DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on January 30, 2026 contains a citation that has not been considered. Citation number 24 under “Non-Patent Literature Documents” has not been considered. The publication does not provide a month of publication or a statement as per 37 CFR 1.98(b).
See MPEP 609.04(a) 1 - IDS requiring month and year 37 CFR 1.98(b): The date of publication supplied must include at least the month and year of publication, except that the year of publication (without the month) will be accepted if the applicant points out in the information disclosure statement that the year of publication is sufficiently earlier than the effective U.S. filing date and any foreign priority date so that the particular month of publication is not in issue.
The information disclosure statement filed on January 30, 2026 does not fully comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.98(b) because: The publication does not provide a month of publication or a statement as per 37 CFR 1.98(b). Since the submission appears to be bona fide, applicant is given ONE (1) MONTH from the date of this notice to supply the above mentioned omissions or corrections in the information disclosure statement. NO EXTENSION OF THIS TIME LIMIT MAY BE GRANTED UNDER EITHER 37 CFR 1.136(a) OR (b). Failure to timely comply with this notice will result in the above mentioned information disclosure statement being placed in the application file with the noncomplying information not being considered. See 37 CFR 1.97(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The applicant’s disclosure at paragraph 0066 is the only recitation of a camera. Paragraph 0066 recites “The system can include a microphone that can also be used to send and receive audible or inaudible signals, infrared (IR), cameras, and so on.” The basic recitation of “the system can include…a camera” does not provide an adequate written description for the currently presented claims. The disclosure does not recite any “image data”. Thus it is unclear how the “obtain” and “determine” steps can take place with “image data”, when the “image data” has not been disclosed.
The applicant’s disclosure at paragraph 0001 has indicated incorporation by reference of a plurality of applications: (17/520,892 (USPN 11,552,843); 16/378,453 (USPN 11,171,827); 15/872,983 (USPN 10,257,035); 15/090,153 (USPN 9,871,696); and 13/341,245 (USPN 9,344,292). However, these applications do not provide support for the claimed limitations.
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The applicant’s disclosure at paragraph 0066 is the only recitation of a camera. Paragraph 0066 recites “The system can include a microphone that can also be used to send and receive audible or inaudible signals, infrared (IR), cameras, and so on.” The basic recitation of “the system can include…a camera” does not provide an adequate written description for the currently presented claims. The disclosure does not recite any “image data”. Thus it is unclear how the “obtain” and “determine” steps can be enabled with “image data”, when the “image data” has not been disclosed. The specification does not provide the manner and process of using “the image data” in such a full, clear and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains…to make and use the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase "such that" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the camera, smartphone and television must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, 13, 14, 16, 18, 23, 26, 27, 29 and 30 as best understood are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0082784 to Rosenblatt et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0126758 to Van Der Wijst.
Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 disclose:
As concerns claim 1, a system comprising a computing device, wherein the computing device comprises: one or more processors (Fig. 1); tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media (Fig. 1); and program instructions stored in the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media, wherein the program instructions when executed by the one or more processors, configure the computing device to:
obtain, via a camera (Fig. 31, camera 36), image data (0090-camera, images; 0106-camera, with image…to extract resource sharing information; Fig. 31-436 Acquire image mode, 440 image) comprising an indication of a first playback device (0195-identifying type of device) and a second playback device (0195-identifying type of device);
obtain first data (0195-identifying type of device) from the first playback device and second data (0195-identifying type of device) from the second playback device;
determine, based on at least (a) the obtained image data (0090-camera, images; 0106-camera, with image…to extract resource sharing information; Fig. 31-436 Acquire image mode, 440 image) and (b) the obtained first data and second data (0195-identifying type of device; 0152-authorization, network configuration), that the first playback device shall join (0152-join) the second playback device in a grouped configuration (Fig. 18-272 establish connection between devices, 274-share resources between devices; Fig. 35D-Entertainment is a “group”);
detect one or more audible signals emitted by one or both of the first playback device and the second playback device, and determine a location of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the one or more audible signals; and
after determining that the first playback device shall join the second playback device in the grouped configuration and the location of the first playback device and the second playback device, configure the first playback device to join the second playback device in the grouped configuration such that the first playback device and the second playback device are configured to play audio (0076; 0256; 0260-0261) content in a groupwise manner (Fig. 33C, Apple TV Living Room, TV Living Room, Home Theater Receiver Living Room; 0152-authorization, network configuration).
As concerns claim 14, tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media comprising program instructions, wherein the program instructions, when executed by one or more processors, cause a computing system to perform functions comprising:
obtain, via a camera (Fig. 31, camera 36), image data (0090-camera, images; 0106-camera, with image…to extract resource sharing information; Fig. 31-436 Acquire image mode, 440 image) comprising an indication of a first playback device (0195-identifying type of device) and a second playback device (0195-identifying type of device);
after receiving data from the first playback device and receiving data from the second playback device, determining that the first playback device is compatible to join (0152-join) the second playback device in a grouped configuration (Fig. 18-272 establish connection between devices, 274-share resources between devices; Fig. 35D-Entertainment is a “group”);
detecting one or more audible signals emitted by one or both of the first playback device and the second playback device, and determining a location of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the one or more audible signals; and
after determining that the first playback device is compatible to join the second playback device in the grouped configuration and the location of the first playback device and the second playback device, configuring the first playback device to join the second playback device in the grouped configuration based at least in part on the image data such that the first playback device and the second playback device are configured to play audio (0076; 0256; 0260-0261) content in a groupwise manner (Fig. 33C, Apple TV Living Room, TV Living Room, Home Theater Receiver Living Room; 0152-authorization, network configuration).
As concerns claim 27, a method performed by a computing system, wherein the method comprises: obtaining, via a camera (Fig. 31, camera 36), image data (0090-camera, images; 0106-camera, with image…to extract resource sharing information; Fig. 31-436 Acquire image mode, 440 image) comprising an indication of a first playback device (0195-identifying type of device) and a second playback device (0195-identifying type of device);
after receiving data from the first playback device and receiving data from the second playback device, determining that the first playback device is compatible to join (0152-join) the second playback device in a grouped configuration (Fig. 18-272 establish connection between devices, 274-share resources between devices; Fig. 35D-Entertainment is a “group”); and
detecting one or more audible signals emitted by one or both of the first playback device and the second playback device, and determining a location of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the one or more audible signals; and
after determining that the first playback device is compatible to join the second playback device in the grouped configuration, configuring the first playback device to join the second playback device in the grouped configuration based at least in part on the image data comprising the indication of the first playback device and the second playback device (0195-identifying type of device), wherein while in the grouped configuration, the first playback device and the second playback device are configured to play audio (0076; 0256; 0260-0261) content in a groupwise manner (Fig. 33C, Apple TV Living Room, TV Living Room, Home Theater Receiver Living Room; 0152-authorization, network configuration).
As concerns claim 29, tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media comprising program instructions, wherein the program instructions, when executed by one or more processors, cause a computing system to perform functions comprising:
obtaining, via a camera (Fig. 31, camera 36), image data (0090-camera, images; 0106-camera, with image…to extract resource sharing information; Fig. 31-436 Acquire image mode, 440 image) comprising an indication of a first playback device (0195-identifying type of device) and a second playback device (0195-identifying type of device);
after receiving data from the first playback device and receiving data from the second playback device, determining that the first playback device is compatible to join (0152-join) the second playback device in a grouped configuration (Fig. 18-272 establish connection between devices, 274-share resources between devices; Fig. 35D-Entertainment is a “group”);
detecting one or more audible signals emitted by one or both of the first playback device and the second playback device, and determining a location of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the one or more audible signals; and
after determining that the first playback device is compatible to join the second playback device in the grouped configuration and the location of the first playback device and the second playback device, configuring the first playback device to join the second playback device in the grouped configuration based at least in part on the image data comprising the indication of the first playback device and the second playback device (0195-identifying type of device), wherein while in the grouped configuration, the first playback device and the second playback device are configured to play audio (0076; 0256; 0260-0261) content in a groupwise manner (Fig. 33C, Apple TV Living Room, TV Living Room, Home Theater Receiver Living Room; 0152-authorization, network configuration).
Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 do not disclose:
detect one or more audible signals emitted by one or both of the first playback device and the second playback device, and determine a location of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the one or more audible signals.
Van Der Wijst ‘758 teach:
detect one or more audible signals (0041-sound signal) emitted by one or both of the first playback device and the second playback device, and determine a location (0041-determine location of the speakers) of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the one or more audible signals.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the system of Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 with determining location, as taught by Van Der Wijst ‘758, in order to provide an enhanced listening experience.
Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 further disclose:
As concerns claims 3 and 16, the invention of claims 1 and 14, wherein the computing device comprises a smartphone (0076; 0092) comprising the camera.
As concerns claims 5 and 18, the invention of claims 1 and 14, wherein the computing device comprises a television comprising the camera (0076; Fig. 1).
As concerns claims 10 and 23, the invention of claims 1 and 14, wherein the system further comprises the first playback device and the second playback device (0076; Fig. 33D; Fig. 56B-attached speakers).
As concerns claims 13 and 26, the invention of claims 1 and 14, wherein the program instructions executable by the one or more processors such that the computing device is configured to determine that the first playback device is compatible to join the second playback device in a grouped configuration comprise program instructions executable by the one or more processors such that the computing device is configured to: verify that the first playback device and the second playback device are a same type of playback device (0195-identifying type of device).
As concerns claim 30, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 29, wherein the computing system comprises a controller device (40) and a television (0076).
Claims 7, 8, 9 and 20-22 as best understood are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0082784 to Rosenblatt et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0126758 to Van Der Wijst in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0078402 to Crockett et al.
Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 do not disclose:
As concerns claim 7, the system of claim 1, wherein the audio content comprises two-channel stereo audio content.
As concerns claim 8, the system of claim 1, wherein the audio content comprises home theater audio content that has more than two channels.
As concerns claim 9, the system of claim 1, wherein configuring the first playback device to join the second playback device in a grouped configuration comprises: configuring the first playback device to play a first channel of the audio content; and configuring the second playback device to play a second channel of the audio content.
As concerns claim 20, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the audio content comprises two-channel stereo audio content.
As concerns claim 21, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the audio content comprises home theater audio content that has more than two channels.
As concerns claim 22, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein configuring the first playback device to join the second playback device in a grouped configuration comprises: configuring the first playback device to play a first channel of the audio content; and configuring the second playback device to play a second channel of the audio content.
Crockett et al. ‘402 teach:
As concerns claim 7, the system of claim 1, wherein the audio content comprises two-channel stereo audio content (0066-stereo, two channel).
As concerns claim 8, the system of claim 1, wherein the audio content comprises home theater audio content that has more than two channels (0066-5.1 or more channels).
As concerns claim 9, the system of claim 1, wherein configuring the first playback device to join the second playback device in a grouped configuration comprises: configuring the first playback device to play a first channel of the audio content (0066-5.1 or more channels, surround sound would play a different channel on a different speaker); and configuring the second playback device to play a second channel of the audio content (0066-5.1 or more channels).
As concerns claim 20, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the audio content comprises two-channel stereo audio content (0066-stereo, two channel).
As concerns claim 21, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the audio content comprises home theater audio content that has more than two channels (0066-5.1 or more channels).
As concerns claim 22, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein configuring the first playback device to join the second playback device in a grouped configuration comprises: configuring the first playback device to play a first channel of the audio content (0066-5.1 or more channels, surround sound would play a different channel on a different speaker); and configuring the second playback device to play a second channel of the audio content (0066-5.1 or more channels, surround sound would play a different channel on a different speaker).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the system of Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 with multi-channel stereo, as taught by Crockett et al. ‘402, in order to provide an enhanced user experience.
Claims 2, 4, 15, 17 and 28 as best understood are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0082784 to Rosenblatt et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0126758 to Van Der Wijst in view U.S. Patent No. 6,741,273 to Waters et al.
Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 disclose a smartphone comprising a camera (0076; 0092).
Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 do not disclose:
As concerns claim 2, the system of claim 1, wherein the program instructions comprise program instructions executable by the one or more processors such that the computing device is configured to: determine the location of the first playback device and the location of the second playback device additionally based at least in part on the image data from the camera.
As concerns claim 4, the system of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises a television, and wherein the program instructions executable by the one or more processors such that the computing device is configured to: determine a location of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the image data, wherein the image data is obtained via a smartphone comprising the camera.
As concerns claim 15, the computer readable media of claim 14, wherein the functions further comprise: determining the location of the first playback device and the location of the second playback device based at least in part on the image data from the camera.
As concerns claim 17, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the computing system comprises a television, and wherein the functions further comprise: determining a location of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the image data, wherein the image data is obtained via a smartphone comprising the camera.
As concerns claim 28, the method of claim 27, further comprising: determining a location of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the image data.
Waters et al. ‘273 teach:
As concerns claim 2, the system of claim 1, wherein the program instructions comprise program instructions executable by the one or more processors such that the computing device is configured to: determine the location of the first playback device and the location of the second playback device additionally based at least in part on the image data from the camera (abstract; col. 2, lines 62-66-video camera, images processed, identifies positions of loudspeakers).
As concerns claim 4, the system of claim 1, wherein the computing device comprises a television, and wherein the program instructions executable by the one or more processors such that the computing device is configured to: determine a location of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the image data (abstract; col. 2, lines 62-66), wherein the image data is obtained via a smartphone comprising the camera.
As concerns claim 15, the computer readable media of claim 14, wherein the functions further comprise: determining the location of the first playback device and the location of the second playback device based at least in part on the image data from the camera (abstract; col. 2, lines 62-66-video camera, images processed, identifies positions of loudspeakers).
As concerns claim 17, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the computing system comprises a television, and wherein the functions further comprise: determining a location of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the image data (abstract; col. 2, lines 62-66), wherein the image data is obtained via a smartphone comprising the camera.
As concerns claim 28, the method of claim 27, further comprising: determining a location of the first playback device and a location of the second playback device based at least in part on the image data (abstract; col. 2, lines 62-66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the system of Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 with determining a location based on image data, as taught by Waters et al. ‘273 in order to provide a surround sound experience.
Claims 11, 12, 24 and 25 as best understood are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0082784 to Rosenblatt et al. and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0126758 to Van Der Wijst in view U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0250640 to Wakamatsu et al.
Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 do not disclose:
As concerns claim 12, the system of claim 1, wherein the program instructions comprise program instructions executable by the one or more processors such that the computing device is configured to: switch the first playback device and the second playback device between different audio playback configurations based on a type of audio content being played.
As concerns claim 25, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the functions further comprise: switching the first playback device and the second playback device between different audio playback configurations based on a type of audio content being played.
As concerns claim 11, the system of claim 1, wherein the program instructions comprise program instructions executable by the one or more processors such that the computing device is configured to: configure the first playback device and the second playback device to adjust volume levels together in response to commands to adjusting a volume level of the grouped configuration.
As concerns claim 24, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the program instructions further comprise: configuring the first playback device and the second playback device to adjust volume levels together in response to commands to adjust a volume level of the grouped configuration.
Wakamatsu et al. ‘640 teach:
As concerns claim 12, the system of claim 1, wherein the program instructions comprise program instructions executable by the one or more processors such that the computing device is configured to: switch the first playback device and the second playback device between different audio playback configurations based on a type of audio content being played (0095-to each of the speakers changes depending on type of audio to be played back).
As concerns claim 25, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the functions further comprise: switching the first playback device and the second playback device between different audio playback configurations based on a type of audio content being played (0095-to each of the speakers changes depending on type of audio to be played back).
As concerns claim 11, the system of claim 1, wherein the program instructions comprise program instructions executable by the one or more processors such that the computing device is configured to: configure the first playback device and the second playback device to adjust volume levels together in response to commands to adjusting a volume level of the grouped configuration (Fig. 1, 104, 208-volume control).
As concerns claim 24, the tangible, non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the program instructions further comprise: configuring the first playback device and the second playback device to adjust volume levels together in response to commands to adjust a volume level of the grouped configuration (Fig. 1, 104, 208-volume control).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the system of Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 with playback based on type of audio and volume controls, as taught by Wakamatsu et al. ‘640, in order to provide Rosenblatt et al. ‘784 with enhancing the audio experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st and 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant’s arguments are directed to amended limitations that have been addressed in the rejections cited above.
The specification does not provide the manner and process of using “the image data” in such a full, clear and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains…to make and use the same. The applicant’s argument directed to “inherency” for a camera to include “image data”, does not fully address the claimed limitations. Which particular metes and bounds limitations of the claim directed and linked to the camera are not being covered by “inherency”? The written description does not provide in such a full, clear and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains to determine how the claimed invention performs or arrives at the process of employing “image data” for the determining a joining and grouping operation and determining a location.
As concerns the objections to the drawings, the applicant has not amended the claims or provided amended drawings. The applicant has emphasized particular passages from 37 CFR 1.83 (a). However, the applicant has not complied with or emphasized the passage “should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box)”;
37 CFR 1.83 (a):
(a) The drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. However, conventional features disclosed in the description and claims, where their detailed illustration is not essential for a proper understanding of the invention, should be illustrated in the drawing in the form of a graphical drawing symbol or a labeled representation (e.g., a labeled rectangular box). In addition, tables that are included in the specification and sequences that are included in sequence listings should not be duplicated in the drawings. (emphasis added).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN B WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451