrently with, the representation of the payment instrument; ….. in connection with processing transactions which use the payment instrument, analyzing third information about the transactions to identify a transaction using the payment instrument that satisfies a condition for providing the at least one personalized reward offer to the user and redeems the at least one personalized reward offer for the user; and redeeming, automatically, the at least one personalized reward offer based at least on identifying the transaction using the payment instrument that satisfies the condition and redeems the at least one personalized reward offer for the user}; however, it has been held that deleting elements when the function of element is not desired is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 Section II. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of claims 1, 10 and 16 of U.S. Patent 12,417,467 B1 the to arrive at the claims 1, 7 and 14 of the instant application because the person of ordinary skill would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Also, dependent claims 2, 11 and 17 of U.S. Patent 12,417,467 B1 teach all the features of claims 6, 13 and 20 of the instant application as indicated in the table above.
In addition, 1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent 11,887,147 B1, in view of Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1), in view of Sohn et al; (US 2017/0262296 A1), and further in view of Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2) teach all the features of claims 1, 7 and 14 of the instant application as indicated in the table above. Although 1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent 11,887,147 B1 have additional underlined features (bold limitations in the table above) such as {e.g, a plurality of second UI elements, wherein each of the second UI elements represents a respective reward offer associated with a respective merchant, wherein each of the second UI elements presents, on a face thereof, summarized information related to the respective reward offer, and wherein the respective reward offer is selectable via user interaction with the second UI element in relation to the representation of the virtual payment card, wherein the plurality of second UI elements are presented in a scrollable carousel in which the plurality of second UI elements are scrollable laterally with respect to the representation of the virtual payment card in at least one of a first lateral direction or a second lateral direction while the representation of the virtual payment card is presented in the GUI concurrently with the scrollable carousel, wherein the scrollable carousel is presented separately from, and concurrently with, the representation of the virtual payment card, and the second UI elements are scrollable to each be individually proximate to and in greater alignment with the representation of the virtual payment card than other ones of the second UI elements in the scrollable carousel, enabling dynamic selection of at least one of the second UI elements from the scrollable carousel;…wherein, based at least on receiving, via the GUI, an indication of selection from the scrollable carousel of a second UI element of the plurality of second UI elements…}; however, it has been held that deleting elements when the function of element is not desired is obvious. See MPEP 2144.04 Section II. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify or to omit the additional elements of 1, 8 and 15 of U.S. Patent 11,887,147 B1 the to arrive at the claims 1, 7 and 14 of the instant application because the person of ordinary skill would have realized that the remaining element would perform the same functions as before. “Omission of element and its function in combination is obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform same functions as before.” See In re Karlson (CCPA) 136 USPQ 184, decide Jan 16, 1963, Appl. No. 6857, U. S. Court of Customs and Patent Appeals.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. The claimed invention (Claim 1-20) is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) abstract idea including “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity”, and/or “Mental Processes”, which has/have been identified/found by the courts as abstract ideas in MPEP 2106.04(a). This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because It/they is/are recited at a high level of generality and/or are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in the computer applications:
5. Step 1: Does the Claim Fall within a statutory Category?
Claims 1-6: Yes. These claims are system claims, which recite one or more processors…., and therefore are directed to the statutory class of machine and article of manufacture.
Claims 7-13: Yes. These claims are a method, and therefore are directed to the statutory class of process.
Claims 14-20: Yes. These claim recite one non-transitory computer readable medum…., which is interpreted as a system because it recites at least one or more processors…., and therefore are directed to the statutory class of machine.
6. Step 2A prong 1, Step 2A prong 2 and Step 2B:
Independent claim 1 (Step 2A, Prong I): is directed to abstract of “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity”; and/or “Mental Processes”:
Claim 1, limitations 2-6 of associates a virtual payment card corresponding to a physical payment issued to the user and associated with a payment account of the user (limitation 2); identify one or more reward offers associated with the user, wherein the one or more reward offers are based on the information stored in the one or more records (limitation 3); send, to the user, a display the one or more reward offers together with the payment card (limitation 4) receive, a user input indicating an assignment of a selected reward offer of the one or more reward offers to the payment account (limitation 5); and update the one or more records to include connection information associated with a connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a subsequent transaction at the at least one merchant using the physical payment card (limitation 6) fall within “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract idea because these steps mainly describe the concepts of commercial or legal interactions (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); and/or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including following rules or instructions).
Further, the limitation 3 mentioned above of identify one or more reward offers associated with the user, wherein the one or more reward offers are based on the information stored in the one or more records (limitation 3) also fall within the abstract “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas since this limitation covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, a human being can observing/evaluating/analyzing the information stored in the one or more records and the user information in order to identify one or more reward offers associated with the user.
Independent claim 1, Step 2A (Prong II): Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea(s) as pointed out above. This judicial exception(s) is/are not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional underlined elements (i.e., one or more processors, one or more data stores; a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more processors…..; instructions, wherein execution of the instructions by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to…; a/the virtual payment card; a user interface of the application; automatic redemption…) to perform abstract steps/limitations 2-6 mentioned above. The additional element(s) in all of the steps is/are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception(s) using a generic computer component (i.e., one or more processors, one or more data stores; a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more processors…..; instructions, wherein execution of the instructions by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to…; a/the virtual payment card; a user interface of the application; automatic redemption). Accordingly, these additional element(s) does/do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Further, in claim 1, the limitations 1-2, 4-5 of one or more data stores storing information, wherein the information includes user information associated with a plurality of users of the payment service, account information associated with payment accounts issued by the payment service associated with the plurality of users, merchant information associated with a plurality of merchants, and offer information associated with a plurality of reward offers associated with at least one merchant (limitation 1); and data for provisioning an application associated with the payment service for installation on a client device associated with a user of the plurality of users, wherein the application provides for display of a virtual payment card corresponding to a physical payment card issued to the user and associated with a payment account of the user (limitation 2); send, to the client device associated with the user, a request to display the one or more reward offers together with the virtual payment card in a user interface of the application (limitation 4); receive, from the client device, a user input indicating an assignment of a selected reward offer of the one or more reward offers to the payment account (limitation 5) are merely storing data, receiving data and displaying data/ transmitting data, which are considered as “insignificant extra solution activities”; thus, they do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Next, the additional element in limitation 2 above of (e.g., installation of an application on a client device) is recited as outside of the scope of the claim (installation of an application on a client device is not positively recited in the claims 1, 7 and 14), which is considered as general link to technological environment; thus, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Furthermore, the additional elements in limitations 4 and 5 mentioned above of (e.g., the client device) is merely recited as a source and destination, wherein information being sent to and received from; which is considered as general link to technological environment; thus, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Accordingly, this/these additional element(s) does/do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Again, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer components (i.e., one or more processors, one or more data stores; a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more processors…..; instructions, wherein execution of the instructions by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to…; a/the virtual payment card; a user interface of the application; automatic redemption) to perform the steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. see MPEP 2106.05(f). For the above-mentioned reasons, viewed the claim as a whole, the additional elements/additional limitations individually and in combination do not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, there is neither improvement to another technology or technical field nor an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself.
Independent claim 1 (step 2B): The additional element in claim 1 i.e., one or more processors, one or more data stores; a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more processors…..; instructions, wherein execution of the instructions by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to…; a/the virtual payment card; a user interface of the application; automatic redemption) is/are recited at a high level of generality and/or are recited as performing generic computer functions routinely used in the computer applications; thus, it is not significantly more than the identified abstract idea. In other word, the additional underlined elements (i.e., one or more processors, one or more data stores; a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more processors…..; instructions, wherein execution of the instructions by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to…; a/the virtual payment card; a user interface of the application; automatic redemption) is/are amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception(s) of steps/limitations 2-6 mentioned above; thus, they are not significantly more than the identified abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Further, in claim 1, the limitations 1-2, 4-5 of one or more data stores storing information, wherein the information includes user information associated with a plurality of users of the payment service, account information associated with payment accounts issued by the payment service associated with the plurality of users, merchant information associated with a plurality of merchants, and offer information associated with a plurality of reward offers associated with at least one merchant (limitation 1); and data for provisioning an application associated with the payment service for installation on a client device associated with a user of the plurality of users, wherein the application provides for display of a virtual payment card corresponding to a physical payment card issued to the user and associated with a payment account of the user (limitation 2); send, to the client device associated with the user, a request to display the one or more reward offers together with the virtual payment card in a user interface of the application (limitation 4); receive, from the client device, a user input indicating an assignment of a selected reward offer of the one or more reward offers to the payment account (limitation 5) are merely storing data, receiving data and displaying data/ transmitting data, which are considered as “insignificant extra solution activities”; thus, they are not significantly more than the identified abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Next, the additional element in limitation 2 above of (e.g., installation of an application on a client device) is recited as outside of the scope of the claim (installation of an application on a client device is not positively recited in the claims 1, 7 and 14), which is considered as general link to technological environment; thus, it is not significantly more than the identified abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Furthermore, the additional elements in limitations 4 and 5 mentioned above of (e.g., the client device) is merely recited as a source and destination, wherein information being sent to and received from; which is considered as general link to technological environment; thus, it is not significantly more than the identified abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(h).
When revaluating the storing data, transmitting data/displaying data and receiving data/gathering data of limitations 1-2 and 4-5 above of one or more data stores storing information, wherein the information includes user information associated with a plurality of users of the payment service, account information associated with payment accounts issued by the payment service associated with the plurality of users, merchant information associated with a plurality of merchants, and offer information associated with a plurality of reward offers associated with at least one merchant (limitation 1); and data for provisioning an application associated with the payment service for installation on a client device associated with a user of the plurality of users, wherein the application provides for display of a virtual payment card corresponding to a physical payment card issued to the user and associated with a payment account of the user (limitation 2); send, to the client device associated with the user, a request to display the one or more reward offers together with the virtual payment card in a user interface of the application (limitation 4); receive, from the client device, a user input indicating an assignment of a selected reward offer of the one or more reward offers to the payment account (limitation 5) in step 2B here, storing data, transmitting data/displaying data and receiving data/gathering data are also well-understood, routine and conventional activities. The use of generic computer to transmitting data/displaying data and receiving data/gathering data through an unspecified generic computer does not impose any meaningful limit on the computer implementation of the abstract idea, and is/are considered as well-understood, routine, conventional activity. According to MPEP 2106.05 (d), elements that the Courts have recognized as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in particular fields are e.g., "Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93”.
Thus, evidences have been provided to show these additional elements are well-understood, routine, conventional activity according to MPEP 2106.07 (a) (III). Therefore, for the above-mentioned reasons, viewed as a whole, even in combination, the above additional steps/additional elements/additional limitations do not amount to significantly more/do not provide an inventive concept. Furthermore, there is neither improvement to another technology or technical field nor an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself.
As per independent claims 7 and 14: Alice Corp. also establishes that the same analysis/similar analysis should be used for all categories of claims. Therefore, a method claim 7 and a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 14 are also rejected as ineligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101 for substantially the same/similar reasons as the system claim(s) 1. The additional components (i.e., a/the virtual payment card; automatic redemption; a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, upon execution by at leat one processor, cause the at least one processor to..; a machine learning model; a client device; an application associated with the payment service ….) described in independent claims 7 and/or 14 add nothing of substance to the underlying abstract idea. At best, the claim(s) are merely providing an environment to implement the abstract idea.
Dependent claims 2-6, 8-13 and 15-20 are merely add further details of the abstract steps/elements recited in claims 1, 7 and 14 without including an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Note that the limitations in claims 2, 9 and 16 of “the user input comprises a touch-screen gestures in the user interface, wherein the touch-screen gesture interacts with the selected reward offer…..” is receiving data, which is considered as “insignificant extra solution activity” and also well-understood, routine and conventional activities. For example, “user input comprises a touch-screen gestures in the user interface, wherein the touch-screen gesture interacts with selected reward offer” is taught at least in {Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1) in at least fig. 3E paras 0098-0100 especially para 0098}, {Gonovez; (US 2015/0039511 A1) in at least para 0081}, {Tang; (US 2014/0278995 A1) in at least para 0029}, {Raleigh; (US 2014/0248852 A1) in at least para 0183}, and {Cristofaro; (US 2014/0089049 A1) in at least para 0037}. Therefore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combinations adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. Furthermore, there is neither improvement to another technology or technical field nor an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself. Therefore, dependent claims 2-6, 8-13 and 15-20 are also non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1), in view of Sohn et al; (US 2017/0262296 A1), and further in view of Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2):
7. Independent claim 1: Khan teaches
one or more processors {At least paras 0012};
one or more data stores storing information {At least fig. 1 paras 0034-0036, 0046-0049, 0051-0053}, wherein the information includes user information associated with a plurality of users of the payment service, account information associated with payment accounts issued by the payment service associated with the plurality of users {At least fig. 1 especially paras 0051-0053 in context with para 0035}, merchant information associated with a plurality of merchants, and offer information associated with a plurality of reward offers associated with at least one merchant {At least fig. 1 paras 0034-0036, 0046-0049}; and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium coupled to the one or more
processors {At least para 0012}, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprises:
an application (e.g., application in paras 0003, 0032, 0072-0073, para 0105, 0112 in context with figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101 especially fig. 3E paras 0097-0101) associated with the payment service on a client device associated with a user of the plurality of users (e.g., customers in para 0004 in context with figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101 especially fig. 3E paras 0097-0101) , wherein the application provides for display of a virtual payment card (e.g., Cool Pay Card in figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E especially fig. 3E) corresponding to a physical payment card issued to the user and associated with a payment account of the user (part of step/limitation 1) {At least figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101 especially fig. 3E paras 0097-0101};
instructions, wherein execution of the instructions by the one or more processors
causes the one or more processors to (step/limitation 2):
identify one or more reward offers (see a plurality of reward offers/ incentives/ coupons associated with different payment cards are selected and presented to a user in figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101 in context with fig. 2 paras 0060-0064) associated with the user, wherein the one or more reward offers are based on the information stored in the one or more data stores (para 0124 in context with paras 0140, fig. 4A paras 0105-0107 in context with figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0100) (step/limitation 2a) {At least paras 0124, 0140 in context with fig. 2 paras 0060-0064; figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0071-0100 and fig. 4A paras 0105-0107};
send, to the client device (figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101) with the user, a request to display the one or more reward offers together with the virtual payment card (e.g., Cool Pay Card in figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E especially fig. 3E) in a user interface (fig. 3E paras 0079-0101) of the application (step/limitation 2b) {At least fig figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101 especially fig. 3E paras 0097-0101};
receive, from the client device, a user input indicating an assignment of a selected reward offer of the one or more reward offers to the payment account (e.g., Cool Pay Card in figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E especially fig. 3E) (step/limitation 2c) {At least fig. 3E paras 0097-0101 especially paras 0098, 0100-0101}; and
update the one or more data stores to include connection information associated with a connection between the payment account (e.g., Cool Pay Card in figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E especially fig. 3E) and the selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a transaction at the at least one merchant using the payment card (part of step/limitation 2d) {At least fig. 3E paras 0097-0101 especially paras 0098, 0100-0101}.
However, Khan does not explicitly teach the underlined features: data for provisioning an application associated with the payment service for installation on a client device associated with a user of the plurality of users, wherein the application provides for display of a virtual payment card corresponding to a physical payment card issued to the user and associated with a payment account of the user” (part of step/limitation 1).
Sohn teaches a general concept of data for provisioning an application associated with a payment service for installation on a client device (e.g., electronic apparatus 100 such as smartphone in para 0058 in context with para 0045) associated with a user {At least para 0058 in context with para 0045}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify “an application associated with the payment service on a client device associated with a user of the plurality of users, wherein the application provides for display of a virtual payment card corresponding to a physical payment card issued to the user and associated with a payment account of the user” of Khan to include “data for provisioning an application associated with a payment service for installation on a client device associated with a user”, taught by Sohn. One would be motivated to do this in order enable the user/customer to conveniently and quicky install the application based on the provided data for installing the application, which in turn would increase the user’s experience.
However, the combination of Khan and Sohn does not explicitly teach the underlined features: “update the one or more data stores to include connection information associated with a connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes automatic redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a subsequent transaction at the at least one merchant using the physical payment card” (part of step/limitation 2d).
Mankoff teaches update one or more data stores to include connection information associated with a connection between a payment account and a selected reward offer (cl. 9 lines 16-19, lines 59-67 through cl. 10 lines 1-64) , wherein the connection authorizes automatic redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a subsequent transaction at the at least one merchant using a physical payment card {At least fig. 6 cl. 13 lines 13-49 in context with cl. 9 lines 16-19, lines 59-67 and cl. 10 lines 1-64}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify “update the one or more data stores to include connection information associated with a connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a transaction at the at least one merchant using the payment card” of the combination of Khan and Sohn especially Khan to include “update one or more data stores to include connection information associated with a connection between a payment account and a selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes automatic redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a subsequent transaction at the at least one merchant using a physical payment card”, taught by Mankoff. One would be motivated to do this in order to enable another option to link/associate the user selected reward offer/coupon with the user payment instrument/credit card: that is to link the user selected reward/offer/coupon with the user payment instrument/credit card in advance (prior to making purchase/subsequent purchase) so that the user selected reward offer/coupon can be redeemed more efficiently and quickly at POS. This also would enhance the user’s experience.
8. Claim 2: The combination of Khan, Sohn and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claim 1. The combination further teaches wherein the user input comprises a touch-screen gesture in the user interface (Khan: e.g., mobile device para 0068), wherein the touch-screen gesture interacts with the selected reward offer or the virtual payment card {Khan: At least fig. 3E especially paras 0098, 0100-0101}.
9. Claim 3: The combination of Khan, Sohn and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claim 1. The combination further teaches wherein at least one of the one or more reward offers is associated with a time limit {At least Khan: see fig. 3B} and also {Mankoff: At least cl. 11 lines 35-43}.
10. Claim 4: The combination of Khan, Sohn and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claim 1. The combination further teaches send, to the client device (Khan: figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101), a modification request to modify an appearance of the virtual payment card (Khan: e.g., modify request via interface of the mobile device to select another virtual payment card/payment instrument, then the new selected payment instrument will appeared/displayed in at least figs. 3B-3C paras 0082-0093 especially para 0093) in the application to reflect the connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer {Khan: At least figs. 3C-3D paras 0087-0095. Also see figs 3B paras 0078-0086}.
11. Claims 6: The combination of Khan, Sohn and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claim 1. The combination further teaches wherein the one or more reward offers are identified based on at least one of:
demographic information associated with the user;
time information associated with a current time {Khan: At least para 0126}, and also {Mankoff: At least cl. 9 lines 57-67 through cl. 10 lines 1-6};
location information associated with a location of the user {Mankoff: At least cl. 9 lines 57-67 through cl. 10 lines 1-6};
historical information associated with use of the application by the user {Khan: At least paras 0124 in context with paras 0140};
interface information associated with input by the user while using the application {Khan: At least paras 0060-0061, 0065 in context with at least fig. 3B para 0071}; or
status information associated with a membership status of the user.
12. Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1), in view of Sohn et al; (US 2017/0262296 A1), in view of Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2), and further in view of Williams; (US 2016/0063569 A1):
13. Claim 5: The combination of Khan, Sohn and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claim 1. The combination does not explicitly teach the underlined features: “receive a second user input corresponding to dismissing one of the one or more reward offers; and send, to the client device, a removal request to remove the one of the one or more reward offers from the user interface.”
Williams teaches:
receive a second user input corresponding to dismissing one of one or more reward offers {At least fig. 4 para 0087 in context with para 0085}; and
send, to client device, a removal request to remove the one of the one or more reward offers from the user interface {At least fig. 4 para 0087 in context with para 0085}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify “receive, from the client device, a user input indicating an assignment of a selected reward offer of the one or more reward offers to the payment account” of the combination of Khan, Sohn and Mankoff to include “receive a second user input corresponding to dismissing one of one or more reward offers; and send, to client device, a removal request to remove the one of the one or more reward offers from the user interface”, taught by Williams. One would be motivated to do this to enable the user/customer the ability to control their reward offers. Specifically, allowing the users/customers to remove e.g., unwanted offers helps personalize the rewards offers experience. Since users/customers can tailor their rewards offers record to match their preferences, the users’ satisfaction and loyalty would be increased.
14. Claims 7-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1), and further in view of Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2):
15. Independent claim 7: Khan teaches a method comprising:
identifying one or more reward offers (see a plurality of reward offers/ incentives/ coupons associated with different payment cards are selected and presented to a user in figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101 in context with fig. 2 paras 0060-0064) associated with a user of a payment service from a plurality of available reward offers (step 1) {At least paras 0124, 0140 in context with fig. 2 paras 0060-0064; figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0071-0100 and fig. 4A paras 0105-0107};
sending, to a client device associated with the user, instructions to display the one or more reward offers together with a virtual payment card (e.g., Cool Pay Card in figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E especially fig. 3E) in a user interface of an application associated with the payment service, wherein the virtual payment card is associated with a payment account issued by the payment service to the user (step 2) {At least fig figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101 especially fig. 3E paras 0097-0101};
receiving, from the client device, a user input indicating an assignment of a selected reward offer to the payment account (step 3) {At least fig. 3E paras 0097-0101 especially paras 0098, 0100-0101}; and
update one or more data stores to include information associated with a connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a transaction with at least one merchant using a payment card (e.g., Cool Pay Card in figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E especially fig. 3E) issued to the user by the payment service (part of step 4) {At least fig. 3E paras 0097-0101 especially paras 0098, 0100-0101}.
However, Khan does not explicitly teach the underlined features: “update one or more data stores to include information associated with a connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes automatic redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a subsequent transaction with at least one merchant using a physical payment card issued to the user by the payment service.”.
Mankoff teaches update one or more data stores to include connection information associated with a connection between a payment account and a selected reward offer (cl. 9 lines 16-19, lines 59-67 through cl. 10 lines 1-64) , wherein the connection authorizes automatic redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a subsequent transaction at the at least one merchant using a physical payment card issued to the user by the payment service {At least fig. 6 cl. 13 lines 13-49 in context with cl. 9 lines 16-19, lines 59-67 and cl. 10 lines 1-64}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify “update the one or more data stores to include connection information associated with a connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a transaction at the at least one merchant using the payment card issued to the user by the payment service” of the combination Khan to include “update one or more data stores to include connection information associated with a connection between a payment account and a selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes automatic redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a subsequent transaction at the at least one merchant using a physical payment card”, taught by Mankoff. One would be motivated to do this in order to enable another option to link/associate the user selected reward offer/coupon with the user payment instrument/credit card: that is to link the user selected reward/offer/coupon with the user payment instrument/credit card in advance (prior to making purchase/subsequent purchase) so that the user selected reward offer/coupon can be redeemed more efficiently and quickly at POS. This also would enhance the user’s experience.
16. Claim 8: The combination of Khan and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claims 7. The combination further teaches wherein the virtual payment card is associated with the physical payment card, wherein the physical payment card is associated with the payment account {Mankoff: At least fig. 6 cl. 13 lines 13-49 in context with cl. 9 lines 16-19, lines 59-67 and cl. 10 lines 1-64}.
17. Claim 9: The combination of Khan and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claims 7. The combination further teaches wherein the user input comprises a touch-screen gesture in the user interface (Khan: e.g., mobile device para 0068), wherein the touch-screen gesture interacts with the selected reward offer or the virtual payment card {Khan: At least fig. 3E especially paras 0098, 0100-0101}.
18. Claim 10: The combination of Khan and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claims 7. The combination further teaches wherein at least one of the one or more reward offers is associated with a time limit {At least Khan: see fig. 3B} and also {Mankoff: At least cl. 11 lines 35-43}.
19. Claim 11: The combination of Khan and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claims 7. The combination further teaches send, to the client device (Khan: figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101), a modification request to modify an appearance of the virtual payment card (Khan: e.g., modify request via interface of the mobile device to select another virtual payment card/payment instrument, then the new selected payment instrument will appeared/displayed in at least figs. 3B-3C paras 0082-0093 especially para 0093) in the application to reflect the connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer {Khan: At least figs. 3C-3D paras 0087-0095. Also see figs 3B paras 0078-0086}.
20. Claim 13: The combination of Khan and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claims 7. The combination further teaches wherein the one or more reward offers are identified based on at least one of:
demographic information associated with the user;
time information associated with a current time {Khan: At least para 0126}, and also {Mankoff: At least cl. 9 lines 57-67 through cl. 10 lines 1-6};
location information associated with a location of the user {Mankoff: At least cl. 9 lines 57-67 through cl. 10 lines 1-6};
historical information associated with use of the application by the user {Khan: At least paras 0124 in context with paras 0140};
interface information associated with input by the user while using the application {Khan: At least paras 0060-0061, 0065 in context with at least fig. 3B para 0071}; or
status information associated with a membership status of the user.
21. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1), in view of Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2), and further in view of Williams; (US 2016/0063569 A1):
22. Claim 12: The combination of Khan and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claims 7. The combination does not explicitly teach the underlined features: “receive a second user input corresponding to dismissing one of the one or more reward offers; and send, to the client device, a removal request to remove the one of the one or more reward offers from the user interface.”
Williams teaches:
receive a second user input corresponding to dismissing one of one or more reward offers {At least fig. 4 para 0087 in context with para 0085}; and
send, to client device, a removal request to remove the one of the one or more reward offers from the user interface {At least fig. 4 para 0087 in context with para 0085}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify “receive, from the client device, a user input indicating an assignment of a selected reward offer of the one or more reward offers to the payment account” of the combination of Khan and Mankoff to include “receive a second user input corresponding to dismissing one of one or more reward offers; and send, to client device, a removal request to remove the one of the one or more reward offers from the user interface”, taught by Williams. One would be motivated to do this to enable the user/customer the ability to control their reward offers. Specifically, allowing the users/customers to remove e.g., unwanted offers helps personalize the rewards offers experience. Since users/customers can tailor their rewards offers record to match their preferences, the users’ satisfaction and loyalty would be increased.
23. Claims 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1), in view of Yemme et al; (US 2019/0188735 A1), and further in view of Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2):
24. Independent claim 14: Khan teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, upon execution by at least one processor {At least paras 0012}, cause the at least one processor to:
identify, one or more reward offers (see a plurality of reward offers/ incentives/ coupons associated with different payment cards are selected and presented to a user in figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101 in context with fig. 2 paras 0060-0064) associated with a user of a payment service from a plurality of available reward offers (part of limitation 1) {At least paras 0124, 0140 in context with fig. 2 paras 0060-0064; figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0071-0100 and fig. 4A paras 0105-0107};
send, to a client device associated with the user, a request to display the one or more reward offers together with a virtual payment card (e.g., Cool Pay Card in figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E especially fig. 3E) in a user interface of an application associated with the payment service, wherein the virtual payment card is associated with a payment account issued by the payment service to the user (limitation 2) {At least fig figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101 especially fig. 3E paras 0097-0101};
receive, from the client device, a user input indicating an assignment of a selected reward offer to the payment account (limitation 3) {At least fig. 3E paras 0097-0101 especially paras 0098, 0100-0101}; and
updating one or more data stores to include information associated with a connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a transaction with at least one merchant using a payment card (e.g., Cool Pay Card in figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E especially fig. 3E) issued to the user by the payment service (part of limitation 4) {At least fig. 3E paras 0097-0101 especially paras 0098, 0100-0101}.
However, Khan does not explicitly teach the underlined features: “identify, using a machine-learning model, one or more reward offers associated with a user of a payment service from a plurality of available reward offers (part of limitation 1);
Yemme teaches identify, using a machine-learning model, one or more reward offers associated with a user from a plurality of available reward offers {At least fig. 3 especially paras 0029-0031 in context with fig. 2 paras 0019-0028 especially para 0023 selecting a plurality of offers 606 based on collected information such as current transaction data, historical transaction data, environmental data (e.g., demographics data in para 0023) using machine learning logistic regression algorithm}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify “identify , one or more reward offers associated with a user of a payment service from a plurality of available reward offers” of Khan to include “identify, using a machine-learning model, one or more reward offers associated with a user from a plurality of available reward offers”, taught by Yemme. One would be motivated to do this in order to efficiently and accurately determine/identify the rewards offers that are most relevant to the user to increase the effectiveness of the rewards offers.
However, the combination of Khan and Yemme does not explicitly teach the underlined features: “updating one or more data stores to include information associated with a connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes automatic redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a subsequent transaction with at least one merchant using a physical payment card issued to the user by the payment service (part of limitation 4) .
Mankoff teaches updating one or more data stores to include connection information associated with a connection between a payment account and a selected reward offer (cl. 9 lines 16-19, lines 59-67 through cl. 10 lines 1-64) , wherein the connection authorizes automatic redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a subsequent transaction at the at least one merchant using a physical payment card {At least fig. 6 cl. 13 lines 13-49 in context with cl. 9 lines 16-19, lines 59-67 and cl. 10 lines 1-64}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify “updating one or more data stores to include information associated with a connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a transaction with at least one merchant using a payment card issued to the user by the payment service” of the combination of Khan and Yemme especially Khan to include “updating one or more data stores to include connection information associated with a connection between a payment account and a selected reward offer, wherein the connection authorizes automatic redemption of the selected reward offer upon receiving a payment authorization request for a subsequent transaction at the at least one merchant using a physical payment card issued to the user by the payment service”, taught by Mankoff. One would be motivated to do this in order to enable another option to link/associate the user selected reward offer/coupon with the user payment instrument/credit card: that is to link the user selected reward/offer/coupon with the user payment instrument/credit card in advance (prior to making purchase/subsequent purchase) so that the user selected reward offer/coupon can be redeemed more efficiently and quickly at POS. This also would enhance the user’s experience.
25. Claim 15: The combination of Khan, Yemme and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claims 14. The combination further teaches wherein the virtual payment card is associated with the physical payment card, wherein the physical payment card is associated with the payment account {Mankoff: At least fig. 6 cl. 13 lines 13-49 in context with cl. 9 lines 16-19, lines 59-67 and cl. 10 lines 1-64}.
26. Claim 16: The combination of Khan, Yemme and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claims 14. The combination further teaches wherein the user input comprises a touch-screen gesture in the user interface (Khan: e.g., mobile device para 0068), wherein the touch-screen gesture interacts with the selected reward offer or the virtual payment card {Khan: At least fig. 3E especially paras 0098, 0100-0101}.
27. Claim 17: The combination of Khan, Yemme and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claims 14. The combination further teaches wherein at least one of the one or more reward offers is associated with a time limit {At least Khan: see fig. 3B} and also {Mankoff: At least cl. 11 lines 35-43}.
28. Claims 18: The combination of Khan, Yemme and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claims 14. The combination further teaches send, to the client device (Khan: figs. 3B, 3C, 3D and 3E in paras 0078-0101), a modification request to modify an appearance of the virtual payment card (Khan: e.g., modify request via interface of the mobile device to select another virtual payment card/payment instrument, then the new selected payment instrument will appeared/displayed in at least figs. 3B-3C paras 0082-0093 especially para 0093) in the application to reflect the connection between the payment account and the selected reward offer {Khan: At least figs. 3C-3D paras 0087-0095. Also see figs 3B paras 0078-0086}.
29. Claim 20: The combination of Khan, Yemme and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claims 14. The combination further teaches wherein the one or more reward offers are identified based on at least one of:
demographic information associated with the user;
time information associated with a current time {Khan: At least para 0126}, and also {Mankoff: At least cl. 9 lines 57-67 through cl. 10 lines 1-6};
location information associated with a location of the user {Mankoff: At least cl. 9 lines 57-67 through cl. 10 lines 1-6};
historical information associated with use of the application by the user {Khan: At least paras 0124 in context with paras 0140};
interface information associated with input by the user while using the application {Khan: At least paras 0060-0061, 0065 in context with at least fig. 3B para 0071}; or
status information associated with a membership status of the user.
30. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan; (US 2020/0058047 A1), in view of Yemme et al; (US 2019/0188735 A1), in view of Mankoff; (US 8,825,522 B2), and further in view of Williams; (US 2016/0063569 A1):
31. Claim 19: The combination of Khan, Yemme and Mankoff teaches the claimed invention as in claim 14. The combination does not explicitly teach the underlined features: “receive a second user input corresponding to dismissing one of the one or more reward offers; and send, to the client device, a removal request to remove the one of the one or more reward offers from the user interface.”
Williams teaches:
receive a second user input corresponding to dismissing one of one or more reward offers {At least fig. 4 para 0087 in context with para 0085}; and
send, to client device, a removal request to remove the one of the one or more reward offers from the user interface {At least fig. 4 para 0087 in context with para 0085}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify “receive, from the client device, a user input indicating an assignment of a selected reward offer of the one or more reward offers to the payment account” of the combination of Khan, Yemme and Mankoff to include “receive a second user input corresponding to dismissing one of one or more reward offers; and send, to client device, a removal request to remove the one of the one or more reward offers from the user interface”, taught by Williams. One would be motivated to do this to enable the user/customer the ability to control their reward offers. Specifically, allowing the users/customers to remove e.g., unwanted offers helps personalize the rewards offers experience. Since users/customers can tailor their rewards offers record to match their preferences, the users’ satisfaction and loyalty would be increased.
Prior Art that is pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure
32. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Healy et at; (US 2016/0260090 A1), wherein teaches displaying a payment option selection screen that enables the user other the mobile device to select a payment card/ payment instrument with best benefit/reward offers in at least figs. 3A through 3E, fig. 4 -6 paras 0025-0038}.
Khan; (US 2018/0260833 A1), wherein teaches provide user with a list of promotional offers/ reward offers associated with a payment instrument during checkout for selection in at least figs. 3B-3C paras 0110-0121}.
Hariramani et al; (US 2013/0024371 A1), wherein teaches The ELECTRONIC OFFER OPTIMIZATION AND REDEMPTION APPARATUSES, METHODS AND SYSTEMS ("EOOR") transform payment card information, user payment card selection preference, and purchase inputs via EOOR components into card addition completion. In one implementation the EOOR performs a method, comprising: receiving a purchase order request via a consumer wallet device; determining a wallet account identifier from the purchase order request; determining a merchant from the purchase order request; retrieving a payment card identifier of at least one payment card associated with the wallet account identifier; generating an offer data query on the payment card identifier; executing the offer data query and retrieving offer data; obtaining user payment card and offer selection preference data; determining an optimized payment card and offer selection based on the user payment card and offer selection preference data; and executing a payment transaction using the optimized payment card and offer selection in response to the purchase order request.
Okerlund; (US 2013/0080239 A1); wherein teaches The invention relates generally to systems and methods for the non-public creation, distribution and redemption of incentive offers. More particularly, the system and method generates incentives based on parameters selectable by merchants. The system and method constructs non-public incentive offers that are delivered to one or more program registrants satisfying a designated targeting profile and associated with one or more electronic payment instruments. Incentive offers may be redeemed confidentiality by the program registrant tendering an electronic payment instrument satisfying the parameters of the incentive offer. The invention further relates to systems and methods for participants to exert control over the volume and kind of incentives received through the system and by third party entities.
Kim et al; (US 2014/0149198 A1); wherein teaches The disclosure is related to a service for helping a consumer to intuitively identify, select, and combine payment instruments returning the relatively best membership to find a lowest payment amount for a desired purchase. User equipment may provide a graphic user interface that i) displays images of payment instruments classified by a payment instrument type, ii) scrollably displays images of the classified payment instruments, iii) displays an estimated lowest payment amount for a desired purchase by combining membership benefits of payment instruments based on payment instrument images scrolled and arranged at a selection position thereof.
Further, see additional references cited in PTO-892.
Conclusion
/THUY N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3622.