This document is responsive to applicant’s amendments filed 6/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hacohen et al. (US PG Pub 2026/0049628).
Regarding claim 1, Hacohen discloses:
A joint assembly for joining a first structural component (see fig 8, ref 602) and a second structural component (see 800 and paragraphs 0086 and 0087), the joint assembly comprising: a double eccentric bush (605, 606) configured for mounting to the first structural component (see paragraph 0086); a spigot (see fig 6C, ref 603) mounted on the double eccentric bush (see fig 6B), wherein rotating elements of the double eccentric bush enable adjustment of the spigot relative to the first structural component in two orthogonal directions, both of which are normal to a longitudinal axis of the spigot, prior to joining together the first structural component and the second structural component (see fig 6C and paragraphs 0086-0087); a spigot receptacle for mounting to, or integrally formed with, the second structural component (see paragraphs 0086-0087), wherein the spigot receptacle is arranged to receive the spigot; and at least one fastener (604) configured for joining the first structural component and the second structural component together when the spigot is received in the spigot receptacle (see fig 8).
Hacohen discloses that the device is for connecting structural elements of a vehicle (generic), but does not specify that the vehicle is an aircraft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the structural connection to connect components of an aircraft since an aircraft is a type of vehicle that requires the joining of structural elements.
Regarding claim 2, Hacohen as modified discloses:
The joint assembly according to claim 1, wherein the spigot comprises: a flange (see fig 6C, ref 603 – unnumbered flange) for bearing against the first aircraft structural component (see fig 6A); and a spigot projection extending from a first side of the flange and configured for engagement with the spigot receptacle (upward projection of 603 as shown in fig 6A).
Regarding claim 3, Hacohen as modified discloses:
The joint assembly according to claim 2, wherein the spigot comprises a spigot root extending from a second size of the flange and configured for being receive in the double eccentric bush, the second side of the flange being opposite the first side of the flange (see fig 6C).
Regarding claim 4, Hacohen as modified discloses:
The joint assembly according to claim 3, wherein the double eccentric bush comprises an internal bore configured to receive the spigot root therein (see fig 6B).
Regarding claim 5, Hacohen as modified discloses:
The joint assembly according to claim 1, wherein: the rotating elements of the double eccentric bush comprise: a first eccentric bush part, which has a first outer diameter and a first internal bore that is eccentrically formed relative to the first outer diameter; and a second eccentric bush part, which has a second outer diameter and a second internal bore that is eccentrically formed relative to the second outer diameter,; the second eccentric bush part is rotatably received in the first eccentric bush part; and the first eccentric bush part is rotatably received in the first aircraft structural component (see fig 6C).
Regarding claim 7, Hacohen as modified discloses:
The joint assembly according to claim 5, wherein the first eccentric bush part and the second eccentric bush part each have conical interfacing surfaces (see fig 6C).
Regarding claim 8, Hacohen as modified discloses a locking mechanism securing the first and second eccentric bush parts and prevent relative rotation (see ref 604 of paragraph 0088).
Regarding claim 9, Hacohen as modified discloses:
The joint assembly according to claim 1, wherein the spigot has a conical outer surface configured for engaging with the spigot receptacle (see conical end of 603).
Regarding claim 10, Hacohen as modified discloses:
The joint assembly according to claim 9, wherein the spigot receptacle has a recess configured for receiving the conical surface of the spigot (as shown in fig 8, the structure of 800 necessarily has a recess in order to accommodate 603).
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hacohen et al. (US PG Pub 2026/0049628) in view of Harleman (US PG Pub 2022/0333643).
Regarding claim 6, Hacohen discloses the device of claim 5, but does not disclose: wherein the first eccentric bush part and the second eccentric bush part have nested flanges. Harleman teaches a similar device having first and second eccentric bush parts with nested flanges (see fig 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the flanged bush arrangement of Harleman in the device of Hacohen yielding the predictable result of providing bearing surfaces for loads in the longitudinal direction of the spigot axis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is found in the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD G DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644