DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is a response to an application filed on 08/12/2025, in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/12/2025 and 06/23/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in this application and a copy has been placed of record in the file.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 21, 31, and 40 of U.S. Patent No. 11,343,489. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 11, and 17 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 21, 31, and 40 of U.S. Patent No. 11,343,489. Therefore, claim 1, 11, and 17 of the instant application are an obvious variation of claims 21, 31, and 40 of U.S. Patent No. 11,343,489.
Claims 1, 11, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 11, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,413,705. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 11, and 17 of the instant application are anticipated by claims 1, 11, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,413,705. Therefore, claim 1, 11, and 17 of the instant application are an obvious variation of claims 1, 11, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,413,705.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tian (US 2012/0314027 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tian discloses: A decoding method comprising:
generating a prediction block for a current block (see paragraph 54-55, encoding or decoding a current macroblock in a current frame using prediction modes to predict a current frame); and
generating a reconstructed block for the current block using the prediction block (see paragraph 73 and 76).
Regarding claim 2, Tian discloses: The decoding method of claim 1, wherein
the prediction block is generated based on warping for a reference image (see Tian, paragraph 106).
Regarding claim 3, Tian discloses: The decoding method of claim 2, wherein
motion information for the current block used to generate the prediction block is generated based on motion information in a list comprising a plurality of motion information (see Tian, paragraph 239).
Regarding claim 4, Tian discloses: The decoding method of claim 1, wherein
the prediction block is generated based on motion information for a current block and a geometric transformation (see Tian, paragraph 184).
Regarding claim 5, Tian discloses: The decoding method of claim 4, wherein
the geometric transformation includes at least one of enlargement, reduction, and rotation (see Tian, paragraph 165).
Regarding claim 6, Tian discloses: The decoding method of claim 4, wherein
the geometric transformation is used in a mode which uses a motion vector predictor (see Tian, paragraph 184).
Regarding claim 7, Tian discloses: The decoding method of claim 4, wherein
the geometric transformation is used in a merge mode (see Tian, paragraph 184 and 239).
Regarding claim 8, Tian discloses: The decoding method of claim 4, further comprising:
acquiring geometric transformation usage information (see Tian, paragraph 184), wherein the geometric transformation usage information indicates whether the geometric transformation is used for a specific unit comprising the current block (see Tian, paragraph 179 and 184).
Regarding claim 9, Tian discloses: The decoding method of claim 8, wherein
the specific unit is a coding unit (see Tian, paragraph 245).
Regarding claim 10, Tian discloses: The decoding method of claim 1, wherein
a list comprising a plurality of candidates for inter prediction for the current block is generated (see Tian, paragraph 244-245),
motion information of one or more neighboring blocks of the current block are added to the list as the plurality of the candidates (see Tian, paragraph 239),
an additional candidate is added to the list in a case for which the number of candidates in the list is less than a predetermined number (see Tian, paragraph 244), and
the additional candidate is generated based on information for a L0 prediction of an existing candidate in the list and information for a L1 prediction of the existing candidate (see Tian, paragraph 239).
Regarding claims 11-16, claims 11-16 are drawn to methods having limitations similar to the method claimed in claims 1-4 and 10 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, method claims 11-16 correspond to method claims 1-4 and 10 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Regarding claims 17-20, claims 17-20 are drawn to a computer readable medium having limitations similar to the method claimed in claims 1-4 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, computer readable medium claims 17-20 correspond to method claims 1-4 and are rejected for the same reasons of anticipation as used above.
Conclusion
/MARYAM A NASRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483