Detailed Action
The Office Action is in response to claims filed on 8/12/2025 where claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-12, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Pestana (US 20220198336) in view of Dukatz (US 20170339021)
Regarding claim 1, a communication method, applied to a first network device, wherein the method comprises:
sending a request message to a model management network element, wherein the request message is used for requesting to register a first model with the model management network element, and the first model is an artificial intelligence (AI) model (Pestana; Pestana teaches a machine learning model provider implemented on computing unit 420, i.e., the claimed first network device, sending a registration message to a broker component/model management element maintaining the model-provider register. The registration message is expressly used to register machine learning models provided by the provider with the broker component, and Fig. 8 ([0070]) further expressly shows model provider 802 sending the registration message to machine learning broker 804 “to register a machine learning model with the broker component 804” The registered first model is an AI model because Ericsson expressly identifies the registered model a s machine learning model, including machine learning models such as neural networks and support-vector machines;
see e.g. [0067], [0068], [0070], [0004], Fig. 8));
Pestana does not expressly disclose:
receiving configuration limitation information of the first model from the model management network element, wherein the configuration limitation information indicates a network device that is allowed to be configured with the first model.
Dukatz discloses:
receiving configuration limitation information of the first model from the model management network element, wherein the configuration limitation information indicates a network device that is allowed to be configured with the first model (Dukatz; Dukatz teaches generating a deployment plan that selects a device for execution of the model based on the benchmark/device capability evaluation ([0035] – [0038]) and a model deployment module that generates and transmits device-specific executable instructions to the selected device for installation and execution ([0040]). Thus the selected device receives, from the model deployments functionality, model-specific configuration information identifying that device; and because the device is selected from the evaluate devices as the device on which the model is to be installed/executed, the information indicates the network device allowed/eligible to be configured with the model)
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dukatz scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increase efficiencies of provisioning devices.
Regarding claim 2, Pestana in view of Dukatz disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: receiving model identification information of the first model from the model management network element, wherein the model identification information identifies the first model (Dukatz; see e.g. [0054]).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dukatz scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increase efficiencies of provisioning devices.
Regarding claim 3, Pestana in view of Dukatz disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: sending model information of the first model to a terminal device, wherein the model information comprises the model identification information and model management information of the first model (The combined solution per Pestana ([0054], [0074]) and Dukatz ( [0021],[0040]).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dukatz scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increase efficiencies of provisioning devices.
Regarding claim 4, Pestana in view of Dukatz disclose The method according to claim 3, wherein the model management information comprises at least one of model running information of the first model or model feature information of the first model (The combined solution per Pestana; see e.g. [0054]).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dukatz scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increase efficiencies of provisioning devices.
Regarding claim 5, Pestana in view of Dukatz disclose The method according to claim 2, wherein the model identification information comprises at least one of identifier information of the first model or identifier information of a model function of the first model (The combined solution per Pestana; see e.g. [0070]-[0071]).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Dukatz scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increase efficiencies of provisioning devices.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, Pestana in view of Dukatz disclose the method according to claim 11, wherein the method further comprises:
determining the configuration limitation information (The combined solution per Dukatz; see e.g. [0035] – [0038])
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 2 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 comprises the same and/or similar subject matter as claim 1 and is considered an obvious variation; therefore it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Pantelidou (US 20230300686)
Regarding claim 6, Pestana in view of Dukatz disclose The method according to claim 1, Pestana does not expressly disclose wherein the request message further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates that the first model has a use range.
Pantelidou discloses:
wherein the request message further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates that the first model has a use range (Pantelidou ;
see e.g. [0152], [0165])
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Pantelidou’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increase efficiencies of provisioning devices.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Pantelidou and in further view of Ren (2023/0379692)
Regarding claim 7. Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Pantelidou disclose The method according to claim 6, Pestana does not expressly disclose wherein the first indication information indicates that a network device that is from a same manufacturer as the first network device is allowed to be configured with the first model; or
the first indication information indicates that a network device that corresponds to a same network identifier as the first network device is allowed to be configured with the first model.
Ren discloses:
the first indication information indicates that a network device that corresponds to a same network identifier as the first network device is allowed to be configured with the first model (Ren; see e.g. [0080], [0084] – [0086])
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Ren’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increase efficiencies of provisioning devices.
Claims 8 -10 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being upatentable over Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Pantelidou (US 20230300686)
Regarding claim 8, Pestana in view of Dukatz disclose The method according to claim 1, Pestana does not expressly disclose wherein the method further comprises:
sending a handover request message to a second network device ,
wherein in response to the network device indicated by the configuration limitation information comprises the second network device and the first model is not deployed on the second network device, the handover request message comprises model information of the first model, and the model information comprises model management information of the first model and model identification information of the first model.
Pantelidou discloses:
sending a handover request message to a second network device (Pantelidou;
see e.g. [0152])
the first model is not deployed on the second network device, the handover request message comprises model information of the first model (Pantelidou;
see e.g. [0152], [0158] – [0165], [0170]-[0173})
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Pantelidou’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of provisioning.
Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Pantelidou disclose:
wherein in response to the network device indicated by the configuration limitation information comprises the second network device and the first model is not deployed on the second network device, the handover request message comprises model information of the first model, and the model information comprises model management information of the first model and model identification information of the first model (The combined solution per Pantel contemplates the entire limitation in view of Dukatz ([0035] - -[0038], [0040]), wherein Dukatz teaches that configuration deployment information identifies a particular network device selected as eligible for installation and execution of the model, thereby providing that the network device indicated by the configuration limitation information comprises the second network device. Pantelidou then teaches that, when the model is not yet deployed on the second/target device, the handover request carries the model information including the model identification and model management information).
Regarding claim 9, Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Pantelidou disclose The method according to claim 8,wherein in response to the network device indicated by the configuration limitation information comprises the second network device and the first model is not deployed on the second network device, the handover request message comprises model information of the first model, and the model information comprises model management information of the first model and model identification information of the first model (The combined solution per Pantelidou; see e.g. [0152], [0159], [0164])
Regarding claim 10, Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Pantelidou disclose The method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a handover response message from the second network device, wherein the handover response message comprises third indication information, the third indication information indicates a status that is after a terminal device is handed over to the second network device and that is of the first model that has been configured for the terminal device, and the status is an activated state or a deactivated state; and sending a handover command message to the terminal device, wherein the handover command message comprises the third indication information (The combined solution per Pantelidou;
See e.g. [0138] – [0140], [0191] – [0192).
Claims 13, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Lee (US 2022/0108214)
Regarding claim 13, Pestana in view of Dukatz disclose The method according to claim 12, Pestana does not expressly disclose wherein the request message further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates that the first model has a use range; and
determining the configuration limitation information comprises: determining the configuration limitation information based on the first indication information.
Lee discloses:
wherein the request message further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information indicates that the first model has a use range (Lee; see e.g. [0165]); and
determining the configuration limitation information comprises: determining the configuration limitation information based on the first indication information (Lee; (Lee; see e.g. [0187]).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Lee’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of provisioning
Regarding claim 15, Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Lee disclose the method according to claim 14, wherein the method further comprises:
sending model information of the first model to a second network device, wherein the model information comprises the model identification information and model management information of the first model (The combined solution per Lee; see e.g. [0168] – [0169]).
Regarding claim 16, Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Lee disclose the method according to claim 15, wherein the method further comprises: sending the configuration limitation information to the second network device (The combined solution per Lee; see e.g. [0182], [0186], [0187]).
Claims 18 - 19 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Ali (US 2024017208)
Regarding claim 18, Pestana in view of Dukatz disclose the method according to claim 17, wherein the method further comprises:
in response to the network device indicated by the configuration limitation information comprises the second network device (The combined solution per Dukatz; see e.g.[0035] – [0038]),, Pestana does not expressly disclose:
receiving a handover command message from the first network device, wherein the handover command message comprises identifier information of a second network device; and
sending a handover complete message to the second network device, wherein the handover complete message comprises indication information,
wherein the indication information indicates at least one of that the terminal device has been configured with the first model or a status of the first model, and the status is an activated state or a deactivated state; or the indication information indicates that the terminal device is not configured with the first model.
Ali discloses:
receiving a handover command message from the first network device, wherein the handover command message comprises identifier information of a second network device (Ali; see e.g. [0111]- 0112], [0163] – [0164); and
sending a handover complete message to the second network device, wherein the handover complete message comprises indication information (Ali; see e.g. [0169], [0181]),
wherein the indication information indicates at least one of that the terminal device has been configured with the first model or a status of the first model, and the status is an activated state or a deactivated state; or the indication information indicates that the terminal device is not configured with the first model (Ali; see e.g. [0169]).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Ali’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of provisioning
Regarding claim 19, Pestana in view of Dukatz and in further view of Ali disclose the method according to claim 18, wherein the handover complete message further comprises the model information (The combined solution per Ali; see e.g. [0181], [0214]).
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Ali’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of provisioning
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatenable over Pestana in view of Dukatz in view of Pan (US 20240267799)
Regarding claim 20, Pestana in view of Dukatz disclose the method according to claim 17, wherein the method further comprises: reselecting a cell, wherein the reselected cell belongs to a second network device, and the network device indicated by the configuration limitation information comprises the second network device; and sending indication information to the second network device, wherein the indication information indicates at least one of that the terminal device has been configured with the first model or a status of the first model, and the status is an activated state or a deactivated state; or the indication information indicates that the terminal device is not configured with the first model.
the network device indicated by the configuration limitation information comprises the second network device (The combine solution per Dukatz)
Pestana does not expressly disclose:
wherein the method further comprises: reselecting a cell, wherein the reselected cell belongs to a second network device; and
sending indication information to the second network device, wherein the indication information indicates at least one of that the terminal device has been configured with the first model or a status of the first model, and the status is an activated state or a deactivated state; or the indication information indicates that the terminal device is not configured with the first model.
Pan discloses:
wherein the method further comprises: reselecting a cell, wherein the reselected cell belongs to a second network device ([0065] – [0067], [0075]- [0084], [0169-0177]; and
sending indication information to the second network device, wherein the indication information indicates at least one of that the terminal device has been configured with the first model or a status of the first model, and the status is an activated state or a deactivated state; or the indication information indicates that the terminal device is not configured with the first model ([0171] – [0177].
Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Pan’s scheme. The motivation being the combined solution provides for implementing a known technique resulting in increased efficiencies of provisioning
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor Vivek Srivastava can be reached on (571) 272 7304.
/TODD L BARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449