DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments and arguments filed 12/15/2025.
Claims 1-4 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It is noted that amendment was made to obviate indefiniteness under 112(b). However, the claims still contain indefiniteness.
The new grounds of rejection are made in view of amended language to present the closest prior art to what is understood to be recited.
Amendment to the specification to obviate a drawing objection is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites tilt in an axial direction “from inside to outside”. It is unknown what direction constitutes inside or outside. Is it radially inwards and outwards? Is it an axial direction through the fan?
The term “gradually” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. How much of an increase in thickness constitutes a “gradual” increase? Or tilt?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brownell et al. in US Patent Application Publication 2014/0237819 (hereinafter “Brownell”).
Regarding claim 1, in so much that it can be understood, Brownell discloses a diversion system assembly for a miniature fan, comprising a cylinder 20 and a blade wheel 40 located at an end opening of the cylinder and connected to a rotor 62 (see Fig. 1 and 41), wherein a deflector is arranged inside the cylinder (the blade wheel hub like element 542 in the embodiment of Fig. 52 may be considered a deflector; or stator blades 80 may be considered deflectors); blades 70 are arranged in an annular array around the blade wheel; the thickness of each blade is gradually increased from a top end of the blade to a middle of the blade and a bottom end of the blade to the middle of the blade, thus forming an arched part in the middle of the blade (as best as this limitation can be understood, it appears to simply recite that the blades have an airfoil shape, which Brownell discloses; “top end” is assumed to be a leading edge, “bottom end” is assumed to be a trailing edge); the top end of the blade gradually tilt in an axial direction from inside to outside, and bottom ends of the blades gradually tilt in an axial direction from inside to outside (see the fan wheel in the embodiment of Figs. 50-52; blades 570 had leading and trailing edge sweep).
Regarding claim 2, Brownell discloses the diversion system assembly for a miniature fan according to claim 1, characterized in that: the blade wheel is conical (see conical blade wheel 542 in Fig. 52).
Regarding claim 3, Brownell discloses the diversion system assembly for a miniature fan according to claim 2, characterized in that: the number of blades is odd (paragraph [0108]).
Regarding claim 4, Brownell discloses the diversion system assembly for a miniature fan according to claim 3, characterized in that: the deflector is arc-shaped (where blade wheel or hub 542 as seen in Fig. 52 is equated to the claimed deflector, it is arc-shaped).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELDON T BROCKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799