DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed a communication dated 8/12/2025 in which claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of personal health navigation without significantly more.
Examiner has identified claim 1 as the claim that represents the claimed invention presented in independent claims 1 and 19-20.
Claim 1 is directed to a method, which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim 1 describes a method reciting a series of steps, e.g., receiving an input from an individual indicating a personal health goal; determining, by at least one processor, a goal physiological state for the individual based on the personal health goal; receiving at least one of a first physiological measurement of the individual from the at least one sensor or an existing physiological profile of the individual; determining, by the at least one processor, a current physiological state for the individual based on at least one of the first physiological measurement or the existing physiological profile of the individual; determining, by the at least one processor, a personalized route for the individual, the personalized route comprising a sequence of physiological states transiting from the current physiological state to the goal physiological state through a plurality of intermediate physiological states, wherein each transition between adjacent physiological states in the sequence is associated with at least one user action predicted to cause a change from a first one of the adjacent physiological states to a second one of the adjacent physiological states; and providing an instruction indicative of a recommended user action to the individual, wherein the recommended user action is associated with a transition from the current physiological state to a first intermediate physiological state adjacent to the current physiological state in the sequence. The limitations (with the exception of italicized limitations) describe an abstract idea of personal health navigation and are abstract in nature (interactions between people; “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas). The additional elements of processor and a sensor do not necessarily restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea. Thus, the claim 1 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element of a processor results in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional element of a processor is recited at a high level of generality, and under their broadest reasonable interpretation comprises a generic computing device. The presence of a generic computing device does nothing more than to implement the claimed invention (MPRP 2106.05(f)). The additional element of a processor is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. The sensor limitation is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment and hence do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the recitation of additional elements does not meaningfully apply the abstract idea and hence does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, the claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO).
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element of a processor is recited at a high level of generality in that it results in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional element when considered separately and as an ordered combination does not amount to add significantly more as the additional element provides nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computer environment. The sensor limitation is generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment and hence does not add significantly more (Step 2B: NO). Thus, the claim 1 is not patent eligible.
Similar arguments can be extended to other independent claims 19-20, and thus the claims 19-20 are rejected on similar grounds as claim 1.
Dependent claims 2-17 further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claim 1 and thus correspond to Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity and hence are abstract in nature for the reasons presented above. Dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the claims 2-17 are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1-17 and 19-20 are not patent-eligible.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of personal health navigation without significantly more.
Claim 18 is directed to a method, which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
The claim 18 describes a method reciting a series of steps, e.g., receiving an input from an individual indicating a personal health goal, wherein the personal health goal is associated with a goal physiological state to be achieved by the individual; determining, by at least one processor, a current physiological state for the individual; determining, by the at least one processor, a personalized route for guiding the individual to transit from the current physiological state to the goal physiological state over a time range, the personalized route comprising a sequence of training goals associated with a sequence of time periods included in the time range; determining, by the at least one processor, an estimation of daily exercise goal for each day included in a first time period based on a training goal associated with the first time period; and providing a daily exercise guidance for the first day included in the first time period based on a corresponding estimation of daily exercise goal. The limitations (with the exception of italicized limitations) describe an abstract idea of personal health navigation and are abstract in nature (interactions between people; “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas). The additional element of processor does not necessarily restrict the claim from reciting an abstract idea. Thus, the claim 18 recites an abstract idea (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional element of processor results in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional element of processor is recited at a high level of generality, and under their broadest reasonable interpretation comprises a generic computing device. The presence of a generic computing device does nothing more than to implement the claimed invention (MPRP 2106.05(f)). The additional elements of a processor is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. Therefore, the recitation of additional element does not meaningfully apply the abstract idea and hence does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus, the claim 18 is directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO).
The claim does not include additional element that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional element of a processor is recited at a high level of generality in that it results in no more than simply applying the abstract idea using generic computer elements. The additional element when considered separately and as an ordered combination does not amount to add significantly more as the additional element provides nothing more than to simply apply the exception in a generic computer environment (Step 2B: NO). Thus, the claim 18 is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-9, 11-12, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson, EP3524308A1.
Regarding claim 1, Larson discloses a method for personal health navigation using a wearable device having at least one sensor, comprising:
receiving an input from an individual indicating a personal health goal ([0025]);
determining, by at least one processor, a goal physiological state for the individual based on the personal health goal ([0019]);
receiving at least one of a first physiological measurement of the individual from the at least one sensor or an existing physiological profile of the individual ([0019], [0021]);
determining, by the at least one processor, a current physiological state for the individual based on at least one of the first physiological measurement or the existing physiological profile of the individual ([0019], current state, [0020]-[0021]);
determining, by the at least one processor, a personalized route for the individual, the personalized route comprising a sequence of physiological states transiting from the current physiological state to the goal physiological state through a plurality of intermediate physiological states, wherein each transition between adjacent physiological states in the sequence is associated with at least one user action predicted to cause a change from a first one of the adjacent physiological states to a second one of the adjacent physiological states ([0019]-[0021], [0025]); and
providing an instruction indicative of a recommended user action to the individual, wherein the recommended user action is associated with a transition from the current physiological state to a first intermediate physiological state adjacent to the current physiological state in the sequence ([0019]-[0021], [0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine different disclosure of Larson. The motivation for combining these references would have been to monitor sleep behavior of an individual.
Regarding claim 2, Larson discloses receiving from the at least one sensor, a subsequent second physiological measurement of the individual; and updating, by the at least one processor, the personalized route based on the second physiological measurement, wherein the updating comprises modifying at least one of: at least one subsequent recommended user action or at least one intermediate physiological state in the sequence ([0019]-[0021], [0025], [0059]).
Regarding claim 7, Larson discloses wherein a personalized physiological state space model is determined based on a group to which the individual belongs, and is modified based on at least one physiological measurement of the individual obtained by the at least one sensor ([0019]-[0021], [0025]).
Regarding claim 8, Larson discloses upon determining that the individual has taken a different user action resulting in a transition to a new physiological state not on the personalized route, modifying at least a part of the plurality of intermediate physiological states on the personalized route based on the new physiological state ([0019]-[0021], [0025], [0059]).
Regarding claim 9, Larson discloses wherein each physiological state in the personalized route is associated with a specific period of time including a plurality of time intervals, and the recommended user action comprises a plurality of recommended activities to be performed in the plurality of time intervals ([0019]-[0021], [0025], [0059]).
Regarding claim 11, Larson discloses wherein the recommended user action comprises: a daily exercise recommendation including at least one of an exercise type, an exercise intensity or exercise duration; or at least one of a daily exercise recommendation or a daily sleep recommendation (abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Larson discloses receiving, from the at least one sensor, a second physiological measurement of the individual; determining, by the at least one processor, a second intermediate physiological state for the individual based on the second physiological measurement; and updating, by the at least one processor, a subsequent recommended user action based on a comparison between the first intermediate physiological state and the second intermediate physiological state ([0019]-[0021], [0025], [0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Larson discloses wherein determining, by the at least one processor, the personalized route for the individual comprises: determining a plurality of routes from the current physiological state to the goal physiological state for the individual, different routes in the plurality of routes including different intermediate physiological states; providing the plurality of routes for the individual to select; and in response to receive a selection input from the individual, determining a selected route as the personalized route ([0019]-[0021], [0025], [0059]).
Regarding claim 16, Larson discloses wherein determining by the at least one processor, the personalized route for the individual comprises: determining a plurality of routes for moving from the current physiological state to the goal physiological state through a plurality of intermediate state over time, each intermediate state associated with a sub-goal; and determining the personalized route from the plurality of routes based on at least one of user preference, efficiency, speed or available resources ([0019]-[0021], [0025], [0059]).
Claims 19-20 are substantially similar to claim 1 and hence rejected on similar grounds.
Claims 3, 5-6, 10, 13-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson, EP3524308A1 in view of Lane et al., US Patent Application No. 2017/0300655.
Regarding claim 3, Lane discloses wherein the personal health goal input by the individual relates to at least one of cardiovascular health or cardio-respiratory health, and the at least one sensor comprises a sensor configured to measure at least one of heart rate or VO2max of the individual, and a sensor configured to measure at least one of an exercise condition or a sleep condition of the individual ([0011], cardiovascular disease; [0052], VO2 Max, [0052], sleep patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Larson with the above-noted disclosure of Lane. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the health of an individual.
Regarding claim 5, Lane discloses wherein determining the current physiological state for the individual further comprises: estimating a maximum oxygen consumption capacity (VO2Max) for the individual based on sensor data collected during physical activity by the at least one sensor [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Larson with the above-noted disclosure of Lane. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the health of an individual.
Regarding claim 6, Larson discloses determining, by the at least one processor, a personalized physiological state space model customized for the individual based on domain knowledge associated with the personal health goal and at least one of characteristics specific to the individual or a measure of cardiovascular exercise response for the individual, the personalized physiological state space model comprising a plurality of physiological states of the individual from which the personalized route is determined ([0019]-[0021], [0025]).
Lane discloses cardiovascular exercise ([0011]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Larson with the above-noted disclosure of Lane. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the health of an individual.
Regarding claim 10, Lane discloses wherein determining, by the at least one processor, the personalized route for the individual comprises: determining, for the individual, a corresponding exercise group for the individual, the exercise group being defined based on at least one of an exercise amount, an exercise intensity or an exercise frequency ([0052], aerobic fitness, exercise heart rate).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Larson with the above-noted disclosure of Lane. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the health of an individual.
Regarding claim 13, Larson discloses
receiving, from the at least one sensor, at least one third physiological measurement of the individual within a period of time ([0019]-[0021], [0025]);
determining, by the at least one processor, at least one of a measure of fitness level, a measure of fatigue level, or a measure of training stress balance for the individual based on the at least one third physiological measurement; and
determining, by the at least one processor, a recommended user action for a subsequent period of time based on at least one of the measure of fitness level, the measure of fatigue level, or the measure of training stress balance for the individual (abstract).
Lane discloses
determining, by the at least one processor, at least one of a measure of fitness level, a measure of fatigue level, or a measure of training stress balance for the individual based on the at least one third physiological measurement ([0052], aerobic fitness (VO2Max)); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Larson with the above-noted disclosure of Lane. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the health of an individual.
Regarding claim 14, Lane discloses wherein the measure of fitness level comprises a chronic training load associated with a first period of time, and the measure of fatigue level comprises an acute training load associated with a second period of time shorter than the first period of time ([0052], [0056], [0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Larson with the above-noted disclosure of Lane. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the health of an individual.
Regarding claim 17, Lane discloses wherein the personalized route is determined or updated based on a constraint that a measure of training stress balance for the individual is within a desired region while at least one of a measure of fatigue level or a measure of fitness level for the individual is gradually improved ([0052], [0056], [0133]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Larson with the above-noted disclosure of Lane. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the health of an individual.
Regarding claim 18, Larson discloses a method for personal health navigation using a wearable device having at least one sensor, comprising:
receiving an input from an individual indicating a personal health goal, wherein the personal health goal is associated with a goal physiological state to be achieved by the individual ([0019], [0025]);
determining, by at least one processor, a current physiological state for the individual ([0019]-[0021], [0025]);
determining, by the at least one processor, a personalized route for guiding the individual to transit from the current physiological state to the goal physiological state over a time range, the personalized route comprising a sequence of training goals associated with a sequence of time periods included in the time range ([0019]-[0021], [0025]);
determining, by the at least one processor, an estimation of daily exercise goal for each day included in a first time period based on a training goal associated with the first time period; and providing a daily exercise guidance for the first day included in the first time period based on a corresponding estimation of daily exercise goal.
Larson does not specifically disclose
determining, by the at least one processor, an estimation of daily exercise goal for each day included in a first time period based on a training goal associated with the first time period; and
providing a daily exercise guidance for the first day included in the first time period based on a corresponding estimation of daily exercise goal.
However, Lane discloses
determining, by the at least one processor, an estimation of daily exercise goal for each day included in a first time period based on a training goal associated with the first time period ([0052], [0056]); and
providing a daily exercise guidance for the first day included in the first time period based on a corresponding estimation of daily exercise goal ([0052], [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Larson with the above-noted disclosure of Lane. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the health of an individual.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson, EP3524308A1 in view of Lane et al., US Patent Application No. 2017/0300655 in view of Connor, US Patent Application No. 2021/0379388.
Regarding claim 4, Lane discloses
determining a cardiac disease risk score based on an atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) risk associated with the individual, and a resting heart rate measured for the individual during sleep by the at least one sensor ([0011], [0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Larson with the above-noted disclosure of Lane. The motivation for combining these references would have been to improve the health of an individual.
Larson and Lane do not specifically disclose
an atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) risk.
However, Connor discloses
an atherosclerotic cardiovascular disease (ASCVD) risk ([0612]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above-noted disclosure of Larson and Lane with the above-noted disclosure of Lane. The motivation for combining these references would have been to provide recommendation to an individual to exercise based on cardiovascular risk.
Conclusion
RAJESH KHATTAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3684
/RAJESH KHATTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684