DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: image capture device in claim 1, 14, 18.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 14, 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12393204B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entire scope of the references claims falls within the scope of the examined claims.
Claims 2, 15, 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12393204B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entire scope of the references claims falls within the scope of the examined claims.
Claims 3, 16, 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12393204B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the entire scope of the references claims falls within the scope of the examined claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 14, 18 recites the limitation "the stasis determination". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims 2, 15, 19, 7, 21, 10, 13 recite the element “a stasis condition” in more than one instance than what is provided in the independent claim. It is unclear if these instances are the same or distinct. For purposes of examination the instances will be interpreted as being the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 14-16, 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)&(a)(2) as being anticipated by WO2021141396A1 (“Jeon”).
As per claims 1, 14, and 18 Jeon teaches the limitations of the non-transitory machine-readable medium, method, and robot:
At least one non-transitory machine-readable medium, including instructions, which when executed, cause processing circuitry to perform operations to: receive sensor data from a mobile cleaning robot based on one or more interactions between the mobile cleaning robot and an environment; receive images of the environment from an image capture device of the mobile cleaning robot; determine whether the mobile cleaning robot is in a stasis condition based on at least one of the images or the sensor data, by: comparing an indication of a first gradient of a first image to an indication of a second gradient of a second image; and analyzing a result of the comparison based on one or more criteria; and update a map of the environment based on the stasis determination. (Jeon at least the abstract, [0104], FIGs. 5-6, [0083-0092], [0087], [0313-0315], [0106-0107], FIG. 9A, FIG. 10A)
Claims 2, 15, 19:
generate the map of the environment based on the sensor data, including sensor data from a wheel encoder; and determine whether the mobile cleaning robot is in a stasis condition based on visual data. (Jeon at least [0018], [0037], [0162])
Claims 3, 16, 20:
associate particular images with one or more particular regions of the map; generate a queue of the images over a time interval, the queue including the particular images; characterize at least one of the particular images as a stasis image associated with at least one of the one or more particular regions of the map; and delete the at least one of the one or more particular regions of the map associated with the stasis image. (Jeon at least [0106-0107], FIG. 9A, FIG. 10A, [0035]: “compare the image data to receive the map for the cleaning area from which a driving distance of the robot cleaner from a point in time when there is no change in the image data is removed”, [0037]: “provide the accurate spatial map by compensating for the occurrence of the wheel slip due to the restraint of the robot cleaner.”)
Claims 7, 21:
generate a queue of the images; determine indications of respective gradients corresponding to respective images; compare one of the indications of respective gradients to two or more other ones of the indications of respective gradients; and determine whether the mobile cleaning robot is in a stasis condition based on the two or more comparisons. (Jeon at least [0106-0107], FIG. 9A, FIG. 10A, [0035], [0037] )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of US20240284053A1 (“Afrouzi2”).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Jeon teaches the invention as described above. Jeon does not disclose:
compress map data associated with the map following updating the map.
Afrouzi2 teaches the aforementioned limitation (Afrouzi2 at least [0502]: " compression may be used to eliminate some redundancy in the digital data and save bandwidth and computational cost").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon with the aforementioned limitations taught by Afrouzi2 with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve map building (Afrouzi2 [0166]).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Jeon does not disclose:
the map includes: one or more nodes based on a location of the mobile cleaning robot in the environment based on the sensor data; and one or more travel indicators between adjacent nodes based on the sensor data; and compressing the map data includes marginalizing one or more nodes or travel indicators included in the map.
Afrouzi2 teaches the aforementioned limitation (Afrouzi2 at least [0591]: " adjust the map by adding, deleting, or modifying information (e.g., obstacles) within the map.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon with the aforementioned limitations taught by Afrouzi2 with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 4.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon and Afrouzi2 in view of US20210018929A1 (“Choi”).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Jeon does not disclose:
the first gradient and the second gradient include at least one of a gradient of a specified color or a gradient of overall intensity.
Choi teaches the aforementioned limitation (Choi at least [0120], [0133], [0236]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon with the aforementioned limitations taught by Choi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to quickly create a map (Choi abstract).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Choi.
Regarding claim 8, Jeon teaches the invention as described above. Jeon does not disclose:
generate a data structure including values indicative of respective comparisons between individual ones of each of the indications of respective gradients.
Choi teaches the aforementioned limitation (Choi at least [0120], [0133], [0236]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon with the aforementioned limitations taught by Choi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 6.
Regarding claim 9, Jeon in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Jeon does not disclose:
the values indicative of respective comparisons include a total relative difference of gradient scores.
Choi teaches the aforementioned limitation (Choi at least [0120], [0133], [0237]: “each region may be distinguished through a gray scale. Referring to FIG. 12C, the first region 1201 may be displayed in white, the second region 1202 may be displayed in gray, and the third region 1203 may be displayed in black. A difference in brightness between the first region 1201 and the third region 1203 may be greater than a difference in brightness between other regions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon with the aforementioned limitations taught by Choi with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation to combine these reference is the same as above in claim 6.
Claim(s) 10, 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of US11241791B1 (“Afrouzi”).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon teaches the invention as described above. Jeon teaches:
generate an alert to a user indicating that the mobile cleaning robot is in a stasis condition; (Jeon at least [0201])
Although not required, Jeon does not disclose:
move the mobile cleaning robot to perform an evasive maneuver to attempt to escape the stasis condition.
Afrouzi teaches the aforementioned limitation (Afrouzi at least “data of a sensor monitoring tension on the wheels may be used to determine when to expand the wheel, when, for example, more than a predetermined amount of tension is detected. … a large obstacle is detected requiring expanded wheels to overcome the obstacle by driving over the obstacle with the wheel or by increasing the clearance between the robot chassis and the driving surface such that the obstacle may fit beneath the robot. In some embodiments, the processor may expand and retract the wheel to loosen an object that may have become entangled with the wheel.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon with the aforementioned limitations taught by Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve map accuracy.
Regarding claim 12, Jeon teaches the invention as described above. Jeon does not disclose:
to determine whether the mobile cleaning robot is in a stasis condition includes considering at least one of a determined ambient light level based on a light sensor connected to the mobile cleaning robot or a signal from a gyroscope connected to the mobile cleaning robot.
Afrouzi teaches the aforementioned limitation (Afrouzi at least: “the translation and rotation of the camera between frames is measured by two separate movement measurement devices (e.g., optical encoder and gyroscope of the robotic device)… if the velocity of one wheel is zero while the other is spinning then rotation of the robotic device is about the wheel with zero velocity and is the location of the ICR….if the robotic device becomes stuck and the wheels continue to rotate the data output from the encoder shows movement when in fact the robot is static. ”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon with the aforementioned limitations taught by Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve map accuracy.
Regarding claim 13, Jeon teaches the invention as described above. Jeon does not disclose:
considering at least one of a determined ambient light level or a signal from a gyroscope includes adjusting a stasis threshold value, wherein the threshold is adjusted to make it more likely for a stasis condition to be determined in response to at least one of an indication of a lower ambient light level or an indication of a greater amount of rotation.
Afrouzi teaches the aforementioned limitation (Afrouzi at least: “if the velocity of one wheel is zero while the other is spinning then rotation of the robotic device is about the wheel with zero velocity and is the location of the ICR….if the robotic device becomes stuck and the wheels continue to rotate the data output from the encoder shows movement when in fact the robot is static. ”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon with the aforementioned limitations taught by Afrouzi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve map accuracy.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of US20090281661A1 (“Dooley”).
Regarding claim 11, Jeon in combination with the other reference teaches the invention as described above. Jeon does not disclose:
navigate the mobile cleaning robot to a calibration point; and recalibrate a determined position of the mobile cleaning robot.
Dooley teaches the aforementioned limitation (Dooley at least [0330]: “returning to a specific reference point (or one of many available reference points) where the robot can re-calibrate its position, plot the target location for the next cleaning region, and drive to that region to begin the next regional pattern. ”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Jeon with the aforementioned limitations taught by Dooley with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine these references in order to improve the cleaning pattern and navigation strategy of consumer robots (Dooley [0019]).
Conclusion
/O.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/TODD MELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669