Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 8/25/2025 is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-10, 12-13 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bian (US 2018/0231193).
Claim 1: Bian discloses a light assembly configured to be coupled to a vehicle hood, the light assembly comprising: a housing (101, fig. 1A); a first hood mount (103, fig. 1A) and a second hood mount (105, fig. 1A) extending from a first end (left end of 101, fig. 1A) of the housing and a second end (right end of 101, fig. 1A) of the housing, respectively, the first hood mount (103) and the second hood mount (105) each including an arm (102, 104, fig. 1A), and a grip (103, 105, fig. 1A) coupled to a distal end of the arm (ends of 102 and 104) and configured to engage the vehicle hood (hooked on the underside of the hood, see para [0044]); a battery pack receiver (108, fig. 1I) coupled to the housing (101) and movable along the housing (101), the battery pack receiver (108) configured to removably receive a rechargeable battery pack (battery in 108, fig. 1I) (removable battery pack, see para [0054]); and a light source (106, 120, figs. 1A and 2A) coupled to the housing (101) and configured to generate light.
Claim 5: Bian discloses the battery pack receiver (108, fig. 1A) is removable from the housing (101).
Claim 6: Bian discloses the light source (120, fig. 2A) is coupled to the battery pack receiver (108) such that the light source (120) is removable from the housing (101) with the battery pack receiver (108).
Claim 7: Bian discloses the light source (106, 120, figs. 1A and 2A) is a first light source (120) and the battery pack receiver (108) is a first battery pack receiver (108), the light assembly further comprising: a second battery pack receiver (108 on opposite side, fig. 1A) coupled to the housing (101) and movable along the housing (see fig. 1I), the second battery pack receiver (108 on opposite side) configured to removably receive a rechargeable battery pack (battery in 108), the second battery pack (108 on opposite side) receiver being removable from the housing (101); and a second light source (120 of 108 on opposite side, fig. 2A) coupled to the second battery pack receiver (108) such that the second light source is removable from the housing (101) with the second battery pack receiver (108), the second light source (120 of 108 on opposite side) configured to generate light.
Claim 8: Bian discloses the light source (120, fig. 2A) is supported in a light housing (housing of 108, fig. 2A) that is pivotally coupled (see figs. 2A and 2B) to the battery pack receiver (108).
Claim 9: Bian discloses the light housing (housing of 108) is pivotable relative to the battery pack receiver (108) about a first axis (AX1, see annotated fig. 2B) and a second axis (AX2, see annotated fig. 2B) that is perpendicular to the first axis.
Claim 10: Bian discloses the light housing (housing of 108) includes a first light housing portion (bottom portion with 126, fig. 2B) coupled to the battery pack receiver (108) and a second light housing portion (top portion of 120, fig. 2B) pivotally coupled to the first light housing portion (see fig. 2B), wherein the light source (120) is supported in the second light housing portion (see fig. 2B).
Claim 12: Bian discloses the first hood mount (103, fig. 1A) and the second hood mount (105, fig. 1A) are telescopically extendible from the first and second ends of the housing are biased to a retracted position in which the grips are positioned adjacent the first and second ends of the housing (see figs. 1A-1I).
Claim 13: Bian discloses the housing (101) includes a rail portion (rail of 113, fig. 1I) along which the battery pack receiver (108) is movable.
Claim 17: Bian discloses a light assembly configured to be coupled to a vehicle hood, the light assembly comprising: a housing (101, fig. 1A);a first hood mount (103, fig. 1A) and a second hood mount (105, fig. 1A) extending from a first end of the housing and a second end of the housing, respectively (see fig. 1A), the first hood mount (103) and the second hood mount (105) each including an arm (102, 104, fig. 1A), and a grip (103, 105, fig. 1A) coupled to a distal end of the arm and configured to engage the vehicle hood (removable battery pack, see para [0054]); a battery pack receiver (108, fig. 1A) coupled to the housing (101), the battery pack receiver (108) configured to removably receive a rechargeable battery pack (battery in 108, fig. 1I) (removable battery pack, see para [0054]); and the battery pack receiver (108) being removable from the housing (101); and a light housing (housing of 108, fig. 2A) coupled to the battery pack receiver (108) such that the light housing is removable from the housing (101) with battery pack receiver (108), the light housing (housing of 108) supporting a light source (120, fig. 2A).
Claim 18: Bian discloses the battery pack receiver (108, fig. 1A) is a first battery pack receiver (108) and the light housing is a first light housing (housing of 108, fig. 2A), the light assembly further comprising: a second battery pack receiver (108 on other end, fig. 1A) coupled to the housing (101), the second battery pack receiver configured to removably receive a rechargeable battery pack (battery in 108, fig. 1I) (removable battery pack, see para [0054]), the second battery pack receiver being removable from the housing (see fig. 1A); and a second light housing (housing of 108 on other end, figs. 1A and 2A) coupled to the second battery pack receiver (108 on other end) such that the second light housing is removable from the housing with the second battery pack receiver (see figs. 1A and 2A), the second light housing supporting a light source (120, fig. 2).
Claim 19: Bian discloses the light housing (housing of 108) is pivotable relative to the battery pack receiver (108) about a first axis (AX1, see annotated fig. 2B) and a second axis (AX2, see annotated fig. 2B) that is perpendicular to the first axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (US 2018/0231193) in view of Barton (US 6,431,726).
Claim 2: Bian fails to teach the housing includes a first housing portion and a second housing portion movable relative to the first housing portion to change an overall length of the housing.
Barton teaches a housing (5, 10, fig. 1) includes a first housing portion (5, fig. 1) and a second housing portion (10, fig. 1) movable relative to the first housing portion to change an overall length of the housing (Adjusting the fixture length is done by simply holding one lamp reflector housing in place and sliding the other lamp reflector housing toward it until the correct fixture length is achieved, see Col. 3 lines 44-47).
Therefore, in view of Barton, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Bian where the housing includes a first housing portion and a second housing portion movable relative to the first housing portion to change an overall length of the housing, in order to adjust the light illumination range.
Claim 3: Bian fails to teach the housing includes a rail coupled to the first housing portion and received by the second housing portion, and wherein the second housing portion is slidable along the rail.
Barton teaches a housing (5, 10, fig. 1) includes a rail (15, fig. 1) coupled to the first housing portion (5) and received by the second housing portion (10), and wherein the second housing portion (10) is slidable along the rail (15) (see Col. 3 lines 44-47).
Therefore, in view of Barton, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Bian where the housing includes a rail coupled to the first housing portion and received by the second housing portion, and wherein the second housing portion is slidable along the rail, in order to adjust the light illumination range.
Claim 4: Bian teaches the light source (106, fig. 1A) includes a first light strip (106) coupled to the first housing portion (portion of 106).
However, Bian fails to teach a second light strip coupled to the second housing portion.
Barton teaches a light source (1, fig. 1) includes a first light strip (left 1) coupled to the first housing portion (5, fig. 1) and a second light strip (right 1, fig. 1) coupled to the second housing portion (10, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Barton, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Bian by adding a second housing portion and adding a second light strip coupled to the second housing portion, in order to adjust the light illumination range.
Claim 14: Bian teaches a light assembly configured to be coupled to a vehicle hood, the light assembly comprising: a housing (101, fig. 1I); a first hood mount (103, fig. 1A) extending from the housing and a second hood mount (105, fig. 1A) extending from the housing, the first hood mount (103) and the second hood mount (105) each including an arm (102, 104, fig. 1A), and a grip (103, 105, fig. 1A) coupled to a distal end of the arm (see fig. 1A) and configured to engage the vehicle hood (hooked on the underside of the hood, see para [0044]); a battery pack receiver (108, fig. 1A) coupled to the housing, the battery pack receiver (108) configured to removably receive a rechargeable battery pack (removable battery pack, see para [0054]); and a light source (106, 120, fig. 1A) coupled to the housing (101) and configured to generate light.
However, Bian fails to teach the housing having a first housing portion and a second housing portion slidable relative to the first housing portion to change an overall length of the housing, the first hood mount extending from the first housing portion and the second hood mount extending from the second housing portion.
Barton teaches a housing (5, 10, fig. 1) having a first housing portion (5, fig. 1) and a second housing portion (10, fig. 1) slidable relative to the first housing portion to change an overall length of the housing (see abstract).
Therefore, in view of Barton, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Bian where the housing includes a first housing portion and a second housing portion slidable relative to the first housing portion to change an overall length of the housing where the first hood mount extending from the first housing portion and the second hood mount extending from the second housing portion, in order to adjust the light illumination range.
Claim 15: Bian teaches the housing (101, fig. 1A) includes a rail (rail of 113, fig. 1I).
However, Bian fails to teach the rail coupled to the first housing portion and received by the second housing portion, and wherein the second housing portion is slidable along the rail.
Barton teaches a rail (15, fig. 1) coupled to the first housing portion (5, fig. 1) and received by the second housing portion (10, fig. 1), and wherein the second housing portion (10) is slidable along the rail (15) (see Col. 3 lines 44-47).
Therefore, in view of Barton, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Bian where the housing includes a first housing portion and a second housing portion slidable relative to the first housing portion to change an overall length of the housing where the rail is coupled to the first housing portion and received by the second housing portion, and wherein the second housing portion is slidable along the rail, in order to adjust the light illumination range.
Claim 16: Bian teaches the light source includes a first light strip (106, fig. 1A) coupled to the first housing portion (101) and
However, Bian fails to teach a second light strip coupled to the second housing portion.
Barton teaches a light source (1, fig. 1) includes a first light strip (left 1) coupled to the first housing portion (5, fig. 1) and a second light strip (right 1, fig. 1) coupled to the second housing portion (10, fig. 1).
Therefore, in view of Barton, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing of Bian by adding a second housing portion and adding a second light strip coupled to the second housing portion, in order to adjust the light illumination range.
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (US 2018/0231193) in view of Gu et al. (US 2011/0141737) (hereinafter Gu).
Claim 11: Bian fails to teach the second light housing portion is pivotable relative to the first light housing portion about a third pivot axis and a fourth pivot axis that is perpendicular to the third pivot axis.
Gu teaches a second light housing portion (10, fig. 1) is pivotable relative to the first light housing portion (12, 13, fig. 1) about a third pivot axis (vertical axis of 60, fig. 3) and a fourth pivot axis (horizontal axis of 50, fig. 3) that is perpendicular to the third pivot axis.
Therefore, in view of Gu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second light housing of Bian by making the second light housing portion pivotable relative to the first light housing portion about a third pivot axis and a fourth pivot axis that is perpendicular to the third pivot axis, in order to add another degree of range of motion.
Claim 20: Bian teaches wherein the light housing (101) includes a first light housing portion (101) coupled to the battery pack receiver (108) and a second light housing portion (top portion of 120, fig. 2B) pivotally coupled to the first light housing portion (see fig. 2B), wherein the light source (120) is supported in the second light housing portion (see fig. 2B).
However, Gu fails to teach the second light housing portion is pivotable relative the first light housing portion about a third axis and a fourth axis that is perpendicular to the third axis.
Gu teaches a second light housing portion (10, fig. 1) is pivotable relative to the first light housing portion (12, 13, fig. 1) about a third pivot axis (vertical axis of 60, fig. 3) and a fourth pivot axis (horizontal axis of 50, fig. 3) that is perpendicular to the third pivot axis.
Therefore, in view of Gu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second light housing of Bian by making the second light housing portion pivotable relative to the first light housing portion about a third pivot axis and a fourth pivot axis that is perpendicular to the third pivot axis, in order to add another degree of range of motion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Macgregor (US 2012/0182749), Yasuda et al. (US 2024/0085004), Gill (US 2019/0381934), Thatch (US 4,197,573) disclose a similar light assembly.
/ZHENG SONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875